Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
OpenOffice 3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
h0ax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 4:28 pm    Post subject: OpenOffice 3 Reply with quote

Hi all,
will be openoffice 3 beta in portage? I would like to install it (binary package) but OOo 3 beta is not in portage. I tryied OOo3b in windows and I like it very much :-) (OOo, not windows :-D ). Many thanks for answers and ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Other Things Gentoo to Unsupported Software.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xvalentinex
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note I take no responsibility if you hose your system.

This is what I did to install it quickly

Code:
mkdir ~/oo3

(Download the tar.gz from openoffice to the oo3 folder in your home directory)
Code:
cd ~/oo3
tar xzvf OOo_3.0.0beta_20080429_LinuxIntel_install_en-US.tar.gz
cd BEA300_m2_native_packed-2_en-US.9301/
mkdir TAR
mkdir EXTRACT
cd RPMS
for i in *; do rpm2tar ${i}; done
mv *.tar ../TAR
cd ../TAR
for i in *; do tar xvf ${i} -C ../EXTRACT


That's it, you can now `cd ~/oo3/BEA300_m2_native_packed-2_en-US.9301/EXTRACT/opt/openoffice.org3/program/`
and execute the binaries (ie `./soffice`)

Someone smarter than me may be able to integrate this better to coexist with oo2, but I just did a path in the mean time:
Open ~/.bashrc with a text editor.
edit or create a line like this:
export PATH=/home/<USERNAME>/oo3/BEA300_m2_native_packed-2_en-US.9301/EXTRACT/opt/openoffice.org3/program/:$PATH
NOTE THE oo3 path comes before :$PATH

then run `source ~/.bashrc`

Now you can run all the apps from terminal, sdraw, swriter, simpress, scalc, etc
I just created an Icon that runs soffice and open the app I need from there.

Note that everything except soffice in oo2 was prefixed with oo (such as oocalc) but in 3 beta it is prefixed with s (such as scalc).
Also note this does not effect mime-types (if you double click and ods file it will still open oo2)




When it comes time to uninstall:

rm -fr ~/oo3
Open .bashrc and return the "export PATH" back to it's original state
source ~/.bashrc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
h0ax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. After all I decided to do it your way. OOo3b really works fine from rpm. Maybe somebody will make an ebuild for it later, but now it is everything I need. Thank you for your idea and have a nice day :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienvenom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 123
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to make a special request...

When openoffice-bin-3.x is released, can we PLEASE have an option to install the version with BCI enabled for freetype? I really really don't want to compile from source AGAIN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2584
Location: userland

PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those interested, there is an ebuild in my overlay here:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-5086550.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienvenom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 123
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some reason, when I attempt to use OpenOffice 3, X completely freezes and uses 100% CPU. Running "soffice" from the console, I get a warning about how it can't find the Java Runtime Environment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alienvenom
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Jan 2005
Posts: 123
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alienvenom wrote:
For some reason, when I attempt to use OpenOffice 3, X completely freezes and uses 100% CPU. Running "soffice" from the console, I get a warning about how it can't find the Java Runtime Environment.


Actually, I think I may have found a bug. I was using RealVNC... so apparently there is a bug between the Xorg VNC module and OpenOffice-3... interesting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cctsurf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 90

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2008 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was wondering if anyone is putting together a standard (not binary) ebuild for openoffice 3?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
code933k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2008 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alienvenom wrote:
For some reason, when I attempt to use OpenOffice 3, X completely freezes and uses 100% CPU. Running "soffice" from the console, I get a warning about how it can't find the Java Runtime Environment.

If you are running an amd64 system with any x86 java-VM or you haven't set eselect(?) to work with a proper java-VM that is what you get.
The problem remains since 2.x versions if your problem is what I am suspecting [...]

PS:// Have you checked out your $JAVA_HOME environment?
_________________
If gods were created by language then praying is an infinite loop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strayer
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 11 Nov 2003
Posts: 75
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cctsurf wrote:
I was wondering if anyone is putting together a standard (not binary) ebuild for openoffice 3?


Sorry for pushing up the old thread, I did not find any newer...

Is there any new information about this? I'd also like to install openoffice 3 from source.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Need4Speed
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 497

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any update on a source based ebuild? I'm surprised one isn't in portage; big applications like this usually get beta ebuilds.
_________________
2.6.34-rc3 on x86_64 w/ paludis
WM: ratpoison
Term: urxvt, zsh
Browser: uzbl
Email: mutt, offlineimap
IRC: weechat
News: newsbeuter
PDF: apvlv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3231
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's this one at bugzilla- I haven't tried it, but it might work. However, the comments posted don't sound too encouraging, but maybe it could be improved? https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=233465
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-9.1.0 kernel-5.0.14-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3059
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Need4Speed wrote:
Any update on a source based ebuild? I'm surprised one isn't in portage; big applications like this usually get beta ebuilds.


wrc1944 wrote:
There's this one at bugzilla- I haven't tried it, but it might work. However, the comments posted don't sound too encouraging, but maybe it could be improved? https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=233465


openoffice-bin != source-based

Though the bug title and summary make it seem that it is for openoffice but the actual ebuild there is for openoffice-bin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zdavatz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:19 pm    Post subject: Very good stuff! Thank you very much! Reply with quote

Thanks for this HowTo! Very good stuff!

It just works.

Also see:
http://www.openoffice.org/issues/show_bug.cgi?id=93817

Zeno
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

betas for ooo-3 have been in the tree for a while, hardmasked though.
rc1 was added yesterday.

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Need4Speed
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 497

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to build the latest openoffice3 in the tree and it works fine, but it looks very ugly. Anyone know why it's not following my system's gtk2's theme?

Code:
gentoo ~ # paludis -ip openoffice
Building target list...
Building dependency list...

These packages will be installed:

* app-office/openoffice [R 3.0.0_rc1] <target>
    -binfilter cups -dbus -debug -eds -gnome gstreamer gtk java -kde -ldap -mono -nsplugin -odk opengl -pam -seamonkey elibc: (-FreeBSD) linguas: -af -ar -as_IN -be_BY -bg -bn -br -bs -ca -cs -cy -da -de -dz -el en -en_GB en_US -en_ZA -eo -es -et -fa -fi -fr -ga -gl -gu_IN -he -hi_IN -hr -hu -it -ja -km -ko -ku -lt -lv -mk -ml_IN -mr_IN -nb -ne -nl -nn -nr -ns -or_IN -pa_IN -pl -pt -pt_BR -ru -rw -sh -sk -sl -sr -ss -st -sv -sw_TZ -ta_IN -te_IN -tg -th -ti_ER -tn -tr -ts -uk -ur_IN -ve -vi -xh -zh_CN -zh_TW -zu


screenshot
_________________
2.6.34-rc3 on x86_64 w/ paludis
WM: ratpoison
Term: urxvt, zsh
Browser: uzbl
Email: mutt, offlineimap
IRC: weechat
News: newsbeuter
PDF: apvlv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Need4Speed
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 497

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nevermind. finally found a simple solution on google:
Code:
OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome ooffice
(even though i use openbox, not gnome..)
_________________
2.6.34-rc3 on x86_64 w/ paludis
WM: ratpoison
Term: urxvt, zsh
Browser: uzbl
Email: mutt, offlineimap
IRC: weechat
News: newsbeuter
PDF: apvlv
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't even get openoffice-3.0.0_rc1 to build. It fails at configure telling me I need to install pam-devel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
musv
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Dec 2002
Posts: 3254
Location: de

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here. I don't have pam installed too. I already wrote a bug-report for 3.0.0_beta2. And I wrote a new one into the same thread:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=233465
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DeathCarrot
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Southampton, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone managed to get spellcheck working on openoffice-bin-3.0.0_rc2?
It doesn't seem to be enabled by default and I can't find an english language extension for it here. There are dictionaries in /usr/lib/openoffice/share/dict/ooo/, but they don't seem to help (they're from a myspell package, which supposedly I can't use with openoffice-bin).
If it matters, it's built with USE="-gnome -java -kde" LINGUAS="en_GB".

I can set the language of the document to English (UK), but it doesn't seem to have a dictionary associated with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*subscribes*

I'll also try to compile it in the near future, so it's handy to have some info on problems ...
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gustafson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DeathCarrot wrote:
Has anyone managed to get spellcheck working on openoffice-bin-3.0.0_rc2?
It doesn't seem to be enabled by default and I can't find an english language extension for it here. There are dictionaries in /usr/lib/openoffice/share/dict/ooo/, but they don't seem to help (they're from a myspell package, which supposedly I can't use with openoffice-bin).
If it matters, it's built with USE="-gnome -java -kde" LINGUAS="en_GB".

I can set the language of the document to English (UK), but it doesn't seem to have a dictionary associated with it.


Same trouble here. I thought it worth bumping since it is pointless to create docs without the ability to spell check.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6929
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, tried to compile openoffice-3.0.0_rc3 but got the same error as with rc1 & 2:

Code:
app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_rc3 [2.4.1] USE="cups dbus kde ldap nsplugin%* opengl pam -binfilter -debug -eds -gnome -gstreamer -gtk -java -mono -odk (-firefox%*) (-seamonkey%) (-xulrunner%*)"

[snip...]


Making: ../unxlngx6.pro/bin/rptuien-GB.res                                                         
using rsc multi-res feature                                                                       
rsc -presponse @/var/tmp/portage/app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_rc3/temp/mkbGxV88 > /dev/null         
-------------                                                                                     
Running processes: 0                                                                               
deliver -- version: 1.130                                                                         
Module 'reportdesign' delivered successfully. 37 files copied, 2 files unchanged                   

1 module(s):
        stax
need(s) to be rebuilt

Reason(s):

ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /var/tmp/portage/app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_rc3/work/ooo/build/ooo300-m8/stax                                                                               

Attention: if you build and deliver the above module(s) you may prolongue your the build issuing command "build --from stax"                                                                         

rmdir /tmp/21656
make: *** [stamp/build] Error 1
 *                             
 * ERROR: app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_rc3 failed.
 * Call stack:                                   
 * ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile     
 * environment, line 5458:  Called die           
 * The specific snippet of code:                 
 * make || die "Build failed"                   
 * The die message:                             
 * Build failed   

_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rolis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Apr 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've got the same error but for different module:

Code:
Building index for all classes...
Generating /var/tmp/paludis/app-office-openoffice-3.0.0_rc3/work/ooo/build/ooo300-m8/xmerge/unxlngx6.pro/class/javadoc/stylesheet.css...
117 warnings

main:

BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 6 seconds
Running processes: 0
deliver -- version: 1.130
Module 'xmerge' delivered successfully. 8 files copied, 4 files unchanged

1 module(s):
        i18npool
need(s) to be rebuilt

Reason(s):

ERROR: error 65280 occurred while making /var/tmp/paludis/app-office-openoffice-3.0.0_rc3/work/ooo/build/ooo300-m8/i18npool/source/localedata/data

Attention: if you build and deliver the above module(s) you may prolongue your the build issuing command "build --from i18npool"

rmdir /tmp/25220
make: *** [stamp/build] Error 1

!!! ERROR in app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_rc3:
!!! In src_compile at line 6653
!!! Build failed

!!! Call stack:
!!!    * src_compile (/var/tmp/paludis/app-office-openoffice-3.0.0_rc3/temp/loadsaveenv:6653)
!!!    * ebuild_f_compile (/usr/libexec/paludis/1/src_compile.bash:49)
!!!    * ebuild_main (/usr/libexec/paludis/ebuild.bash:470)
!!!    * main (/usr/libexec/paludis/ebuild.bash:485)

diefunc: making ebuild PID 14208 exit with error
die trap: exiting with error.

Install error:
  * In program /usr/bin/paludis (--log-level warning --dl-reinstall if-use-changed --dl-upgrade always --continue-on-failure if-independent) -i world:
  * When performing install action from command line:
  * When executing install task:
  * When installing 'app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_rc3:0::gentoo':
  * Install error: Install failed for 'app-office/openoffice-3.0.0_rc3:0::gentoo'


rc1 and rc2 built ok, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum