Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved?] USE="db2" problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
molot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 214
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:16 am    Post subject: [solved?] USE="db2" problem Reply with quote

First of all - I have DB2 Express-C 9.5 installed all right, up and running. Everything at defaults.
Now I want to be able to use it with php, so I've set db2 use flag, and there goes emerge.
When it checks for db2 support, check fails:
Code:
configure: error:
build test failed. Please check the config.log for details.
You need to source your DB2 environment before running PHP configure:
# . $IBM_DB2/db2profile

 *
 * ERROR: dev-lang/php-5.2.6-r5 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line 4457:  Called src_compile_normal
 *             environment, line 4568:  Called php5_2-sapi_src_compile
 *             environment, line 3486:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *       ./configure --prefix=${destdir} --host=${CHOST} --mandir=${destdir}/man --infodir=${destdir}/info --sysconfdir=/etc --cache-file=./config.cache ${my_conf} ${EXTRA_ECONF} || die "configure failed";
 *  The die message:
 *   configure failed
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/php-5.2.6-r5/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/php-5.2.6-r5/temp/environment'.
 *

 * Messages for package dev-lang/php-5.2.6-r5:

 * USE flag db2 enables support for software not present in Portage!
 *
 * This ebuild will continue, but if you haven't already installed the
 * software required to satisfy the list above, this package will probably
 * fail to compile later on.
 * *DO NOT* file bugs about compile failures or issues you're having
 * when using one of those flags, as we aren't able to support them.
 * |=|=|=|=|=|=| You are on your own if you use them! |=|=|=|=|=|=|
 *
 * Enabling ZTS for Apache2 MPM
 *
 * ERROR: dev-lang/php-5.2.6-r5 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line 4457:  Called src_compile_normal
 *             environment, line 4568:  Called php5_2-sapi_src_compile
 *             environment, line 3486:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *       ./configure --prefix=${destdir} --host=${CHOST} --mandir=${destdir}/man --infodir=${destdir}/info --sysconfdir=/etc --cache-file=./config.cache ${my_conf} ${EXTRA_ECONF} || die "configure failed";
 *  The die message:
 *   configure failed
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/php-5.2.6-r5/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-lang/php-5.2.6-r5/temp/environment'.
 *
molot ~ #

Of course I did the
. $IBM_DB2/db2profile
before running emerge.
Variable is OK, points to an only directory containing db2profile file (I can 'cat $IBM_DB2/db2profile' all right)

Any ideas what may be wrong?

Yes, I've installed all programming tools that was in the db2 package.
_________________
"I just have to run faster than the slowest party member"


Last edited by molot on Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cassiol
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Posts: 304
Location: /BR/SC/FLORIPA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heloooo

maybe that help you
http://br2.php.net/manual/en/ibm-db2.installation.php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
molot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 214
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've managet to get it up and running by editing db2profile by hand. Sadly, the comment in that file says "DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE"... so this wasn't the ideal solution, but solution anyway.

I'm not going to reinstall it just to check if db2iupdt -e does the job the right way. Thank you cassiol for the link with the tip. I'll have hardened gentoo vm about sunday, I'll test if it's actually the right solution. It looks like it may be.
_________________
"I just have to run faster than the slowest party member"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

molot wrote:
I've managet to get it up and running by editing db2profile by hand. Sadly, the comment in that file says "DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE"... so this wasn't the ideal solution, but solution anyway.

I'm not going to reinstall it just to check if db2iupdt -e does the job the right way. Thank you cassiol for the link with the tip. I'll have hardened gentoo vm about sunday, I'll test if it's actually the right solution. It looks like it may be.


i have the same problem. please can you explain exactly how you solved it?
thanks!
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
molot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 214
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, no problem, glad to help.

There are a few variables at the top of my /opt/ibm/db2/V9.5_01/cfg/db2profile
It was something like:
Code:
DB2DIR=db2dir
DB2INSTANCE=db2instance
INSTHOME=instancehome


Now is:
Code:
DB2DIR=/opt/ibm/db2/V9.5_01/
DB2INSTANCE=db2inst1
INSTHOME=/home/db2inst1


Then I did:
Code:
# . /opt/ibm/db2/V9.5_01/cfg/db2profile
# emerge -DuNvat world

And everything that accepts db2 flag compiled without a problem and seems to be working fine.
Let us know if that helped you.

Of course your dirs and instance name may be a bit different, but I'm sure you get the general idea.
_________________
"I just have to run faster than the slowest party member"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

molot wrote:
Yes, no problem, glad to help.

There are a few variables at the top of my /opt/ibm/db2/V9.5_01/cfg/db2profile
It was something like:
Code:
DB2DIR=db2dir
DB2INSTANCE=db2instance
INSTHOME=instancehome


Now is:
Code:
DB2DIR=/opt/ibm/db2/V9.5_01/
DB2INSTANCE=db2inst1
INSTHOME=/home/db2inst1


Then I did:
Code:
# . /opt/ibm/db2/V9.5_01/cfg/db2profile
# emerge -DuNvat world

And everything that accepts db2 flag compiled without a problem and seems to be working fine.
Let us know if that helped you.

Of course your dirs and instance name may be a bit different, but I'm sure you get the general idea.


ok with the express edition there are no libs and headers. that's why it doesn't work.
i don't know where to get just the libs and headers.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
molot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 214
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are. I'm using Express and I have headers and libs installed all right. If you are using graphical installer, then you have to manually check them to be installed (and you have an option to uncheck everything else).
If you want a files, I can tar.bz2 them and put on www. Only tell me what exactly do you need (directories), as it's kinda big and we don't want to push so much data over my poor little connection ;)

If you insist on using text installer, then you're on your own - I don't know a bit about how does it work.
_________________
"I just have to run faster than the slowest party member"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

molot wrote:
There are. I'm using Express and I have headers and libs installed all right. If you are using graphical installer, then you have to manually check them to be installed (and you have an option to uncheck everything else).
If you want a files, I can tar.bz2 them and put on www. Only tell me what exactly do you need (directories), as it's kinda big and we don't want to push so much data over my poor little connection ;)

If you insist on using text installer, then you're on your own - I don't know a bit about how does it work.


ok i'll check the graphical installer. i am sure i missed something out.
thanks.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
molot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 214
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I've said, soon I'll have hardened gentoo vm up and running. Then, I can try to make a little guide - if anyone think it's worth it.

If you can find a way to install db2 with libs and headers using text installer, I'd like to know how (ebuild can't use graphical one).

I'll also need a way to edit db2profile in a intended way, not that quick and dirty manual replace I did. I hope I'll find it.
_________________
"I just have to run faster than the slowest party member"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dunno. with the graphical interface i can see there is an unchecked option
in the custom section for headers ecc. i haven't tried it as i am afraid it may compromise
my already working db2 installation.
if there was an option to install just the headers i could have been comfortable.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
molot
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Feb 2005
Posts: 214
Location: Warsaw, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I've said, if you wanna get the files, just let me know where are they expected to be found, and I'll send them to you. Put on www, actually.

Alternatively, setting up vmware server virtual machine shouldn't be too long thing to do. Then you'll have a file source on your own ;) With stage 3 and X tunneled to your desktop's X server, you hardly need any actual installation.
As I thought about the case - you may as well run stage 3 in chroot and install a db2 copy there (for a source of header and library files, of course). I can't think about easier way.
_________________
"I just have to run faster than the slowest party member"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum