Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
hard cooling for kt266(a) makes your CPU run cooler
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'd be happy if i was able to monitor my CPU temp, never got sensors working on this new Mobo , VIA KT600 chipset, it87 driver it tells me to use but no settings give the correct temp that i know of, can't tell if it's correct
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you dont know if the temperature is correct, then you will need another device to measure the temp on the cpu and then compare with the one you see on sensors.

I dont remember the name of the thing, but you can get one fairlly cheap on any electronics shops.

>---------------[_|_23 C_]__]
looks like this.
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Basti_litho
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Aug 2002
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here:
http://www.linuxwiki.de/AMDPowerSaving (German)

or:
http://www.daniel.nofftz.net/linux/Athlon-Powersaving-HOWTO.html

Best Regards
_________________
Aktives Mitglied bei:

Folding@Home
http://folding.stanford.edu/

Team: Germany (Nr. 3)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srlinuxx
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 627

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure this was discussed yet as I didn't read all the posts, but I think that setpci stuff killed two powersupplies. I started using it with my year old powermax and acheived amazing cooling results. One could hear the computer and fans speed up when used. I was amused and happy for about a month. Then my ps died. Well, I didn't make any connection to the setpci command yet and went out and got another ps. This time an off-brand from a local vender. It lasted about a month also. While running this command I did notice how my voltages seemed to fluxuate frequently and sometimes by large percentages. So, when cheapy bit the dust I went out and got a 100 dollar antec true power - but not running setpci with it! It's winter here anyway and my computer helps heat the house! :-)

Anyone else seen this kind of result?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 612
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a Bt878 TV-Card and after i enabled this cooling i see lots of with stripes on the screen(only in the tv window) and in the moment i disable it the stripes go away and the picture becomes clear. i'm using the program
tvtime-0.9.10-r1

so what to choose: hight temperature and a goot picture quality
or: low temperature and bad picture quality

sorry for by bad english ;)


edit: i solved it, i just emerged xawtv and it works fine...

now my cpu is running @ 25°C and i'm happy :mrgreen:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaxDamage
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 650
Location: Oviedo, Spain

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry if this was said before but there is a program that does the job for you:
Code:
athcool
It's masked but I have used it for months when I used Debian and there were no problems. I have a KT400 chipset.
_________________
La PDA de tungsteno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snot
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2003
Posts: 36
Location: Antwerp

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 7:57 pm    Post subject: athcool not cooling, what am i missing? Reply with quote

Code:
root # athcool on
athcool version 0.3.7 - enabling/disabling Athlon Powersaving mode

!!!WARNING!!!
Depending on your motherboard and/or hardware components,
enabling Athlon powersaving mode may cause:
 * noisy or distorted sound playback
 * a slowdown in harddisk performance
 * system locks or instability

Please use athcool AT YOUR OWN RISK.

VIA KT133/KM133/KL133/KN133[A] series (1106 0305) found
enabling 'Disconnect when STPGNT Detected' bit ...  done
        Address 0x52 : 0x6B -> 0xEB

but cpu stays hot and i see no action (when coolin cpuactivity normaly gowes up).
athlon XP2000
VIA KT133A
msi k7t turbo2 mobo
i'm missing something but what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Page 4 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum