Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Announcing Pappy's Kernel Seeds. <closed, use new thread>
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21 ... 25, 26, 27  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sure do like the idea of kernel-seeds.org sitting so close to my leg. It makes updating a snap.

I have just uploaded .configs for 2.6.27.36, 2.6.30.9, and 2.6.31.2 in both x86 and x86_64 flavors. Enjoy.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pappy, do you notice any issues with vanilla-sources and udev? When I tried booting with my vanilla-sources kernel, udev complained a lot and would not start. It did so with udev-141 and 146.

pappy_mcfae wrote:
audiodef wrote:
Well, vanilla-2.6.32_rc1 did this:

I'll try an earlier version.


The .31 versions are what's out, and what I have .configs for, ready to go. I have .32_rc1 installed, but I have not tried to do anything with it. I'll see what I can see later, after I do a few other things.

Blessed be!
Pappy

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post your .config. I'm pretty sure I know what's wrong, but I need to look to make sure.

BB!
P
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll get back to you with that. I'm trying one more thing here. 8)
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pappy:

I have an AMD quad-core running 2.6.29-gentoo-r5. I am having intermittent drop-outs with the on-board ethernet NIC. Here is the lspci output:
Code:

02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)

When I grep my kernel config, I get:
Code:

ezekiel ~ # grep 8111 /boot/config-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.29-gentoo-r5
# CONFIG_AMD8111_ETH is not set
# CONFIG_I2C_AMD8111 is not set

When I paste the lspci -n output into the http://kmuto.jp/debian/hcl/index.rhtmlx page, I get:
Code:

10ec8168   Yes   Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.   RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller   r8169   v2.6.25-

Grepping again:
Code:

ezekiel ~ # grep 8169 /boot/config-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.29-gentoo-r5
CONFIG_R8169=y

So what is the CONFIG_AMD8111_ETH above for, and why is it not set? I can't even figure out how to set it using:
Code:

genkernel --menuconfig --no-clean --dmraid --lvm --static all

I am using genkernel this way because I boot to an LVM root filesystem, and I need to generate the initrd.

Any clue what I need to do to stabilize my ethernet controller? BTW I should say that there are 2 other NICs in this box, as it is my NIDS.

Thanks! :D
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure all net devices are set as modules. Forgo this reality if and only if a net device absolutely will not start unless its driver is compiled into the kernel. There are one or two device drivers like that. In all other cases, network device drivers work best as modules.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And it's specially true for the wireless, because when your wifi connection crash, then you can restart it .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just updated the pages. I've edited them to reflect the new domain name. I have also edited the how-to page to make it a bit more concise. There is much more planned in this area, including a different system being configured. Keep tuned for more information.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun Oct 11, 2009 10:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again. Regarding my crazy ethernet dropping out, I re-built the kernel using modules for all 3 NICs, and the problem is still there. Furthermore, I have noticed something else peculiar about this box. After the motherboard NIC drops offline, and I restore it with:
Code:

ifconfig eth2 down
ifconfig eth2 up
route add default gw 192.168.1.1

I then notice that the clock has slipped a few minutes -- like 2 or 3 minutes, which looks to me like the problem is not with the NIC or its driver, but with interrupts being disabled for some awfully long period of time. 8O

Since the NIC is always busy serving from a vncserver, this would cause the ethernet to time out. Since nothing else much ought to be going on, nothing else is affected.

This problem can show up every few minutes to every few days. There is no predictability about it.

So, Pappy, I am suspecting possible kernel problems keeping interrupts disabled too long.

What do you think? :?:
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

While that is a possibility, upon further description, there is a possibility of contact issues. Is this a laptop or a desktop unit? How old (approximately) is it? Has this issue just come into being, or has it been there for some time. Most importantly, do you get this kind of behavior from any other OS that may be installed on your system?

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moriah
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Mar 2004
Posts: 2117
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is essentially a new machine. It was purchased late June or early July, but I have been so busy with other things that this box has not gotten the attention it deseves. It is supposed to be a replacement for my now departed NIDS. It is in the same case, but with a new power supply. It uses the same 2 PCI ethernet boards, plus the motherboard NIC.

This is an AMD quad-core with 8 GB ram and a 5 bay hot-swappable SATA backplane. Right now, it has 3 1.5 TB Seagate 7500 RPM drives in it: 1 for the boot, and 2 others. Ultimately it will have a boot drive, a spare/work slot, and 3 drives in a 3-way RAID-1 mirror, using software raid.

Since the flakey ethernet port is on the motherboard, I do not think contacts are a consideration. It is using the same cat-5 cables that the old NIDS used, and I never had a problem with them. I have never had any other OS on it than 2.6.29-gentoo-r5, unless you want to count the CDROM I used to install gentoo on it.

BTW It just dropped out again while I was typing this, and I did *NOT* see any time slippage after I re-started the NIC.

This is, as Click and Clack of "Car Talk" would say, a "puzzler". :?

(No reference to your Mitsubishi with the newly re-soldered ignition intended.) :D
_________________
The MyWord KJV Bible tool is at http://www.elilabs.com/~myword

Foghorn Leghorn is a Warner Bros. cartoon character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huckabuck
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might be the seagate 1.5 TB drives. They have been having their issues. I have 6, 2 1 TB, 2 1.5 TB, and 2 2TB drives. The drives go into sleep mode. The firmware has been updated for these drives. I use all 6 of these externally. 4 of them are in a drobo.

http://www.google.com/search?client=opera&rls=en&q=seagate+1.5+issues&sourceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moriah wrote:
Since the flakey ethernet port is on the motherboard, I do not think contacts are a consideration.


They might just be, but for reasons other than I was thinking. Core-too's mobo is an Asus P5GC-MX/1333. The internal NIC has had contact issues since I took the board out of the box. I really didn't care, as I had lots of other NICs sitting around, and I wasn't going to take back yet another mobo. The mobo I have is the fourth one I took from the store. The other three had to return for various and sundry no boot scenarios. The fact I had the machine up and running was good enough reason for me to say, "to hell with the onboard NIC."

Apparently, it's either a problem with the net plug itself, or the solder connections on the mobo. When I move the mobo to a new box, I might hit those contacts with solder and see if it helps. Since the other NIC works just fine, I'm not really in a hurry to mess with things.

Quote:
BTW It just dropped out again while I was typing this, and I did *NOT* see any time slippage after I re-started the NIC.

This is, as Click and Clack of "Car Talk" would say, a "puzzler". :?

(No reference to your Mitsubishi with the newly re-soldered ignition intended.) :D


Ah, but that was one of the best solder jobs I've ever done with a car. That was a complete rebuild of the module plug. The car hasn't stalled or even thought about stalling since. I was almost saddened by wrapping it with electrical tape. I want to show the whole world what a good solder joint looks like

Yes, it is a puzzler, but I'm thinking you're going to find out it's a contact issue, or a solder issue. Since I've seen this possibility in real life, I'm betting that it can and does effect others. To find out, try the wiggle test with the NIC plug. If that causes errors, you've found the source of the issue.

Good luck.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just added .configs for 2.6.27.37, 2.6.31.3, 2.6.31.4, and 2.6.31-gentoo-r2 in both x86 and x86_64 flavors. I also fixed small, but annoying errors in the .31 seeds (both flavors), and .31-gentoo (both flavors). I did this for consistency.

Enjoy!

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 8040
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I have a question : how can I easily merge your seed with my hardware config, when the kernel version changes ?
Do I need to reconfigure it manually ?

For now, I take the previous version and do a "make oldconfig".

What is the best solution ?

Kind regards,
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
For now, I take the previous version and do a "make oldconfig".

What is the best solution ?

Kind regards,


If you're moving between minor versions (2.6.31 to 2.6.31.3), then make oldconfig is definitely the way to proceed. When jumping major versions, it depends on how far apart we're talking.

Moving from .26 to .31? Not a good idea to try. You will get all manner of section mismatch errors, and perhaps even a non-boot situation. From .30 to .31, you will have mismatch errors, but many fewer than the larger version swing. A non-boot is highly unlikely, as the hard drive controllers don't move around a lot.

My best practices rule is, a new seed for a new kernel version. I not only make the seeds for the general public, I also make them for myself. Every kernel I've set up since I began the project has been created from a seed. The five minutes or so it takes me to go from seed to finished kernel is worth it considering the stability I've had with my systems.

I also keep all my old .configs. You never know when you want to move to something older just to do some experimentation.

I obsess about kernels because an unstable kernel can destroy an otherwise stably constructed system. I decided if I were going to make the great leap away from M$, I wanted something I could never get with Windoze, a system that works the way I want it to work. If I couldn't have found stability in Linux, I wouldn't have stayed with it.

Hope that answers your concerns without overloading you.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xaviermiller
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 8040
Location: ~Brussels - Belgique

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I see. But your public seeds are without hardware. How do you reinject hardware configs in the new version ?
_________________
Kind regards,
Xavier Miller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:

Moving from .26 to .31? Not a good idea to try. You will get all manner of section mismatch errors, and perhaps even a non-boot situation. From .30 to .31, you will have mismatch errors, but many fewer than the larger version swing. A non-boot is highly unlikely, as the hard drive controllers don't move around a lot.


In fact, I use that method too.


Last edited by d2_racing on Wed Oct 14, 2009 2:25 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

XavierMiller wrote:
Yep, I see. But your public seeds are without hardware. How do you reinject hardware configs in the new version ?

Read the how-to. It tells you the information I use to set up kernels, whether my own, or other peoples'.

At this point, I know my systems so well, I don't need to do anything but make sure I set up the proper net card for the proper machine. Pretty much everything else is the same, one machine to the next. With others, as long as I get the information described in the how-to, making a .config is a snap. I have hundreds of folks who know the truth of that.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
I have hundreds of folks who know the truth of that.
Blessed be!
Pappy


I confirm that, I have been blessed be Pappy with my T61 :P Never had a kernel panic with a custom config from my friend Pappy :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Pappy, I just set up a Gentoo box with gentoo-2.6.31-r2 and stuff went wrong at boot. It was slow, udev would not start, and it eventually hung before getting to slim. I was wondering if you could take a look at the config, since I used a seed, and see what the culprit might be.

Config at http://audiodef.com/gentoo_config

emerge --info:
Code:

Portage 2.2_rc46 (default/linux/x86/2008.0, gcc-4.3.2, glibc-2.10.1-r0, 2.6.30-gentoo-r6 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-2.6.30-gentoo-r6-i686-Intel-R-_Celeron-R-_CPU_2.40GHz-with-gentoo-2.0.1
Timestamp of tree: Wed, 14 Oct 2009 00:00:01 +0000
app-shells/bash:     4.0_p33
dev-java/java-config: 2.1.9-r1
dev-lang/python:     2.6.3, 3.1.1-r1
sys-apps/baselayout: 2.0.1
sys-apps/openrc:     0.5.1
sys-apps/sandbox:    2.1
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.63-r1
sys-devel/automake:  1.10.2, 1.11
sys-devel/binutils:  2.19.1-r1
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.1
sys-devel/libtool:   2.2.6a
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.30-r1
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /etc/conf.d/clock /etc/conf.d/hostname /etc/conf.d/net /etc/conf.d/xdm /etc/hosts /etc/slim.conf /usr/share/X11/xkb"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/php/apache2-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cgi-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cli-php5/ext-active/ /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="assume-digests distlocks fixpackages news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X acl alsa apache2 aspell berkdb bzip2 cleartype cli cracklib crypt cups cupsddk dbus dri fortran gdbm gif gnome gpm gtk hal iconv id3tag ipv6 isdnlog java jpeg mmx modules mp3 mudflap mysql mysqli ncurses nls nptl nptlonly openmp pam pcre perl png ppds pppd python readline reflection samba scanner session shout smbclient spl sse sse2 ssl svg sysfs tcpd tiff truetype unicode win32codecs x86 xcf xorg zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1 emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="intel"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There looks to be a few issues. Just to make sure I get you right, post lspci -n and cat /proc/cpuinfo.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What did you notice?

lspci -n:
Code:

00:00.0 0600: 8086:2560 (rev 01)
00:02.0 0300: 8086:2562 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:24c2 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 0c03: 8086:24c4 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 0c03: 8086:24c7 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 0c03: 8086:24cd (rev 01)
00:1e.0 0604: 8086:244e (rev 81)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:24c0 (rev 01)
00:1f.1 0101: 8086:24cb (rev 01)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:24c3 (rev 01)
00:1f.5 0401: 8086:24c5 (rev 01)
01:05.0 0c00: 11c1:5811 (rev 61)
01:09.0 0200: 14e4:4401 (rev 01)


cat /proc/cpuinfo:
Code:

processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 15
model           : 2
model name      : Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz
stepping        : 9
cpu MHz         : 2392.300
cache size      : 128 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 2
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe pebs bts cid xtpr
bogomips        : 4784.60
clflush size    : 64
power management:

_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed you were messing with settings under Configure standard kernel features (for small systems). I never touch that, as they are already set to work without change. I saw a few other things, but they're not as important as what I found with your info.

You are using an i830 chipset. I strongly suggest you use a .27 version kernel instead of .31. I am betting that's where all your issues lie. Support for the i810 chipset has been under the gun since the .28 kernels appeared. I keep reading that these issues remain with .31. (slowness, X instability, if it starts at all), and so many more.

See if a .27 kernel fixes most of your issues. I have a feeling it will.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just uploaded .configs for 2.6.31-gentoo-r3 in both x86 and x86_64 versions. Enjoy!

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 19, 20, 21 ... 25, 26, 27  Next
Page 20 of 27

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum