Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem with PS3 install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Terrathe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:24 am    Post subject: Problem with PS3 install Reply with quote

Hi im new to linux and started to install Gentoo on my ps3 after reading the benefits of using Gentoo compared to yellow dog linux.

I followed the guide on http://overlays.gentoo.org/proj/cell/wiki/InstallGentooOnPS3

I got to Edit /etc/fstab where I didnt know what to do, so I continued to the next step and set root password and created a user.

and when I was supposed to unmount I got an error saying that it couldnt unmount so I restarted without unmounting.

So after that it boots up in kboot wait 10 seconds and then continues with loading gentoo, but I get an error (at work now and forgot the note with the error message at home.) think it was mounting problems. will update this post when I get home, the options i get after the error is either to input the root password or press a key combination.

should i start over with the installation from the beginning or is it easy to solve? i suspect that it probably was because i didnt edit the fstab.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OnlyTux
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello and welcome to the forum,
I must say that I do not own a PS3, but your installation from stage4 should not be compromised, I guess.

Try to boot again with your install cd, then chroot inside your installed system:
Quote:
livecd ~ # mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
livecd ~ # mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
livecd ~ # cp /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etclivecd gentoo # chroot /mnt/gentoo/ /bin/bash
livecd / # env-update && source /etc/profile
livecd / # export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"

--- 'profiles/arch.list' is empty or not available. Empty portage tree?
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...

and edit your fstab file with this command:
Code:
# nano /etc/fstab

and, if you rigidly followed the guide, you should make sure that your fstab looks like the one in the guide.

Hope to be helpful.

Cheers.
_________________
ANTONIO: How every fool can play upon the world! I think the best grace of wit will shortly turn into silence, and discourse grow commendable in none only but parrots...

Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Terrathe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the help, the error i had before was bad superblock or something like that, i started over with the install and edited the fstab the way you told me and now im inside xfce :) and again thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum