Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
QT-copy installation
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
My_World
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 339
Location: Kalahari Desert

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:31 pm    Post subject: QT-copy installation Reply with quote

I have now tried my hand at KDE4 and plan to stick with it, and somewhere on the forum I read that qt-copy has some great speed improvements for KDE, but allas, I seem to fail at installing it.

If I use flagedit to specify the qt-copy USE flag, I get the following error:

Code:

warning : 'qt-copy' seems to be a wrong flag, I hope you know what you're doing


I also tried building qt with:
Code:

#USE="qt-copy" emerge qt


But so far I lucked out. Is qt-copy still supported in the overlays? I tried searching but found nothing regarding the installation process for qt-copy...
:(
_________________
"Ubuntu" - an African word meaning "Gentoo is too hard for me".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cassiol
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Oct 2006
Posts: 304
Location: /BR/SC/FLORIPA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

helloooo

maybe that help you. https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-690260.html
_________________
before post......... try that search in google: site:forums.gentoo.org your question
please add [SOLVED] when your question is solved
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3231
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had been using trunk's qt-copy with kdesvn (built with the official kdesvn-build tool) on my Arch Linux partition until last week, when qt-4.4.1 was released. Arch provided it right away in their testing repo (as a binary package), so I went with it, and dropped qt-copy in my kdesvn-buildrc script. All I had to do was remove my qt-copy directory in /home, and commit out the qt-copy lines in the script, editing it to use the distro's qt-4.4.1 (at it's location).

Here's the changelog for 4.4.1- looks great, and I can confirm it works great on my Arch installation.
http://websvn.kde.org/trunk/qt-copy/changes-4.4.1?revision=840168&view=markup

Hopefully, I'll get 4.4.1 on my Gentoo kdesvn boxes soon- not sure how I'll manage it though- maybe edit the 4.4.0 ebuild? Even though I used qt-copy for months successfully, I decided the latest stable release was probably safer and would be less likely to cause problems in the long run.

Anyway, if you really want to install qt-copy, you could probably use the kdesvn-build tool to to install it, but on Gentoo I guess you would change the default location in the kdesvn-buildrc to install in /usr/lib/qt4, where Gentoo looks for it. The kdesvn-build script defaults to /home/youruser/qt4.

Then you can just update qt-copy with
Code:
cd /home/youruser/kdesvn
./kdesvn-build qt-copy --debug
One caveat: You need plenty of free space in /home to build qt-copy. You could put the kdesvn build directory on another partition with more free space, but you'd have to edit in new locations in the kdesvn-buildrc script. (the --debug is just for very verbose gcc output- not anything to do with building qt with debug code)

(Or, maybe just put the kdesvn build directory on another larger partition, and make a symlink in /home/youruser so you'd only have to edit in the Gentoo qt4 location, and everything else in the kdesvn-build tool would work normally).

On the other hand, maybe a Gentoo overlay is a better way to go if you want qt-copy. :)

EDIT: There are now directions for qt-4.4.1split ebuilds at: https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=233604
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-9.1.0 kernel-5.0.14-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3231
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this sounds stupid, but could someone please take a brief look at the link above to the qt-4.4.1 bugzilla link, and clue me in on how to do step 2 ?
Quote:
Steps to Reproduce:
1. Rename the split ebuilds from qt-4.4.0 to the new version number 4.4.1
2. Create header tarball with the script from the 4.4.0 header tarball
3. Remove patch from qt-gui for scrollbars
4. add qt-4.4.1 to qt4-build.eclass
5. emerge -u qt

Actual Results:
qt-4.4.1 is being built

Expected Results:
qt-4.4.1 is being built

KDE-4.1 (from kdesvn-portage overlay) runs fine with this version of qt
Nothing i try has worked- been at it for hours. :? :? :? The 4.4.0 header tarball is 2.4mb. For the 4.4.1 version I/m trying to create, I keep getting 96mb, 697bytes, and 2.6mb when I try and use the extract-headers.sh script in 4.4.0-headers. Maybe the script is wrong, or needs renaming, or run from a different location, etc., etc.- I just can't figure this out.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-9.1.0 kernel-5.0.14-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3231
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally got a good qt-4.4.1 header file extracted (96.1mb) and copied to distfiles using the method described at the bugzilla link I posted above. Never figured out why it didn't work before, but it finally did, and qt-4.4.1 compiled and installed fine (emerge @qt-split).

If anyone wants to update from qt-4.4.0, I can confirm kdesvn-portage compiles and runs fine using the new qt-4.4.1. Seems a little snappier compiled against qt-4.4.1 :) Now at: KDE 4.1.61 (KDE 4.1.61 (KDE 4.2 >= 20080807))
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-9.1.0 kernel-5.0.14-gentoo USE=experimental


Last edited by wrc1944 on Wed Aug 13, 2008 12:54 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
g2g591
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 168

PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qt 4.4.1 is in portage now, but, I CAN'T seem to find any qt-copy ebuilds for 4.4.x at all........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rion
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 376
Location: Ekaterinburg, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

g2g591 wrote:
qt 4.4.1 is in portage now, but, I CAN'T seem to find any qt-copy ebuilds for 4.4.x at all........
4.4.2 is in my overlay. you can find link here on forum if you want
_________________
~amd64
rion-overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum