Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Was able to get LTSP running under Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lanius
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once again thank you :)

I just didn't add your real name because i didn't know it, now its fixed ;D

I completed transforming the documentation into xml and added a FAQ section at the end, which covers the additionally links, you posted.

If you have no further suggestions I will post it on bugs.gentoo.org :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2003 7:51 pm    Post subject: Final Suggestions Reply with quote

heino wrote:
Once again thank you :)

I just didn't add your real name because i didn't know it, now its fixed ;D

Figured, that is fine.

heino wrote:
I completed transforming the documentation into xml and added a FAQ section at the end, which covers the additionally links, you posted.

If you have no further suggestions I will post it on bugs.gentoo.org :)


Final suggestions:

    Add an "e" to "mor" in Q 3 in the FAQ and right after code listing 3.5, same thing
    Add Mailing lists to troubleshooting, http://ltsp.org/mailinglists.php. They are full of some real good knowledge.

Sounds good. To bugs.gentoo.org it goes... Thanks for the work you put into it. I'm excited to see this put into place.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lanius
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, i changed this. It would be good if you could look for spelling mistakes again, my english isn't as good as it should be ;D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D Mine either, but I'll give it a once over again. :-)
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Under 1 - What is LTSP
where you need to have an uniform workspace on each computer you login (removed "ly" from uniformly)

Under 2 - First note
it's safe (and recommended) to overwrite (s/adn/and/)

Under 3 - DHCP Config
This is the most complicated step in my opinion (s/complicatest/most complicated/)
here is an example: (added word "is")
- LTSP Config: Warning
ork for me, so I use KDM. (s/user/use/)
- Creating a boot floppy
Go to http://www.rom-o-matic.net/5.0.9/, (s/God/Go/ :-) )
- Code listing 3.8
cat nicfile.lzdsk > (s/cate/cat/)

Under 4
There are a lot of things that can be the source of trouble (s/ge/be/ and added an "l" to trouble)
In List, capitalize first letter of last two items

Under 5
First A: That is not a problem (reworded)
Second Q: RAM should (s/be/the/) server have

Thoughts:
We should probably make a note that inputting this with DHCP setup could severly and adversely affect the network. If they already have a DHCP server, they shouldn't install another one. That would be bad. We could also describe the setup with in a 2 NIC environment.

Be sure to translate it for your native language as well, de=German right?

I'm sure that at least some of these errors are from me typing it in again. :-) I can't believe I read over this before and didn't see some of them. I guess it has to do with what mindset I'm looking at it with, proofreading content vs. grammar.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lanius
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=20219 :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

heino wrote:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=20219 :)


Excellent :!: :!:
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2003 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Duped to https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=20224
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nakke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2003 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same troubles with NFS as mgirard.

Code:

Mounting root filesystem: /opt/ltsp/i386 from: 192.168.0.2
Doing the pivot_root
nfs server: 192.168.0.2 not responding, still trying
nfs: task 82 can't get a request slot


The server logs show this:
Code:
rpc.mountd: authenticated mount request from rasmus:686 for /opt/ltsp/i386 (/opt/ltsp/i386)


I'm using a 3c509 card on the client. Tftp and the DHCP server reside on another server than the NFS one. Could this be related? Google wasn't very helpfull and I'm totally lost here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qweasda
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2003 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is something I've been wanting to do for a while but never got around to it. Now my motivation is up, but the fonts package's digest is bad. I refetched it twice and downloaded it from the ltsp site and placed it in the distfile dir but it's reporting a bad degest too. Here's the output if that matters:

Code:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge (1 of 1) net-misc/ltsp-core-3.0.9-r1 to /
>>> md5 ;-) ltsp_core-3.0.9-i386.tgz
>>> md5 ;-) ltsp_kernel-3.0.5-i386.tgz
>>> md5 ;-) ltsp_x_core-3.0.1-i386.tgz

!!! ltsp_x_fonts-3.0.0-i386.tgz: message digests do not match!
!!! ltsp_x_fonts-3.0.0-i386.tgz is corrupt or incomplete.
>>> our recorded digest: e8d4faa0a307bb19f5b647674f59bd8c
>>>  your file's digest: 8fdd1b1c7dcb046afce99d88fa1576be
>>> Please delete /usr/portage/distfiles/ltsp_x_fonts-3.0.0-i386.tgz and refetch.



Any ideas, better download location, etc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qweasda
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2003 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got it now. The ebuild isn't masked anymore, so I removed the ACCEPT_KEYWORDS and it emerged fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nakke wrote:
I'm having the same troubles with NFS as mgirard.

Code:

Mounting root filesystem: /opt/ltsp/i386 from: 192.168.0.2
Doing the pivot_root
nfs server: 192.168.0.2 not responding, still trying
nfs: task 82 can't get a request slot


The server logs show this:
Code:
rpc.mountd: authenticated mount request from rasmus:686 for /opt/ltsp/i386 (/opt/ltsp/i386)


I'm using a 3c509 card on the client. Tftp and the DHCP server reside on another server than the NFS one. Could this be related? Google wasn't very helpfull and I'm totally lost here.


Obvious things, 0.2 is your NFS server right? Can you get other communication, ping from that workstation or one on the same switch/network?

Since LTSP demands a lot from the server, I wonder if the server and the workstation are having issues in communication. I poked around the web to see what I could see, but didn't come up with much either except to find out it is definately related to nfs (of course) and possibly the result of a faulty NIC, but unlikely. Could you break out some variables, maybe put another NFS server and that workstation on the same switch with low traffic to try to eliminate that? I've never actually broken the services up so I'm not sure if there might be a simple config issue.

There's some thoughts that might help focus in on the issue. Like I said, I'm not exerienced in splitting it up, though it can be done, so I may be missing something obvious.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nakke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phew. I finally got NFS working. All I had to do was to disable protocols 3 and 4 from the kernel config. Thanks for the tip, flickerfly and sorry for bothering you guys with another tech support request.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nakke wrote:
Phew. I finally got NFS working. All I had to do was to disable protocols 3 and 4 from the kernel config. Thanks for the tip, flickerfly and sorry for bothering you guys with another tech support request.


You're welcome.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Head over to the bug and add yourself to the CC: list of email addresses if you'd like to hear when this gets put up. Also, this will build awareness of the bug post and encourage it through the process of approval.

Again thats:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=20224
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Tue Jun 17, 2003 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

right now i'm installing gentoo on our terminal server (p4 @ 2,4 ghz and 1 gb ddr ram), until this morning it was running k12ltsp which is redhat based.

we also have a novell server with the accounts, so i've used ncpfs to get the accounts, this works very smooth!
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

atac wrote:
right now i'm installing gentoo on our terminal server (p4 @ 2,4 ghz and 1 gb ddr ram), until this morning it was running k12ltsp which is redhat based.

we also have a novell server with the accounts, so i've used ncpfs to get the accounts, this works very smooth!


Thanks for letting up known how this was being used.

:-) I used to use K12LTSP too. It does a great job of initiating people into what LTSP is about and what it does. Doing it with Gentoo is great to be able to tweak each and every detail to your hearts content. Once you go Gentoo in any area (LTSP expecially), you can't go back. :-)
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

woh, i'm writing this from one of our thin clients, connected to a terminalserver using gentoo and ltsp! the performace is much much better then with the redhat based k12ltsp ;)

tho i have some things i need to fix, how do i change the keyboard layout to the clients?
right now there's "us", but i need "se-latin1", sitting physiclly by the server gives me the right layout, so it must be some in some configuration file?
haven't play around that much with LTSP since k12ltsp did all the necessary configuration for you.

thanks for a GREAT tutorial!

EDIT
nevermind, i did what i should've done in the first place, looked at the docs at http://www.ltsp.org, just some XkbLayout option in lts.conf

_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

atac wrote:
woh, i'm writing this from one of our thin clients, connected to a terminalserver using gentoo and ltsp! the performace is much much better then with the redhat based k12ltsp ;)


I know that feeling well. :D It's a great one, and in fact the one that made my total switch to Gentoo a no-brainer. I had RH on a 900Mhz machine and Gentoo on a 750Mhz both had roughly similar hardware and installed software otherwise, but Gentoo was smoking RH and I haven't installed another distro since. That RH box is the one I type this to you in Gentoo with. :-) Only have one RH box left in the shop and that's a SAMBA server I haven't been able to figure out how to upgrade without taking users down for a period of time.

Gentoo Techs: Techs who know how to manage their resources :-)

Could you give us a rough harware rundown on your server and average client? That's always interesting to see.
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 12:57 pm    Post subject: Typo Reply with quote

heino, I found another typo:
In XINETD/TFTP under 3. Configuration /ext/xinetd.d/tftp should be /etc/xinetd.d/tftp.

I tried to cut and past it to edit and the computer looked at me funny so I checked...

and in DHCP Config description:

complicatet becomes complicated
also
we don't tell them where to find the DHCP Config file (/etc/dhcp/dhcpd.conf)

It might be a good idea to revamp this section as a new dhcpd.conf appears to have been put in the ltsp-core ebuild.

It would be good to go into detail about how to choose the dm or just link this document for instructions http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/desktop.xml#doc_chap3
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2003 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

server:
Intel Pentium P4 2,4 Ghz
1 GB DDR, PC3200
ibm 18 gb, 10k rpm scsi disk
realtek8139 onboard lan
nvidia tnt2 32mb gfx

this server was kindly enough donated by a big company which have their mainoffice in the town i'm from.

clients:
Intel Pentium 133 Mhz
32 mb sdram or edo
matrox (?) gfx
davicom9102 nic's
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think I've done this yet, mine's a bit of a mess on the client side:

server:
Dual AMD Athlon MP 1600
512M DDR
IDE Disks
Dual 3c905
Gforce 2 MX

Clients:
486-333 Mhz
8-32M Ram
No Hardrive!!!!!!!!!!
ne2000 ISA & PCI, RTL8139, Intel EtherPro
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flickerfly
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 Nov 2002
Posts: 677
Location: Lanham, MD

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

atac wrote:
server:
Intel Pentium P4 2,4 Ghz
1 GB DDR, PC3200
ibm 18 gb, 10k rpm scsi disk
realtek8139 onboard lan
nvidia tnt2 32mb gfx

this server was kindly enough donated by a big company which have their mainoffice in the town i'm from.


I like the big RAM size. It looks very well equipped for the job. I deal with a lot of donations and it's always good to see one you can use this effectively. :-)

atac wrote:

clients:
Intel Pentium 133 Mhz
32 mb sdram or edo
matrox (?) gfx
davicom9102 nic's

This looks a lot like some I have. Any chance they are Compaq DeskPros? I have several of those with the onboard tlan nics that aren't compatible as a client so I installed old ne2000s in them, mostly ISA. Not great, but it works well enough. :-)
_________________
An Evil Genious' Guide to Sheeple and How To Avoid Becoming One | 0x4C9EF4A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lanius
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Dec 2002
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fixed this typos, don't have time for more atm, but you can do it, just grep the xml file from http://www.cojobo.net/~h_wendel/gentoo/ltsp.xml .

mfg, heino :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
atac
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Jan 2003
Posts: 234
Location: haninge, swe

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2003 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, forgott that our thin-clients dosen't have any harddrives in them either :)

yepp, it's compaq deskpro's allright ;)
_________________
1 + 1 + 1 = 11
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 3 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum