Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Moving from 2.4 to 2.6 guide
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chinesebob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2003 4:36 am    Post subject: Xterms and 2.6 kernel Reply with quote

To get my Xterms to work I had to enable "Unix98 PTY Support" and "/dev/pts" as well as devfs and add this line to my /etc/fstab

none /dev/pts devpts defaults 0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chinesebob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2003
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2003 5:50 am    Post subject: Swap partition Reply with quote

I had to re-run mkswap to get my swap partition to work

mkswap /dev/hdX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOS-FET
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 May 2003
Posts: 291
Location: Cologne, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've emerged both development-sources and mm-sources, but i'm missing supermount! where has it gone? well the new kernel is compiling right now, i'll see how it goes ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimgeek
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 124
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 11:20 pm    Post subject: kernel panic with 2.6.0-test8-mm1 Reply with quote

Hi,
I've successfully installed the 2.6.0-test8-mm1 kernel on a dual Xeon system, without any glitch. Hence I decided to put it on my dell inspiron 4150. Unfortunately after (what seems to be) more or less normal bootup the kernel crashes, spewing page after page of messages like:
Code:

[<c010a539>] kernel_thread_helperxxxx


And finally stops with this error message:

Code:

Code: 00 02 02 00 .... (long stream of hex codes)
<0> Kernel panic: Fatal exception in interrupt in Interrupt handler - not syncing


Can anyone help me with what might be wrong? I can write down the long stream of characters that is spewed out, however if there is a better method of capturing this output, I could submit that too.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BoZ
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 114
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GTVincent wrote:
I have not yet been able to try it myself, but there are patches to the nvidia source files going around that should make you able to use nvnet with 2.6 kernels. Here's a link to a post on nforcershq: http://www.nforcershq.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=24127&sid=66ac41e5baffbd4823a2dfe36f6965e4
It seems to work, as long as acpi=off.


I've patched the source but when compiling I get this error:

In file included from nvnet.c:21:
nvnet.h:107: error: syntax error before "nvnet_interrupt"
nvnet.h:107: warning: type defaults to `int' in declaration of `nvnet_interrupt'
nvnet.h:107: warning: data definition has no type or storage class
nvnet.c: In function `nvnet_open':
nvnet.c:738: warning: passing arg 2 of `request_irq_R0c60f2e0' from incompatible pointer type
nvnet.c: At top level:
nvnet.c:759: error: syntax error before "nvnet_interrupt"
nvnet.c:760: warning: return type defaults to `int'
nvnet.c: In function `nvnet_interrupt':
nvnet.c:771: error: `IRQ_NONE' undeclared (first use in this function)
nvnet.c:771: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
nvnet.c:771: error: for each function it appears in.)
nvnet.c:782: error: `IRQ_HANDLED' undeclared (first use in this function)
nvnet.c: In function `nvnet_probe':
nvnet.c:1135: warning: implicit declaration of function `SET_NETDEV_DEV'
nvnet.c:1135: error: structure has no member named `dev'
make[1]: *** [nvnet.o] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/nforce-net-1.0.0261-r1/work/nforce/nvnet'
make: *** [nvnet_make] Error 2

I'm using 2.6.0-test8 and I have tried compiling nforce-net-1.0.0256 and nforce-net-1.0.0261-r1

Thanks in advantage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JWU42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Cornfields...

PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2003 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swimgeek-

I have test9 working on my 4150. Just can't get 3d working in X. Haven't been able to find any good info on how to set it up.

I have DRM in the kernel (unlike with 2.4 - using xfree-drm). Agpgart is loaded as a module. For whatever reason glxinfo shows direct rendering as "off".

If anyone knows anything about getting 3d working with a 2.6 kernel and a radeon mobility you will be my best friend :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Peregrine
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you making sure that you are loading both parts of agpgart? In 2.6, the agpgart module is simply the core. You have to load the module for your agp implementation as well. In the case of this machine, since my agp is using the via chipset, i had to load both agpgart and via_agp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JWU42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Cornfields...

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How I mised that I don't know :oops:

Added intel-agp and all is working fine now.

A big thanks to Peregrine!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shimp999
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 75
Location: Columbia, SC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2003 12:18 am    Post subject: symlink Reply with quote

Hi,
I recently installed the latest 2.6.0pre9 kernel and I had a problem with emerge ati-drivers. It would tell me there wasn't a symlink to my /usr/src/linux. I think I found an answer somewhere in the forum where I did this:
Code:

cd /usr/src
ln -s linux-2.6.0-test9/ linux


I reemerged ati-drivers after that and it appears to be going well. I was wondering if this was the correct way to do it? Is there anything else i'm missing? Thanks :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ricky
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 339

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2003 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm thinking of upgrading to the 2.6 tests, but I know that DRM was upgraded in the kernel. I have an original release radeon card, and I am currently using gentoo-sources w/ xfree-drm. How do I maintain compatability between the two? Should I unmerge xfree-drm if I'm gonna use 2.6? Or just compile drm into the 2.6 kernel and leave all my 2.4 settings as-is?

Thanks. :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ricky
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 May 2003
Posts: 339

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guess no one's watchin' this thread anymore... time for some old-fashioned trial and error.... 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JWU42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Cornfields...

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ricky:

No need to unmerge xfree-drm if you are going to keep the old kernel around. You will need to put xfree-drm in the kernel (I did as module) and also need agpgart (I did as module) and for me intel-agp (for my Intel I8xx) support.

So in my /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6/ I have it as agpgart, intel-agp, radeon (selected under drm).

Hope this helps - obviously you need to determine what AGP to select under agpgart, VIA, Intel, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monicajae
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 363
Location: Dorset, VT

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i guess no one has an answer for me
_________________
"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth." -- John F. Kennedy

"Those who dare to fail miserably can achieve greatly." -- John F. Kennedy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Isaiah
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

monicajae wrote:
i guess no one has an answer for me

No lockups here with test 9 :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monicajae
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 363
Location: Dorset, VT

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isaiah wrote:
monicajae wrote:
i guess no one has an answer for me

No lockups here with test 9 :wink:


guess you didn't read my post :wink:

and i am using test9-mm1 now 8O
_________________
"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth." -- John F. Kennedy

"Those who dare to fail miserably can achieve greatly." -- John F. Kennedy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
suhlhorn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 76
Location: Miami, FL

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 12:52 pm    Post subject: Re: Xterms and 2.6 kernel Reply with quote

chinesebob wrote:
To get my Xterms to work I had to enable "Unix98 PTY Support" and "/dev/pts" as well as devfs and add this line to my /etc/fstab

none /dev/pts devpts defaults 0 0


I had this same problem, but it was fixed after including pty support. Why does the config help say, "It is safe to say N" for the pty support?
-stephen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Isaiah
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 359

PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2003 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

monicajae wrote:
guess you didn't read my post :wink:

and i am using test9-mm1 now 8O


I did actually. Alsa is working with this this kernel. I myself would not bang on the developers for results produced by test kernels. These people work hard and deserve a little more than you presented in your post me thinks (no offense intended) :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaphan58
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright guys, im just having a go at this now, I emerged as the guide says but when i "make menuconfig" I get the following error

Code:

bash-2.05b# make menuconfig
make: *** No rule to make target `menuconfig'.  Stop.


This is using the 2.6.0 Beta8 Kernel

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JWU42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Cornfields...

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you make sure you have a symlink to this as /usr/src/linux ? ANy of the development/mm-sources will make a symlink to /usr/src/linux-beta. Delete that and change the /usr/src/linux symlink to the kernel sources you want to compile.

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaphan58
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erm you have confused me a little now, ive recompiled my kernel before but never changed out for a completly different version.

I completly understand what you are saying, im just not too sure how to do it. Any chance you could break down what you just said, with simple instructions. :? :oops:

edit: the contents of /usr/src are as follows:

linux
linux-2.4.20-gentoo-r5
linux-2.6.0-test8-patchset-0.1
linux-beta

the first and the last files being symlinks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JWU42
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Aug 2002
Posts: 70
Location: Cornfields...

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do this:

Code:

cd /usr/src
rm -rf linux
ln -sf linux-2.6.0-test8-patchset-0.1 linux


Then do ls -la and see that linux is a symlink to the 2.6 kernel. cd to /usr/src/linux and then do make menuconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zaphan58
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thankyou that worked like a charm! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Achilles
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 259
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 12:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just emerged and compiled test9.... now whenever I try to click on the gnome-terminal, it won't let me type anything in... there is no "dave@blahblah: "

What's wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monicajae
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2003
Posts: 363
Location: Dorset, VT

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 12:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mine had nothing to do with lockups, but the point is moot now
_________________
"Conformity is the jailer of freedom and the enemy of growth." -- John F. Kennedy

"Those who dare to fail miserably can achieve greatly." -- John F. Kennedy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
holgi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 6
Location: Germany, Hamburg

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KiTaSuMbA wrote:
water wrote:
sdriesner wrote:

Any ideas? Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.


Disable "mount at boot"
On a Knoppix-system, it did the trick for me.

and if you not already have this:
Code:

rc-update add devfsd boot

Similar troubles here tonight with 2.6.0-test5-mm4 and an xfs root system. But what about rc-update?
Code:
# rc-update add devfsd boot
 * /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/devfsd not found; aborting.

Huh? What's that about?


the same problem with kernel-2.6.0-test9 and ext3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 5 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum