Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Zen-sources is unable to mount root fs [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:53 pm    Post subject: Zen-sources is unable to mount root fs [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I just emerged zen-sources via an overlay and I'm getting this:

Code:

[   3.631023] 0800 List of all partitions:
[   3.631023]   0801   40131 sda1
[   3.631023]   0802 506047 sda2
[   3.631023] 0b00  1048575 sr0 driver: sr
[   3.632110] 0b01  1048575 sr1 driver: sr
[   3.632224] No filesystem could mount root, tried: ext3 msdos vfat iso9660
[   3.632478] Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,1) (the number varies based on what I just tried)


In other kernels, my drive is recognized as hda and root is /dev/hda3. When I leave the current grub.conf, hda3 is just not a recognized drive. hda3 is formatted ext3, and ext3 is clearly in the kernel here.

What happened and how do I fix it?

(I did read the zen-sources Wiki and I couldn't find anything else about this.)
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.


Last edited by audiodef on Wed Sep 24, 2008 4:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoacker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 498
Location: Bürstadt, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where does the .config for the zen kernel come from? Did you copy the config file from an other kernel or did you manually configure the zen kernel from scratch?

Got the (same) drivers for your disk controller included in the zen kernel?

Maybe diff the zen config and a working kernel config and have a close look at differences in the device drivers and file systems sections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was something in .config. I started with defconfig and added a few things, but when I copied my old .config and said no to the new stuff (I can add them later if I need them) it worked.
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiodef
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 06 Jul 2005
Posts: 6316
Location: /usr/lib64/lv2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's something needed for machines that use HDA instead of SDA. I'm hunting for it now on a new system I'm building - but does anyone know what to check off to make sure HDA is used?
_________________
Gentoo Studio: A Gentoo-based, professional digital audio workstation OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum