Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bascom49
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 2:46 pm    Post subject: media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 Reply with quote

I updated my system, gentoo running on an apple 12" ppc, using emerge.
My emerge command is emerge --update --deep world
A package, media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 fails and the update of other packages
fails. In order to complete the update I tried to uninstall the package with
emerge --unmerge media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 but get this error
"couldn't find 'media-lib/alsa-lib-1.0.16".
Does anyone have experience with this issue and could get me pointed in
the right direction ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desintegr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 863
Location: France - Orléans

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To unmerge 1.0.16 version, use emerge --unmerge =media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16.
But if the installation of version 1.0.16 fails, you can't unmerge it, it's logical.

Please be more precise and give some details...
_________________
Gentoo ~AMD64
Hoc Volo, Sic Jubeo !
Mon wiki : http://desintegr.free.fr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bascom49
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:00 pm    Post subject: emerge --unmerge =media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply.
When I run the command I get a "couldn't find =media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 to unmerge command"
Why do you use the '=' in the package string as opposed to emerge --unmerge media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 ?
It is possibe that the reason for the error is that another package for the update needs media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16,
the build fails for media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 and never is installed, therefor cannot be uninstalled.
How could I find out which package of the 195 that needs an update has a dependency on media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desintegr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 863
Location: France - Orléans

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:08 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge --unmerge =media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 Reply with quote

bascom49 wrote:
Why do you use the '=' in the package string as opposed to emerge --unmerge media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 ?

Because, it's the standard syntax.
Quote:
An atom describes bounds on a package that you wish to install. See portage(5) for the details on atom syntax. For example, >=dev-lang/python-2.2.1-r2 matches the latest available version of Python greater than or equal to 2.2.1-r2. Similarly, <dev-lang/python-2.0 matches the latest available version of Python before 2.0. Note that in many shells you will need to escape characters such as ’<’ and ’=’; use single- or double-quotes around the atom to get around escaping problems.

bascom49 wrote:
How could I find out which package of the 195 that needs an update has a dependency on media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 ?

You can use the --tree option.
_________________
Gentoo ~AMD64
Hoc Volo, Sic Jubeo !
Mon wiki : http://desintegr.free.fr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sodki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 419
Location: London, U.K. & Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:34 pm    Post subject: Re: emerge --unmerge =media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 Reply with quote

bascom49 wrote:
How could I find out which package of the 195 that needs an update has a dependency on media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 ?

Also you can use "equery d alsa-lib", but I believe the --tree option of emerge would be much better in your case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bascom49
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 7:53 pm    Post subject: At the end of the day... Reply with quote

At the end of the day I would like to update my system and solve the issue as why the make on alsa-libs fails later.
Is there a way I could pipe the output of a command such as emerge --update --deep -- newuse --ask world
to a text file, edit that file to the packages that I want update and then run a command that will update those packages ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sodki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 419
Location: London, U.K. & Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your best best is to use emerge --tree and see exactly what depends on alsa-lib. You can also use emerge --resume --skipfirst to skip that broken package. This is useful too.

If you want to have a list of all the packages, you can use something like this:

Code:
emerge -puD udev | grep '\[ebuild' | awk '{ print $4 }' | sed 's/^/=/g' | sed 's/$/ \\/g'


This will list every package in that list, ready to be passed to the emerge command. You just have to cut the "\" character from the last line and remember to use emerge --oneshot to install the list of packages, otherwise they will all be added to your world file and you don't want that. I don't recommend this last step if you con't understand what I'm saying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bascom49
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 11:22 pm    Post subject: I understand Reply with quote

Thanks for the info, I got it going now.
I'm also doing a new install on another 12" apple that I have laying around as an alternative.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zwijnzor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually need the package to be installed..

Anyone an Idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sodki
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 419
Location: London, U.K. & Lisbon, Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the error that you're getting?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zwijnzor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jan 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

* ERROR: media-libs/alsa-lib-1.0.16 failed.
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 49: Called src_compile
* environment, line 2504: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* emake || die "make failed";
* The die message:
* make failed

this one :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Desintegr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Mar 2004
Posts: 863
Location: France - Orléans

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This error is useless, please paste the topmost build error.
_________________
Gentoo ~AMD64
Hoc Volo, Sic Jubeo !
Mon wiki : http://desintegr.free.fr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derrik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 10:15 am    Post subject: build error Reply with quote

Hi I have same problem here. There http://www.seargant.cz/temp/build.log is build log. It seems it is package build problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 5:53 pm    Post subject: Re: build error Reply with quote

derrik wrote:
Hi I have same problem here. There http://www.seargant.cz/temp/build.log is build log. It seems it is package build problem.
Somehow I doubt that. To begin with you are building for an i686 machine and not ppc.
The error python.c:22:20: error: Python.h: No such file or directory seems to indicate a problem with your python installation. Is python-2.4 installed on your system? Does the file /usr/include/python2.4/Python.h exist on your system?
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
derrik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 9:26 pm    Post subject: Re: build error Reply with quote

nixnut wrote:
derrik wrote:
Hi I have same problem here. There http://www.seargant.cz/temp/build.log is build log. It seems it is package build problem.
Somehow I doubt that. To begin with you are building for an i686 machine and not ppc.
The error python.c:22:20: error: Python.h: No such file or directory seems to indicate a problem with your python installation. Is python-2.4 installed on your system? Does the file /usr/include/python2.4/Python.h exist on your system?


Yes it`s exists. Well i have try to "fix" problems with emerge clean/sync procedure and now I am unable to at boot start run services etc. /sbin/depscan.sh don`t helps because mktemp disapeared. There is no more rm command and some else. I thing i have used emerge --clean with bad arguments or something stupid. It doesn`t matter because it was base system only. I will start a new try of install tomorow. This was my second try to install Gentoo. First attempt was succesful with none problems. But thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mktemp is now part of the coreutils package. Sounds like you need to update coreutils.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tora
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2008 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the same problem trying to emerge alsa-libs-1.0.16 (python.c:22:20: error: Python.h: No such file or directory) on a vmware image of gentoo.
This is the compilation that causes the error:
Code:

 i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../../../include -I../../../include -lpython2.4 -lm -L/usr/lib/python2.4/config -O2 -march=i686 -pipe -c python.c  -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/smixer_python_la-python.o

Python.h is in /usr/include/python2.4/ that is not reported in the include directories in the command line of gcc.

Does someone have any clue about this?
Thank in advance

ps: Doing a search in the forums I found this thread.... I'm not compiling on a PPC architecture but it's the same problem.
I hope not to be too off-topic :?


Last edited by tora on Sun May 18, 2008 9:30 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 527

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

umm I think we all need something can drive "emerge" to have an easier interface

I mean something where you can select exactly ebuilds you wanna install/remove/update
something where dependencies are automatically shown without becoming crazy looking around documentation
etc etc

it may be, sooner or later, i (or other people) will develop something like this

also: personally i don't like emerge is written in the python language ... cause what happens if python becomes damaged ???

it happens that you see how deep the grief jam can go

my suggestion is: you should always chroot your update, as you should always have a quickpkg backup of python,portage,gcc,binutils, and other important stuff ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tora
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got rid of this problem just modifying the ebuild for alsa-lib-1.0.16:
I just inserted --disable-python in the econf section
Code:

 econf \
                --enable-static \
                --enable-shared \
                --disable-resmgr \
                --disable-python \
                $(use_with debug) \
                ........

This is probably not the best solution but just a dirty trick to compile this package and proceed with the update.
For the moment I hope no other package needs the python bindings in alsa-lib :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thom_raindog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 400

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there still no solution to this? I do have the same problem and it starts to be really frustating..

Hmm.. I got it worked around by removing alsa from my useflags, running
Code:
emerge --update --newuse --deep world

and
Code:
revdep-rebuild

repeatedly, including following any instructions any of the packages might have left afterwards..
THEN I added alsa back to my useflags and could emerge alsa-lib with no problem..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fog_Watch
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 210
Location: Utility Muffin Research Kitchen

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is our craptastic homebrewed python-config script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
webfishrune
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 5:56 pm    Post subject: Python Reply with quote

I fixed this one.

The revision of python on my system was only (2.4.4.-2 instead of 2.4.4.-13 I believe from memory) and portage did not pick this up and schedule this for upgrade before alsa-lib. It seems like a missed dependency.

I emerged python and then emerged alsa-lib and all was ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pipewhale
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Location: Fayetteville, NC

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 10:03 pm    Post subject: Python solved it... Reply with quote

I had the same problem trying to install KDE. It stopped at the alsa package. So I skipped it, and inevitably that caused other packages to fail as well. Reinstalled python and all was well. :) Kudos to whoever figured that one out.
_________________
~Drew
"What senses do we lack that we cannot see or hear another world all around us?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nick_warrington
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Location: cambridge uk

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also had this problem updating my AMD64 installation and scratched my head for some time. Well done for finding a workaround.

Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arhenius
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:59 pm    Post subject: python bindings Reply with quote

I had the same problem when installing gentoo for the first time on my laptop.

Solved it by updating python

Code:
emerge -u python


Then alsa-libs compiles without problems.
_________________
Filipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum