Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo overlays setup on ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86" system
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
praka123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Kerala,India

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:17 am    Post subject: gentoo overlays setup on ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86" sys Reply with quote

Hi,
I am running Gentoo with icewm for the time being(I want gnome-2.22!).
I have "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"" in /etc/make.conf .ie,went for stable/main repo only.

Now,I want to merge gnome-2.22 which is unmasked.
but during that process,I understood that I dont have /etc/portage directory and /etc/portage/package.unmask and /etc/portage/package.keywords files

see,I have installed gentoo,the classic way WITHOUT using any installer.ie,using stage3 tar ball and latest portage snapshot.

So,what is the procedure to enable overlays?

I have already installed layman and autounmask.
emerged git and subversion too.
layman works only if I copy /usr/portage/package.mask as two files-package.unmask and package.keywords into /etc/portage directory(which I have to make!).
^Even I think that procedure is wrong!

So,kindly direct me what is the proper way of setting up overlay support,when my gentoo doesnot have /etc/portage and other files inside it!-especially I want Gnome-2.22 :D

Thanks!

ps:here is my /etc/make.conf .dont know whether it is sourced in gentoo startup.is there anyway to make sure that "source /etc/make.conf" has run?

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example.
#CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
CFLAGS="-march=prescott -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
#CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
USE="a52 acl acpi aiglx alsa bzip2 bash-completion cairo chroot cpudetection dbus dvd dvdr dvdread ffmpeg fontconfig gtk gtk2 gpm gnome gstreamer firefox hal hddtemp lm_sensors mp3 mp4 mpeg mpeg2 mplayer mime nls nptl nvidia pulseaudio truetype unicode xorg X xscreensaver xv xvid xcomposite xine opengl aiglx mime ogg theora symlink win32codecs -arts -cups -beagle -kde -ldap -mono -networkmanager -nis -oss -pcmcia -qt3 -qt4 "

MAKEOPTS="-j3"

AUTOCLEAN="yes"

PORTAGE_TMPFS="/dev/shm"

FEATURES="sandbox collision-protect ccache parallel-fetch"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://gentoo.kems.net/mirrors/gentoo/ ftp://ftp.kaist.ac.kr/gentoo/  http://distfiles.gentoo.org"

CCACHE_DIR="/var/tmp/ccache"
CCACHE_SIZE="2G"
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia vesa"
INPUT_DEVICES="mouse keyboard"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--ask --verbose"

PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"

source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf


Thanks again!friends :D
_________________
Linux Rocks!Grab it Yaara!
spread the Linux message!add this to ur siggY- http://getgnulinux.org
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bumbl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

# autounmask gnome-base/gnome-2.22.0
# emerge gnome


[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
praka123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Kerala,India

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried that!but as "autounmask gnome-base/gnome-2.22.1" but that failed!will try for gnome-2.22.0
_________________
Linux Rocks!Grab it Yaara!
spread the Linux message!add this to ur siggY- http://getgnulinux.org
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
praka123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Kerala,India

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

to be exact,here is the error:
see,my try errors out as below(I dont have /etc/portage directory by default,pls help!)
Code:
localhost / # autounmask gnome-base/gnome-2.22.1

 autounmask version 0.21 (using PortageXS-0.02.07 and portage-2.1.4.4)

Unsuccessful stat on filename containing newline at /usr/bin/autounmask line 304.
Unsuccessful stat on filename containing newline at /usr/bin/autounmask line 307.
Unsuccessful stat on filename containing newline at /usr/bin/autounmask line 304.
Unsuccessful stat on filename containing newline at /usr/bin/autounmask line 307.
 * Using repositories:
     /usr/portage
     
     /usr/local/portage

 * Using package.keywords file: /etc/portage/package.keywords
 * Using package.unmask file: /etc/portage/package.unmask

Cannot write to file: /etc/portage/package.keywords at /usr/bin/autounmask line 158.


this is the line corresponding to error messages in /usr/bin/autounmask:
Code:
 while(1) {
                if (-e $curPath.'/make.defaults') {
                        push(@profilefiles,$curPath.'/make.defaults');
                }
                if (! -e $curPath.'/parent') { last; }
                $parent=$pxs->getFileContents($curPath.'/parent');
                chomp($parent);
                $curPath.='/'.$parent;
        }

_________________
Linux Rocks!Grab it Yaara!
spread the Linux message!add this to ur siggY- http://getgnulinux.org
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deno
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 406

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not having package.* files in /etc/portage folder is normal. You have to create them. just 'cd /etc/portage/ && touch package.keywords package.unmask'
and add overlays you need with layman -a.

If you don't have /etc/portage dir, just make it `mkdir /etc/portage'!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
praka123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Kerala,India

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it seems not that easy!
I have profile symlinked to 2008.0
see:
Code:
localhost:~# ll /opt/etc/make.profile
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 48 2008-04-11 07:16 /opt/etc/make.profile -> ../usr/portage/profiles/default/linux/x86/2008.0

and,I tried layman -L and it listed gnome too!
so,I tried
Code:
layman -a gnome

Code:
localhost ~ # layman -a gnome
* Running command "/usr/bin/git clone "git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/proj/gnome.git/" "/usr/local/portage/layman/gnome""...
Initialized empty Git repository in /usr/local/portage/layman/gnome/.git/
remote: Generating pack...
remote: Done counting 3085 objects.
remote: Deltifying 3085 objects...
remote:  100% (3085/3085) done
Indexing 3085 objects...
remote: Total 3085 (delta 1194), reused 192 (delta 45)
 100% (3085/3085) done
Resolving 1194 deltas...
 100% (1194/1194) done
* Successfully added overlay "gnome".

it showed something something and said everything fine and gnome overlay added.

I went to /etc/portage/package.unmask and /etc/portage/package.keywords .
both the files are blank! :o I think these programs are very buggy :?:
localhost ~ # emerge gnome-base/gnome
see,it is ready to install gnome-2.20.3? :roll:
http://rafb.net/p/ZycR6l19.html

OMG!Is that,that tough to install gnome-2.22?
_________________
Linux Rocks!Grab it Yaara!
spread the Linux message!add this to ur siggY- http://getgnulinux.org
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firefly
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 4456

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

praka123 wrote:
it seems not that easy!
I have profile symlinked to 2008.0
see:
Code:
localhost:~# ll /opt/etc/make.profile
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 48 2008-04-11 07:16 /opt/etc/make.profile -> ../usr/portage/profiles/default/linux/x86/2008.0

and,I tried layman -L and it listed gnome too!
so,I tried
Code:
layman -a gnome

Code:
localhost ~ # layman -a gnome
* Running command "/usr/bin/git clone "git://git.overlays.gentoo.org/proj/gnome.git/" "/usr/local/portage/layman/gnome""...
Initialized empty Git repository in /usr/local/portage/layman/gnome/.git/
remote: Generating pack...
remote: Done counting 3085 objects.
remote: Deltifying 3085 objects...
remote:  100% (3085/3085) done
Indexing 3085 objects...
remote: Total 3085 (delta 1194), reused 192 (delta 45)
 100% (3085/3085) done
Resolving 1194 deltas...
 100% (1194/1194) done
* Successfully added overlay "gnome".

it showed something something and said everything fine and gnome overlay added.

I went to /etc/portage/package.unmask and /etc/portage/package.keywords .
both the files are blank! :o I think these programs are very buggy :?:
localhost ~ # emerge gnome-base/gnome
see,it is ready to install gnome-2.20.3? :roll:
http://rafb.net/p/ZycR6l19.html

OMG!Is that,that tough to install gnome-2.22?

layman doesn't create files in /etc/portage. You have to create it yourself.
layman is used to add overlays to you system.
The overlays are normally located in /usr/portage/local/layman/<overlayname> or in the directory which is specified as "storage" in the layman.cfg
_________________
Ein Ring, sie zu knechten, sie alle zu finden,
Ins Dunkel zu treiben und ewig zu binden
Im Lande Mordor, wo die Schatten drohn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
praka123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Kerala,India

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah!thanks @firefly :D
yes,I had edited layman.cfg to point towards /usr/local/portage dir.and layman created gnome overlay there!
fine.
But why gnome-2.22 continuously failing ??? :(
what should I add in /etc/portage/package.unmask or /etc/portage/package.keywords?

I DONT have in my /usr/portage/profiles/package.mask, "The Great Gnome-2.22 mask(tm)" lines :roll:

and I read some devel in the forum said,gnome-2.22 is unmasked?(not sure!).

But here,I tried and failed continuosuly.
Can someone who installed Gnome-2.22.1 using portage overlay help me achieve this?

Thank you!
_________________
Linux Rocks!Grab it Yaara!
spread the Linux message!add this to ur siggY- http://getgnulinux.org
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deno
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 406

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can start with adding 'gnome-base/gnome' in portage.keywords. so you'll get the latest unstable version from portage which is not hard masked. if you want something hardmasked then add it to the package.unmask file.

then do 'emerge -pv gnome' and you'll see what packages you nee to unmask. you can repeat that until all required packages are in package.keywords file.

that's a lot of packages. but you mentioned you have autounmask tool? use it and it will add all required packages to package.keywords.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
praka123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Kerala,India

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks @deno.
but I feel autounmask is buggy with 2008.0 profile which I use.

are you sure that adding gnome-base/gnome helps getting latest gnome-2.22?
but my /etc/make.conf contains this:
Code:
[b]ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"[/b][size=18] [/size]


I think,with stable arch,those lines wont save me install gnome-2.22
I need to add something more.
there is no definitive guide to install overlay though :oops:
_________________
Linux Rocks!Grab it Yaara!
spread the Linux message!add this to ur siggY- http://getgnulinux.org
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deno
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 406

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you want ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86 (with ~) in /etc/make.conf.

Gnome 2.2 is hard masked so you have to add it in package.unmask file.
Code:
echo gnome-base/gnome >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
But here it complains that 'there are no ebuilds to satisfy ">=gnome-base/gdm-2.20.5".(dependency required by "gnome-base/gnome-2.22.1" [ebuild])'.

Nothing strange with hard masked packages. I would wait a little bit in your place because we are speeking about a lot of packages you want to add to package.unmask. But you can try it. Read how to install 3rd party ebuilds from gentoo wiki how to install 3rd party ebuilds from gentoo wiki and then search overlays and gentoo bugzila for ebuilds you need i.e. in this case gdm ebuild for example.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
praka123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 183
Location: Kerala,India

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In a new gentoo install with "x86",
layman fails to show overlays :?
Code:
mygentoo / # layman --fetch
mygentoo / # layman  -L
* swegener                  [Rsync     ] (source: rsync://rsync.gentoo.steal...)
mygentoo / # layman --list
* swegener                  [Rsync     ] (source: rsync://rsync.gentoo.steal...)

what needs to be done ?I have /etc/portage dir and package.keywords,package.unmask file touched.

EDIT:my bad! :oops: I have to merge subversion,git else this message is what is waiting !:D
Thanks!
_________________
Linux Rocks!Grab it Yaara!
spread the Linux message!add this to ur siggY- http://getgnulinux.org
http://linux.oneandoneis2.org/LNW.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AllenJB
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 1285
Location: Ashford, Kent

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

deno wrote:
I think you want ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86 (with ~) in /etc/make.conf.

Gnome 2.2 is hard masked so you have to add it in package.unmask file.
Code:
echo gnome-base/gnome >> /etc/portage/package.unmask
But here it complains that 'there are no ebuilds to satisfy ">=gnome-base/gdm-2.20.5".(dependency required by "gnome-base/gnome-2.22.1" [ebuild])'.

Nothing strange with hard masked packages. I would wait a little bit in your place because we are speeking about a lot of packages you want to add to package.unmask. But you can try it. Read how to install 3rd party ebuilds from gentoo wiki how to install 3rd party ebuilds from gentoo wiki and then search overlays and gentoo bugzila for ebuilds you need i.e. in this case gdm ebuild for example.


Note that using ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=~x86 in make.conf will upgrade all packages on your system to the testing versions.

When using layman, you also need to make sure you add the following line to /etc/make.conf for portage to actually be able to see the overlays:
source /usr/potage/local/layman/make.conf
_________________
http://gentoo-wiki.com :: http://lug.org.uk :: http://www.linux.org/groups/ :: User Blogs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AllenJB
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 1285
Location: Ashford, Kent

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

praka123 wrote:
In a new gentoo install with "x86",
layman fails to show overlays :?
Code:
mygentoo / # layman --fetch
mygentoo / # layman  -L
* swegener                  [Rsync     ] (source: rsync://rsync.gentoo.steal...)
mygentoo / # layman --list
* swegener                  [Rsync     ] (source: rsync://rsync.gentoo.steal...)

what needs to be done ?I have /etc/portage dir and package.keywords,package.unmask file touched.

EDIT:my bad! :oops: I have to merge subversion,git else this message is what is waiting !:D
Thanks!


This is most likely because you don't have the tools installed to use the other overlays. You can see a full list using: layman -L -k

Most overlays use subversion, so to be able to install those overlays you first need a subversion client, which can be found in the dev-util/subversion package.
_________________
http://gentoo-wiki.com :: http://lug.org.uk :: http://www.linux.org/groups/ :: User Blogs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum