Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Official thread: "zen-sources" - Part V
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 21, 22, 23  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
manwe_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 621
Location: Kraków/Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

New problem :? This time with usb audio. Yesterday mplayer just stopped. Process stayed as zombie and I was unable to kill it. Only one line appeared in dmesg
Code:
timeout: still 3 active urbs..
After that /proc was unavailable [top, ps, etc.]. After third time I've started to look for a solution. Found this thread https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-683861.html , removed RTC from kernel, and this time got two errors
Code:
Clocksource tsc unstable (delta = -128899102 ns)
timeout: still 3 active urbs..
I don't know if they are related. USB speakers are unavailable, mplayer is hanging, but at least /proc and standard sound card are working. Any ideas? zen 2.6.27-r31.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

^^ keep trying linus git, or post up the report on lkml.

i just pulled linus git again (as i do often), so keep trying to update zen to see if it gets fixed (there were some tsc and clocksource updates in this last pull i just did)
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ponciarello
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 223
Location: beach of slack

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry people, maybe I missed something, but what's happening to zen homepage? :o
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cheater1034
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 Sep 2004
Posts: 1558

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ponciarello wrote:
sorry people, maybe I missed something, but what's happening to zen homepage? :o


pgsql to mysql conversion, and a lot of other nice new features that are almost all finished all by rmh ;)
_________________
IRC!: #zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
zen-kernel.org
--
Lost in android development land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ponciarello
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 223
Location: beach of slack

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnx cheater for the nice news :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zoboulo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Apr 2007
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

i can't install sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27-r31 from zen-overlay : I get this error

Code:

...
2008-11-09 18:33:13 (75,4 KB/s) - « /usr/portage/distfiles/2.6.27-zen3.patch.lzma » sauvegardé [6236]

('Filesize does not match recorded size', 6236, 6149493)
!!! Fetched file: 2.6.27-zen3.patch.lzma VERIFY FAILED!
!!! Reason: Filesize does not match recorded size
!!! Got:      6236
!!! Expected: 6149493
Refetching... File renamed to '/usr/portage/distfiles/2.6.27-zen3.patch.lzma._checksum_failure_.7o6XD9'

!!! Couldn't download '2.6.27-zen3.patch.lzma'. Aborting.
...


Any ideas ?

thanks !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zoboulo wrote:
Hi,

i can't install sys-kernel/zen-sources-2.6.27-r31 from zen-overlay : I get this error

Code:

...
2008-11-09 18:33:13 (75,4 KB/s) - « /usr/portage/distfiles/2.6.27-zen3.patch.lzma » sauvegardé [6236]

('Filesize does not match recorded size', 6236, 6149493)
!!! Fetched file: 2.6.27-zen3.patch.lzma VERIFY FAILED!
!!! Reason: Filesize does not match recorded size
!!! Got:      6236
!!! Expected: 6149493
Refetching... File renamed to '/usr/portage/distfiles/2.6.27-zen3.patch.lzma._checksum_failure_.7o6XD9'

!!! Couldn't download '2.6.27-zen3.patch.lzma'. Aborting.
...


Any ideas ?

thanks !


yeah i changed the server up so that file is not in the patch any more... the eclass will need to be updated to support the ewn server
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manwe_
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 621
Location: Kraków/Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheater1034 wrote:
keep trying linus git, or post up the report on lkml.
i just pulled linus git again (as i do often), so keep trying to update zen to see if it gets fixed (there were some tsc and clocksource updates in this last pull i just did)


Looks like after removing RTC it happend only once [after which I've posted]. Will wait 'til another timeout, before trying to fix something [almost] working. Btw. after removing CONFIG_RTC hwclock yells at me, it cannot access system clock. Is there any way to reconcile this? Have working hwclock but without CONFIG_RTC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a nvidia graphics card and i see in the latest git pull that
the choice is b/n vanilla drm and redhat drm.
i mean i don't use drm at all. it' a radeon thing or am i wrong?
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tranquilcool wrote:
i have a nvidia graphics card and i see in the latest git pull that
the choice is b/n vanilla drm and redhat drm.
i mean i don't use drm at all. it' a radeon thing or am i wrong?


intel and radeon use drm right now, you as an closed-sources nvidia user wont need it
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
tranquilcool wrote:
i have a nvidia graphics card and i see in the latest git pull that
the choice is b/n vanilla drm and redhat drm.
i mean i don't use drm at all. it' a radeon thing or am i wrong?


intel and radeon use drm right now, you as an closed-sources nvidia user wont need it


i thought so. fact is there is no choice to don't compile it at all
as am not using any of the two cards.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tranquilcool wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
tranquilcool wrote:
i have a nvidia graphics card and i see in the latest git pull that
the choice is b/n vanilla drm and redhat drm.
i mean i don't use drm at all. it' a radeon thing or am i wrong?


intel and radeon use drm right now, you as an closed-sources nvidia user wont need it


i thought so. fact is there is no choice to don't compile it at all
as am not using any of the two cards.


then dont enable drm, the selector just chooses the source, so pick either of them then say N to drm.... this is probably the only kernel that will have this
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
tranquilcool wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
tranquilcool wrote:
i have a nvidia graphics card and i see in the latest git pull that
the choice is b/n vanilla drm and redhat drm.
i mean i don't use drm at all. it' a radeon thing or am i wrong?


intel and radeon use drm right now, you as an closed-sources nvidia user wont need it


i thought so. fact is there is no choice to don't compile it at all
as am not using any of the two cards.


then dont enable drm, the selector just chooses the source, so pick either of them then say N to drm.... this is probably the only kernel that will have this


ok just thought there wasn't any need compiling in kernel anything i don't use.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

seqizz wrote:
Now complied but i can't use my "Fn" keys to set my screen brightness anymore. And this should be a problem:
Code:
Method "CreateBluetoothSession" with signature "ss" on interface "org.openobex.Manager" doesn't exist


Shown with 28-rc3-x, maybe one of my other updates causes that, can i fill a bug to bugs.gentoo.org with zen? in this case?

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/6776/ekrangoruntusufiletranshh6.png


that most probably isn't an hardware(kernel)-problem rather than a software-problem

on one day this worked perfectly with 2.6.27-zen3 for me, on the other (after a world-update / re-emerge of the whole system with same cflags and slightly different use-flags) this didn't work anymore

so the error lies within gnome-bluetooth / the gnome-obex-* stuff (I've already made that experience in former times that bluetooth sometimes works and sometimes it doesn't but haven't found the reason / cause yet) and not the kernel :idea:

I haven't tested bluetooth on 2.6.28-rc4-zen1 yet and will let you know if I encounter something other / time same problem
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moved to gnome-bluetooth / bluetooth-applet doesn't work (solved) to prevent off-topic discussions and spamming this thread
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
termite
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 466

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what's up with the overlay and the website? Both have been inaccessible for days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

termite wrote:
what's up with the overlay and the website? Both have been inaccessible for days.

git also doesn't respond...
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
termite wrote:
what's up with the overlay and the website? Both have been inaccessible for days.

git also doesn't respond...


all our overlays, git repos and paludis extras was on the same server, it will be up as soon as possible everyone! relax!
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ponciarello
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 223
Location: beach of slack

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if someone got problems with kvm, I solved with this small patch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If anyone wants 2.6.28-rc4-zen1 sources before the server comes back, I've uploaded them to rapidshare.

http://rapidshare.com/files/164109055/zen-sources.tar.bz2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lucke wrote:
If anyone wants 2.6.28-rc4-zen1 sources before the server comes back, I've uploaded them to rapidshare.

http://rapidshare.com/files/164109055/zen-sources.tar.bz2


here is the patch http://people.rit.edu/rmh3093/2.6.28-rc4-zen1.patch.lzma
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr. Tao
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Jul 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
lucke wrote:
If anyone wants 2.6.28-rc4-zen1 sources before the server comes back, I've uploaded them to rapidshare.
http://rapidshare.com/files/164109055/zen-sources.tar.bz2
here is the patch http://people.rit.edu/rmh3093/2.6.28-rc4-zen1.patch.lzma
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tagx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems drm_vanilla fails to compile for i915.
Code:

  CC      drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.o
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_tasklet':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:109: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_work_handler':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:343: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:355: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:358: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:366: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_swap':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:797: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:802: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
make[4]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915] Error 2
make[2]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla] Error 2
make[1]: *** [drivers/gpu] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FallenWizard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 51
Location: Vienna / Austria

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tagx wrote:
It seems drm_vanilla fails to compile for i915.
Code:

  CC      drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.o
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_tasklet':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:109: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_work_handler':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:343: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:355: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:358: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:366: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_swap':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:797: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:802: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
make[4]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915] Error 2
make[2]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla] Error 2
make[1]: *** [drivers/gpu] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2



Just deactivate DRM in the kernel. It's only needed for Intel and RadeonHD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tagx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FallenWizard wrote:
Tagx wrote:
It seems drm_vanilla fails to compile for i915.
Code:

  CC      drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.o
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_tasklet':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:109: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_work_handler':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:343: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:355: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:358: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:366: error: 'struct drm_device' has no member named 'lock'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c: In function 'i915_vblank_swap':
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:797: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.c:802: error: 'drm_i915_private_t' has no member named 'sarea_priv'
make[4]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915/i915_irq.o] Error 1
make[3]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla/i915] Error 2
make[2]: *** [drivers/gpu/drm_vanilla] Error 2
make[1]: *** [drivers/gpu] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2



Just deactivate DRM in the kernel. It's only needed for Intel and RadeonHD.


I have an intel card so I need drm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 15, 16, 17 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
Page 16 of 23

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum