Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing Frontpage 2002 Server Extensions With Apache2
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
apokalyptik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 10:36 pm    Post subject: Installing Frontpage 2002 Server Extensions With Apache2 Reply with quote

Installing Frontpage 2002 Server Extensions With Apache2

Code:
#cd mkdir /usr/local/src/download
#cd /usr/local/src/download

#Download fp50.linux.tar.gz from http://www.rtr.com/fpsupport/fp2002sr1_download.htm
#wget ftp://ftp.rtr.com/pub/fp_install.sh.gz
#gunzip fp_install.sh.gz
#chmod 710 fp_install.sh


edit the fp_install.sh file
find "installfpdso2()" ([ line 2951/2997 (98%), col 16/16 (100%), char 81606/82695 (98%) ])
replace all instances, after that line, of "apxs" with "apxs2"

Code:
#./fp_install.sh


Some useful Answers:
--zcat is located at "/bin/zcat"
--you will be using apache version "2.0"
--apachectl is located at "/usr/sbin/apache2ctl"
--you dont have to chown, or install webs (of any sort) right now. (its probably best that you dont unless you know what you're doing)

After we've successfully completed the "install" we need to make some minor changes to our apache2 config files, so that they are ready for mod_fronpage

edit /etc/apache2/conf/commonapache2.conf, and change the mod_mime_magic.c config to look as follows:
Code:
   <IfModule mod_mime_magic.c>
       #MIMEMagicFile conf/magic
       MIMEMagicFile /dev/null
   </IfModule>


decide what your administration port will be on BEFORE hand (e.g. 9371), and add "NameVirtualHost _default_:9371" (where 9371 is whatever you decided to use as your FP admin port) to your apache2 setup (if you dont know where to do this, just stick it at the end of your /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf

Install your server-wide administration page (where adminusername and asminpassword are the user/pass combination you want to use to administer your WHOLE server -- as in installing/deleting extensions on virtualhosts, etc, not just running a specific subweb)

Code:
#/usr/local/frontpage/version5.0/bin/owsadm.exe -o \
setadminport \
-port 9371 \
-username adminusername \
-password adminpassword \
-t apache-2.0 \
-servconf /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf


restart apache

Code:
#/etc/init.d/apache2 restart


you SHOULD now be able to visit http://<server-ip>:9371/, enter your adminusername and adminpassword, and install all of your FP-webs (including the root web) from there.

NOTE: the idea "hey i should document this for other gentoo users" was an afterthought, as such this may not be entirely accurate. please feel free to add or subtract where nessecary...
_________________
http://www.apokalyptik.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bravecobra
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2002
Posts: 130
Location: Planet Earth (sometimes)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe an ebuild would be nice, even though I don't use them, but I could imagine some admins could use it. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furgussen
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 56
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apokalyptik: EXCELLENT FP tutorial! I couldn't get the extensions to work on Gentoo, but now I do, thanks to you!

BraveCobra: How can you not use ebuilds?!? No more dependency checking, no searching for tarballs. Its the PERFECT package management system!

Anyway. Good job Apokalyptik!

Tyler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slimsam1
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He doesn't use frontpage extensions, silly :)

And I don't either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arkane
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2003 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

furgussen wrote:

BraveCobra: How can you not use ebuilds?!? No more dependency checking, no searching for tarballs. Its the PERFECT package management system!


I think he meant he doesn't use FrontPage extensions :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XtremXpert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Oct 2003
Posts: 46
Location: Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2003 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Thanx for the howto, it's exactly what I was looking for.

Just to let you know that you don't have to add nothing about the NameVirtualHost in apache2.conf, it was already in the file. May be new to sr1

anyway thanx again

(I'll probably translate it in French for the French Forum)
_________________
XtremXpert
Abenclo AT hotmail

Quote:
Pour obtenir un Linux mature, ça ne prends pas plus de programmeurs, ça prends plus d'utilisateurs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liathus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Mar 2003
Posts: 163
Location: Fargo, ND

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2003 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

These instructions were very usefull, thanks for the post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John the Kiwi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2003 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info Apok, I've been looking and looking and info on FrontPage SE under apache2 is hard to find. Maybe that's because I'm so used to working with M$ servers but I digress.

Even following your instructions I kept on getting wierd errors during the install.

Error: 'port' server is not a valid virtual server

Looking at rtr's web site many people have been getting this. At first I assumed it was because the config files were all split up rather than being in one place - apache2.conf, commonapache2.conf, vhosts.conf etc.

The solution is to change this line as you described but before the install:

MIMEMagicFile /dev/null

At least that worked for me. The only other reason I could gather from the errors I was getting was from mis-configured Listen settings.

Hope this helps anyone else getting these errors.

John the Kiwi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firefishy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 6
Location: London, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 7:11 am    Post subject: Recompile frontpage server extentions module. Reply with quote

If I am not mistaken you are required to recompile the frontpage modules after upgrading/recompiling apache.

Here is how I recompiled the FPSE 2002 modules:

Code:
cd /usr/local/frontpage/version5.0/apache2/
apxs2 -c -Wc,-Dlinux mod_frontpage.c mod_fpcgid.c
apxs2 -i -a -n frontpage mod_frontpage.la


All done, now just restart apache.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apokalyptik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2004 11:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just in case people are tired of searching though the fp_install script... this should do the required fp_install.sh changes quite nicely

Code:
tar -jvcf fp_install.sh.backup.tbz2
sed s/apxs/apxs2/g fp_install.sh | sed s/apachectl/apache2ctl/g > fp_install_2.sh
cat fp_install_2.sh > fp_install.sh
rm -f fp_install_2.sh


next time i have to update these extensions I just might write an e-build for them.

cheers ;)
_________________
http://www.apokalyptik.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lonewolfnight
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 14
Location: St. Paul MN

PostPosted: Sun Jul 10, 2005 9:02 pm    Post subject: Any luck Reply with quote

Has anyone had any luck gettings these extensions to work with the current apache builds? No matter what I do I can't get the admin pages to come up.


Thanks
Ross
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hazer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(1) Stop the server when installing this.
(2) Change the command for setting up the default server:
Code:
#/usr/local/frontpage/version5.0/bin/owsadm.exe -o \
setadminport \
-port [PORT] \
-username [Username] \
-password [Password] \
-t apache-2.0 \
-servconf /etc/apache2/conf/vhosts/vhosts.conf


This will make sure that FrontPage is reading the proper file for handling virtual hosts. Even if you only have the one site on the box, go ahead and setup vhosting (edit the apache2.conf as needed)

(3) For sanity sake if you're hosting multiple sites (as I'm assuming most people would) add the following to the top of the vhosts.conf file

Code:
<Directory /path-to-webfarm-area/*>
   Options -Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
   AllowOverride ALL
    <IfModule mod_access.c>
      Order allow,deny
      Allow from all
    </IfModule>
</Directory>


Then you can define the individual websites below that. I personally make the directory the domain name (joeblow.com) and set the DocumentRoot directive for the VHost accordingly.

(4) When you extend websites, the conf file path will be /etc/apache2/conf/vhosts/vhosts.conf This is where it looks to find the site info. YOU MUST DEFINE THE SITE IN APACHE FIRST. This is the key part. The FP extensions will NOT define the website in Apache.

I'll post more when I've finished ripping this down some. I've still got a few miles of testing before I can declare this good for my company and then decomission the windows web server. God I wish FrontPage had never been made sometimes. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jtp755
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 691
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2005 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey,

i am tryin to install these on my server because a client needs them. first....how bad is the security holes with these? is it worth it? why have these in the first place?

on to my error:
i get through the install and then get to the adminport config part or w/e and i get
Code:
bash: /usr/local/frontpage/version5.0/bin/owsadm.exe: cannot execute binary file


Any ideas???
_________________
www.EternalFireProof.com
Registered Linux User #334610
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chashab
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2004
Posts: 71
Location: Republic of Alumbia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ugh, just had a .5 hour phone call with a client trying to coerce frontpage into publishing with ftp.

yes, that's my question as well, hows security with these frontpage extensions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cottonee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 73
Location: Palmerston North, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all,
I tried and followed up the instruction and can get into Administrator page on port 9371. But when I tried to extend the new virtual server by put config name, port hostname etc..into the form and click on submit button then my web browsers (Firefox, IE) try to open (or D/L) file "fpadmcgi.exe" from server. Is that script suppose to execute on server side isn't it? Did I miss something? I also tried to change use rights and click submit button the same problem happen again.
Cheers
-Nat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
falvira
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!, When i recently update to Apache 2.0.54 my front page extensions didnt work anymore. I follow the instructions on this post , when the apxs2 its working it gives me the follow error: Error: Config file /etc/apache2/apache2.conf not found. The problem is that in the "new" apache2 version the config file its in /etc/apache2/httpd.conf.
Can i change that path on the apxs2?. Anyone makes FP extension on Apache 2.0.54 ??
Thanx!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chi-z
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 9
Location: Pflugerville, TX

PostPosted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

falvira wrote:
Hi!, When i recently update to Apache 2.0.54 my front page extensions didnt work anymore. I follow the instructions on this post , when the apxs2 its working it gives me the follow error: Error: Config file /etc/apache2/apache2.conf not found. The problem is that in the "new" apache2 version the config file its in /etc/apache2/httpd.conf.
Can i change that path on the apxs2?. Anyone makes FP extension on Apache 2.0.54 ??
Thanx!


I just created a symlink to the actual conf in that location and it worked fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tony240zt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone gotten FrontPage extensions to work with Apache 2.0.55?

After installing them I get a a Server Admin page like this:

http://zhome.arrival.net/images/fperrorpage.jpg

This was on a basic install of 2005.1

I've run into this multiple times, and have followed all of the advice I could find on here. I don't get any error messages, just a broken page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eradicator
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 01 Apr 2003
Posts: 144
Location: Berkeley, CA

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 1:54 am    Post subject: Problem with FP - IE wants to save rather than render Reply with quote

When I click 'submit' to extend a server with fp extensions or to upgrade a server, I am prompted to save fpadmcgi.exe. The contents are some html, but this looks to me like MS didn't set the correct mime header in its CGI scripts. Is anyone else having this problem or know of a workaround?

Additionally, when I reinstall the extensions, I opt to have the script update my servers for me, and I get the following output for all the virtual servers:

Upgrading using configuration file: /usr/local/frontpage/________:80.cnf
Verifying web server configuration...
This version of FrontPage Server Extensions does not suppport
apache-2.0 servers. We only support patched apache servers.
For more information about supported servers, please see
the Server Extension Resource Kit (SERK), located at
http://www.microsoft.com/frontpage
Cancelling upgrade...

Microsoft's site is infinitely unhelpful about this problem as well... Anybody have some thoughts or suggestions?
_________________
Gentoo Developer: amd64, sparc, sound, toolchain, accessibility
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum