Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] coreutils-6.12: touch: "Function not implemented"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Deathcrow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 8:07 pm    Post subject: [solved] coreutils-6.12: touch: "Function not implement Reply with quote

After emerging coreutils-6.12 my system now seems to be really screwed.

Emerge is now not working anymore because touch is reporting every time:

Code:

touch: setting times of `/usr/porttmp/portage/media-video/gpac-0.4.4/.unpacked': Function not implemented


What can i do? Should i try to grab another touch binary from somewhere? this seims really weird and i am afraid to reboot (touch seems kind of... important, i fear the system wont really reboot anymore)

Thx in advance!

PS: This seems kind of important, so i'd reeaaally appreciate quick help/replies.


Last edited by Deathcrow on Mon Jun 02, 2008 8:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathcrow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, i 'think' i fixed this, by grabbing a working /bin/touch from a friend of mine also running gentoo. I am currently downgrading to coreutils-6.10-r2 and hope this will work.

Still curious about what happened though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2461
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you had the problem, would emerge --unmerge still work, or did it not even work with that option?
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deathcrow
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kalos wrote:
When you had the problem, would emerge --unmerge still work, or did it not even work with that option?


i did not test that. I guess it wouldnt have worked. Even a simple "mv" gave the error message (although it still moved the file, touch still complained).
I just had a look in the source code of touch.c . From coreutils-6.10 to 6.12 this line has been removed:

Code:

#include "safe-read.h"


Anyway, my package.keywords now contains the line "sys-apps/coreutils -~x86". This should fix this issue for me ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2461
Location: /home/zach

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent; thank you for posting your solution. If you would, kindly place [SOLVED] in the original thread title so that others can see your solution. :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not having any problems after I updated to coreutils-6.12. I emerged a couple packages, and used touch. Both worked. I think you might have something else going on there...either that, or my systems are protected by unseen forces.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5834

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

=sys-apps/coreutils-6.12 is masked, moving.

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Unsupported Software.
_________________
overlay | patches
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
babychu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Sep 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have this problem after upgrading to coreutils 6.12.

Copy the "touch" from gentoo installation disk, mask 6.12 then emerge coreutils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

babychu wrote:
I also have this problem after upgrading to coreutils 6.12.

Copy the "touch" from gentoo installation disk, mask 6.12 then emerge coreutils.


Mask it? I suppose, but it's marked as ~arch, so you have to either be using an ~arch system, or you specifically unmasked it. Either way, it's kind of silly to mask an ostensibly masked package.

What I'm still wondering about is why it's working for me (day three on all systems), and so many others are having it nuke their systems. :?:

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Del Pede
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 99

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this thread just saved my sanity. Awesome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any way to solve this without a handy amd64 touch binary? Now I can't downgrade coreutils.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExZombie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another good reason to always have busybox on hand.
And FEATURES=buildsyspkg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExZombie wrote:
Another good reason to always have busybox on hand.
And FEATURES=buildsyspkg


buildsyspkg? Does that even exist? If it does, doesn't seem to be documented in my make.conf. I only have buildpkg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExZombie
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 May 2004
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmatos wrote:
ExZombie wrote:
Another good reason to always have busybox on hand.
And FEATURES=buildsyspkg


buildsyspkg? Does that even exist? If it does, doesn't seem to be documented in my make.conf. I only have buildpkg.


It's in my make.conf.example
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ExZombie wrote:
pmatos wrote:
ExZombie wrote:
Another good reason to always have busybox on hand.
And FEATURES=buildsyspkg


buildsyspkg? Does that even exist? If it does, doesn't seem to be documented in my make.conf. I only have buildpkg.


It's in my make.conf.example


Must be recent then and I didn't notice the change. Change for letting me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone please send me a touch binary for an amd64 which works? (can you please send me to pocmatos@gmail.com ?)
Thanks, I appreciate it. Please zip it to pass through the spam filters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmatos wrote:
Can someone please send me a touch binary for an amd64 which works? (can you please send me to pocmatos@gmail.com ?)
Thanks, I appreciate it. Please zip it to pass through the spam filters.


No need, I just compiled it myself from 6.10, thanks!

EDIT: Damn, the one I just compiled from 6.10-r2 has the same problem. How is this possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
I'm not having any problems after I updated to coreutils-6.12. I emerged a couple packages, and used touch. Both worked. I think you might have something else going on there...either that, or my systems are protected by unseen forces.

Blessed be!
Pappy


True, my x86 installation of coreutils-6.12 also works. However, on amd64 it doesn't. But as posted, recompiling 6.10-r2 on my amd64 has the same problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1220
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anybody know which use of touch generates the 'function not implemented issue'?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pmatos wrote:
True, my x86 installation of coreutils-6.12 also works. However, on amd64 it doesn't. But as posted, recompiling 6.10-r2 on my amd64 has the same problem.

And therein lies the real freaky thing. Coreutils is working on my 64 bit Core2. I simply don't understand it. But, far be it from me to paint the devil on the wall in hopes of bringing problems. For now, I remain happy that somehow, I have dodged yet another bullet that seems to be taking others out left and right.

Whew!

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loki_val
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Nov 2006
Posts: 408
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This behaviour should only come about if: You have a <2.6.22 kernel running + glibc >=2.7 + kernel-header >= 2.6.22.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5997
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good! None of my systems meet those requirements.

WOOHOO!

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sboy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 8
Location: Billings, MT

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For anyone else stumbling across this now, the bug report has a solution via patching. From the bug post it doesn't look like it's in portage yet. I don't know if it works.. I upgraded to a newer kernel since it was about time anyway, and that fixed the problem. Just a little extra info to make someone else's life a little easier.
_________________
I need a cp real.life real.life.old command
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 678

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yay, saved me too. Copying touch from a CD worked :D. Wasn't able to emerge anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum