Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Official thread: "zen-sources" - Part V
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 21, 22, 23  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheesebaron wrote:
I'm having problems with patching the kernel with hdaps from the tp_smapi package.

I get this when I try to merge it.

Code:
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37 ...
 * Preparing thinkpad_ec module
make -C /usr/src/linux M=/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37 O=/usr/src/linux modules
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/zen-sources'
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/tp_smapi.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/hdaps.o
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:39:27: error: asm/semaphore.h: No such file or directory
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:86: warning: type defaults to ‘int’ in declaration of ‘DECLARE_MUTEX’
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:86: warning: parameter names (without types) in function declaration
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c: In function ‘thinkpad_ec_lock’:
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:97: error: implicit declaration of function ‘down_interruptible’
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:97: error: ‘thinkpad_ec_mutex’ undeclared (first use in this function)
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:97: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:97: error: for each function it appears in.)
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c: In function ‘thinkpad_ec_try_lock’:
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:111: error: implicit declaration of function ‘down_trylock’
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:111: error: ‘thinkpad_ec_mutex’ undeclared (first use in this function)
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c: In function ‘thinkpad_ec_unlock’:
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:123: error: implicit declaration of function ‘up’
/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.c:123: error: ‘thinkpad_ec_mutex’ undeclared (first use in this function)
make[3]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37/thinkpad_ec.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
make[2]: *** [_module_/var/tmp/portage/app-laptop/tp_smapi-0.37/work/tp_smapi-0.37] Error 2
make[1]: *** [sub-make] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/zen-sources'
make: *** [modules] Error 2


It works on previous versions of the kernel.


I just use the tp_smapi and hdaps supplied in the kernel built as modules. It is much easier and they work great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cheesebaron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Location: DTU, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What are the differences between the hdaps module from the tp_smapi package and the one in the kernel?
_________________
ThinkPad X60t | Gentoo ~x86 | Zen-sources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mroconnor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 402
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really don't know if there is any great difference if any at all. The ones the devs put in the kernel might even be git versions.
I do know they work flawlessly for me and my z61m.

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoacker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 498
Location: Bürstadt, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Git repo is down? 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hoacker wrote:
Git repo is down? 8O


Quote:
404 - No such project


OUCH !

and I didn't save the latest stage :(
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cheesebaron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Location: DTU, Denmark

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to be the same version of tp_smapi that is in the kernel as the one in the portage tree.
_________________
ThinkPad X60t | Gentoo ~x86 | Zen-sources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mieszkoslusarczyk
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Jul 2008
Posts: 92
Location: Kraków/Poland

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's wrong with the server?
The overlay does not work nor does the overlay...;/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FallenWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 51
Location: Vienna / Austria

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ryan reorganizes the git repo so it's down right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FallenWizard wrote:
Ryan reorganizes the git repo so it's down right now.


thanks for that info,

meanwhile also the homepage www.zen-sources.org was not reachable (it's alternating from not reachable to somewhat access ;) )

Ryan, take your time, I believe it shouldn't hurt if it's down for a little longer and everything works later flawlessly

thanks ! :)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mieszkoslusarczyk wrote:
What's wrong with the server?
The overlay does not work nor does the overlay...;/


register your complaint with the department of redundancy department
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FallenWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 51
Location: Vienna / Austria

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Git is online again: http://git.zen-sources.org/?p=kernel.git;a=forks

Please use the HTTP link instead of the git link, because it's not working atm.


EDIT: git:// works again.


Last edited by FallenWizard on Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:18 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

checkout gitweb.zen-sources.org for new pull urls
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. Tao
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
checkout gitweb.zen-sources.org for new pull urls
…and change src in layman's cache_<numbers>.xml to "git://zen-sources.org/zen/portage.git" in zen-overlay section if you are using p/layman.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
checkout gitweb.zen-sources.org for new pull urls


updated on first page of this thread/topic :idea:

thanks guys :)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D


Last edited by kernelOfTruth on Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Non_E
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 160
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would you consider including SpadFS please? It is an experimental filesystem yet I have heard some positive references. The changelog claims it supports 2.6.27-rc3.

Thanks
_________________
Only Sith deals in absolutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
termite
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do I really have to change that line every time? Can someone please update the layman server file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unK
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 769

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why is there no reiser4 in 2.6.27-rc5-zen?
_________________
ncmpcpp - featureful ncurses based MPD client inspired by ncmpc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ejs76
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Feb 2004
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

termite wrote:
do I really have to change that line every time? Can someone please update the layman server file?


AFAICS you don't have to keep doing that because once you added the overlay layman looks at the URL in the 'overlay.xml' file when syncing. Read bold output:

CODE wrote:
The source of the overlay "zen-overlay" seems to have changed. You currently sync from "git://zen-sources.org/zen/portage.git" while the global layman list reports "git://zen-sources.org/zen/portage-overlay.git" as correct location. Please consider removing and readding the overlay!


Layman only warns about different URL's in 'overlay.xml' and 'cache_<numbers>.xml'.

So just ignore the warning for now...
_________________
~amd64
PhenomII x4 955 | MSI 790GX-G65 | ATI Radeon 5770 | 8GB DDR3 1333
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
termite
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I can actually read :roll:

Nonetheless, this should be fixed on the server side. This is really annoying for those of us who run layman -S as part of eix-sync.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mantoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Dec 2007
Posts: 98
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

termite wrote:
Yes, I can actually read :roll:

Nonetheless, this should be fixed on the server side. This is really annoying for those of us who run layman -S as part of eix-sync.


definitly can confirm that.

my solution for now is to run
Code:
eix-sync && eix-sync -l
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ejs76 wrote:
termite wrote:
do I really have to change that line every time? Can someone please update the layman server file?


AFAICS you don't have to keep doing that because once you added the overlay layman looks at the URL in the 'overlay.xml' file when syncing. Read bold output:

CODE wrote:
The source of the overlay "zen-overlay" seems to have changed. You currently sync from "git://zen-sources.org/zen/portage.git" while the global layman list reports "git://zen-sources.org/zen/portage-overlay.git" as correct location. Please consider removing and readding the overlay!


Layman only warns about different URL's in 'overlay.xml' and 'cache_<numbers>.xml'.

So just ignore the warning for now...


i can actually fix that
so that is portage-overlay.git

EDIT its fixed
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
termite
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks rmh.

For those still having trouble: layman -d zen-overlay, then layman -a zen-overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwe_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 621
Location: Kraków/Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird problem with zen-2.6.26-r21. I have to usb hubs [one embedded into monitor], first connected to laptop, second to the first one. Somehow, after upgrade to 2.6.26 second hub is not visible. Doesn't appear in /proc/bus/usb, /sys or dmesg. Like it does't exists, together with devices connected to it. If I connect both hubs directly to laptop - everything is ok. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
unK
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 769

PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, seems there is reiser4 in 2.6.27_rc5-zen2, but ebuild/eclass doesn't apply -zen patch:
Code:
>>> Emerging (1 of 1) sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27_rc5-r20
 * patch-2.6.27-rc5.bz2 RMD160 SHA1 SHA256 size ;-) ...                       [ ok ]
 * linux-2.6.26.tar.bz2 RMD160 SHA1 SHA256 size ;-) ...                       [ ok ]
 * 2.6.27-rc5-zen2.patch.bz2 RMD160 SHA1 SHA256 size ;-) ...                  [ ok ]
 * checking ebuild checksums ;-) ...                                          [ ok ]
 * checking auxfile checksums ;-) ...                                         [ ok ]
 * checking miscfile checksums ;-) ...                                        [ ok ]
>>> Preparing to unpack ...
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking linux-2.6.26.tar.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27_rc5-r20/work
>>> Unpacking patch-2.6.27-rc5.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27_rc5-r20/work
>>> Unpacking 2.6.27-rc5-zen2.patch.bz2 to /var/tmp/portage/sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27_rc5-r20/work
>>> Applying -rc prepatch ...
>>> Applying -zen patch ...
/var/tmp/portage/sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27_rc5-r20/temp/environment: line 772: /var/tmp/portage/sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27_rc5-r20/work/2.6.27-rc5-zen2.patch.bz2: No such file or directory
>>> Source unpacked.
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27_rc5-r20/work/linux-2.6.27-rc5-zen2 ...
>>> Source compiled.
>>> Test phase [not enabled]: sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27_rc5-r20

blah.
_________________
ncmpcpp - featureful ncurses based MPD client inspired by ncmpc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MageSlayer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 250
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, guys.

Does anybody uses old GeForce2(MX) video with 2.6.27+ ?
Or does nvidia-drivers 96.+ work with 2.6.27+?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 5, 6, 7 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
Page 6 of 23

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum