Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Powerbook g4 400mhz
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
glitch666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:04 am    Post subject: Powerbook g4 400mhz Reply with quote

I downloaded and burned the 2008 universal ppc install cd, but when i hold down c and boot it itll boot to the first line were you can enter your boot parameters. I was following the handbook and it says the default kernel should be named apple, but the only kernel on the cd is labled g5.... if i boot this kernel it just restarts my mac. any ideas? or should i download the 2007 universal cd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 446
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have a universal install cd at hand (I used the 2008.0 minimal install cd for exactly the same book :)), but I cannot imagine that there's not only a g5 kernel on the cd. Try "ppc32" at the boot prompt.
_________________
Mandrake Dec 2001 · Debian "Woody" Aug 2002 · Gentoo Jan 2004 · Funtoo Oct 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitch666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That worked great, it just threw me off when you you hit tab to veiw kernels the only one that shows up is called g5. The hanbook said there would be a a kernel named apple but there isnt one. But that worked perfect im going to install tonight. thank you, and how is gentoo working on the old 400mhz g4s?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
super-lupo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Jun 2004
Posts: 92
Location: Germany / Berlin

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi glitch666,

gentoo works great on this Powerbook. I use this for everyday use. Only compile time is a great pain in the ...
Ah, and I never got the modem to work. But IR and anything else is working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitch666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome, im ready to bust out the control -c to stop the compile and shut her down because it gets hot enough not compiling lol. Dont want it to melt like a gi joe....... Im not to worried about the modem I have comcast and yes it is comcastic =]. Would you help me if i need help since you got one to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitch666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got my base system installed and working pretty snappy using the g4 kernel sources. Now since i have an ati rage 128 what should put for VIDEO_CARD, in my make.conf? I might need some help installing xorg and kde though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 446
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

glitch666 wrote:
Now since i have an ati rage 128 what should put for VIDEO_CARD, in my make.conf
Code:
VIDEO_CARDS="r128"

glitch666 wrote:
I might need some help installing xorg and kde though.

Here are the relevant parts of my /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Code:
 Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Card0"     # Change according to your setup
        Driver      "r128"
        VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
        BoardName   "Rage Mobility M3 AGP 2x"
        BusID       "PCI:0:16:0"

        Option  "PanelWidth"    "1152"      # This is important
        Option  "PanelHeight"   "768"      # This is important
        Option  "UseFBDev"      "false"      # This is important
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "Monitor0"      # Change according to your setup
        VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"      # Change according to your setup
        ModelName    "Monitor Model"         # Change according to your setup

        Option      "dpms"

        HorizSync       30-50      # This is important
        VertRefresh     50-75      # This is important

EndSection

Section "dri"
    Mode 0666
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth 24

        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     16
                Modes "1152x768"    # This is important
        EndSubSection

        SubSection "Display"
            Viewport 0 0
            Depth   24
            Modes "1152x768"       # This is important
    EndSubSection
EndSection


As to KDE: It works nicely for me with 512 Mb RAM, but expect looong compile times (see below). I'd recommend not to install kde-meta but only the parts you need: kdebase kde-i18n if you need it, kpdf kget kuickshow kuser kdegraphics-kfile-plugins kdemultimedia-kfile-plugins kdemultimedia-kioslaves ark in my case (I'm using thunderbird for emails, vlc and mplayer for video, etc.).
As to USE flags, I personally would wipe out "arts" and use alsa directly. On a PB, I'd globally (i.e. in /etc/make.conf) enable ieee1384 (for firewire). I'd suggest to install in small steps with the -pv switches on, and check the use flags carefully.

As to compile time: first, make sure you check this thread: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-595805.html.
Second, if you have other machines available on a local network, you may consider using distcc and crosscompiling.
Check out the Gentoo Distcc Documentation: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/distcc.xml and the Distcc-Cross-compiling Guide: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/cross-compiling-distcc.xml

Good luck!
_________________
Mandrake Dec 2001 · Debian "Woody" Aug 2002 · Gentoo Jan 2004 · Funtoo Oct 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitch666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks man that should be wonderful, I have a gig of ram in my pb so I should be good there. Compile times do suck tho.
Oh yeah, Installing that kde should work for my needs, if it gets to hot i could of course hit control c shut it down and let it cool off. Then start it backup and just start from were it left off, therefor breking the complie procees in a few steps of lets say like 3 or for hours?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 446
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

glitch666 wrote:
if it gets to hot i could of course hit control c shut it down and let it cool off. Then start it backup and just start from were it left off, therefor breking the complie procees in a few steps of lets say like 3 or for hours?
If you want to wait in front of your screen and hit CTRL C exactly when one package has finished merging and the next one is about to begin, well, do it :-). When you interrupt the compilation process of a package, the results compiled for that package so far will be lost.
Anyhow, I think you shouldn't need that kind of safety mesure. The alu chassis works as a passive cooler, so it's quite natural that it get's hot. Your fan must work well, of course. If it does, it should switch on and off regularily during compiles (you can hear that). I usually run larger emerges during night and never had a problem.
_________________
Mandrake Dec 2001 · Debian "Woody" Aug 2002 · Gentoo Jan 2004 · Funtoo Oct 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitch666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah the passive things cool except it leaves 3rd degree burns on my legs.=]
The fan works (louder then my 360).=]
Man im gonna end up napping a whole lot today........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitch666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have successfully installed everything I need for day to day use, that you very much. Our xorg configs are pretty much identical and everything is great and smooth. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 446
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have fun :)
_________________
Mandrake Dec 2001 · Debian "Woody" Aug 2002 · Gentoo Jan 2004 · Funtoo Oct 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewBlackDak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Utah County, UT

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have faster desktops you should setup distcc and crossdev.

I have my 3 A64 machines setup like this, so my PowerBook and Sparc5 don't actually do any compiling.
_________________
Gentoo systems.
X2 4200+@2.6 - Athy
X2 3600+ - Myth
UltraSparc5 440 - sparcy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
glitch666
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes im thinking about doing that with my intel quad core rig...... I just need to find the time to set it up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum