Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
adobeair - how to install it?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
matiit
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 8:31 am    Post subject: adobeair - how to install it? Reply with quote

How to install the newest version of adobeair for linux?
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/air_linux.html
Please help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjf55
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Silly question. Did you follow the instructions that are posted on that page you linked to? If so, what happened?
_________________
Mark
No longer a n00b, but still a 'Kool Kid' wannabe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matiit
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Adobe AIR could not be installed because this is not a supported Linux distribution. Only RPM- and Debian-based Linux distributions are supported.


That is the problem :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it's an rpm package, you can convert it to a tarball using rmp2targz, then uncompress it and see what's inside. It should be a matter of putting each file where it belongs.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matiit
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is:
that is bin...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mjf55
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 372

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how far do you get?? Here is what I did.
    download adobeair from the webside.
    open a terminal
    cd to the directory that it is in.
    chmod +x adobeair_linux_b1_091508.bin
    ./adobeair_linux_b1_091508.bin

after a couple seconds, the EULA popped up and then I canceled.
_________________
Mark
No longer a n00b, but still a 'Kool Kid' wannabe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matiit
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ehh... and then (if you accept) there is a error that i haven't rpm based or deb based distro...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkomar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 3:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Down at the bottom of the download page, you can get the Air SDK which is a .tbz2.

There are notes on how to install Air for non-rpm distros via the SDK at this link:

http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforums/forum/messageview.cfm?forumid=72&catid=677&threadid=1349878&enterthread=y

I'm going to give it a shot. I'll post back here when I've tried it.

Jason
_________________
www.jbox.ca
www.flashinthepan.ca
stormfront Portage/Paludis overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkomar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it working on x86 using the instructions found at the link in my previous post. The only thing I changed was moving things to /opt as I really don't like apps in my home directory.

I haven't tried it on amd64 yet, but from some reading I've done, I'm thinking it's not going to work until Adobe comes out with a 64 bit version. I guess I'll have to try it and see.

Jason
_________________
www.jbox.ca
www.flashinthepan.ca
stormfront Portage/Paludis overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkomar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 192
Location: Calgary, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I put an article up on my blog with an install walk-through for Adobe AIR on Gentoo if anyone's interested.

http://www.flashinthepan.ca/computer-tips/linux-computer-tips/adobe-air-on-gentoo-linux

Cheers,
Jason
_________________
www.jbox.ca
www.flashinthepan.ca
stormfront Portage/Paludis overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radagast
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 217
Location: sydney, .au

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

amd64
AIR working fine for me, for a couple of months now.
and thanks for the nice howto, jkomar

(but that nico guy has just updated the google analytics suite and i can't get it to run??)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KarlH420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 11:47 am    Post subject: Gentoo bug Reply with quote

There is an open bug on this:

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=251475
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aplesch
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Posts: 70

PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 10:39 pm    Post subject: on 64bit systems 32bit libkwalletclient.so.1 required Reply with quote

I followed the approach here to install AIR on my 64bit system. I found that on KDE

a 32bit libkwalletclient.so.1

is required for AIR, eg. for the adobe media player app. All other required 32bit libs were installed on my system from emul packages.

After I provided from a .deb kde package, everything seems to work quite well.

See here for a more complete summary:

http://www.adobe.com/cfusion/webforums/forum/messageview.cfm?forumid=75&catid=697&threadid=1413594&enterthread=y
_________________
Andreas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1168
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately this method doesn't seem to provide the needed integration with the browser, which is needed for (e.g.) the new AIR-based BBC iPlayer download platform.

I tried both the SDK approach, and copying all the files I could find from an Ubuntu install, but no joy. I hope either (a) Adobe expand support to other Linux distros or (b) someone manages to put together a reliable hacked installer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mizery de aria
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Dec 2003
Posts: 309

PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emerged air-sdk-1.5 from https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=251475 however it doesn't seem to integrate with Firefox 3.0.x since http://alertthingy.com claims that Adobe Air isn't installed yet. Any ideas?
_________________
Do not repIy to or othErwise communicate with me if you use religious, spiritual or similar terminologies or references in your typings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jkhanlar
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have air-sdk-1.5 emerged.

Code:
# adl AlertThingy.air
invalid application descriptor: Error #1009: Cannot access a property or method of a null object reference.


http://is.gd/kMmO suggests `.../bin/adl /path/to/application.xml`

I don't have any *.xml file associated with AlertThingy, nor know where to find one. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lenk
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 08 Mar 2004
Posts: 211

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installed air-sdk from the bugreport. air-run Tweetdeck 0.25b runs the app, but the buttons in the app does not respond to anything.
_________________
E6300 Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 2GB Corsair 320GB Seagate 7200.10 XFX 7600GT Gentoo
Dell M1330 T7500 2GB 160GB 13.3" WXGA Gentoo
Sharp Zaurus SL-C760 Cacko ROM 1.21b / pdaXrom 1.10rc5 512MB CF + 512MB SD
Sun Ultra5 Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 325
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apart from the bug report mentioned above (251475), there also seems to be another, newer one: 26755. Haven't tried either ebuild though, so couldn't say how the latter fares if compared to the former.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 1168
Location: Edinburgh, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ì hope one of them bears some fruit, but I think browser integration is still going to be tricky.

In the meantime, here's another thought for whatever it's worth. The blurb on the BBC site says AIR installs either an RPM or a DEB and so requires a distro that supports one of these. Well, we have rpm and dpkg in portage; is there not some way we can use them to manage the install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum