Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Was able to get LTSP running under Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
art
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jun 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Ma

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2003 11:06 am    Post subject: ltsp on ms network Reply with quote

Hi all
I have ltsp running fine on a closed network, but like to be able to boot in windows also. Google searched and found someone say that you need to add
NO REPLY for windows clients in dhcpd.conf, but he didn,t give details, read man pages didn't find it.
Anyone know where in dhcpd.conf and what it should look like.
This place is reat
_________________
ABS AMD 64 FX 51 SK8N M/B 2 Maxtor 250GB
SATA drives GeForce FX 5900 Ultra 1 GB Corsair 3200 dual channel Sony DVD +- RW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coby2k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 63
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've set up LTSP with gentoo.org guide. everything worked well. i can boot from another machine and the xserver starts, too. but no kde or something like that. the error i can see is:
Code:

(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Mon Sep 1 14:01:32 2003
(==) Using config file: "/etc/XF86Config"
/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xkb/xkbcomp: error while loading shared libraries: libXext.so.6: cannot load shared object file: No such file or dirextory
Couldn't load XKB keymap, falling back to pre-XKB keymap
succeeded
Warning: font renderer for ".pfa" registered more than once
Warning: font renderer for ".pfb" registered more than once
XDM: too many retransmission


looks kinda weird. some lines upper stands that XFree86 Version 4.2.99.1 is used. But i have 4.3.0-r2 installed on my system.


anyone got an idea?

thanks a lot

thomas
_________________
_____
thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lanius
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ltsp installs its own X version. which ltsp ebuild are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
coby2k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2003
Posts: 63
Location: Oldenburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hya,

i am using

Code:
*  net-misc/ltsp-core
      Latest version available: 3.0.9-r1
      Latest version installed: 3.0.9-r3
      Size of downloaded files: 39,449 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.ltsp.org/
      Description: LTSP - Linux Terminal Server Project



hope you can help me.
_________________
_____
thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lanius
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try ltsp-3.0.9-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kermitjunior
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Aug 2002
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:04 pm    Post subject: Getting ready to start... Reply with quote

Just ordered the hardware.

15 Clients - 133MHz, 128MB Ram

Server:

Dual AMD 2400+
1GB Crucial PC2100, Reg, Ecc
Tyan Thunder K7X Pro w/ Ultra320 SCSI, 10/100 & 10/100/1000 onboard
Geforce 5600 FX with 256MB
Seagate Cheetah 18.7GB 15K.3 U320 drive
IBM Deskstar 120GB (Back up and /home)

My "workstation" is similar. It will be for testing, compiling, etc.
Dual AMD 2800+
1.5 GB Ram
Samsung 160 (quieter)
Just something to "play with"

I mimicked them almost identical, since the LTSP setup will be a few states away. Hoping to figure out how to zip it all up on DVD and send to them to uncompress for updates.

So you guys will be hearing from me. Thanks in advance.

KJ
_________________
-----
Toshiba Satellite A15-S157, 2.2 Celery, 40GB, 512MB
AMD Athlon XP 1900+, 640MB PC2100, ABIT KG-7R
IBM 120GB (Linux), WD 30GB (WinDoze), ATI All-In-Wonder 128 Pro PCI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
docfab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 9:58 am    Post subject: xdm vs. kdm Reply with quote

Can't get past the gray screen on my ltsp clients, been through pretty much all the troubleshooting I found on the net, saw the note in the documentation about xdm and gdm having problems. Is that still an issue? Any ideas about what causes it? Is it a gentoo bug?

My problem is that xdm doesn't seem to read it's buffer, netstat returns the following:

udp 2964 0 0.0.0.0:177 0.0.0.0:* 1723/xdm

2964 is the Recv-Q column and that number increases every client startup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
variable
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Nov 2002
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 11:03 pm    Post subject: Re: xdm vs. kdm Reply with quote

docfab wrote:
Can't get past the gray screen on my ltsp clients, been through pretty much all the troubleshooting I found on the net, saw the note in the documentation about xdm and gdm having problems. Is that still an issue? Any ideas about what causes it? Is it a gentoo bug?

My problem is that xdm doesn't seem to read it's buffer, netstat returns the following:

udp 2964 0 0.0.0.0:177 0.0.0.0:* 1723/xdm

2964 is the Recv-Q column and that number increases every client startup.


I'm having the same problem.

Code:
Dec 16 00:00:27 servu dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from 00:c0:26:7f:a3:ea via eth0
Dec 16 00:00:27 servu dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 192.168.0.2 to 00:c0:26:7f:a3:ea via eth0
Dec 16 00:00:27 servu dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.1) from 00:c0:26:7f:a3:ea via eth0
Dec 16 00:00:27 servu dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.0.2 to 00:c0:26:7f:a3:ea via eth0
Dec 16 00:00:35 servu dhcpd: DHCPDISCOVER from 00:c0:26:7f:a3:ea via eth0
Dec 16 00:00:35 servu dhcpd: DHCPOFFER on 192.168.0.2 to 00:c0:26:7f:a3:ea via eth0
Dec 16 00:00:37 servu dhcpd: DHCPREQUEST for 192.168.0.2 (192.168.0.1) from 00:c0:26:7f:a3:ea via eth0
Dec 16 00:00:37 servu dhcpd: DHCPACK on 192.168.0.2 to 00:c0:26:7f:a3:ea via eth0
Dec 16 00:00:37 servu rpc.mountd: authenticated mount request from ws001:691 for /opt/ltsp/i386 (/opt/ltsp/i386)
Dec 16 00:00:43 servu rpc.mountd: authenticated mount request from ws001:794 for /var/opt/ltsp/swapfiles (/var/opt/ltsp/swapfiles)
Dec 16 00:00:48 ws001 syslogd started: BusyBox v0.60.1 (2001.09.28-01:12+0000)
Dec 16 00:00:49 ws001 init: Entering runlevel: 2
Dec 16 00:00:49 ws001 devfsd[111]: Caught SIGHUP
Dec 16 00:00:49 ws001 devfsd[111]: read config file: "/etc/devfsd.conf"
Dec 16 00:00:49 ws001 init: Switching to runlevel: 5
Dec 16 00:00:51 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_decode: Received opcode QUERY from client 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:00:51 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_query: Opcode 2 from 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:00:51 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_send_willing: Sending WILLING to 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_decode: Received opcode REQUEST from client 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_request: Got REQUEST from 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_request: pending=0, MaxPending=2, sessions=0, MaxSessions=4
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_display_dispose_check (ws001:0)
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_auth_secure_display: Setting up access for ws001:0
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_auth_secure_display: Setting up network access
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_auth_secure_display: Setting up access for ws001:0 - 1 entries
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_display_alloc: display=ws001:0, session id=1071525590, pending=1
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_send_accept: Sending ACCEPT to 192.168.0.2 with SessionID=1071525590
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_decode: Received opcode MANAGE from client 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Got MANAGE from 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Got Display=0, SessionID=1071525590 from 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Looked up ws001:0
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_forward_query_lookup: Host 192.168.0.2 not found
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_display_manage: Managing ws001:0
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: Resetting counts for loop of death detection
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_display_manage: Forked slave: 3927
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[3927]: gdm_slave_start: Starting slave process for ws001:0
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[3927]: gdm_slave_start: Loop Thingie
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[3927]: gdm_slave_run: Opening display ws001:0
Dec 16 00:01:15 servu gdm[3927]: gdm_slave_run: Sleeping 1 on a retry
Dec 16 00:01:16 servu gdm[3927]: gdm_slave_run: Sleeping 3 on a retry
Dec 16 00:01:17 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_decode: Received opcode MANAGE from client 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:17 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Got MANAGE from 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:17 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Got Display=0, SessionID=1071525590 from 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:17 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Session id 1071525590 already managed
Dec 16 00:01:19 servu gdm[3927]: gdm_slave_run: Sleeping 5 on a retry
Dec 16 00:01:21 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_decode: Received opcode MANAGE from client 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:21 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Got MANAGE from 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:21 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Got Display=0, SessionID=1071525590 from 192.168.0.2
Dec 16 00:01:21 servu gdm[1475]: gdm_xdmcp_handle_manage: Session id 1071525590 already managed

_________________
Do it or not. There is no try!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
docfab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I switched to gdm and it worked fine. No idea what was wrong with xdm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qweasda
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need help on the DHCP server part of this. When I try to boot my EEPro100 client with a floppy disc (no ether boot support) it sits at:
Code:

Searching for server (DHCP)
.


here's my dhcpd.conf:
Code:

# Sample configuration file for ISCD dhcpd
# with boot menu

#General options
ddns-update-style             ad-hoc;
default-lease-time            21600;
max-lease-time                21600;
use-host-decl-names           on;

#Bootp options
allow booting;
allow bootp;

#Network options
option subnet-mask            255.255.255.0;
option broadcast-address      192.168.1.255;
option routers                192.168.1.254;
option domain-name-servers    192.168.1.254, 192.168.1.1, 192.168.1.104;
option domain-name            "homeftp.net";
option log-servers            192.168.0.254;

#LTSP path options
option root-path              "192.168.1.104:/opt/ltsp/i386";
filename                      "/lts/vmlinuz-2.4.19-ltsp-1";

shared-network WORKSTATIONS {
    subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        range 192.168.1.100 192.168.1.110;
        host ws01 {
                hardware ethernet       00:50:B7:11:0E:18;
                fixed-address           192.168.1.119;
        }
    }
}


and I've tried many different settings..with and without fixed addresses.
ws01 there is the real MAC address of the client. With or without that it won't find the server.


Thanks for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qweasda
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just something else I've caught: restarting /etc/init.d/net.eth0 on my main gentoo system with the server running dhcpd, tries to obtain the IP from the server, and does. All internal network things can be pinged, but I can't reach the outside world.

Also, I tried ClusterKnoppix and the client still couldn't find the server's DHCPd server. If it matters at all, my network setup is as follows: cable line into a Lynksys router, a line to a 5 port Netgear switch, which sends out a line to the server and a client, and my desktop gets a line from the router. Does this switch make any difference?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmay4
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 2:36 pm    Post subject: Higher Resolutions Reply with quote

I just got LTSP up and running (thanks to whoever wrote the HOWTO...it was dead on!). The one problem I'm having is that I cannot get it work at anything higher than 800x600. I've tried setting X_MODE_0 in lts.conf, but nothing seems to work:

Code:
X_MODE_0 = 1024x768


The monitor supports it, as does the Trident Blade T64 card. I looked at the LTSP manual and searched online, but I can't find anything.

Has anyone else had this problem? Thanks,

Chuck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bionic_Redneck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Florida,US

PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a problem get on net. Finally able to get on internet and resolve hostnames. What I did was


Code:
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
iptables --append FORWARD --in-interface eth1 -j ACCEPT
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
iptables-save


Also had emerged and configured ypbind & ypserv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GlennM
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 94
Location: Wisconsin, USA

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Qweasda - If you ever come back to this thread, I've had a very similar problem with a client. I tried 5 different known-working (with LTSP) network cards, different boot ROMs, different boot disks, different switches...some computers just don't work, and I don't know why. I've got two of them here that don't work, one a P100 and one that's, uh, a P166 I think. Perhaps try a different client? Mixing and matching network cards, switches, and etherboot images helps, too. I don't know if the EE100Pro has different possible EB images, but the LNE100TX's I tend to use can be used with either the lc82c115 or centaur-p image, both of which have varying degrees of sucess.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bionic_Redneck
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Florida,US

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was looking thru my bios and realize that my board could use pxe and didn't need floppies. anyway I have k12ltsp on hdb and for some reason I didn't have the pxe stuff so I copied over the files needed to hda. I tarred up the files I used if anyone needs them. ltspxe.tar.bz2 I put pxe in /tftpboot and modules in /opt/ltsp/i386/lib
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum