Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
compiz+kde Virtual desktop size lost
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bastibasti
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:20 am    Post subject: compiz+kde Virtual desktop size lost Reply with quote

Hi all,

Iam runinng KDE + compiz fusion (0.7.6) and after reboot I loose my virtual desktops (reset to 1) Then I go into virtual desktop setting of KDE and set to 4, immediately I get 16 desktops (4*4) when I reset to 1 desktop on KDE, I have 4 virtual desktops like I should have. Until reboot.
Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tallmtt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

- Is compiz running when you boot up into kde?

If it is:
1) Set your desktops in kde to 1 (right click on desktop, select multiple desktops and slide down to 1)
2) Under General settings in the compiz settings manager (ccm - I think it is called) - select 4 horizontal desktops and 1 vertical desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bastibasti
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use compiz fusion to start compiz. These are the settings that I have made. Now i have to
1) Set your desktops in kde to 2 (right click on desktop, select multiple desktops and slide up to 2)
2) click ok (NOW I HAVE 8 DESKTOPS)
3) Set your desktops in kde to 1 (right click on desktop, select multiple desktops and slide down to 1)
4) Now I have 4 desktops
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Yamakuzure
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 2273
Location: Bardowick, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there!

In CompizConfig Settings Manager go to:

General Options --> Desktop Size

There you should set up:
Horizontal virtual size: 4 (Or whatever you set up in KDE)
Vertical virtual size: 1
Number of Desktops: 1 (Default is 4, meaning your KDE numbers multiplied by it -> 4 x 4 = 16)

btw.: The idea to set up the number of desktops in kde to 1 and letting compiz multiply them does not work for me.

greetz

Yama
_________________
Important German:
  1. "Aha" - German reaction to pretend that you are really interested while giving no f*ck.
  2. "Tja" - German reaction to the apocalypse, nuclear war, an alien invasion or no bread in the house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum