Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]fusion-icon no ebuild?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
psilo357
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:14 am    Post subject: [SOLVED]fusion-icon no ebuild? Reply with quote

I used layman to add the desktop-effects overlay, and it added it and everything, and when i browse into /usr/portage/local/layman/desktop-effects/x11-apps/ it has fusion-icon listed, with ebuilds in there.

However, whenever i run emerge -av fusion-icon, i get this:
Code:

# emerge -av fusion-icon

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies \
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "fusion-icon".


I had this problem last time i installed compiz-fusion, and then tried to install the icon, except i don't remember how I made it work, anyone have any ideas?

thanks


Last edited by psilo357 on Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1595
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:32 am    Post subject: Re: fusion-icon no ebuild? Reply with quote

psilo357 wrote:
I used layman to add the desktop-effects overlay, and it added it and everything, and when i browse into /usr/portage/local/layman/desktop-effects/x11-apps/ it has fusion-icon listed, with ebuilds in there.

However, whenever i run emerge -av fusion-icon, i get this:
Code:

# emerge -av fusion-icon

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies \
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "fusion-icon".


I had this problem last time i installed compiz-fusion, and then tried to install the icon, except i don't remember how I made it work, anyone have any ideas?

thanks


Well, quick one, right off the bat...did you unmask it in package.keywords?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5834

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Overlay in use, moving.

Moved from Other Things Gentoo to Unsupported Software.
_________________
overlay | patches
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scary
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Apr 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you install other packages from the overlay ?
If not, have you added the lines

source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf

to your /etc/make.conf ?

Also check whether the layman directory is really /usr/portage/local or rather /usr/local/portage (and in case change those lines accordingly).. I think I remember seeing those directories switched during an update, so it might be worth a look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psilo357
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cat /etc/make.conf
Code:

CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"

USE="mmx sse sse2 ssse3 kde qt3 qt4 X opengl hal dbus acpi truetype xvmc
     nvidia cups alsa smp jpeg jpeg2k tiff gif png mp3 ogg vorbis aac x264
     flac xvid apache2 xcb svg"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.netnitco.net http://gentoo.chem.wisc.edu/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/"

INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/etc/portage/local"


# ls /usr/portage/local/layman
Code:

ache_65bd38402ac8431067b54904bd2ed2d1.xml 
java-overlay 
overlays.xml
desktop-effects                             
make.conf     
sunrise


Seems everything is where it should be. I can install things from other overlays as well, just not anything from that overlay...this is odd, i don't get why it won't work for me.

anything else, let me know.

thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1595
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

psilo357 wrote:
cat /etc/make.conf
Code:

CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"

ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"

USE="mmx sse sse2 ssse3 kde qt3 qt4 X opengl hal dbus acpi truetype xvmc
     nvidia cups alsa smp jpeg jpeg2k tiff gif png mp3 ogg vorbis aac x264
     flac xvid apache2 xcb svg"

GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.netnitco.net http://gentoo.chem.wisc.edu/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/"

INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
source /usr/portage/local/layman/make.conf
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/etc/portage/local"


# ls /usr/portage/local/layman
Code:

ache_65bd38402ac8431067b54904bd2ed2d1.xml 
java-overlay 
overlays.xml
desktop-effects                             
make.conf     
sunrise


Seems everything is where it should be. I can install things from other overlays as well, just not anything from that overlay...this is odd, i don't get why it won't work for me.

anything else, let me know.

thanks again


Gee, I should have been able to answer this one right off the bat..I had the same problem..what version of portage are you using? Because unless you are using portage 2.2, you won't be able to emerge anything from desktops effects. The maintainer converted the compiz-fusion ebuilds to EAPI2, which is not compatible with the stable version of portage...so the compiz-fusion ebuilds are being masked by the EAPI2 keyword. You will either have to upgrade to the current ~ARCH version of portage (what I did), or convert the ebuilds back into EAPI1...which I didn't want to bother with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psilo357
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge --info
Code:

Portage 2.1.4.5 (default/linux/amd64/2008.0, gcc-4.3.1, glibc-2.8_p20080602-r0, 2.6.25-gentoo-r7 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.25-gentoo-r7 x86_64 Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X3350 @ 2.66GHz
Timestamp of tree: Mon, 13 Oct 2008 01:01:01 +0000
app-shells/bash:     3.2_p33
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.1.6
dev-lang/python:     2.5.2-r7
dev-util/cmake:      2.4.6-r1
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.11.1
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.18.1-r2
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.61-r2
sys-devel/automake:  1.7.9-r1, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10.1-r1
sys-devel/binutils:  2.18-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.0-r4
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.26
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.23-r3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/php/apache2-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cgi-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cli-php5/ext-active/ /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/terminfo /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="distlocks metadata-transfer sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.netnitco.net http://gentoo.chem.wisc.edu/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.pair.com/"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/etc/portage/local"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X aac acl acpi alsa amd64 apache2 berkdb bzip2 cli cracklib crypt cups dbus dri flac fortran gdbm gif gpm hal iconv ipv6 isdnlog jpeg jpeg2k kde midi mmx mp3 mudflap multilib ncurses nls nptl nptlonly nvidia ogg opengl openmp pam pcre perl png pppd python qt3 qt4 readline reflection session smp spl sse sse2 ssl ssse3 svg sysfs tcpd tiff truetype unicode vorbis x264 xcb xorg xvid xvmc zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS


there is my emerge info, looks like i have portage 2.1.4.5, so i guess i need to upgrade...

Is this an easy upgrade? do i simply unmask it with the ~amd64 keyword in /etc/portage/package.keywords? Is this going to cause even more problems, like the ones I have with updated glibc and gcc?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1595
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is this an easy upgrade? do i simply unmask it with the ~amd64 keyword in /etc/portage/package.keywords? Is this going to cause even more problems, like the ones I have with updated glibc and gcc?

thanks


Yes...I just did it yesterday, so it is still fresh on my mind...just drop it in package.keywords...I saw there were some problems people had with earlier versions, but nothing serious, but I was told on some thread here, this it's only a couple of month's away from going stable...and the upgrade was painless for me (well, almost, I had to comment out the PORTDIR_OVERLAY setting I had in my make.conf because it was overriding the included make.conf from layman...). The only minor annoyance (which some people actually seem to like) is all the dots it prints out when downloading packages...there's a bug report in on that though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psilo357
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the help platojones, one more thing...its still not working...eeek, here is the ouptut

# emerge -av fusion-icon
Code:

WARNING: repository at /etc/portage/local is missing a repo_name entry

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "fusion-icon".


 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.


is that the same problem you are describing?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1595
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could be...do you have PORTDIR_OVERLAY set in your make.conf?

[EDIT]Yes you do...I didn't see the make.conf you posted earlier...Comment out the PORTDIR_OVERLAY setting in your make.conf[/EDIT]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psilo357
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright plato, you got it, its working now!!!

thanks for all the help man...now if i could just get em8300 compiled, so i can get mplayer and mencoder installed, i will be set (thats for another thread)...for now atleast

peace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
platojones
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 1595
Location: Just over the horizon

PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

psilo357 wrote:
alright plato, you got it, its working now!!!

thanks for all the help man...now if i could just get em8300 compiled, so i can get mplayer and mencoder installed, i will be set (thats for another thread)...for now atleast

peace


No prob..glad to hear it...I'm off to get some shuteye.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrisstankevitz
Guru
Guru


Joined: 14 Dec 2003
Posts: 472
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:12 am    Post subject: Re: [SOLVED]fusion-icon no ebuild? Reply with quote

psilo357 wrote:
I used layman to add the desktop-effects overlay


Question 1: How did you know to do this?

Question 2: How do you install compiz-fusion?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum