Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Layman not working properly
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tristanm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:35 pm    Post subject: Layman not working properly Reply with quote

I've emerged layman and have added the Gnome and Sunrise overlays. Unfortunately, I can't seem to get portage notice the existence of those overlays. It acts as if they aren't there. Did I miss a configuration file somewhere? How do I get this working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
overkll
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Sep 2004
Posts: 1249
Location: Austin, Texas

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been a gentoo user for some time, but I just started using layman. I've notice this behaviour as well. When trying to add an overlay with `layman -a overlayname`, it doesn't work. I could only get it to work with `layman -la overlayname`. Give that a try

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonboots
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 4:04 pm    Post subject: Re: Layman not working properly Reply with quote

Tristanm wrote:
I've emerged layman and have added the Gnome and Sunrise overlays. Unfortunately, I can't seem to get portage notice the existence of those overlays. It acts as if they aren't there. Did I miss a configuration file somewhere? How do I get this working?


I take it you've followed the "layman" guide.
It's often better, if you could show what steps you took to install layman etc. That way it makes it easier for people to see if you've just made a simple error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tristanm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed the instructions on this page: http://gentoo-wiki.com/TIP_Overlays

I emerged layman, I used "layman --add" to add my overlays, I added "source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf" to my make.conf file. I used layman --sync to update my overlays. Portage doesn't even know they exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonboots
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tristanm wrote:
I followed the instructions on this page: http://gentoo-wiki.com/TIP_Overlays

I emerged layman, I used "layman --add" to add my overlays, I added "source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf" to my make.conf file. I used layman --sync to update my overlays. Portage doesn't even know they exist.



if you've used "source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf" , then you've installed layman versions prior to 1.2.0 , which is implies your ACCEPT_KEYWORDS ="amd64"
ie the stable version. Not 100% certain , but i think the ebuilds in the overlays will be unstable ie ~amd64. Thats why portage will not emerge them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tristanm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a way I can set portage to universally accept ~amd64 as a keyword? I hate how most of the software I want to use has that flag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1595
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moonboots wrote:
Tristanm wrote:
I followed the instructions on this page: http://gentoo-wiki.com/TIP_Overlays

I emerged layman, I used "layman --add" to add my overlays, I added "source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf" to my make.conf file. I used layman --sync to update my overlays. Portage doesn't even know they exist.



if you've used "source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf" , then you've installed layman versions prior to 1.2.0 , which is implies your ACCEPT_KEYWORDS ="amd64"
ie the stable version. Not 100% certain , but i think the ebuilds in the overlays will be unstable ie ~amd64. Thats why portage will not emerge them.


Well, you can, by putting ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~amd64" in your make.conf. However, everything from that point on will be unstable...some people want this and some don't. And the only known way to go back, if you don't like it, is to re-install. On the other hand, just do like most people, and put the packages you want to build in package.keywords. That way, only the unstable versions you want get pulled in, and everything else stays stable. BTW, if you have 'eix', just run it to find the package you want. It will tell show you which versions are available, which you have installed and which versions come from overlays.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Moonboots
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Dec 2006
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps a word of caution, not wanting to be a killjoy, but it's normal to crawl before you walk.
You've had twice as many posts in 2 months as i've had in 2 years :) Most of these are demands for help.
Gentoo can be a steep curve for a beginner and if you start using overlays, you're certainly going to encounter more problems.
What you do at the end of day is your choice, but i say take your time to find your way around gentoo, then you will reap the full benefits
of this special disto :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tristanm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I got Gnome 2.24 finally unmasked, but now it's blocked by a bunch of annoying packages:

Code:
[blocks B     ] <gnome-base/gail-1000 (is blocking x11-libs/gtk+-2.14.3-r2)
[blocks B     ] <dev-python/pygtk-2.13 (is blocking dev-python/pygobject-2.15.4)
[blocks B     ] <dev-python/gnome-python-desktop-2.22.0-r10 (is blocking dev-python/evolution-python-2.22.0, dev-python/gnome-applets-python-2.22.0, dev-python/gnome-python-desktop-base-2.22.0)
[blocks B     ] <dev-python/gnome-python-2.22.1 (is blocking dev-python/libbonobo-python-2.22.3, dev-python/gconf-python-2.22.3, dev-python/gnome-python-base-2.22.3, dev-python/libgnomecanvas-python-2.22.3)


Any clue how to get Gnome updated?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tristanm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Aug 2008
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moonboots wrote:
Perhaps a word of caution, not wanting to be a killjoy, but it's normal to crawl before you walk.
You've had twice as many posts in 2 months as i've had in 2 years :) Most of these are demands for help.
Gentoo can be a steep curve for a beginner and if you start using overlays, you're certainly going to encounter more problems.
What you do at the end of day is your choice, but i say take your time to find your way around gentoo, then you will reap the full benefits
of this special disto :D
Funny enough, most of the problems I had early on were fixed when I installed a kernel that was masked with the keyword ~amd64. Apparently the newer kernel has better support for my hardware and thus is more stable. (I jumped through a ton of hoops trying to get sound working and the moment I updated the kernel, it fixed itself) I realize I'm asking for a lot of help, but I've figured out a lot of the problems too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum