Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Official thread: "zen-sources" - Part IV
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 15, 16, 17  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
tranquilcool wrote:
careful guys btrfs has just trashed /usr/portage
believe when the say it's experimental.


hmm i was using on my media folder and that data has been fine for a while, there were no disk format changes with the last btrfs update so maybe someone f'ed up the rebase :wink: i would check my btrfs partition but that hd is completly dead


i have been using it for a while until this morning. it just couldn't mount /usr/portage
and seg faults. and that happened for all the kernels i have with btrfs also as modules.
means it's not specific to zen-sources.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmmmm and I was just going to give btrfs it a try. I went back to ext3 after reiser3 becuase of too many issues and I am no completely gun shy about file systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martin.k
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 493
Location: Wylatowo, Polska

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
Is there any way to make AMD/ATi binary fglrx work with zen-sources?
nvidia got it's patches in zen-overlay?
How about ATI ?

Code:

/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c: In function ‘__ke_get_ke_pte’:                                                                               
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2610: error: ‘NOPAGE_SIGBUS’ undeclared (first use in this function)                                           
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2610: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once                                                 
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2610: error: for each function it appears in.)                                                                 
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c: In function ‘__ke_get_vm_phys_addr’:                                                                         
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2638: error: ‘NOPAGE_SIGBUS’ undeclared (first use in this function)                                           
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c: In function ‘__ke_get_vm_page_table’:                                                                         
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2660: error: ‘NOPAGE_SIGBUS’ undeclared (first use in this function)                                           
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c: In function ‘KCL_TestAndClearPageDirtyFlag’:                                                                 
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2788: error: ‘NOPAGE_SIGBUS’ undeclared (first use in this function)

_________________
linux-2.6.17 +ck +R4 +lockless +genetic-as +... więcej nie pamiętam :)
LRU #299256
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

martin.k wrote:
Hi!
Is there any way to make AMD/ATi binary fglrx work with zen-sources?
nvidia got it's patches in zen-overlay?
How about ATI ?

Code:

/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c: In function ‘__ke_get_ke_pte’:                                                                               
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2610: error: ‘NOPAGE_SIGBUS’ undeclared (first use in this function)                                           
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2610: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once                                                 
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2610: error: for each function it appears in.)                                                                 
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c: In function ‘__ke_get_vm_phys_addr’:                                                                         
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2638: error: ‘NOPAGE_SIGBUS’ undeclared (first use in this function)                                           
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c: In function ‘__ke_get_vm_page_table’:                                                                         
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2660: error: ‘NOPAGE_SIGBUS’ undeclared (first use in this function)                                           
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c: In function ‘KCL_TestAndClearPageDirtyFlag’:                                                                 
/usr/src/kernel-modules/fglrx/firegl_public.c:2788: error: ‘NOPAGE_SIGBUS’ undeclared (first use in this function)


maybe in the past we have applied "hackish/patches" to revert upstream changes to make binary blobs work but we are not doing this any more, any changes should be made to the nvidia/fglrx driver to make them work with current kernels...

... now, i've said this numerous time now, but how about using an opensource ati driver like radeonhd or radeon, if they dont work yet for you or if you have issues you could spend some time on their corresponding irc channels and help them fix your bugs
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
martin.k
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 493
Location: Wylatowo, Polska

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:

maybe in the past we have applied "hackish/patches" to revert upstream changes to make binary blobs work but we are not doing this any more, any changes should be made to the nvidia/fglrx driver to make them work with current kernels...

... now, i've said this numerous time now, but how about using an opensource ati driver like radeonhd or radeon, if they dont work yet for you or if you have issues you could spend some time on their corresponding irc channels and help them fix your bugs

OK! OK!
I'am the last who would like you to revert upstream changes in zen... :P
You do not have to persuade me using opensource ati drivers...
I have here workstation with kde4.1beta desktop running on radeon driver and hp6715 notebook on radeonhd... And I am fine with it!

I only wanted to point out that there are some patches fixing nvidia blob i zen-overlay...
_________________
linux-2.6.17 +ck +R4 +lockless +genetic-as +... więcej nie pamiętam :)
LRU #299256
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lockless is in git master for those who want to play before a release comes out, i've experienced 1 hardlock so far under massive heavy IO, i would suggest you enable CONFIG_PROVE_LOCKING in kernel hacking (requires kernel debugging) so that we can track down any bugs and get them fixed
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
lockless is in git master for those who want to play before a release comes out, i've experienced 1 hardlock so far under massive heavy IO, i would suggest you enable CONFIG_PROVE_LOCKING in kernel hacking (requires kernel debugging) so that we can track down any bugs and get them fixed


ok, will test at earliest this evening (CEST), thanks ! :)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone of you is able to watch DVDs with this kernel ?
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@KernelofTruth:
I tried my Akira DVD using vlc 0.8.6h and all I got was a bunch of static noise and no video. I have been torrenting most everything I want to see so I havent tested DVD playback in zen.


BTW - what does lockless page cache help with or do? Any good docs to read?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mroconnor wrote:
@KernelofTruth:
I tried my Akira DVD using vlc 0.8.6h and all I got was a bunch of static noise and no video. I have been torrenting most everything I want to see so I havent tested DVD playback in zen.


BTW - what does lockless page cache help with or do? Any good docs to read?


thanks, so I'll need to figure out whether it's my dvd-drive (+ region code) or libata / atapi :(

concerning lockless pagecache: http://kerneltrap.org/node/6530 it gives high & linear troughput :D
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is lockless on by default or do I need turn it on in my .config?

Looks interesting I test it out, seems less volitale then testing new file systems LOL ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Current master doesn't even boot here.

It hangs right at starting bootmisc, when it wants to clean /var/tmp. If I boot in interactive mode and skip bootmisc, it will hang in runlevel 3 when starting dbus. / is on ext3

v2.6.26-rc6-zen1 tagged is fine.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay


Last edited by gimpel on Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:30 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mroconnor wrote:
Is lockless on by default or do I need turn it on in my .config?

Looks interesting I test it out, seems less volitale then testing new file systems LOL ;)


If u have latest git I added a config option in the processor section called "Get User Pages Fast" you need to enable that, actually I havent tested what happens if you disable it yet ;)
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
mroconnor wrote:
Is lockless on by default or do I need turn it on in my .config?

Looks interesting I test it out, seems less volitale then testing new file systems LOL ;)


If u have latest git I added a config option in the processor section called "Get User Pages Fast" you need to enable that, actually I havent tested what happens if you disable it yet ;)

err lol, see above. I didn't know what it does and had it disabled.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
mroconnor wrote:
Is lockless on by default or do I need turn it on in my .config?

Looks interesting I test it out, seems less volitale then testing new file systems LOL ;)


If u have latest git I added a config option in the processor section called "Get User Pages Fast" you need to enable that, actually I havent tested what happens if you disable it yet ;)

err lol, see above. I didn't know what it does and had it disabled.


so i take it kernel boots with out it? my test compile just finished but I didnt reboot yet
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernel runing fine here. no problems so far with lockless.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tranquilcool wrote:
kernel runing fine here. no problems so far with lockless.


what IO sched and filesystem are you using, how much mem do you have, what cup?
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
gimpel wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
mroconnor wrote:
Is lockless on by default or do I need turn it on in my .config?

Looks interesting I test it out, seems less volitale then testing new file systems LOL ;)


If u have latest git I added a config option in the processor section called "Get User Pages Fast" you need to enable that, actually I havent tested what happens if you disable it yet ;)

err lol, see above. I didn't know what it does and had it disabled.


so i take it kernel boots with out it? my test compile just finished but I didnt reboot yet

It didn't boot here with "Get User Pages Fast" (i.e. lockless) _disabled_.

Haven't tried what happens if I enable it yet.

Football! -> goner. :)
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
gimpel wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
mroconnor wrote:
Is lockless on by default or do I need turn it on in my .config?

Looks interesting I test it out, seems less volitale then testing new file systems LOL ;)


If u have latest git I added a config option in the processor section called "Get User Pages Fast" you need to enable that, actually I havent tested what happens if you disable it yet ;)

err lol, see above. I didn't know what it does and had it disabled.


so i take it kernel boots with out it? my test compile just finished but I didnt reboot yet

It didn't boot here with "Get User Pages Fast" (i.e. lockless) _disabled_.

Haven't tried what happens if I enable it yet.

Football! -> goner. :)


that config option was a bit of a hack, i dont think the lockless patches were designed to be disabled, i should probably revert that patch

EDIT: reverted in latest git
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I booted just fine after a pull this AM and 'Get User Pages Fast' disabled(didnt know what it was :oops: ). Recompiling right now, will report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mroconnor wrote:
I booted just fine after a pull this AM and 'Get User Pages Fast' disabled(didnt know what it was :oops: ). Recompiling right now, will report back.


hmmmmm
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

recompiled, rebooted and it seems good to go.

Code:

cosmo ~ # cat /tmp/config | grep FAST
CONFIG_FAST_CMPXCHG_LOCAL=y
CONFIG_HAVE_GET_USER_PAGES_FAST=y


I haven't pulled since roughly 1200 UTC.


Now when lockless goes bad what should I be looking for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mroconnor wrote:
recompiled, rebooted and it seems good to go.

Code:

cosmo ~ # cat /tmp/config | grep FAST
CONFIG_FAST_CMPXCHG_LOCAL=y
CONFIG_HAVE_GET_USER_PAGES_FAST=y


I haven't pulled since roughly 1200 UTC.


Now when lockless goes bad what should I be looking for?


hardlock seems to be the only symptom
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that will be easy enough to notice. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mroconnor wrote:
Well that will be easy enough to notice. ;)

yeah but like impossible to diagnose
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 3 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum