Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Moving from 2.4 to 2.6 guide
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iwasbiggs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jan 2003
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chomber wrote:
I 'm not sure if this is already answered somewhere but...

Is it possible to use old config from 2.4 as a base config for kernel 2.6?
So is 'make oldconfig' working still this kind of migration?


The configs are too different to do that safely.
_________________
www.ruinedsoft.com
Freeware development.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HomerSimpson
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Jan 2003
Posts: 869
Location: Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2003 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iwasbiggs wrote:
chomber wrote:
I 'm not sure if this is already answered somewhere but...

Is it possible to use old config from 2.4 as a base config for kernel 2.6?
So is 'make oldconfig' working still this kind of migration?


The configs are too different to do that safely.


Really? I did it that way. I am not aware of any problems. I realize that that doesn't mean there aren't any though. I am on my 4th 2.6 kernel and have done that every time (of course only once was the migration from 2.4 to 2.6). I have been running with 2.6 for weeks now. So is the proper way to not copy .config and run make menuconfig (gconfig, xconfig) from scratch?

Thx
_________________
The strong must protect the Sweet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rasto
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2002
Posts: 43
Location: NJ

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2003 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaxX wrote:
i'm right now trying 2.6.0-beta2 but in one fact the old 2.4. documentation is wrong -> in 2.6.0 the HighPoint RAID driver is missing, the controller driver is there but not the softraid support. :(
if someone knows more than me in this case or if i'm just extremly blind i'd appreciate any help...

thanks in advance
Jan


did u find solution to this? i tried to recompile proprietary module for
my HighPoint RocketRaid 133 (module hpt37x2.o) with 2.6.0 kernel
so far unsuccesfull ...

im using hardware raid 1 not software raid. and i was able to boot from
it using initrd
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=18894
rasto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjolner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2003 9:07 pm    Post subject: Sound problems Reply with quote

I just emerged a new system with 2.6 (downloaded from kernel.org as it wasn't in portage yet) and kde 3.2_beta2. KDE 3.2 rocks, and I am this much closer to wiping Windows :-). One problem though. I compiled in support for my sound card, it's found when I look at kernel messages but I have no sound. Looking at KDE's aRts control menu it looks like all's working, but as I said, no sound out of the speakers. Any ideas what could be wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjolner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Apr 2003
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2003 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Recompiling the Kernel with OSS got me sound working. Should there any reason why the OSS-emulation might not work in the release kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Ennead
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 157
Location: Red Half Of Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just gone from 2.4 to 2.6 and all seems to be running well apart from a couple of sound problems.

I'm using an audigy which had previously run fine using the emerge emu10k1 option. As such I never bothered with alsa support and my use flags were set to -alsa. I have sound and in everything apart from the usual xmms and Kscd, (xine seems to be ok) so my question is, since there appears to be some kind of problem with compiling xmms et al under 2.6, how much of the system do I need to recompile with alsa support? Is it worth rerunning kde and gnome, will it even make a difference, can I just recompile one or two parts rather than the whole lot, am I better off just waiting for the next update and recompiling then?

Update : Resolved :)


Last edited by The Ennead on Sun Dec 21, 2003 12:14 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistledown
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone figured out the definitive way to upgrade an LVM 2.4 system to 2.6?
Can sys-fs/lvm2 co-exist with sys-fs/lvm2?
I want to make sure I can go back to my 2.4 kernel if I end up forgetting to compile an option or two into 2.6. In what I've read so far, I'm not confident this can be done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^AsLan^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 5:05 pm    Post subject: Re: problems with kernel 2.6.0-test11 Reply with quote

gamezfreak wrote:

title=Gentoo Linux-2.6.0
root (hd1,0)
kernel (hd1,0)/vmlinuz-.6.0-test11 root=/dev/hdb2


hey gamezfreak, i dont know if this helps but you seem to have a typo in that kernel line, should be vmlinuz-2.6.0 etc...

im having the same problem you are... if any one can help.... im getting the root device not found etc... im using reiserfs, it works fine with 2.4.22 (from which I am typing this).

Im currently implementing the suggestions currently on these boards, here's my grub anyway...

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,1)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Windows XP
root (hd0,0)
chainloader (hd0,0)+1

title=Gentoo Linux (vanilla 2.6.0)
root (hd0,1)
kernel (hd0,1)/boot/kernel-2.6.0 root=/dev/hda5 hda=ide-scsi
initrd (hd0,1)/boot/initrd-2.6.0

title=Gentoo Linux (gentoo 2.4.22-r1)
root (hd0,1)
kernel (hd0,1)/boot/kernel-2.4.22-gentoo-r1 root=/dev/hda5 vga=791
initrd (hd0,1)/boot/initrd-2.4.22-gentoo-r1

my hard disk and partitions etc

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 1 2079 16699536 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2 * 2080 2084 40162+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda3 2085 2209 1004062+ 82 Linux swap
/dev/hda4 2210 9729 60404400 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 2210 4642 19543041 83 Linux
/dev/hda6 4643 9729 40861296 c Win95 FAT32 (LBA)

any help would be neat, ive got the PC BIOS partitions enabled and the /proc and the /dev support under pseudo filesystems as well as the autoload on boot option for /dev.

Im not really sure where to go from here, the last thing Im trying is enableing the /dev/pts or whatever it was... its compiling now.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gamezfreak
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aslan, it was a typo - thanks.

I got my system past the VFS problem, but I really couldn't tell you what I did. I added anything in File Systems and under ATA support that could possibly make a difference. I was sick of trying things one at a time so I just added a bunch of them. I can give you a list of all the components I enabled, just let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
holymacaroni
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm having serious troubles with the new kernel. i compiled it, configured it, and it boots, but that's it. i'm confused why i can't emerge nforce-net and why when i emerged nvidia-glx and nvidia-kernel it installed the modules in /lib/modules/2.4.20-gentoo-r5 instead of /lib/modules/2.6.0-gentoo. my setup went as follows:

i compiled the kernel, copied the /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-gentoo/arch/i386/boot/bzImage file to /boot/bzImage-2.6 (mounted), and made the appropriate entry in my /etc/lilo.conf, ran /sbin/lilo and it boots. however, during boot it complains that gentoo needs devfs compiled into the kernel, but i didn't bother compiling it in because it was labeled as "obsolete" in the kernel configuration. i did however compile in /dev/pts. if anyone could tell me what i'm forgetting or doing wrong, i'd really appreciate it. thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

allex87 wrote:
OK, I solved the problem!!! run from a console

modprobe hid

To load it automatically:

Create a file: /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6. In that file, simply put all the modules you would like to load automatically. Simply put the text hid there!

I am now experiencing problems with my sound card...I get errors that say: Unable to open audio device '/dev/mixer'.

Anyone knows what the problem is now?


Thanks,
Alex.


similar problem i have my /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 set up of cource but my network card driver does not get loaded :-( 8139too however things in it like nvidia load i think. also nautilus now does not work, crashes when trying to start it, don't know why.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lews_Therin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 657
Location: Banned

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

holymacaroni wrote:
i'm having serious troubles with the new kernel. i compiled it, configured it, and it boots, but that's it. i'm confused why i can't emerge nforce-net and why when i emerged nvidia-glx and nvidia-kernel it installed the modules in /lib/modules/2.4.20-gentoo-r5 instead of /lib/modules/2.6.0-gentoo. my setup went as follows:

i compiled the kernel, copied the /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-gentoo/arch/i386/boot/bzImage file to /boot/bzImage-2.6 (mounted), and made the appropriate entry in my /etc/lilo.conf, ran /sbin/lilo and it boots. however, during boot it complains that gentoo needs devfs compiled into the kernel, but i didn't bother compiling it in because it was labeled as "obsolete" in the kernel configuration. i did however compile in /dev/pts. if anyone could tell me what i'm forgetting or doing wrong, i'd really appreciate it. thanks.


Make sure /usr/src/linux is pointing at /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-gentoo, or something like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^AsLan^
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Korea

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gamezfreak wrote:
I can give you a list of all the components I enabled, just let me know.


that would be cool if you could do that, last night i tried my last recompile at about four in the morning and gave up !

i tried doing the google thing and i didnt get much, a couple of other people with the same problem but no real solutions.

im open to any suggestions...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mizery de aria
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sdriesner wrote:
############## begin grub.conf ##############
default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 1.4 (2.4.21)
root (hd0,0)
kernel=(hd0,0)/boot/bzImage.2.4.21 root=/dev/hda6 ro hdc=ide-scsi

title=Gentoo Linux 1.4 (2.6.0-test3)
root (hd0,0)
kernel=(hd0,0)/boot/bzImage-2.6.0-test3 root=/dev/hda6 ro hdc=ide-scsi

############## end grub.conf #############


How do you generate bzImage-2.6.0-test3? I compiled and then
Code:
mv /boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage.old
cp /usr/src/linux-beta/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot

but I'm not sure what to do from here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NoKum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Location: Carnegie-Mellon University

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 4:34 pm    Post subject: Re: problems with kernel 2.6.0-test11 Reply with quote

^AsLan^ wrote:


im having the same problem you are... if any one can help.... im getting the root device not found etc... im using reiserfs, it works fine with 2.4.22 (from which I am typing this).



I remember having this problem as well, took me days to figure out. From what I've read though (through a painful amount of searching), this could be caused by a number of things. In my case, I had to disable Advanced Partition Selection in the Kernel. You can try that, and see if it still will mount root or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
holymacaroni
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Make sure /usr/src/linux is pointing at /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-gentoo, or something like that.


yeah, i did made the symlink after compiling the 2.6.0 kernel but with the same result. it's almost like the system is still relying on the 2.4.20 kernel i also have installed instead of recognizing the new 2.6.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Staib
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Sep 2003
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 8:06 pm    Post subject: Had a similar problem Reply with quote

I have a promise ide card that I wasn't compiling into the kernel. Once I added support for it , 2.6 worked like a champ. Note: I didn't have to do this for 2.4.20
_________________
'Normal people live normal lives'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andersson
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Jul 2003
Posts: 525
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mizery de aria wrote:
How do you generate bzImage-2.6.0-test3? I compiled and then
Code:
mv /boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage.old
cp /usr/src/linux-beta/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot

but I'm not sure what to do from here.

If you want to rename your kernel, just add the name last in the copy command ( cp /usr/src/linux-beta/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage-2.6.0-test3 ). After that, just update grub.conf, run grub (I guess, I use lilo myself...) and reboot.

I installed 2.6 yesterday, and except for the multimedia keys error a lot of people seem to have, I've had no problems so far. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tazmanian
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Jul 2003
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thistledown wrote:
Has anyone figured out the definitive way to upgrade an LVM 2.4 system to 2.6?
Can sys-fs/lvm2 co-exist with sys-fs/lvm2?


I think you mean to ask whether sys-fs/lvm2 can coexist with sys-fs/lvm-user. :wink:

Thistledown wrote:
I want to make sure I can go back to my 2.4 kernel if I end up forgetting to compile an option or two into 2.6. In what I've read so far, I'm not confident this can be done.


Yeah, it doesn't look like the two can coexist, what with the two ebuilds blocking each other and all. Nonetheless, you ought to be able to go in with the Gentoo LiveCD to fix things should they go awry. (I had to do this since I forgot to put IOCTL_V4 in the kernel.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jBilbo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jan 2003
Posts: 353
Location: Tarragona (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sdriesner wrote:

Any ideas? Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.


To solve the (kernel panic) VFS: unable to mount fs hdX you should enable:
Code:

File Systems --> Partition Types -->
[*] Advanced partition selection
[*]   PC BIOS (MSDOS partition tables) support

_________________
"A ti corresponde decidir lo que hacer con el tiempo que se te ha concedido."
Miembro del LUG de Tarragona:
http://www.gpltarragona.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mizery de aria
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've captured the output at boot-up from the 2.6.0 kernel and what's displayed below appears and the system hangs after that. It's most likely due to a kernel configuration problem, but I'm not sure what specifically. Any ideas?

Code:
Inode-cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
Mount-cache hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096) bytes
Enabling disabled K7/SSE Support.
CPU: L1 I Cache: 64K (64 bytes/line), D Cache 64k (64bytes/line)
CPU: L2 Cache: 256K (64 bytes/line)
Intel machine check architecture supported.
Intel machine check reporting enabled on CPU#0.
CPU: AMD mobile AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1800+ stepping 00
Enabling fast FPU save and restore... done.
Enabling unmasked SIMD FPU exception support... done.
Checking 'hlt' instruction... OK.
POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
enabled ExtINT on CPU#0
ESR value before enabling vector: 00000000
ESR value after enabling vector: 00000000
Using local APIC timer interrupts.
calibrating APIC timer ...
..... CPU clock speed is 1523.0608 MHz.
..... host bus clock speed is 264.0975 MHz.
NET: Registered protocol family 16
PCI: PCI BIOS revision 2.10 entry at 0xfd87b, last bus=2
PCI: Using configuration type 1
mtrr: v2.0 (20020519)
ACPI: Subsystem revision 20031002


Discuss this post at https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?p=726435#726435
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lucho[FLCL]
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 245
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2003 5:14 am    Post subject: Mouse Problem Reply with quote

I have my serial mouse configured as /dev/ttyS0 in 2.4; but in 2.6 it doesn't work. /dev/ttyS0 doesn't appear, /dev/mouse doesn't work....HELP!!!!!!!

My mouse is a Genius EasyMouse+ with a common DB-9 connector.

If nobody answers, I'm planning to open a thread on this one... :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aderio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 118
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 5:24 pm    Post subject: Nvidia drivers Kernel 2.6.0 Reply with quote

Do Nvidia cards work with 2.6.0 emerged from dev-sources and emerged nvdia-kernel as a sepearte kernel module (as desribed in 7.d install man.) . In my case I get a wierd message about unknown graphicsafter /sbin/lilo. A trip round the internet and the forums leaves me connfussed to say the least. There appear to be some kernel patches, available here http://www.minion.de/. Are they needed ?

If I ignore and continuee the install, when I reboot (with vga=norma in lilo.conf) all appears well then warning unable to open an initial console.

I've tried with 2.4 vanilla , gentoo and gs-sources all no prob it just appears to be with 2.6.0

Help please I'vre been at this now on and off since Xmas eve.

Geoff
_________________
Typos lead to premature baldness, therefore lick and stick whenever possible. Veteran status may mean that you post a lot of *** I'm a noob and clueless.
"Let us go forward together" Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robfish
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2002
Posts: 137
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes it worked for me. I emerged nvidia-kernel and nvidia-glx. I have a GeForce4 card
_________________
RobFish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aderio
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2003
Posts: 118
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2004 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you need nvidia-glx as you install kernel or can it be left until you configure and install X

ta Geoff
_________________
Typos lead to premature baldness, therefore lick and stick whenever possible. Veteran status may mean that you post a lot of *** I'm a noob and clueless.
"Let us go forward together" Winston Churchill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 7 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum