Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
is anybody using DRI on aluminium book ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 1:03 pm    Post subject: is anybody using DRI on aluminium book ? Reply with quote

hi,
ati radeon 9600, powerbook 14" aluminium 1.6Ghz, Linux 2.6.23, xorg-base-v7.2
here running X has success, but sometimes i run the X from the text console and i get a black screen with the air cooler fast running, and no choice: the local console is gone, so i have to ssh from an other console and force the machine for a reboot

what could be wrong ?


removing
Load "dri"
Load "glx"
from the xorg.conf never causes the issues I am talking about: obviously this way DRI is disabled : P



Quote:

USE="X a52 aac aalib alsa altivec apache2 arts asterisk background bidi
binfilter blas branding bzip2 cairo cdaudio cdda cddb cdio cdparanoia cdr
cdrom cgi curl daap dbus directfb drm dts dvb dvd encode fbcon ffmpeg
firefox flac force-cgi-redirect freetts freetype ggi gif ginac glitz gmp
gnome gnutls graphviz gtk gzip2 hash httpd ieee1394 imlib java
java-internal java6 javacomm javascript jbig jpeg jpeg2k jsapi lame
libcaca libnotify libsamplerate live mad matroska mod mode-force
mode-owner mode-paranoid modelock mp2 mp3 mp3rtp mp4 mp4live mpeg mpeg2
mpi msn musepack mysql odbc ogg old opengl openssh pdf php plotutils png
qt-static qt3 qt3support qt4 rtsp ruby screen script server shout skins
sndfile source sox speex spell stream streamripper svg svn-mirror
svnserve tcl theora tiff truetype upnp utils v4l v4l2 valgrind vcd vlm
vorbis wxwindows xcb xim xml xosd xpm xprint xterm xv xvid -ipv6 -isdnlog"

VIDEO_CARDS="radeon"


lsmod
Quote:

Module Size Used by
pcmcia 34632 0
firmware_class 8640 1 pcmcia
yenta_socket 26284 1
rsrc_nonstatic 10432 1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core 40796 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
bridge 45310 0
llc 6364 1 bridge
radeon 141192 0
drm 85336 1 radeon
sungem 30916 0
sungem_phy 12544 1 sungem


xorg.conf
http://rafb.net/p/hhcHK556.html

log about x11
http://rafb.net/p/I9WBC760.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meisteris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using DRI on my aluminum powerbook 15", mine has same video card as yours, and i do not have such problems. However it is less than a week since i am using gentoo, and linux on powerbook, so all this is kind of new to me, but there is my "Device" section for this card:
Code:
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "radeon"
        VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
        BoardName   "RV350 [Mobility Radeon 9600 M10]"
        BusID       "PCI:0:16:0"
        #Option      "DPMS" "true"
        Option      "AGPMode" "4"
        Option      "AGPFastWrite" "yes"
        Option      "EnablePageFlip" "on"
        Option      "RenderAccel" "on"
        Option      "AccelMethod" "XXA" # EXA or XXA
        Option      "MergedFB" "false"
        Option      "ColorTiling" "on"

and my modules section:
Code:

Section "Module"
        Load  "GLcore"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "drm"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "record"
        Load  "xtrap"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "type1"
EndSection

With this setup i still have a little issue (the whole screen becomes fuzzy, hardly readable), when i kill xorg server with alt+ctr+backspace (but that happens very rarely and starting xorg, and killing it again fixes the issue for me. However, i did had various problems when i was playing with these settings, as i recall, when i was using "EXA" as rendering method, i had similar problem to yours (tho i was able to kill X and start over), till i changed it to "Option "AccelMethod" "XXA" ".

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you a lot : D using your suggestions i fixed a bit of my issues : P

have you ever had the plasma bug ?
here it happens sometimes: when i poweron the powerbook it may be the whole screen suddenly stops to report informations at the kernel boot stage, and lcd progressively becomes dark, or colored (pink, blue, red, with a plasma diffusion that progressively becomes whole uniformed dark)

have you ever seen something like this ? here it happens with a probability p(x)=1/40
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meisteris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Happy to hear that.
And when i urn on my powerbook, i always see white background and some weird text on it for a second, but after that all goes back to normal, no pink, no red, no diffusion of any kind. Maybe you did something wrong in your kernel config? (at least i have no other ideas for it). I am running self configured 2.6.23-gentoo-r9 kernel at the moment btw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

from other people I hear this "plasma issues" happening with a probability of p(x)=1/40, so it may be
1) you are lucky
2) you use your powerbook less than the probability to have this bug running
3) the problem is in the kernel config, enabling or disabling something
4) ...

so, could you post your .config ? i'd like to see if it the problem


Last edited by ddc on Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:51 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meisteris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i was a bit lucky i guess, this all setup was quite easy for me :) And i use this laptop really a lot, i believe i would have noticed this bug already. Here is my config file for 2.6.23-r9 kernel, i still think that it needs quite some tuning (a lot of stuff is marked * there, while could be M), but it works for me really good.

And one more thought about that bug, i believe it could be due to incorrect frame buffer driver, but it is only a guess tho.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
have you ever had the plasma bug ?
here it happens sometimes: when i poweron the powerbook it may be the whole screen suddenly stops to report informations at the kernel boot stage, and lcd progressively becomes dark, or colored (pink, blue, red, with a plasma diffusion that progressively becomes whole uniformed dark)


1.33 G4 alubook with Radeon 9600 here and i´ve never seen this either. Can post conf files if anyone wants me too.

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ummm, i miss something about the differences


his (his=the meisteris's one) 2.6.23.9.config.graphics_support
Quote:

#
# Graphics support
#
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LCD_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE=y
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_CLASS_DEVICE=y

#
# Display device support
#
CONFIG_DISPLAY_SUPPORT=y

#
# Display hardware drivers
#
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_DDC=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_DEFERRED_IO=y
CONFIG_FB_MACMODES=y
CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y

#
# Frame buffer hardware drivers
#
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y
#
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y
CONFIG_LOGO=y
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_MONO=y
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_VGA16=y
CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_CLUT224=y


my 2.6.23.9.config.graphics_support
Quote:

#
# Graphics support
#
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LCD_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE=m
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_CLASS_DEVICE=y

#
# Display device support
#
CONFIG_VIDEO_OUTPUT_CONTROL=y
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_DDC=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_DEFERRED_IO=y
CONFIG_FB_MACMODES=y
CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y

#
# Frame buffer hardware drivers
#
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_DEBUG=y
#
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=128
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION=y
CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR=y
CONFIG_FONTS=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y


differences
Quote:

my < CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE=m
his > CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE=y
my < CONFIG_VIDEO_OUTPUT_CONTROL=y
his > CONFIG_DISPLAY_SUPPORT=y
my < CONFIG_FB_RADEON_DEBUG=y
my < CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
my < CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
my < CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=128
my < CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY=y
my < CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION=y
my < CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR=y
my < CONFIG_FONTS=y
his > CONFIG_LOGO=y
his > CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_MONO=y
his > CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_VGA16=y
his > CONFIG_LOGO_LINUX_CLUT224=y



my whole config
http://rafb.net/p/QSaXrX21.html


@gringo: just 'cause I am curious, could you post the piece of your config where you configure the Graphics support ? I'd like to understand exactly what was wrong
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
@gringo: just 'cause I am curious, could you post the piece of your config where you configure the Graphics support ? I'd like to understand exactly what was wrong


sure, no problem, will upload it somewhere as soon as i´m at home again.
I just took a quick look to your config and the only major difference i see is that i´m not using the in-kernel drm driver and i´m quite sure i´m not using CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE either.
I don´t think the linux logo should make any difference but probably CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE is a good thing to have.

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
#
# Graphics support
#
CONFIG_AGP=y
CONFIG_AGP_UNINORTH=y
CONFIG_VIDEO_OUTPUT_CONTROL=y
CONFIG_FB=y
CONFIG_FB_DDC=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_FILLRECT=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_COPYAREA=y
CONFIG_FB_CFB_IMAGEBLIT=y
CONFIG_FB_DEFERRED_IO=y
CONFIG_FB_MACMODES=y
CONFIG_FB_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_FB_MODE_HELPERS=y

#
# Frame buffer hardware drivers
#
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_LCD_SUPPORT=y
CONFIG_LCD_CLASS_DEVICE=y
CONFIG_BACKLIGHT_CLASS_DEVICE=y

#
# Console display driver support
#
CONFIG_VGA_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK=y
CONFIG_VGACON_SOFT_SCROLLBACK_SIZE=128
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x8=y
CONFIG_FONT_8x16=y


hope this helps. Looks quite similar to yours.

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank U : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this sounds familiar: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=7660

unfortunately I don't have that machine with that graphics card any more...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
terry
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jul 2002
Posts: 64
Location: Korea Seoul

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ddc wrote:
thank U : )


Do you fix "plasma bug" ?

I have same problem. I am using powerbook G4 1.67Ghz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

terry wrote:
ddc wrote:
thank U : )


Do you fix "plasma bug" ?

I have same problem. I am using powerbook G4 1.67Ghz.



not fixed yet, 'cause it is so difficult to isolate ...
but if U modify your linux.config as described in the previous post you still see the plusma bug at the start up (booting stage) but it will disappears as soon as the kernel enters into the "init" stage.

feel free to ask my 2.6.23.config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum