Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VirtualBox 1.6 in portage - when?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dman777 wrote:
I tried swapon and i got an email back saying that email address is undeliverable. How else would I try getting a hold of swapon?


perhaps he's on irc ?
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kollin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Feb 2006
Posts: 1137
Location: Sofia/Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

app-emulation/virtualbox-1.6.2 is in portage now and fails miserably with gcc431

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=226495
_________________
"Dear Enemy: may the Lord hate you and all your kind, may you be turned orange in hue, and may your head fall off at an awkward moment."
"Linux is like a wigwam - no windows, no gates, apache inside..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ficofico
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've installed virtualbox-ose 1.6.2 from portage and I?ve installed new 1.6.2 guest addition , but now I cannot set 1280*1024 desktop resolution, only at least 1152*864....... why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does virtualbox support 64-bit guest?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlashBeast
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2843

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No.
_________________
BitBucket -- better-initramfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't boot my winxp image if I don't enable IO APIC option in 'Advanced' tab under General settings. I am getting UDMA mode 2 with this setting and hence things are pretty slow inside the VM. Does anybody know how can I get past this IO APIC requirement? Or how can I enable higher UDMA modes?

One more issue I have with virtualbox is that once the winxp boots with IO APIC enabled in the settings, the virtual box process keeps eating 100% of one core although the VM is showing Idle (0% cpu usage). How can that happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteblack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
I can't boot my winxp image if I don't enable IO APIC option in 'Advanced' tab under General settings. I am getting UDMA mode 2 with this setting and hence things are pretty slow inside the VM. Does anybody know how can I get past this IO APIC requirement? Or how can I enable higher UDMA modes?

One more issue I have with virtualbox is that once the winxp boots with IO APIC enabled in the settings, the virtual box process keeps eating 100% of one core although the VM is showing Idle (0% cpu usage). How can that happen?


I have both these issues.

The first one might have something to do with which HAL gets loaded in windows. I haven't had time to try it out, but you could have a look here http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Migrate_Windows. I believe I had Hal.dll loaded, but still showing ACPI support (that is, not the Standard PC as mentioned in the wiki). Need to look into it closer.

About the 100% CPU usage there is recent reopened bug about that http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/638, and I'm sure there are more if you look around.

Maybe someone else here can shed some more light on the matter?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you get UDMA mode 2 as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both the issues were because of HAL. I booted into BartPE and changed the HAL to ACPI one (copied halacpi.dll to hal.dll), disabled IO APIC and booted. It booted fine and no more 100% cpu usage.

The performance is so so compared to VMWare Server. VMWare booted VM faster (1m52s vs. 1m40s) but was slower on a 'dd' IO operation (43MB/sec vs. 25MB/sec). The pure CPU test (super PI) was slightly in favor of vmware by 1sec on both 1M and 2M calculations. The host CPU usage (idle as well as during 'dd' operation) was worse for virtualbox, which is a downer because it is supposed to be the lighter of the two.

Networking is very slow in virtualbox compared to VMWare.

Overall, I am downed by no 64-bit support in VirtualBox. I don't really want to create a new 32-bit linux guest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteblack
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 8:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
do you get UDMA mode 2 as well?

I can't seem to find out. I'm running of a raw SATA disk partition using intel's AHCI driver. Form what I understand intel obfuscates that information from the device manager (there is no advanced tab for the controller and I didn't have any luck installing Intel Application Accelerator). However, DMA should be enabled by default. When running windows natively I see this:

Code:

$ /usr/sbin/hdparm.exe -i /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
...
 UDMA modes: udma0 udma1 udma2 udma3 udma4 udma5 *udma6
AdvancedPM=yes: unknown setting WriteCache=enabled
 Drive conforms to: Unspecified:  ATA/ATAPI-1 ATA/ATAPI-2 ATA/ATAPI-3 ATA/ATAPI-4 ATA/ATAPI-5 ATA/ATAPI-6 ATA/ATAPI-7

 * signifies the current active mode


I also get something close to this performance:
Code:

$ /usr/sbin/hdparm.exe -tT /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
 Timing cached reads:   238 MB in  2.00 seconds = 119.00 MB/sec
 Timing buffered disk reads:  172 MB in  3.00 seconds =  57.31 MB/sec


devsk wrote:
Both the issues were because of HAL. I booted into BartPE and changed the HAL to ACPI one (copied halacpi.dll to hal.dll), disabled IO APIC and booted. It booted fine and no more 100% cpu usage.


I also managed to change HAL, but had to revert to using the "update driver" which is not recommended. This in turn caused other issues, but where subsequently fixed. It took care of both the 100% CPU usage and I was able to boot without IO APIC. However, now the problem is that the new HAL propagated throughout both hardware profiles (native and virtual). So booting back in native mode now also uses "Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) PC" rather then "ACPI Multiprocessor PC". Too early to tell if there are any other issues with this then just not being able to uses the intel CPU diriver (inteppm.sys).

devsk wrote:
The performance is so so compared to VMWare Server. VMWare booted VM faster (1m52s vs. 1m40s) but was slower on a 'dd' IO operation (43MB/sec vs. 25MB/sec). The pure CPU test (super PI) was slightly in favor of vmware by 1sec on both 1M and 2M calculations. The host CPU usage (idle as well as during 'dd' operation) was worse for virtualbox, which is a downer because it is supposed to be the lighter of the two.


With the new HAL and IO APIC disabled I get this instead, which may explain the overall feel and response increase:
Code:

$ /usr/sbin/hdparm.exe -tT /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
 Timing cached reads:   490 MB in  2.00 seconds = 244.63 MB/sec
 Timing buffered disk reads:  210 MB in  3.00 seconds =  69.91 MB/sec


Note: the absolute value of the hdparm results should probably be taken with a grain of salt when running in a VM.

devsk wrote:

Overall, I am downed by no 64-bit support in VirtualBox. I don't really want to create a new 32-bit linux guest.

What do you mean? There is a 64-bit version of VirtualBox, buy you'll need to run a multilib profile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3060
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

theblackpeter wrote:
devsk wrote:

Overall, I am downed by no 64-bit support in VirtualBox. I don't really want to create a new 32-bit linux guest.

What do you mean? There is a 64-bit version of VirtualBox, buy you'll need to run a multilib profile.


That's not what he's referring to. Note how he said "I don't really want to create a new 32-bit linux guest."

He wants 64-bit guests but virtualbox only supports 32-bit guests. You correctly pointed out that it supports 64-bit hosts but that's not what he was complaining about at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

theblackpeter wrote:

Code:

$ /usr/sbin/hdparm.exe -tT /dev/sda

/dev/sda:
 Timing cached reads:   490 MB in  2.00 seconds = 244.63 MB/sec
 Timing buffered disk reads:  210 MB in  3.00 seconds =  69.91 MB/sec


Note: the absolute value of the hdparm results should probably be taken with a grain of salt when running in a VM.

I think right way to do it is to use 512MB ram in the VM and let 'dd' create a 2GB file from /dev/zero and time it couple of times with two different 2Gb files. If you don't have timer issues in the VM and are not running anything else on the host, the results should be pretty much accurate.

thanks slycordinator for pitching in for me....:-) That's exactly what I meant. Does anybody know if x86_64 guest is in the pipeline? My overall impression is that vbox has some more distance to go before it becomes a challenge to vmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
thanks slycordinator for pitching in for me....:-) That's exactly what I meant. Does anybody know if x86_64 guest is in the pipeline? My overall impression is that vbox has some more distance to go before it becomes a challenge to vmware.


it's planned no more no less:

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/VBox_vs_Others

Quote:
64bit guest OS support no (planned)

_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does anybody know how do I find inside the guest whether I am running under virtualbox or not? like vmware-checkvm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guyr
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Aug 2004
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

guyr wrote:
I'm looking forward to this also, but Gentoo always seems a version or two behind. Notice, for example, that 1.5.6 has not yet been unmasked. So I suspect we are in for a little wait. Obviously, if I wanted to accelerate the process, I could volunteer to help.


For those (like me) that run Gentoo as a guest, I finally tried running the Guest Additions distributed by VirtualBox rather than waiting for the newest version to show up in Portage. It works fine. Everybody else probably already realized that. I imagine the Guest Additions put in Portage is the same thing that comes from VirtualBox.
_________________
Guy Rouillier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum