Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Firefox 3 beta and firefox 2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 4:47 pm    Post subject: Firefox 3 beta and firefox 2 Reply with quote

My search skills are bad today.

Is there a way to install mozilla-firefox-3.0_beta5-r3 and still use my currently installed mozilla-firefox-2.0.0.14??

I have a fear of commitment today.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deno
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 406

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't have to use portage then yes. Install binary version from mozilla pages. Or try minefiled?! You can have it parallel with firefox. Or simply upgrade to mozilla-firefox-3.0_beta5-r3, I am using it and find that it's quite stable and usable, and there are also other people reporting the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ok
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 390
Location: germany

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have www-client/mozilla-firefox-2.0.0.14 and www-client/mozilla-firefox-bin-3.0_beta5-r1 installed, of course I am using different Firefox profiles (firefox -ProfileManager) for the two versions.
Start FF2: # /usr/bin/firefox -P FF2
To start FF3: # /usr/bin/firefox-bin -P FF3
Only Java doesn't work for me with FF3, if i have a bit time i will throw a look on it.
OT: For a short time Sage is available for FF3.0, so most of the Extensions I use are ready for 3.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
0000000000000
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2008
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2008 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all-beta.html

firefox 3 can be run from the directory without touching your installation of firefox 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys, I think I am going to just go for it. What's the worst that will happen? I down grade.

How is flash support(youtube) on amd64? Anybody have any experience with it?

Cheers.
Marc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2008 5:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am impressed with the speed and resource usage of firefox 3 beta5. It reclaims memory and for the first time in history of firefox, you can have it running for days on end and see it decrease its memory usage from peaks at various times. When I used to see it consume 280MB with 40 tabs, it now uses about 170MB and peaks at about 190MB before coming down again.

The upgrade was smooth. I didn't do the profile manager thing, just went for it straight. Looping-script-locks-up-the-browser has been fixed. sqlite backend is much faster and firefox no longer generates a hang-oh-I-can't-type-in-textbox-anymore every 30 seconds trying to save the session history. Hasn't crashed on me so far. I am using firefox-bin on amd64.

In nutshell, don't bother with FF2 any more. Just go for it. And if you hit a bug, please make sure to report.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2008 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the only major problem with firefox3 atm (imo) is massive fsync usage which can cause some latency issues, personally I solved it with libeatmydata, a bit brutal but it works, and I backup my bookmarks every time I start it ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum