Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
LXDE - Lightweight X11 Desktop Environment (Live Ebuilds)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
duckz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 158

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

added edited install script from e17update.sh modified for lxde.

Code:

#!/bin/sh
# This script tries twice to emerge all necessary packages for e17
# and lets you know which packages failed.
# 2007-07-28 - Fixed tmpfs handling, cleaned up script setup -- Weedy
# 2008-09-08 - Shamessly edited for lxde --duckz
## Script setup
# Select package manager, emerge or paludis:
PACKAGE_MANAGER="emerge"

_EBUILDS=(
lxde-base/lxappearance
lxde-base/lxclip
lxde-base/lxde-common
lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu
lxde-base/lxnm
lxde-base/lxpanel
lxde-base/lxrandr
lxde-base/lxsession-lite
lxde-base/lxsys-nettool
lxde-base/lxtask
lxde-base/lxterminal
media-gfx/gpicview
net-analyzer/gtknetcat
x11-apps/smproxy
x11-misc/pcmanfm
x11-wm/openbox
)


# Activate this flag to speed-up your compile time (http://gentoo-wiki.com/TIP_Speeding_up_portage_with_tmpfs)
# (Note that you need to have alot of RAM)
_MNT_TMPFS=0
# Size of tmpfs in MB (memory is allocated only when needed).
_TMPFS_SIZE=512

# for baselayout 1*:
#. /sbin/functions.sh
# for baselayout 2*:
. /lib/rc/sh/functions.sh

## You should not have to edit below this line.

trap "exit_hdlr $?" SIGHUP SIGINT SIGTERM SIGQUIT SIGABRT

layman --sync=lxde

_FAIL_FLAG="0"
_FAIL_LIST=""

# mounts tmpfs on ${WORKING_DIR} with user specificied size
/etc/init.d/squashportage start

function mount_tmpfs(){
   if (($_MNT_TMPFS == 0)); then return 0; fi
   if [ -z "$(mount|grep ${WORKING_DIR})" ]; then
      mount -t tmpfs tmpfs ${WORKING_DIR} -o size=${_TMPFS_SIZE}M && einfo "mounting ramdisk of size ${_TMPFS_SIZE}MB on ${WORKING_DIR}";
      if [ -z "$(mount|grep ${WORKING_DIR})" ]; then einfo "mounting of tmpfs failed...   continuing with ordinary emerge"; fi
   else
      einfo "${WORKING_DIR} was already mounted... leaving unchanged."
      _MNT_TMPFS=0    # prevent the script from unmounting it in the end
   fi
}
function umount_tmpfs(){
   if (($_MNT_TMPFS == 0)); then return 0; fi
   if [ ! -z "$(mount|grep ${WORKING_DIR})" ]; then
      einfo "unmounting tmpfs"
      if ! umount ${WORKING_DIR}; then eerror "Failed to unmount tmpfs"; fi
   fi
}
function compile(){
   ${EMERGE} ${1} && _FAIL_FLAG="1"
}
function exit_hdlr() {
   echo ""
   if (($_CNT < ${#_EBUILDS[*]})); then
      if (($_CNT > 1)); then
         einfo "Update aborted. To resume, run: SKIP=$((_CNT-1)) $0"
      fi
   fi
   if [ -z "$_FAIL_LIST" ]; then
      einfo "All packages successfully emerged."
   else
      eerror "The following packages failed on emerge: $_FAIL_LIST"
   fi
   umount_tmpfs
   exit ${1}
}

if [ "$1" == "debug" ]; then
   DEBUG="USE=\"$USE debug\" FEATURES=\"$FEATURES nostrip\""
fi

case "${PACKAGE_MANAGER}" in
   "emerge" )
   EMERGE="/usr/bin/emerge"
   WORKING_DIR="/var/tmp/portage"
   ;;
   "paludis" )
   EMERGE="/usr/bin/paludis -i"
   WORKING_DIR="/var/tmp/paludis"
   ;;
esac

# use the SKIP variable to skip the first packages (e.g. SKIP=20 ./e17update.sh)
if [ ! -z "$SKIP" ]; then
   einfo "Skipping $SKIP ebuilds..."
else
   SKIP=0
fi

mount_tmpfs

_CNT=0
for package in ${_EBUILDS[*]}; do
   _FAIL_FLAG=0
   let "_CNT++"
   if (($_CNT <= $SKIP)); then continue; fi
      einfo "Compiling $package ($_CNT out of ${#_EBUILDS[*]})"
      compile ${package}
      if [ "$_FAIL_FLAG" == "0" ]; then
         ewarn "emerge of $package failed... retrying once"
      sleep 3
      # Try with an older automake (known issue)
      WANT_AUTOMAKE=1.9 compile $package
      if [ "$_FAIL_FLAG" == "0" ]; then
         eerror "emerge of $package failed again...     bailing out"
         if [ -x /usr/bin/beep ]; then /usr/bin/beep -r 3 -d 50; fi
         _FAIL_LIST="${_FAIL_LIST} $package"
      fi
   fi
   echo ""
   sleep 3
done

/etc/init.d/squashportage stop
exit_hdlr 0


hope it'll works!
_________________
emerge -va techygadget.com <- install my blog in gentoo
./configure anime wallpaper
make install premium drupal theme
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 642

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right I still can't get the sets to work, but I can get things to start emerging, but I get blocked packages
Code:

Hawaiian ja # emerge $(cat /etc/portage/package.keywords |tail -16 | sed 's/~amd64//g' | sed 's/**//g')
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/opensp-1.5.2-r1  USE="nls -doc"
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-dtd-4.1-r3 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-dtd-4.0-r3 
[ebuild  N    ] dev-perl/SGMLSpm-1.03-r5 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-dsssl-stylesheets-1.79 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-dtd-3.0-r3 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-dtd-3.1-r3 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-xml-simple-dtd-4.1.2.4-r2 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-xml-simple-dtd-1.0-r1 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxclip-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxlauncher-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxrandr-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxsys-nettool-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxtask-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] media-gfx/gpicview-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] net-analyzer/gtknetcat-9999 
[ebuild     U ] x11-misc/pcmanfm-9999 [0.5]
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/openjade-1.3.2-r1 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-utils-0.6.14  USE="-jadetex"
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxappearance-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxde-common-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxnm-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxpanel-9999  USE="X alsa -wifi"
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxsession-9999  USE="hal"
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxsession-lite-9999  USE="hal"
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxterminal-9999 
[blocks B     ] lxde-base/lxlauncher (is blocking lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu-9999)
[blocks B     ] lxde-base/lxsession (is blocking lxde-base/lxsession-lite-9999)
[blocks B     ] lxde-base/lxsession-lite (is blocking lxde-base/lxsession-9999)
[blocks B     ] lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu (is blocking lxde-base/lxlauncher-9999)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked


Any idea how I should handle this, I presume I'll have to mask some versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BrummieJim wrote:
Right I still can't get the sets to work, but I can get things to start emerging, but I get blocked packages
Code:

Hawaiian ja # emerge $(cat /etc/portage/package.keywords |tail -16 | sed 's/~amd64//g' | sed 's/**//g')
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/opensp-1.5.2-r1  USE="nls -doc"
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-dtd-4.1-r3 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-dtd-4.0-r3 
[ebuild  N    ] dev-perl/SGMLSpm-1.03-r5 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-dsssl-stylesheets-1.79 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-dtd-3.0-r3 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-dtd-3.1-r3 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-xml-simple-dtd-4.1.2.4-r2 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-xml-simple-dtd-1.0-r1 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxclip-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxlauncher-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxrandr-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxsys-nettool-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxtask-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] media-gfx/gpicview-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] net-analyzer/gtknetcat-9999 
[ebuild     U ] x11-misc/pcmanfm-9999 [0.5]
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/openjade-1.3.2-r1 
[ebuild  N    ] app-text/docbook-sgml-utils-0.6.14  USE="-jadetex"
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxappearance-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxde-common-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxnm-9999 
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxpanel-9999  USE="X alsa -wifi"
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxsession-9999  USE="hal"
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxsession-lite-9999  USE="hal"
[ebuild  N    ] lxde-base/lxterminal-9999 
[blocks B     ] lxde-base/lxlauncher (is blocking lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu-9999)
[blocks B     ] lxde-base/lxsession (is blocking lxde-base/lxsession-lite-9999)
[blocks B     ] lxde-base/lxsession-lite (is blocking lxde-base/lxsession-9999)
[blocks B     ] lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu (is blocking lxde-base/lxlauncher-9999)

 * Error: The above package list contains packages which cannot be
 * installed at the same time on the same system.

For more information about Blocked Packages, please refer to the following
section of the Gentoo Linux x86 Handbook (architecture is irrelevant):

http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?full=1#blocked


Any idea how I should handle this, I presume I'll have to mask some versions.


did you make the symlink like suggested?
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slackline
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 1422
Location: /uk/sheffield

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote=\"BrummieJim\"]Right I still can\'t get the sets to work[/quote]

What version of portage are you using? I think sets are a new feature of >=sys-apps/portage-2.2 ?

You need to unblock packages with...

Code:

cat /usr/local/portage/layman/lxde/Documentation/portage/package.keywords/lxde-svn >> /etc/portage/package.keywords


slack
_________________
"Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.  Art is everything else we do." - Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 642

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, the portage version is the problem, still on 2.1.4.4, so that's explained.

Already done the cat command, my /etc/portage/package.keywords has the following at the bottom.
Code:

lxde-base/lxappearance **
lxde-base/lxclip **
lxde-base/lxde-common **
lxde-base/lxlauncher **
lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu **
lxde-base/lxnm **
lxde-base/lxpanel **
lxde-base/lxrandr **
lxde-base/lxsession **
lxde-base/lxsession-lite **
lxde-base/lxsys-nettool **
lxde-base/lxtask **
lxde-base/lxterminal **
media-gfx/gpicview **
net-analyzer/gtknetcat **
x11-misc/pcmanfm **
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slackline
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 1422
Location: /uk/sheffield

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote=\"BrummieJim\"]Yeah, the portage version is the problem, still on 2.1.4.4, so that\'s explained.

Already done the cat command, my /etc/portage/package.keywords has the following at the bottom.
Code:

lxde-base/lxappearance **
lxde-base/lxclip **
lxde-base/lxde-common **
lxde-base/lxlauncher **
lxde-base/lxlauncher-gmenu **
lxde-base/lxnm **
lxde-base/lxpanel **
lxde-base/lxrandr **
lxde-base/lxsession **
lxde-base/lxsession-lite **
lxde-base/lxsys-nettool **
lxde-base/lxtask **
lxde-base/lxterminal **
media-gfx/gpicview **
net-analyzer/gtknetcat **
x11-misc/pcmanfm **
[/quote]

So did keywording sys-apps/portage and upgrading to portage-2.2_rc8 solve everything and allow you to...
Code:

 emerge -av @lxde-full


?

slack
_________________
"Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.  Art is everything else we do." - Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BrummieJim
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 642

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Much better, had to unmask
Code:
sys-apps/portage ~amd64
app-admin/eselect-news ~amd64
app-admin/eselect ~amd64


to update portage, and
Code:
x11-apps/smproxy ~amd64


but it now wants me to upgrade to gcc-4.2.3 , which is unnecessary and I can't be arsed possibly screwing my system with it. Could someone explain why this is needed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slackline
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 1422
Location: /uk/sheffield

PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote=\"BrummieJim\"]Much better, had to unmask
Code:
sys-apps/portage ~amd64
app-admin/eselect-news ~amd64
app-admin/eselect ~amd64


to update portage, and
Code:
x11-apps/smproxy ~amd64


but it now wants me to upgrade to gcc-4.2.3 , which is unnecessary and I can\'t be arsed possibly screwing my system with it. Could someone explain why this is needed?[/quote]

Perhaps worthy of another thread now as we\'re drifting way off topic, but....

Looking at the ebuild for sys-apps/portage-2.2_rc8 it shows that app-admin/eselect-news is pulled in IF you have the USE=\"build\" flag set. That in turn likely pulls in app-admin/eselect. If all you want to do is unmask sys-apps/portage and not the eselect tools then

Code:

echo \'sys-apps/portage -build >> /etc/portage/package.use


But note the warning about setting this yourself detailed under the USE section here. Check where the USE=\"build\" flag is being set, is it in /etc/make.conf that you\'ve written yourself, or is it from the profile? Worth reading around anyway.


As for x11-apps/smproxy thats likely to need unmasking because one of the LXDE ebuilds needs it, but can\'t quite suss it out. Its likely pulling in gcc through one of its dependencies (unless your trying to emerge something else???)

To find out just try using the \'-tav\' flag to emerge (which shows a tree of dependencies) or use equery to hunt things down.

slack

P.S. - I always found it a hassle trying to run x86 and unmask a few packages that are marked ~x86 (you end up having to unmask dependcies x y and z, which in turn require a, b and c to be unmasked, and they in turn.....) and opted ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=\"~x86\" a loooong time ago on laptop and desktop and have never really had any problems with anything being genuinely unstable. Worth trying, but your mileage may vary under ACCEPT_KEYWORDS=\"~amd64\" (and I know you\'ve got other things to be doing, but trying to solve dependencies such as this is just as much hassle).
_________________
"Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.  Art is everything else we do." - Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sezaru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it will be great if you guys add a USE flag -alsa in lxpanel ebuild, because if lxpanel is compiled with --disable-alsa it will install the volume plugins instead of volumealsa plugin, the diference it's that volume plugin it's for OSS4 and volumealsa for ALSA:
Code:
IUSE="-alsa"
use alsa || myconf="${myconf} --disable-alsa"


I have a question too, why lxlauncher it's in lxde-lite? I think it's not a package that need to be in the lite set, it's quite useless for much people and have a gnome dependency =/

Ah, and just anothe thing, it will be nice if you add a profile directory and repo_name inside it in the overlay :)

Anyway, really thanks for the overlay, it really rocks :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sezaru wrote:
Anyway, really thanks for the overlay, it really rocks :D

Thanks for the feedback! :)
I'll look into the alsa issue and probably apply your suggestion.

Lxlauncher does not have a gnome dependency, only lxlauncher-gmenu does. So I don't think this is really an issue. And of course you're free to make your own set if you want something different from the sets we provide. :wink:

And the repo_name is already there: http://www.bitbucket.org/yngwin/lxde-overlay/src/8b941da5c6dc/profiles/repo_name
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alejandrito
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi! many thanks for this ebuilds! LXDE is a nice desktop. i will try to help as much as i can with this.
I am trying to add some shortcuts. In menu.xml or rc.xml (i can't remenber) i see for example W-r to run a command, but if i add another key like W-q they won't work, should i do something else to add a couple of shortcuts?
What about multimedia keys, any hints?
One more last question. How can i change the lxde menu?

Thanks,
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sezaru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alejandrito wrote:
Hi! many thanks for this ebuilds! LXDE is a nice desktop. i will try to help as much as i can with this.
I am trying to add some shortcuts. In menu.xml or rc.xml (i can't remenber) i see for example W-r to run a command, but if i add another key like W-q they won't work, should i do something else to add a couple of shortcuts?
What about multimedia keys, any hints?
One more last question. How can i change the lxde menu?

Thanks,
Cheers!


For shortcuts you need to edit your openbox config file, it should be ~/.config/openbox/lxde-rc.xml , then you need to find the keyboard section and add your shortcuts to it, there is a example:
Code:
    <keybind key="F19">
      <action name="Execute">
        <command>volchange vol -5</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

Remember that you need to reload openbox to theses changes take effect.
about the menu change you need to edit the .desktop files in /usr/share/applications/ or add new .desktop files to
~/.local/share/applications/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alejandrito
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thom_raindog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 400

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is what look like a very easy way to get LXDE in their wiki:
http://lxde.org/wiki/Gentoo

But when I try to emerge lxde-common there is no such ebuild. Searching for the term lxde yields zero results..
Any idea why the would be?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sezaru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someone knows a way to make slim login manager find the LXDE and open it? I put the line XSESSION="startlxde" to work with slim, but i dont think this is the better way.
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thom_raindog: make sure you have mercurial and layman installed, and that layman is configured correctly (people often make mistakes here!). Then add the lxde overlay with `layman -a lxde` and make sure there are no errors here. It should end with:
Code:
* Successfully added overlay "lxde".

Then go to the Documentation directory in the overlay and read the README.

sezaru: in /etc/slim.conf you should specify "sessions lxde"
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sezaru
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks yngwin, I will try it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yngwin wrote:
thom_raindog: make sure you have mercurial and layman installed, and that layman is configured correctly (people often make mistakes here!). Then add the lxde overlay with `layman -a lxde` and make sure there are no errors here. It should end with:
Code:
* Successfully added overlay "lxde".

Then go to the Documentation directory in the overlay and read the README.

sezaru: in /etc/slim.conf you should specify "sessions lxde"


idk if slim is case sensitive but the xsession installed on my box is in caps so you might need "LXDE"
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thom_raindog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 400

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Layman gave me that ok statement that I need, no problem there. Mercurial is emerged.
The readme you linked seems hardly useful, since there is NO package containing the term "lxde" according to emerge at all and it tells me what to mask for which version of lxde... I am at a loss...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
few
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Mar 2008
Posts: 448

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

not sure if I have missed that, but... what to do after I installed the lxde packages?
I am currently using gnome. What to do to make lxde the default desktop?

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alejandrito
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jan 2007
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should have an entry in GDM to start LXDE. If not make a file in /usr/share/xsessions/ called, for ecample LXDE.desktop and put this

Code:

[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=LXDE
Comment=LXDE - Lightweight X11 desktop environment
Comment[zh_TW]=LXDE - ~U~G~O~Z~Z~D X11 ~L~]�~R�~C
Exec=/usr/bin/startlxde
Type=Application


Now you you can choose lxde in gdm and make the default desktop (you will get a prompt to select this)

I am using it, and is great, fast and versatile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
yngwin wrote:
in /etc/slim.conf you should specify "sessions lxde"

idk if slim is case sensitive but the xsession installed on my box is in caps so you might need "LXDE"

This being linux, you would expect it to be case sensitive. But lowercase actually works for me in slim (which is what I use on my old P3 laptop, which is a perfect target for LXDE).
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thom_raindog wrote:
Layman gave me that ok statement that I need, no problem there. Mercurial is emerged.
The readme you linked seems hardly useful, since there is NO package containing the term "lxde" according to emerge at all and it tells me what to mask for which version of lxde... I am at a loss...

OK, so the first step, getting the overlay, works correctly. But portage doesn't pick it up. That tells me the problem is:
yngwin wrote:
make sure [...] that layman is configured correctly (people often make mistakes here!)

You are probably not sourcing layman's make.conf in /etc/make.conf.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4572
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

few wrote:
What to do to make lxde the default desktop?

The same you would do for any other desktop: choose the session in gdm/kdm/xdm, or configure slim to choose it as default session, or set exec startlxde as last line in ~/.xinitrc.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thom_raindog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 400

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yngwin wrote:
thom_raindog wrote:
Layman gave me that ok statement that I need, no problem there. Mercurial is emerged.
The readme you linked seems hardly useful, since there is NO package containing the term "lxde" according to emerge at all and it tells me what to mask for which version of lxde... I am at a loss...

OK, so the first step, getting the overlay, works correctly. But portage doesn't pick it up. That tells me the problem is:
yngwin wrote:
make sure [...] that layman is configured correctly (people often make mistakes here!)

You are probably not sourcing layman's make.conf in /etc/make.conf.


Yes, that did it. Keywording a few packages and, tadaa, I got lxde running.. thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum