Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Announcing Pappy's Kernel Seeds. <closed, use new thread>
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 25, 26, 27  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If running 32 bit, your best bet is to pick the Pentium M, as it is closest to all that processor's settings (sse, sse2, mmx). Picking the older Xeon would most likely call for ssse3, which as you can see, your processor doesn't have. Under x86_64, choose the Intel P4 / older netburst Xeon. Once again, it is closest without going over.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! :D
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're most welcome, as always.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have another "where is it" question for the kernel config. This laptop I'm setting up has the Intel IWL4965. Whether in menuconfig or xconfig, I can search for and find it, but when I nagivate to device drivers -> network device support -> wireless lan, there is no "intel wireless wifi" option. This is kernel .30-r1.

Is it there somewhere and I'm just missing something? Searching for "4965" in menuconfig or xconfig brings up what I need.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43571
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef,

The menuconfig search also shows what your module depends on. Check that those settings are correct or the one you want may be hidden.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also make sure you have
│ │ --- Wireless │ │
│ │ -*- Improved wireless configuration API │ │
│ │ [ ] cfg80211 regulatory debugging │ │
│ │ [*] nl80211 new netlink interface support │ │
│ │ [ ] Old wireless static regulatory definitions │ │
│ │ -*- Wireless extensions │ │
│ │ [*] Wireless extensions sysfs files │ │
│ │ < > Common routines for IEEE802.11 drivers │ │
│ │ <*> Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack (mac80211) │ │
turned on, or it is for naught.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, but they weren't real clear about it. xconfig doesn't even show where to find entries, while menuconfig does. In menuconfig, I had everything enabled that it said to have enabled, as far as I could read it.

But Pappy's info helped. Thanks, though. :D

NeddySeagoon wrote:
audiodef,

The menuconfig search also shows what your module depends on. Check that those settings are correct or the one you want may be hidden.

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The nl80211 option wasn't there, but after enabling everything else, the iwl4965 option appeared.

They should make these things more intuitive, or provide more "how to enable this option" info.

Thanks! :D

pappy_mcfae wrote:
Also make sure you have
│ │ --- Wireless │ │
│ │ -*- Improved wireless configuration API │ │
│ │ [ ] cfg80211 regulatory debugging │ │
│ │ [*] nl80211 new netlink interface support │ │
│ │ [ ] Old wireless static regulatory definitions │ │
│ │ -*- Wireless extensions │ │
│ │ [*] Wireless extensions sysfs files │ │
│ │ < > Common routines for IEEE802.11 drivers │ │
│ │ <*> Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack (mac80211) │ │
turned on, or it is for naught.

Blessed be!
Pappy

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After setting these up in the kernel and running wpa_supplicant and wicd, I'm not able to see wireless networks - in fact, I don't think these programs are even seeing the wireless adapter. What am I missing?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alrighty... I tried adding modules - failed. Recompiled into the kernel - along with some of the options for the wireless adapter, and now it's working! :D
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I wasn't here to help. On the other hand, you figured it out, so...I didn't have to be. Cool!

:lol:

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A happy Fourth of July to my fellow Yankees out there! In celebration, I have uploaded .configs for 2.6.27.26, 2.6.29.6, 2.6.30.1 and 2.6.30-gentoo-r2 in both x86 and x86_64 flavors. I also fixed some minor errors in the .30 configurations, and reposted them as well. Let the fireworks begin!

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sat Jul 04, 2009 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Coming back to this, I noticed in the BIOS that my processor is "EM64T". 64-bit? Should I change my options accordingly?

pappy_mcfae wrote:
If running 32 bit, your best bet is to pick the Pentium M, as it is closest to all that processor's settings (sse, sse2, mmx). Picking the older Xeon would most likely call for ssse3, which as you can see, your processor doesn't have. Under x86_64, choose the Intel P4 / older netburst Xeon. Once again, it is closest without going over.

Blessed be!
Pappy

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To find out if you can use 64 bit, get a SysRescueCD and enter rescue64 at boot. If it starts, then it is a 64 bit processor, and in that case, it would probably be best to choose Intel P4 / older Netburst based Xeon. Either that or generic -x86-64.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43571
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae,

Code:
grep lm /proc/cpuinfo
works on any distro. If you have that flag, its 64 bit capable.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2009 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Using both Pappy's and Neddy's suggestions, I can confirm I have a 64-bit system (what kind of dumbass does this make me if I've had this machine for 2 years?). I couldn't start Xorg on Sysrescue using rescue64, but I didn't need to use it anyway.

So I'm burning the AMD64 Gentoo installer to use to set this up again.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon,

Thanks for the tip. I only have lm showing up in the /proc/cpuinfo of one machine...the 64 bit machine. Cool.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does lm stand for, btw?

I've been meaning to ask: installing 32-bit Gentoo on a 64-bit system is like, what? Ignoring half your data bus?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 43571
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiodef,

lm stands for Long Machine, meaning the 64 bit register set.

You don't loose half the data bus. The CPU still uses it all.
Do do only use the bottom half of your 64 bit registers and you do not use any instructions the operate of 64 bit quantities directly.
You also force the kernel to use Himem routines to access RAM over 2G and PAE for RAM over 4G.
In 64 bit mode the address space is linear up to 2^64. However. not all the address bits are made available. I don't recall the physical address bus width, its either 42 or 46 bits. 43 bits is 4Tb, which is more RAM that anyone could reasonably want attached to a single CPU for a few years yet.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

4Tb... party time. :P Thanks for 'splaining.

Pappy, have you ever come across any issues with a 64-bit system and tuxonice-sources? I'm seeing a bunch of packages fail to emerge on a 64-bit system with tuxonice when they did not when I installed Gentoo as 32-bit with gentoo-sources. I'm compiling gentoo-sources now to see what happens, but I thought I'd ask as well.

edit:

What prompted this question is lvm2 and openrc on ~amd64, synced as of today, just will not compile with the 64-bit system I set up and tuxonice-sources.

I just chrooted into this system and I can say it's not tuxonice, as openrc still will not compile. I'm-a go have dinner and check in here later and see if you have any advice. Maybe I just can't set up this laptop with 64-bit even though it's a 64-bit machine. :roll:
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I haven't heard of tuxonice issues with 64 bit machines. I did set up and test a tuxonice kernel for my 64 bit system, and it worked ok. I didn't set up the hibernation stuff, so I am guessing I missed out on possible issues there.

It might not be a bad idea to take a look at bugzilla. Look for tuxonice issues, and issues directly related to what you're experiencing. The intuitive part of me says there's something else going on.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Intuition, as it usually does most of us, has served you well. I found out about this:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=276715

and put linux-headers in package.mask, keeping it down to version 29, and openrc on my other 64-bit machine compiled fine.

pappy_mcfae wrote:
No, I haven't heard of tuxonice issues with 64 bit machines. I did set up and test a tuxonice kernel for my 64 bit system, and it worked ok. I didn't set up the hibernation stuff, so I am guessing I missed out on possible issues there.

It might not be a bad idea to take a look at bugzilla. Look for tuxonice issues, and issues directly related to what you're experiencing. The intuitive part of me says there's something else going on.

Blessed be!
Pappy

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome. I'll have to keep that in mind if I come upon weird compilation issues.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm wondering if this has to do with kernel config. I redid a laptop twice recently, the second time because I realized it was a 64-bit machine. Both times it went well except the second time, I kept getting Xorg errors after entering a username and password into KDM. Did I miss something in the kernel config?

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-778949-highlight-.html
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 5:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To know for sure, stop kdm/xdm/gdm from starting. Enter a CLI, then enter startx. See what happens at that point.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13 ... 25, 26, 27  Next
Page 12 of 27

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum