Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Qt port of Firefox 3!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:43 am    Post subject: Qt port of Firefox 3! Reply with quote

Couldn't believe this news when I saw it.

http://browser.garage.maemo.org/news/10/

This effort seems to have come out of nowhere after the previous attempt at a Qt port withered some time ago. Great news! (If you prefer Qt to GTK, anyway, which I do.)

It needs qt-4.4, though :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed this a couple of days ago via an rss feed on planetkde.

The strange thing as you say is that it's been a very secretive process, however the port is welcome.

However, the x86 build doesn't work for me, unless I am willing to take a crapton of rpms to obtain the needed x86 libs. And I can't compile it on Gentoo because the xulrunner version it needs seems to be patched or something.

Code:
/home/i92guboj/opt/mozilla-qt/browser/components/places/src/nsPlacesImportExportService.cpp:1317: error: 'class nsDerivedSafe<nsIFaviconService>' has no member named 'SetFaviconDataFromDataURL'


I've found that method in flock, which is based on firefox, but it's not firefox nor xulrunner. So I don't really know if they use a patched xulrunner 1.9x version or whatever. Regardless of the claim, this doesn't compile against vanilla xulrunner 1.9. However, it doesn't compile if I choose not to use my system's xulrunner either, so I guess we will have to wait for stabilization.

I don't complain, such is the nature of live repositories. :)

However, any advise on how to compile this thing in Gentoo would be welcome.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 998
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just what the doctor ordered. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FireBurn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 167
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I played around with this a few days ago when I noticed the article

It looks like we might need to split up the patches maybe have them only applied if a qt-firefox flag is used

I think the biggest issue is the patches are for trunk not the FF3 & XULRUNNER sources we use in Gentoo

I'll play around with this again at the weekend but hopefully some cleaver clogs will bring out live ebuilds of the hg source (which would be nice hint hint)

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3253
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More info:
http://blog.vlad1.com/2008/05/06/well-isnt-that-qt/
http://hg.mozilla.org/users/vladimir_mozilla.com/mozilla-qt/
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 998
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FireBurn wrote:
I played around with this a few days ago when I noticed the article

It looks like we might need to split up the patches maybe have them only applied if a qt-firefox flag is used

I think the biggest issue is the patches are for trunk not the FF3 & XULRUNNER sources we use in Gentoo

I'll play around with this again at the weekend but hopefully some cleaver clogs will bring out live ebuilds of the hg source (which would be nice hint hint)

Mike
Actually they are not official yet once they are official i think things might get easier but i don't think thats happening very soon.

Last edited by shaumux on Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gusar
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 2665
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right now, the code is in Vlad's personal repo. But there's a bug open to merge that repo with the main mozilla repository. Once that happens, it will take a simple USE flag to get a Qt Firefox.

However, thing are not completely done yet. Printing and plugin support is not there yet, so we'll have to wait a little bit longer. But since a Mozilla employee is involved now, I believe this time it will stick (this is the fourth attempt at a Qt Mozilla/Firefox).


Last edited by Gusar on Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 998
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Vote people Vote!!!
for that bug
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
However, the x86 build doesn't work for me, unless I am willing to take a crapton of rpms to obtain the needed x86 libs. And I can't compile it on Gentoo because the xulrunner version it needs seems to be patched or something.


Can you expand on this? All I did was download the build and unpack it to /opt/firefoxqt3/ and ran the firefox script, but got this error:
Code:

robin@pengi ~ $ /opt/firefoxqt3/firefox
/opt/firefoxqt3/firefox-bin: symbol lookup error: /opt/firefoxqt3/libxul.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6QEvent17registerEventTypeEi


I assumed the error was down to requiring qt-4.4.0 (sidenote: does this build OK if unmasked?), is there more to it than that? What RPMs were you referring to, and how/where did you come by the imperative to install them?

I'm up for getting my hands dirty with this myself, and my next port of call will be registering on Mozilla Bugzilla to vote for that bug!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bloodsurfer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Dec 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Wolfstein, Germany (Rhineland-Palatinate)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hell yeah, it finally happens! :D

That's one more step towards the death of gtk 8)
_________________
SiberianSniper: my girlfriend's name ends with .c
Clete2: Uber geek! W00t! I'd rather have it end in .cpp... <insert name>.cpp
Dralnu: ...why not <name>.o? Then she's ready for linking...
SiberianSniper: or <name>.ko, so she's ready for insertion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

awesome!
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bloodsurfer wrote:
Hell yeah, it finally happens! :D

That's one more step towards the death of gtk 8)


Heh... well, I wouldn't start planning the wake just yet. It remains to be seen what Nokia's intentions are in all of this; they seem to be courting both toolkits in different ways. And there are plenty of best-in-class apps that use GTK and aren't likely to change. I don't generally begrudge GTK its place in the landscape, I just prefer Qt.

(Having said that, I am having a lot of fun right now learning PHP-GTK2. I feel sooo dirty ;) )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no4b
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Tarnów, Poland

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I compilled Firefox-Qt (after a few changes in sources that I had to make), but it's unusable for now. It's interface is very annying. Anyway, it's good to know that something is happening in topic of creating Qt port of Firefox.
_________________
GTK2/GNOME - The weakest link!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Havin_it wrote:
i92guboj wrote:
However, the x86 build doesn't work for me, unless I am willing to take a crapton of rpms to obtain the needed x86 libs. And I can't compile it on Gentoo because the xulrunner version it needs seems to be patched or something.


Can you expand on this?


A per this code on my other post:

Code:

/home/i92guboj/opt/mozilla-qt/browser/components/places/src/nsPlacesImportExportService.cpp:1317: error: 'class nsDerivedSafe<nsIFaviconService>' has no member named 'SetFaviconDataFromDataURL'


The problem is obvious. Firefox doesn't include that function/method, whatever you call it, xulrunner doesn't either, so, it's impossible to compile against it. Flock however does include it, I don't know what version of xulrunner did the author use to compile this mozilla-qt thing, but with vanilla xulrunner 1.9 I have had no success so far.

Quote:
All I did was download the build and unpack it to /opt/firefoxqt3/ and ran the firefox script, but got this error:
Code:

robin@pengi ~ $ /opt/firefoxqt3/firefox
/opt/firefoxqt3/firefox-bin: symbol lookup error: /opt/firefoxqt3/libxul.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6QEvent17registerEventTypeEi



That seems like a linker error, or is it a run-time error? In any case it's not about compilation, but the linking stage.

Quote:
I assumed the error was down to requiring qt-4.4.0 (sidenote: does this build OK if unmasked?), is there more to it than that? What RPMs were you referring to, and how/where did you come by the imperative to install them?


I use qt4.4 without a problem, but it's masked for a reason. Expect problems (easily solvable ones, however if you know how to deal with Gentoo stuff). About RPMS, I am using amd64, so, if I intended to use the x86 build that there's on the download page I would need to install a 32 bits precompiled version of qt4, libpng, libnspr and whatever else is needed. Too much a big hassle just to test this unstable thing. The easier source would be to pick rpm packages, that's what I meant. An alternative would be to compile the 32 bits packages on a chroot and then port them into my amd64 installation. Either way, it's not something that I have the time to do right now.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thargor
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Location: Bamberg/Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could also try arora, a webkit + Qt based browser which is at least as usable as firefoxQt and which is rapidly evolving.
But I would recommend you to build it using webkit-trunk, because the webkit version in Qt-4.4 is pretty old and doesn't have support for plugins (flash).
Alternatively you could use a Qt-4.5 snapshot.
I am using it here for everything and it works pretty nice (and it isn't as fat as firefox - memory wise)

http://arora-browser.org
_________________
Ideas are bulletproof
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thargor wrote:
You could also try arora, a webkit + Qt based browser which is at least as usable as firefoxQt and which is rapidly evolving.
But I would recommend you to build it using webkit-trunk, because the webkit version in Qt-4.4 is pretty old and doesn't have support for plugins (flash).
Alternatively you could use a Qt-4.5 snapshot.
I am using it here for everything and it works pretty nice (and it isn't as fat as firefox - memory wise)

http://arora-browser.org


Yep. Arora is definitely something to keep an eye over. :)

It's very tiny and very functional, and it can only get better while >=qt 4.4 stabilizes. That will take a while though. Firefox on the contrary is a big and functional as it can get, they are entirely different browsers. Arora doesn't even care about kde integration, it's a QT (and not a KDE) program.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irondog
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 715
Location: Voor mijn TV. Achter mijn pc.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Qt code has been merged into mozilla central, two days before the feature freeze of Firefox 3.1 (on august the 19th).

I guess that this means Qt will be supported as of Firefox 3.1 beta 1.
_________________
Alle dingen moeten onzin zijn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

irondog wrote:
The Qt code has been merged into mozilla central, two days before the feature freeze of Firefox 3.1 (on august the 19th).

I guess that this means Qt will be supported as of Firefox 3.1 beta 1.


Awesome, still no ebuild around?
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 998
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great We can have native qt firefox now.
I hope we get anofficial ebuild for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Posting from the test build :D

First thing to report is that you'll need to make hacked copies of /usr/bin/firefox[-bin] and /usr/libexec/mozilla-launcher if you want to run it with any parameters (e.g. -p or -no-remote). Let me know if you want mine.

Lots of little bugs with the UI. There seems to be a syndrome where buttons on the toolbar (e.g. the main menu) and SELECTs on the page fail to appear; a lot of keyboard shortcuts are b0rked; and some pages don't render text: the very page that provides the download, for example! Some really nasty text artefacts in this very text-box as I scrolled it, too :(

But all in all, pleasing progress. Glad to hear it's gotten into the tree already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Havin_it wrote:
Posting from the test build :D

But all in all, pleasing progress. Glad to hear it's gotten into the tree already.


In the official gentoo tree? Can't find it...
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phlogiston wrote:
Havin_it wrote:
Posting from the test build :D

But all in all, pleasing progress. Glad to hear it's gotten into the tree already.


In the official gentoo tree? Can't find it...


I think he meant the mozilla tree, not the gentoo one.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1172
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:
Phlogiston wrote:
Havin_it wrote:
Posting from the test build :D

But all in all, pleasing progress. Glad to hear it's gotten into the tree already.


In the official gentoo tree? Can't find it...


I think he meant the mozilla tree, not the gentoo one.


That is what I meant: I'm using the download from the page I linked in the OP. If you unmask qt-4.4.* (which means unmasking quite a number of smaller modular packages) you can run it directly, but it won't let you pass parameters. So if you don't want to employ hacked launcher scripts (see above), my advice is create a test profile before you launch it. Otherwise all your extensions in your existing profile will be version-checked every time you launch it.

I might be tempted to have a go building from CVS, but I must say i92guboj's experiences have put me off a bit :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Phlogiston
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 1925
Location: Europe, Swizerland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any progress on the qt firefox? Any news, recent builds?
_________________
Workstation: 5.1 SurroundSound, LIRC remote control; Laptop [IBM-T43]: patched sources, s2disk/ram, fingerprint sensor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Konqueror 4.2 is better than firefox, and qt firefox is still extremely buggy anyway.

Just use konqueror or arora for qt ;) hopefully konqueror will use qtwebkit soon but arora already does use it
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum