Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde4: No window decorator [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 325
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:30 am    Post subject: kde4: No window decorator [SOLVED] Reply with quote

(The below was also posted in the KDE 4 in gentoo portage? thread, so sorry if you've read it twice.)

Since upgrading -- no problems anywhere in build process -- to 4.0.2, I'm stuck without a window decorator.

This is what I find in .xsession-errors:
Code:
[...]
kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/kde/4.0/bin/kwin
[...]
kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/kde/4.0/bin/knotify4
kwin(6291): Couldn't start knotify from knotify4.desktop:  "KDEInit could not launch '/usr/kde/4.0/bin/knot
ify4'."
[...]
kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/bin/compiz
kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/bin/kde-window-decorator
kdeinit4: preparing to launch /usr/bin/compiz-start
[...]
NVIDA detected
Using KDE decorator
[...]
kde-window-decorator: Screen 0 on display ":0.0" already has a decoration manager; try using the --replace
option to replace the current decoration manager.
MMX: 1, SSE: 1, SSE2: 1, MMX-SSE: 1, 3dNow: 0, 3dNow+: 0
QPainter::begin: Cannot paint on a null pixmap
QPainter::setCompositionMode: Painter not active
ksmserver(6288)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotificationManager::close: error while contacting knotify server
Plasma crashed, attempting to automatically recover
QSocketNotifier: Multiple socket notifiers for same socket 12 and type Read
QSocketNotifier: Multiple socket notifiers for same socket 14 and type Read
startkde: Shutting down...
It shouldn't be using kde-window-decorator, should it? That's part of the compiz package, which kde4 shouldn't be using? And kwin is launched a bit before it starts doing the compiz-tricks. Which, no doubt, is what's causing it to crash.

Yes, I'm using compiz with my 3.5* kde. (Working fine, not that it matters.) I'm starting it up with fusion-icon, so there shouldn't be anything in settings (env.d or some such) that would be causing kde/4 to use compiz -- not that kde4 should even be using same configs as 3.5, right? (fusion-icon is found in .kde3.5/Autostart; there's nothing in .kde4.0/Autostart.)

Rebuilt kwin:kde4 for the heck of it; no change, of course.

Where is compiz and kde-window-decorator coming from? Why are they being started? How can I tell them off?

Ideas about that or something else I should be checking?


Last edited by krisse on Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:03 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 325
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I log in to kde4 it looks just like the .xsession-errors above: screen blinks a couple of times, ends up with the (proper) desktop -- but I'm left without window decoration.

Running a simple kwin --replace from a un-decorated terminal gets it up and working.

So the only thing I need, is to get kde4 to stop trying to run compiz. Why, why is it doing that? Where have I forgotten something?

Oh, and before someone suggests it: yes, I have started off with a clean kde4 slate. (I did not, however, also rm -r .kde3.5.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paczesiowa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Mar 2006
Posts: 593
Location: Oborniki Śląskie, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem, but I don't use compiz. funny thing is that it happens with kde4 and kde3 (new user - empty ~/), my daily user account works ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 325
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really? You don't even have compiz or anything installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 325
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Updated to 4.0.3 but problem persists!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 325
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*sigh* Double-checked env variables in /etc/env.d/ but nothing related there. Removed ${HOME}/.kde4.0 several times over; same result. Revdep-rebuild: no help there either.

So I'm now removing all kde 4.0 stuff with dependencies -- oops, seems I'm removing all 3.5.8 packages too; oh well, I guess it's going to be clean-clean-clean -- in the hope that reinstalling will fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 325
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... Kind of a harsh method, but it worked...
Code:
cd /var/db/pkg
for i in kde-base/*-4.0* ; do paludis -u =${i} --with-dependencies ; done
That got rid of all kde 4.0 and much of 3.5.8 as well, I'm afraid. And compiz. (... And some other stuff.) Left compiz out of the reinstall; did a
Code:
paludis -i =kde-base/kdebase-meta-3.5.8 =kde-base/kde-meta-4.0.3
And I was up and running again. And no more trouble with window manager crashing in kde 4. Woo.

I'm sure there must have been a better way than to waste processor power like this. But hey, it's working. I'm happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Berniyh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jun 2006
Posts: 677

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krisse wrote:
Well... Kind of a harsh method, but it worked...
Code:
cd /var/db/pkg
for i in kde-base/*-4.0* ; do paludis -u =${i} --with-dependencies ; done
That got rid of all kde 4.0 and much of 3.5.8 as well, I'm afraid. And compiz. (... And some other stuff.) Left compiz out of the reinstall; did a
Code:
paludis -i =kde-base/kdebase-meta-3.5.8 =kde-base/kde-meta-4.0.3
And I was up and running again. And no more trouble with window manager crashing in kde 4. Woo.

I'm sure there must have been a better way than to waste processor power like this. But hey, it's working. I'm happy.

I suggest, that you create a set for the kde stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 325
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Berniyh wrote:
I suggest, that you create a set for the kde stuff.


Good suggestion! :-) ---As far as my incompetent uninstall/reinstall goes. Regarding the real issue that was at hand, it wouldn't of course have mattered. But who cares, it's not an issue anymore. I'll set up a set, for sure, if I'm going to go at some similar un-/reinstall again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum