Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Moving from 2.4 to 2.6 guide
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SnowDeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2003 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like to know if *anyone* with reiserfs as their root mount is able to successfully run the 2.6 kernel - I am able to boot the kernel, but it mounts my root partition (/dev/hda3 or /dev/root as mtab is calling it) read-only and it fails when trying to remount as read-write.

Now, I am able to boot it all the way up, login, and remount / as read-write with the following commands:
cd /
mount /dev/root / -o remount,rw

I also created a file "/etc/fastboot" and that doesn't help either. Any suggestions?

*update*

Ok, just hackz0ring around ;) I did something very ugly, but at least I know where the problem is now. I copied my /etc/init.d/checkfs and checkroot files to backups, blanked the originals, and added the following to checkroot:

mount -t reiserfs /dev/hda3 /
mount -t reiserfs /dev/hda3 / -o remount,rw


Very ugly, but at least now the system boots correctly after that. Submitting a bug now.

*update again*
Submitted Bug 27443

*Resolved*
Well, it appears that it is necessary to set the option "notail" for a reiserfs root partition in /etc/fstab. All is good after that.


Last edited by SnowDeath on Thu Aug 28, 2003 8:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mglauche
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 564
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2003 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FxChiP wrote:
To those having problems with IntelliMouse Opticals on USB:

Did you enable USB support, and USB HID support? HIDBP mouse might not make a difference (but it's said to be a sort of hack)...

Finally, did you enable Input core support as well as the input support for keyboards, mice, etc.?

I haven't tried the development-sources so they might have changed, but this is what I would suggest for, say, a 2.4 kernel.


Another thing for the NFORCE2 boards out there - the default 2.6 usb driver is EHCI I think, but nforce2 uses OHCI for the 1.1 stuff. Use the correct driver in the kernel, and everything should work :) (at least it did for me ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SnowDeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2003 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Another thing for the NFORCE2 boards out there - the default 2.6 usb driver is EHCI I think, but nforce2 uses OHCI for the 1.1 stuff. Use the correct driver in the kernel, and everything should work :) (at least it did for me ;)


My usbmouse worked fine using only EHCI-HCD...except for scrollwheel. When I changed to just ohci-hcd, it wouldnt work at all. Finally, I loaded ehci-hcd and then ohci-hcd and all works fine on my nforce2 based A7N8X-DLX
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
juliancode
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 93
Location: western mass

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there any solution to the autoclosing terminal problem? besides that everything works, i cant still ctl-alt out of X, but im a cli type of guy so this kinda blows...
2.6 seems tight tho
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ultraslacker
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Aug 2002
Posts: 124
Location: lazy fairy land

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SnowDeath wrote:

*Resolved*
Well, it appears that it is necessary to set the option "notail" for a reiserfs root partition in /etc/fstab. All is good after that.


I havent had that problem - running 2.6.0-test4-mm1 with reiserfs on all but boot partition with tail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SnowDeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ultraslacker wrote:


I havent had that problem - running 2.6.0-test4-mm1 with reiserfs on all but boot partition with tail.


It could be a 2.6.0-test4 issue that is fixed in 2.6.0-test4-mm1 perhaps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ultraslacker
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Aug 2002
Posts: 124
Location: lazy fairy land

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2003 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I ran an assortment of development kernels before test4-mm1 without running into this bug. It may be specific to certain hardware or kernel config - and I think it more likely that this a kernel bug than a gentoo one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raid517
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 946

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2003 9:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, this is all slightly confusing. I have the new 2.6 kernel test 4 (are you guys talking about an even more recent version?, if so what's the link??). Anyhoo. I can follow the first part of the instructions very easily. But since I'm still pretty new to linux the other things that were said don't make much sense to me yet. What does 'making a symlink to point to your new kernel' mean - and how do I do that? Also, what does 'making the /sys directory manually' mean? Do I just have to makedir /sys ? (That is sys will be located in / directory?) Is that all I have to do, or is there something else?

Sorry for these dumb n00b questions, but once I know I won't forget. :)

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.

Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raid517
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 946

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn... What's the deal with the networking thing? They have removed PPP over ATM support from the kernel options. Are they crazy? Half of Europe uses this protocoll. Man that sucks...

Now I won't be able to communicate with my ISP. Is this because it's beta, or for some other reason?

Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
viperlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 1317
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kerneltrap made this tutorial on upgrading from 2.4 to 2.6

http://kerneltrap.org/node/view/799

8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raid517
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 946

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2003 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah thanks... I think that's what it wants... Not much works without that 'linux' symlink in /usr/src. so I was kind of wondering how to create it.

While we're on the subject.... I followed the instructions in the docs to the best of my ability I downloaded and installed the sources as directed and then ran the following:

Code:
make menuconfig
make bzImage (no need for make dep any more).
make modules
make modules_install


Then I did:

Code:
# pwd
    /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-test4
    # mv arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage-2.6.0-test4
    # mv System.map /boot/System.map-2.6.0-test4
    # cd /boot
    # rm System.map
    # ln -s System.map-2.6.0-test4 System.map


Then:

Code:
#nano -w grub.conf

default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd1,0)/bzImage-2.6.0-test4  root=/dev/hdb3


As per the instructions for the 2.6 kernel on the main pages of kernel trap. But I hit a couple of snags. Well one major one really... When I did this all I got when I rebooted was a blank screen. Just grub and then nothing...

What am I doing wrong?

I definately edited grub to point to my new kernel and have triple checked it since then, but nothing... just an empty screen...

Any suggestions?

Q

PS

I don't know if it's relevant, but I used a script called genkernel to compile my original working kernel. Genkernel set up an initrd which scanned for new hardware whenever the system rebooted. However Genkernel is not compatable with kernel 2.6 yet, so I did it the old way by hand. The gentoo install instructions say if you do things manually, you shouldn't set up an intrd - so I simply commented out the intrd line in grub in order that it wouldn't be looked for during boot. Also Genkernel gave instructions to install hotplug, so I wonder if this might cuase problems too? Any suggestions anyone has would be extremely welcome.


Last edited by raid517 on Sun Aug 31, 2003 8:02 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stonent
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 07 Aug 2003
Posts: 1139
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just need to know how to get other programs to know that the kernel sources have changed. I tried to compile the linux-wlan-ng drivers but it still looks in the 2.4.x directory instead of the new one.
_________________
Inspiron 4100 & Sun UltraAXe
Portage on Solaris|Dell Laptop Hacks
The way you feel about organized religion is the same way I feel about organized socialism.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillyD
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 May 2002
Posts: 315
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

raid517 wrote:
Yeah thanks... I think that's what it wants... Not much works without that 'linux' symlink in /usr/src. so I was kind of wondering how to create it......


Did you mount your boot partition before you copied over you new bzImage and edited you grub.conf file? Gentoo does not mount the /boot partition by default on boot up, you need to mount it manually before moving your new kernel image over...
_________________
We used to have hominid cousins that were vegetarian. The palæontological record suggests that our ancestors killed them and ate them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raid517
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 946

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I did. It's something of a habit now to always do that when compiling a kernel. So much so that it's now almost second nature. See this thread for further details of the steps I took and the problems I have encountered.

Thanks.

Q

BTW does anybody know where I can report kernel bugs? Also where would I find a log of the boot up process? Although nothing happend, I would be curious to see if there were any entries there at all.

Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BillyD wrote:
Gentoo does not mount the /boot partition by default on boot up, you need to mount it manually before moving your new kernel image over...


I wouldnt consider that a Gentoo property.. It just depends on how you set up /etc/fstb when you do your original install.

I mean, if you follow the install guide blindly.. :P

I would not mount /boot automatically on ANY Linux box. :)
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raid517
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 946

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2003 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I think the point he's making is that the guide is the tried and tested way to set up gentoo. It's the one peeps can most easily trouble shoot. Stick to the guide and you will get it right etc...

It's still no help to me atm though I'm afraid, although for referrence, this time round I did follow the guide.

Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gle
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2003
Posts: 11
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 12:17 am    Post subject: My Experience Reply with quote

I just thought I would share my experience upgrading to 2.6.

I'll start with ati-drivers. Ah, what a pain. When I try to use the built in apggart is just locks the computer. I can not even switch terminals with the <alt>-<fn*> keys. Though if I switch to another terminal (blindly) and give the three finger salute :twisted: the computer will shutdown and reboot.

Once you switch over to the external agpgart module you will quickly discover "modprobe agpgart" does not work the way it used to, now it does not do very much. You will also need to modprobe the correct agp driver. Logically ati_agp doesn't work for a Radeon card, instead I needed intel_agp. Makes sense once I figured it out, but before that it was truly annoying. If you keep getting an error about not being able to load AGP, try modprobbing every single kernel object in /lib/modules/2.6.0-test4-mm4/kernel/drivers/char/agp/ Then simply ellminate the ones you don't need. :twisted:

That said, be sure that you enable 'Module unloading' under 'Loadable modules support'. Another very logical step, but for some reason I missed this the first couple times I compiled the kernel (I guess it is no longer enabled by default) and had to do a complete recompile just for this one feature. :oops:

I'll also mention sound support. I run a SoundBlaster Live card. It worked perfectly under 2.4.* with the default emu10k1 module. After installing 2.6 using the non-deprecated Alsa drivers there was no sound. Further KDE complained that it could not even start its sound daemon. Solution, make sure you have installed some sort of alsa mixer (I used gnome-alsamixer as it had the least number of dependencies of any that I could find). Once you have the modules installed into the kernel, activate the mixer and unmute the output and pcm channels. Doing this, and recompiling esound, allowed xmms to work, but still no KDE. If you don't use Alsa under 2.4.x I would not reccomend it under 2.6.x. Enable your driver under OSS, just like in 2.4.x and use it the same way.

Once I ditched Alsa in favor of OSS I almost had audio working. It might be possible to recompile aRts, esd, KDE, and whatever else uses audio to make Alsa work. However, that would take so much more time than simply compiling the emu10k1 OSS module and I don't see there being much benefit in the near future. If there is something I am missing here, please let me know.

There was one more little catch for which you might want to watch out. I had a Logitech quickcam plugged into my USB port. When I modprobbed emu10k1 it setup a USB audio device as my default. Apparently it picked up on the fact that the quickcam has a usb microphone attached to it and figured this was more important than the sblive card with actual audio out :? . Of course, KDE complained it couldn't start audio (even though kmix showed the emu10k1 audio properties by default). Solution, unplug the quickcam during boot up.

Oh yeah, one more little thing I didn't see in the forum. "emerge sys-kernel/mm-sources" is your friend. Being new to the beta kernels (and the development sources) I had no idea that this was in the portage database. :oops: Again, it makes logical sense that 'linux-2.6.0-test4-mm4' is 'mm-sources', but not until after you figure it out. Trying to get this working from the stock 'linux-2.6.0-test4' was plagued with even more problems.

Those problems aside, I really like 2.6. Especially the preemptive kernel. Over all the machine seems more responsive. Thanks to everyone for your posts. Almost every question I had was answered before I could ask it. 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

raid517 wrote:
BTW does anybody know where I can report kernel bugs? Also where would I find a log of the boot up process? Although nothing happend, I would be curious to see if there were any entries there at all.

Report kernel bugs at http://bugzilla.kernel.org/ or at https://bugs.gentoo.org/ if Gentoo specific. Find a log of the boot up process by doing 'dmesg | less' and press 'q' to quit the viewer. By the way everyone, test4-bk3 is out.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guard0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Jun 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

man
this is so much nicer
i thought the 2.4 series was a great improvement over 2.2 series, this beats the SNOT out of 2.4..
i can recompile the kernel, listen to an mp3, and post on the gentoo forums without the mp3 skipping, when it did it if i changed from a vty to an X session before...
and i like how if you just make changes to modules, it only compiles the new modules rather than the whole kernel, or all of the other modules...

if the beta is this nice, i cant wait to see a real release
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SnowDeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Florida, USA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reiserfs root partition notail bug using AMD Viper chipset driver has been reported to the kernel bugzilla.
Bug #1179
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1179
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
raid517
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2003
Posts: 946

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why is that a bug?

Q
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roofy
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Sep 2003
Posts: 86
Location: miami

PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2003 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My expiriences....

what happened to the Broadcom BCM5700 support in the 2.6 kernel....?

so i enable the only broadcom there, which was the tigon3...it didnt work, so i decided to try out the new kernel without the internet, its really fast, at least the mouse is fast, and im also getting the problem where my terminal crashes instantly "cannot found a terminal device", i hope these 2 issues are fixed soon, cuz 2.6 looks very promising
_________________
/* event horizon */
Athlon XP 2100+ (o/c'ed to 2.1ghz)
LanParty NForce2 Ultra
80GB Maxtor HD
48x CD-RW
ATI 9700 Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Narada
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

roofy wrote:
im also getting the problem where my terminal crashes instantly "cannot found a terminal device", i hope these 2 issues are fixed soon, cuz 2.6 looks very promising

To use a terminal you must enable /dev/pty support in the kernel. For better driver support you must tell them which driver you want included to be sure that it gets their attention.
_________________
http://dhruba.name/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulmeman
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jul 2002
Posts: 184
Location: Duchy of Lancaster, England.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 3:15 pm    Post subject: nvidia geforce drivers Reply with quote

Ive installed kernel 2.6.0-beta4-r3, had no problems, but when i do:

emerge nvidia-kernel

I get::

/usr/sbin/ebuild.sh: line 98: epatch: command not found
/usr/sbin/ebuild.sh: line 103: epatch: command not found
>> source unpacked
make: Makefile: Nosuch file or directory
make: *** No rule to make target 'Makefile'. Stop.
XXXX/nvidia-kernel_1.0.4496-r1 failed


Any ideas?
Baz

[/i]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roguelazer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 1233
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2003 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thought I'd share my 2.6 experience:


Installed 2.6test4 fine. Rebooted and realized that I'd forgotten to do make modules_install. Very thankfully, that first kernel had very few modules. Also realized that I'd forgotten to make /sys. Oops. Recompile, make modules_install, mkdir /sys, reboot and yay! Then I tried to run X. It started fine, but when it quit the comp froze. Rebooted and tried xdirectfb instead. The comp crashed.

Take two

Installed 2.6test4-r1 fine. Installed everything properly, deselecting the riva framebuffer and building in the vesa one. No more bootsplash, but X now works good. Now if only I could get that bootsplash without X crashing upon exit...
_________________
Registered Linux User #263260
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 3 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum