Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
cannot halt INIT: no more processes left
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
temper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 12:56 am    Post subject: cannot halt INIT: no more processes left Reply with quote

After last update I cannot restart my computer anymore, I mean when I give reboot or halt command X goes down, than it's killing services and logical volume manager, and hangs at:
INIT: no more processes left in this runlevel.
I have no idea what does this error message mean :?
If no more processes left in my current(?) runlevel, than why not shut the damn thing down? Or Maybe there ARE some daemons or malicious software preventing init from shutting down correctly, or maybe it's a bug? Sorry if I said something terribly stupid or wrong, but don't understand why it's stops, where there is nothing else to do and what this stupid error message means ?:
I reemerged openrc and sysvinit, but it still cannot shut down properly.

I changed some things splash.conf and rc.conf yesterday, but I didn't do anything relating to runlevels or shutdown scripts, I think:?: I don't understand all this rc and init stuff. Is it worth to try different init system like initng, or maybe downgrade to previous version? I'm afraid to make it worse...
I found some threads in google, but nothing worked for me :( help me if you can please. TY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if it's important, but I use custom udev rules for my ntfs usb drive to automount in KDE 4.1.2.
I had backup of original file and I tested it-not working.
Also alt+f2, alt+f3 keys aren't working during halt.

here's my
shutdown.sh:
opts="-d"
[ "${INIT_HALT}" != "HALT" ] && opts="${opts}p"
[ "${RC_DOWN_INTERFACE}" = "yes" ] && opts="${opts}i"
[ "${RC_DOWN_HARDDISK}" = "yes" ] && opts="${opts}h"

/sbin/halt "${opts}"

# hmm, if the above failed, that's kind of odd ...
# so let's force a halt

/sbin/halt -f
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had that happen only once. I forced a shutdown by holding the power button until it shut off. It hasn't happened since. Does it happen continuously, often, or just every once in a while? My /etc/init.d/shutdown.sh is identical to yours.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look at /etc/init.d/halt.sh. See if it got messed up. That appears to be the main shutdown script.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I have had that happen only once. I forced a shutdown by holding the power button until it shut off. It hasn't happened since. Does it happen continuously, often, or just every once in a while? My /etc/init.d/shutdown.sh is identical to yours.


Yes it started to happen now and every time I reboot it just hangs and I have to unplug the power or hold the power button to turn it off..it's very unnoying I've looked in that configis too and it seems nothing is wrong with it...
I thinks it failing hard disks or something... I'm too lazy to boot in Ubuntu(Live CD) and check it for errors.
I've already checked my var, home and boot partitions with reiserfs.check --check and this disks are okay


Thanks pappy:D

I don't know how to attach file to my post. I must be dumbest person alive[/url]...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No. You're not dumb. You have a somewhat functional Gentoo install. Having a bug or two show up to ruin the party is part of the wonder of Linux. Send the results of emerge --info, so I can send you the proper halt.sh script.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for being so kind. Here is my emerge info. I'm using latest software from portage no overlays.
And I expected that some day something would break. Usually I do backups before doing something major, like updating GCC and blibc :? I never had any problems updating system. Now everything works great 'cept resart, funny huh? :lol: I think I made a mistake, when I was updating config files with dispatch-config or etc-update. Next time I will pay more attention.

emerge --info
Portage 2.2_rc12 (default/linux/x86/2008.0/desktop, gcc-4.3.2, glibc-2.8_p20080602-r0, 2.6.26-gentoo-r1 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-2.6.26-gentoo-r1-i686-Intel-R-_Core-TM-2_Duo_CPU_T7500_@_2.20GHz-with-glibc2.0
Timestamp of tree: Tue, 14 Oct 2008 22:36:01 +0000
ccache version 2.4 [enabled]
app-shells/bash: 3.2_p39
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.1.6-r1
dev-lang/python: 2.5.2-r8
dev-util/ccache: 2.4-r8
dev-util/cmake: 2.6.2
sys-apps/baselayout: 2.0.0
sys-apps/openrc: 0.3.0-r1
sys-apps/sandbox: 1.2.18.1-r3
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.63
sys-devel/automake: 1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10.1-r1
sys-devel/binutils: 2.18-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.0-r4
sys-devel/libtool: 2.2.6a
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.26
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=core2 -msse3 -mfpmath=sse -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/gentoo-release /etc/php/apache2-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cgi-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cli-php5/ext-active/ /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/splash /etc/terminfo /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=core2 -msse3 -mfpmath=sse -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="ccache collision-protect distlocks parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo"
LANG="en_GE.UTF-8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
LINGUAS="ka"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X acl acpi alsa apache2 bash-completion berkdb bluetooth bzip2 cairo cdr cli cracklib crypt cups dbus dri dvd dvdr dvdread eds emboss encode esd evo fam firefox fortran gdbm gif glibc-omitfp gpm gstreamer gtk hal iconv isdnlog jpeg kde kerberos ldap libnotify mad midi mikmod mmx mp3 mpeg mudflap ncurses nls nptl nptlonly nvidia ogg opengl openmp pam pcre pdf perl png ppds pppd python qt3 qt3support qt4 quicktime readline reflection sdl session spell spl ssl ssse3 startup-notification svg sysfs tcpd tiff truetype unicode usb userlocales vorbis win32codecs x86 xcomposite xml xorg xscreensaver xv xvmc zlib" ALSA_CARDS="hda-intel" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev synaptics" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LINGUAS="ka" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
Unset: CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I'm going to send you my /etc/init.d/halt.sh file. Compare it to yours. If the problem remains, I'd say it might be a baselayout-2/openrc bug. I haven't noticed this problem on the machine I have with baselayout-2, but I don't reboot that one very often.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Copyright 2007-2008 Roy Marples <roy@marples.name>
# All rights reserved. Released under the 2-clause BSD license.

. /etc/init.d/functions.sh
. "${RC_LIBDIR}"/sh/rc-functions.sh
[ -r /etc/conf.d/localmount ] && . /etc/conf.d/localmount
[ -r /etc/rc.conf ] && . /etc/rc.conf

# Support LiveCD foo
if [ -r /sbin/livecd-functions.sh ]; then
   . /sbin/livecd-functions.sh
   livecd_read_commandline
fi

stop_addon devfs
stop_addon udev

# Really kill things off before unmounting
if [ -x /sbin/killall5 ]; then
   killall5 -15
   killall5 -9
fi

# Flush all pending disk writes now
sync; sync

# If we are in a VPS, we don't need anything below here, because
#   1) we don't need (and by default can't) umount anything (VServer) or
#   2) the host utils take care of all umounting stuff (OpenVZ)
if [ "${RC_SYS}" = "VSERVER" -o "${RC_SYS}" = "OPENVZ" ]; then
   [ "${RC_SYS}" = "OPENVZ" -a "$1" = "reboot" ] && echo "" > /reboot
   if [ -e /etc/init.d/"$1".sh ]; then
      . /etc/init.d/"$1".sh
   else
      exit 0
   fi
fi

# If $svcdir is still mounted, preserve it if we can
mnt=$(mountinfo --node "${RC_SVCDIR}")
if [ -n "${mnt}" ] && \
   rm -rf "${RC_LIBDIR}/tmp.$$" && \
   mkdir -p "${RC_LIBDIR}/tmp.$$" 2>/dev/null \
; then
   rmdir "${RC_LIBDIR}/tmp.$$"
   f_opts="-m -c"
   [ "${RC_UNAME}" = "Linux" ] && f_opts="-c"
   if type fuser >/dev/null 2>&1; then
      if [ -n "$(fuser ${f_opts} "${svcdir}" 2>/dev/null)" ]; then
         fuser -k ${f_opts} "${svcdir}" >/dev/null 2>&1
         sleep 2
      fi
   fi
   cp -p "${RC_SVCDIR}"/deptree "${RC_SVCDIR}"/depconfig \
      "${RC_SVCDIR}"/softlevel "${RC_SVCDIR}"/nettree \
      "${RC_SVCDIR}"/rc.log \
      "${RC_LIBDIR}" 2>/dev/null
   umount "${RC_SVCDIR}"
   rm -rf "${RC_SVCDIR}"/*
   # Pipe errors to /dev/null as we may have future timestamps
   cp -p "${RC_LIBDIR}"/deptree "${RC_LIBDIR}"/depconfig \
      "${RC_LIBDIR}"/softlevel "${RC_LIBDIR}"/nettree \
      "${RC_LIBDIR}"/rc.log \
      "${RC_SVCDIR}" 2>/dev/null
   rm -f "${RC_LIBDIR}"/deptree "${RC_LIBDIR}"/depconfig \
      "${RC_LIBDIR}"/softlevel "${RC_LIBDIR}"/nettree \
      "${RC_LIBDIR}"/rc.log
   # Release the memory disk if we used it
   case "${mnt}" in
      "/dev/md"[0-9]*) mdconfig -d -u "${mnt#/dev/md*}";;
   esac
fi

unmounted=0
# Remount the remaining filesystems read-only
# Most BSD's don't need this as the kernel handles it nicely
if [ "${RC_UNAME}" = "Linux" ]; then
   ebegin "Remounting remaining filesystems read-only"
   # We need the do_unmount function
   . "${RC_LIBDIR}"/sh/rc-mount.sh
   eindent
   no_umounts_r="/dev|/dev/.*|${RC_SVCDIR}"
   # RC_NO_UMOUNTS is an env var that can be set by plugins
   OIFS=${IFS} SIFS=${IFS-y}
   IFS=$IFS:
   for x in ${no_umounts} ${RC_NO_UMOUNTS}; do
      no_umounts_r="${no_umounts_r}|${x}"
   done
   if [ "${SIFS}" = "y" ]; then
      IFS=$OIFS
   else
      unset IFS
   fi
   no_umounts_r="${no_umounts_r}|/proc|/proc/.*|/sys|/sys/.*"
   no_umounts_r="^(${no_umounts_r})$"
   fs=
   for x in ${net_fs_list}; do
      fs="${fs}${fs:+|}${x}"
   done
   [ -n "${fs}" ] && fs="^(${fs})$"
   do_unmount "mount -n -o remount,ro" \
      --skip-point-regex "${no_umounts_r}" \
      ${fs:+--skip-fstype-regex} ${fs} --nonetdev
   eoutdent
   eend $?
   unmounted=$?
fi

if [ ${unmounted} -ne 0 ]; then
   [ -x /sbin/sulogin ] && sulogin -t 10 /dev/console
   exit 1
fi

# Load the final script - not needed on BSD so they should not exist
[ -e /etc/init.d/"$1".sh ] && . /etc/init.d/"$1".sh

# Always exit 0 here
exit 0

If this works, I'd recommend reemerging baselayout and openrc. That should return you to full functionality.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much. It worked.
I will reemerge those packages you said.
Thank you for the support.. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
temper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jun 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But I still get the error :? I have to type reboot command to start the shutdown process.
Your scripts are working just fine, but there is something wrong with start-stop-daemon.
I tried to shutdown system from XFCE and still get this error.
start-stop-daemon 1 process refused to stop

I found that this is a bug
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=218572
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5998
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Small steps to getting better. At this point, if I were you, I'd also check the openrc support thread. There might be more nuggets of gold in that thread that might help you completely get rid of this problem.

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum