Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
~CONRAD~ Stage 3 on 87 "Drei/Tres/3" INSTALL DOC | REL: #4.1
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vegaman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 May 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying on IRC for an answer too... Just going through this guide, but I'm a bit stuck as to how I should emerge gcc-4.3.* before bootstrapping without the gcc overlay.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grolsch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gcc-4.3.* is in portage . I think as long as you apply the 'accept_keywords' feature in make.conf then gcc-4.3.* will be pulled in. Hence as someone else mentioned previously the gcc overlays are not needed anymore.


Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m4rl0n
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vegaman wrote:
I'm trying on IRC for an answer too... Just going through this guide, but I'm a bit stuck as to how I should emerge gcc-4.3.* before bootstrapping without the gcc overlay.
Thanks.


Vegaman,

BeBop Stage4 uses gcc-4.3.*

Please, see below the entries that I use on packages.keywords to emerge gcc-4.3.*:


Code:

~sys-devel/binutils-2.18.50.0.8 ~amd64
sys-devel/gcc-config ~amd64
~sys-devel/gcc-4.3.1-r1 ~amd64
~sys-libs/glibc-2.8_p20080602 ~amd64
dev-libs/gmp ~amd64
dev-libs/mpfr ~amd64
~sys-apps/net-tools-1.60_p20071202044231-r1 ~amd64
sys-libs/gpm ~amd64



For more details about BeBop, please see the URL´s:

http://www.mrgnetwork.com.br/wiki/doku.php/en/bebop
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-710601.html


Regards,

Marlon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no.

bepop i don't even know what that is, the guide should be updated and it will be in a bit.
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guide updated

It's now totally different and even better than ever ;)

These bepop things are totally irrelevant.
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strowi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 655
Location: Bonn

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

the update came just in time for the new computer in our students-office.:)
there is a little typo when first emerging paludis:
Code:

step 7.4:
  # USE="ruby inquisito" emerge paludis

should be
Code:

  # USE="ruby inquisitio" emerge paludis

also when trying to sync paludis it complains about non-existing config-dir:
Code:

Sleipnir / # paludis -s

Unhandled exception:
  * In program paludis -s:
  * When making environment from specification '':
  * When loading paludis configuration:
  * Paludis configuration error: Paludis configuration error: Can't find configuration directory (tried '/root/.paludis', '/etc/paludis') (paludis::paludis_environment::PaludisConfigNoDirectoryError)


so before syncing you should do
Code:

mkdir /usr/portage/.cache/names/gentoo/

_________________
--
Linux & such ...
http://blog.hasnoname.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks strowi, corrections applied ;)
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seren
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 448
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

m4rl0n wrote:
vegaman wrote:
I'm trying on IRC for an answer too... Just going through this guide, but I'm a bit stuck as to how I should emerge gcc-4.3.* before bootstrapping without the gcc overlay.
Thanks.


Vegaman,

BeBop Stage4 uses gcc-4.3.*

Please, see below the entries that I use on packages.keywords to emerge gcc-4.3.*:


Code:

~sys-devel/binutils-2.18.50.0.8 ~amd64
sys-devel/gcc-config ~amd64
~sys-devel/gcc-4.3.1-r1 ~amd64
~sys-libs/glibc-2.8_p20080602 ~amd64
dev-libs/gmp ~amd64
dev-libs/mpfr ~amd64
~sys-apps/net-tools-1.60_p20071202044231-r1 ~amd64
sys-libs/gpm ~amd64



For more details about BeBop, please see the URL´s:

http://www.mrgnetwork.com.br/wiki/doku.php/en/bebop
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-710601.html


Regards,

Marlon



If you actually read the guide you would notice it was outdated when you posted. It provides ~amd64 / ~x86 arch so the problem isn't keywords its just that 4.3.x wasn't documented in the guide but it would be a normal update with use of this guide. Also its kinda of irrelevant to sell your stage 4's when it has nothing to do with this project. I don't mean to be rude and I actually posted in your thread about the stage4's but you shouldn't hijack a thread promoting separate project unless it relates, but this is a stage1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, "BeBop" is totally irrelevant in this thread since it has nothing to do with this document :?
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/me gently pokes cheater to update his guide ;)

You know in between his zen duties and everything else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ampheus
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 814
Location: Rheine, NRW, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any special reason why the guide switched to stage3?

I'm asking because in the old version conrad said a lot about stage1 being much better than stage3.
_________________
Für alle doubleposter ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ampheus wrote:
Is there any special reason why the guide switched to stage3?

I'm asking because in the old version conrad said a lot about stage1 being much better than stage3.


Good question ;)

There's not really any good reason, except it was easier to document maybe?

Idk, i'll turn it into a stage1 again soon, it should be very straight forward (possibly when gcc 4.4 comes out we can do bootstrappage)
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dracozny
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 May 2004
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the new guid somewhat, paludis unfortunately has failed me..
example:
tried to install xfce4 and it kept pulling xf86-ati drivers which fails despite my use flag settings in use.conf.
so i emerged it and voila no issue.
then i tried to install icedtea6 "amd64 user go fig" and paludis gives circular dependency error. however doesnt list what its depending on.
again emerged it and no issue.
initial install with the guide however went without a hitch. thanks.
_________________
“I do not think there is any thrill that can go through the human heart like that felt by the inventor as he sees some creation of the brain unfolding to success... Such emotions make a man forget food, sleep, friends, love, everything.”
-Nikola Tesla-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strowi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 655
Location: Bonn

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,

me too had some paludis related trouble, but besides that it worked fine.
There still is the xorg-x11 & hal & gamin circular dependency issue.
There was a problem with the xf86-video-ati-9999 driver, wouldn't compile from the THE overlay on amd64.
I personally prefer the output of emerge -pv xyz, because it is much more informative, than paludis -ip xyz (but that doesn't belong here, i guess).
_________________
--
Linux & such ...
http://blog.hasnoname.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strowi wrote:
hi,

me too had some paludis related trouble, but besides that it worked fine.
There still is the xorg-x11 & hal & gamin circular dependency issue.
There was a problem with the xf86-video-ati-9999 driver, wouldn't compile from the THE overlay on amd64.
I personally prefer the output of emerge -pv xyz, because it is much more informative, than paludis -ip xyz (but that doesn't belong here, i guess).


Live ebuild problems are live ebuild problems, those -9999 ebuilds aren't supposed to be keyworded anyway (i just removed them), so if you sync again it will look to downgrade unless you put something in your keywords

Any circular dependency issues i can help you with if you talk to me ;) (I usually find paludis -p more informative because it tells you all that emerge -pv does and it even defines the use flags for you)
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strowi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 655
Location: Bonn

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi cheater1034,

i was just surprised, that -9999 was installed only because of ~ARCH, solved it by masking the package.
Also the circular dependency issue was solved as talked about many times over in the forums:
USE="-hal" emerge xorg-server && emerge --newuse xorg-server (or so i remember).
The thing with paludis output is.... when i install software with >10 dependencies, i have to scroll up and up to get a look at all of them...

PS: how do i remove an overlay with playman? the man doesn't show such an option?
_________________
--
Linux & such ...
http://blog.hasnoname.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2008 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strowi wrote:
hi cheater1034,

i was just surprised, that -9999 was installed only because of ~ARCH, solved it by masking the package.
Also the circular dependency issue was solved as talked about many times over in the forums:
USE="-hal" emerge xorg-server && emerge --newuse xorg-server (or so i remember).
The thing with paludis output is.... when i install software with >10 dependencies, i have to scroll up and up to get a look at all of them...

PS: how do i remove an overlay with playman? the man doesn't show such an option?


No need to mask it, i removed the keywords from the ebuild now just sync

to remove stuff it's, rm -rf /etc/paludis/repositories/repository.conf; rm -rf /var/paludis/repositories/repository

Then regenerate the cache or sync (which regenerates the installable cache)
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Strowi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 655
Location: Bonn

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="cheater1034"]
No need to mask it, i removed the keywords from the ebuild now just sync
to remove stuff it's, rm -rf /etc/paludis/repositories/repository.conf; rm -rf /var/paludis/repositories/repository
Then regenerate the cache or sync (which regenerates the installable cache)[/quote]

Hmm... Please don't get me wrong, i really do not want to trash paludis, it seems to be on a good way.
But this is one thing that really bugs me, there exists "paludis -a" but to delete the overlay i still have to remove it manually? I could just stay with portage and write a bash "emerge --sync && layman -S" (if it was just for this). Correct me if i am wrong!

I also have to read up on the cache stuff, what really gets cached and when the cache should/gets updated.
_________________
--
Linux & such ...
http://blog.hasnoname.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strowi wrote:
cheater1034 wrote:

No need to mask it, i removed the keywords from the ebuild now just sync
to remove stuff it's, rm -rf /etc/paludis/repositories/repository.conf; rm -rf /var/paludis/repositories/repository
Then regenerate the cache or sync (which regenerates the installable cache)


Hmm... Please don't get me wrong, i really do not want to trash paludis, it seems to be on a good way.
But this is one thing that really bugs me, there exists "paludis -a" but to delete the overlay i still have to remove it manually? I could just stay with portage and write a bash "emerge --sync && layman -S" (if it was just for this). Correct me if i am wrong!

I also have to read up on the cache stuff, what really gets cached and when the cache should/gets updated.


Just edit the configuration file and comment it out or delete the config file all together, it really isn't a big deal...

i don't like playing the revision game with portage anyway, i revise my packages accurately as the files in portage they update, in paludis it's paludis -i package:OVERLAY, in portage it's rename the ebuild to -r2 so it installs :-p
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerberj
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I a trying to emerge paludis on a fresh new stage3 install using

CONRAD
Stage 3 on 87 | RELEASE #4 "One day to change the world!"

and all versions of paludis are masked by: ~x86 keyword
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gerberj wrote:
I a trying to emerge paludis on a fresh new stage3 install using

CONRAD
Stage 3 on 87 | RELEASE #4 "One day to change the world!"

and all versions of paludis are masked by: ~x86 keyword


you are not using the correct stage3 tarballs.... please read more carefully
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 425

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, i'm trying to install GNU/Gentoo Linux on an AMD Athlon x2 64bits so i booted SysremRescueCD. Then followed the handbook until i arrived at the chroot point. The problem is that when i run chroot i get that error:

Code:
root@sysresccd /root % chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
chroot: cannot run command `/bin/bash': Exec format error


Do someone know what can i do? I've been reading and i think the error can be generated due to booting a 32bits system and i'm installing a 64bits one (so /mnt/gentoo/bin/bash is 64 bits), i just want to install a 64 bits Gentoo system (i'm using SystemRescueCD so i can also use reiser4 FS).

Any tip to get rid of the error? Thanks in advanced :)
_________________
Si el tonto te alaba lamentalo, si el listo te censura piensalo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zyko
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Jun 2008
Posts: 620
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Soya, you can't chroot into a 64bit system from within a 32bit environment. SystemRescueCD already comes with a 64bit kernel. When you boot SystemRescueCD, just type "rescue64" at the first prompt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
soya
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jan 2004
Posts: 425

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot, i didn't knew SystemRescueCD come witha 64bit kernel :)
_________________
Si el tonto te alaba lamentalo, si el listo te censura piensalo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sawn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Location: Reims, France. Yeah...the country ruled by a ridiculous dwarf.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I'm just beginning a new install to replace my "old" one which may have been compromised by too many "do-it-yourself" (Don't know the english term).
So I'm taking advantage of it for migrate to 64bit multilib (I was running 32bit on my E8400 w/ 4GB ram).

I'll stay in touch ;)
_________________
Born Loser.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Page 7 of 8

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum