Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
emerge --search not showing what is in portage
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 982

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 9:39 am    Post subject: emerge --search not showing what is in portage Reply with quote

Why is audacious-1.5.0 showing as masked when I search for it on the gentoo portage web site, but when I do a emerge --search audacious-1.5.0 it doesn't show up at all? This is right after I did an update with emerge --sync.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why don't you use eix?
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 982

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do i have a choice? why is portage messing up like that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2803
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2008 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Portage did not show it to you because of what they call "visibility". Since that version is masked by
Quote:
KEYWORDS="~alpha ~amd64 ~hppa ~ppc ~ppc64 ~sparc ~x86 ~x86-fbsd"


Because there are "visible" versions for your arch and "ACCEPT_KEYWORDS" setting, it does not show it. If you like package.gentoo or larrythecow websites and the ebuild table. Try out porthole, we have an ebuild table that is somewhat configure-able to give you nearly all that same information from your own copy of the tree. It will let you browse the packages and versions, even let you install it with just a click or two.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 982

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked out porthole. it looks nice, but i won't let myself use it. i stay away from anything gui that makes it easier to use linux because it's important for me to learn it inside and out through the cli.

hey, i don't know why but i can't find the accept_keywords in my /etc/make.conf:
Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example.
CFLAGS=" -march=opteron -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# This should not be changed unless you know exactly what you are doing.  You
# should probably be using a different stage, instead.
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"

CONFIG_PROTECT="-*"

INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse"

MAKEOPTS="-j3"

VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"

#USE="-kde -gnome -qt3 -qt4 jpeg tiff png xvmc X"

USE="imagemagick visualization mp4 oss -real xvmc qt4 hal dbus gtk jpeg tiff mp3 flac alsa -kde -gnome svg glitz pdf png X -cups -ipv6 truetype opengl"

#For Amarok
#USE="-real visualization mp4 oss"
ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw copy dshare dsnoop extplug file hooks ladspa lfloat linear meter mulaw multi null rate route share shm"




source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf

#PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/portage/local/layman/desktop-effects"


Isn't it supposed to be here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kkuehne
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 24
Location: Ulm, Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 5:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The better way is to add media-sound/audacious to the /etc/portage/package.keywords (create the file if it does not exist there)
As you probably do not want to have all packages unmasked.
Once that is done you should see the version 1.5.0 of audacious when doing emerge --search audacious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 982

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2008 11:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ya, i did add audacious-1.5.0 to my package.keywords but I get a message that the ebuild does not exist. It should since it is in the Gentoo Portage web site, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deno
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 406

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
hey, i don't know why but i can't find the accept_keywords in my /etc/make.conf


You have to add it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 982

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ya, i just realized that after I posted it but already went to bed.

Ok, so THERE is a problem with in portage. in my package.keywords i have media-sound/audacious-1.5.0 ~x86.
But when I emerge it I get missing ebuilds for this. Audacious 1.5.0 does show up in Gentoo portage web site(as masked) AND larry the cow. So, it should be in my portage cache after I did a fresh emerge --sync. Why isn't it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2803
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

2 things. 1 may only be a typo.

Quote:
i have media-sound/audacious-1.5.0 ~x86.

If that is the exact form of what you have entered, then portage should have been complaining about an invalid atom in package.keywords somewhere in the terminal output. Check and you should find it somewhere in there. It is not a fatal error so would ignore it, since it is invalid.
Whenever you add a version to a package in the package.* files you must put a qualifier atom in front. Or do not put version information at all. These three examples are valid
Code:
=media-sound/audacious-1.5.0 ~x86
>=media-sound/audacious-1.5 ~x86
media-sound/audacious ~x86


if you don't like gui's then do an
Code:
# ls -l /usr/portage/media-sound/audacious

And you will get a listing of all audacious versions in your copy of the portage tree. To browse the tree from a terminal, just precede the directory with /usr/portage/category/package for any package in the tree. That should give you some more info to go on.

Code:
brian@big_squirt ~/porthole/trunk/porthole $ ls -l /usr/portage/media-sound/audacious
total 48
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2372 2008-01-29 05:06 audacious-1.4.5.ebuild
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2378 2008-05-12 08:36 audacious-1.4.6.ebuild
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  1948 2008-03-13 18:23 audacious-1.5.0.ebuild
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 25634 2008-05-12 08:36 ChangeLog
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root   248 2008-01-31 05:06 files
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2599 2008-05-12 08:36 Manifest
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   248 2005-10-30 06:20 metadata.xml
brian@big_squirt ~/porthole/trunk/porthole $

for my portage tree dated:
Quote:
Sat May 17 19:09:29 UTC 2008

visible by the command
Code:
# cat /usr/portage/metadata/timestamp

_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kkuehne
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 24
Location: Ulm, Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I sad, just put
Quote:
media-sound/audacious

to
Code:
/etc/portage/package.keywords
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dman777
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 982

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no no no ....i'm at work so i don't know what the exact syntax is that i used. but i did the correct syntax. i installed masked packages before this one successfully, so i know how to do it correctly. if i did not do the correct syntax i would get an invalid atom message. but i didn't. i got a message saying that there are no ebuilds for this version of audacious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum