Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
r500 + KMS + GEM = :D
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:07 pm    Post subject: r500 + KMS + GEM = :D Reply with quote

Alright so if you all have been paying attention GEM bits made it into 2.6.28-rc1. If any of you want to enjoy the goodness of KMS on your r500 this is what you will need.

1. Latest zen-sources w/ modesetting branch merged
2. The mesa-9999 and libdrm-9999 ebuilds from THE overlay
3. The xf86-video-ati-9999 ebuild the zen-sources overlay

*NOTE: These ebuilds pull from Dave Airlie's special repos; Fedora ships the drivers in these repos.

You need to need to build drm into your kernel obviously if you want a nice resolution at boot.
The radeon drm module emulates a fb driver so you need to disable all other fb drivers (you still need fb and fbcon support though).
You also need to add radeon.modeset=1 to your grub.conf.

Once you get all these installed reboot and you should have an accelerated native resolution fb: 1680x1050 for me :D
You will also have 3D and EXA support once in Xorg in addition to _smoother_ VT switches.


Have fun.
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.


Last edited by rmh3093 on Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I forgot to mention that you need to need to build drm into your kernel obviously if you want a nice resolution at boot.
The radeon drm module emulates a fb driver so you need to disable all other fb drivers (you still need fb and fbcon support though)
You also need to add radeon.modeset=1 to your grub.conf
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoshi314
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 848
Location: PL

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
The radeon drm module emulates a fb driver so you need to disable all other fb drivers (you still need fb and fbcon support though)
You also need to add radeon.modeset=1 to your grub.conf


i was wondering about that one - will it replace fb console completely? i mean how compatible is it; can you e.g. pick an arbitrary resolution for it?
_________________
~amd64
shrink your /usr/portage with squashfs+aufs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 7112
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does that work on R250 too? ;)
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yoshi314 wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
The radeon drm module emulates a fb driver so you need to disable all other fb drivers (you still need fb and fbcon support though)
You also need to add radeon.modeset=1 to your grub.conf


i was wondering about that one - will it replace fb console completely? i mean how compatible is it; can you e.g. pick an arbitrary resolution for it?


I think the goal at some point is for someone to write a unified fb module that talks to drm so that each of the drivers dont have to emulate one them selves, but until then, this is how the radeon devs are accomplishing this
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

genstorm wrote:
Does that work on R250 too? ;)


idk, probably r300-r500 for sure, i know one of the devs mentions it works on his r600 (but idk if he has unreleased code), you could try at least or ask in #radeon on Freenode
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For intel, is the same? Or did we to do something special?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cruzki123 wrote:
For intel, is the same? Or did we to do something special?


no clue, i havent really looked that the intel code
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fat_chris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The modesetting branch has been merged to master now.

@rmh3093: Does KMS work reliably for you? For me it doesn't work every boot. Is there any kernel config options I need (besides drm and radeon)? Also when I have KMS enabled and it works X leaks memory quite badly. Do you have this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fat_chris wrote:
The modesetting branch has been merged to master now.

@rmh3093: Does KMS work reliably for you? For me it doesn't work every boot. Is there any kernel config options I need (besides drm and radeon)? Also when I have KMS enabled and it works X leaks memory quite badly. Do you have this problem?


um, pull from git and get the latest version of the kernel, i updated the inkernel drm so that might fix some issues, radeon.modeset=1 is all u need but there is a option in the new kernel to force modesetting....

about the memory leaks, the driver is a pile of hacks right now, just be happy u get dri ;)
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fat_chris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Working mostly fine now. I get random lockups that last for a couple of seconds but that's about it.
Also, Dave Airlie doesn't seem to be updating his git repo so what I did was get the latest rpm from http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/packageinfo?packageID=95 and installed with `rpm -Uhv --nodeps <package>.rpm` - probably not the best thing to do but it installs things in the same place and fixes the nasty memory leak.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fat_chris wrote:
Working mostly fine now. I get random lockups that last for a couple of seconds but that's about it.
Also, Dave Airlie doesn't seem to be updating his git repo so what I did was get the latest rpm from http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/packageinfo?packageID=95 and installed with `rpm -Uhv --nodeps <package>.rpm` - probably not the best thing to do but it installs things in the same place and fixes the nasty memory leak.


which repo are you talking about?
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fat_chris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

git://people.freedesktop.org/~airlied/xf86-video-ati radeon-gem-cs branch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fat_chris wrote:
git://people.freedesktop.org/~airlied/xf86-video-ati radeon-gem-cs branch


yeah I get the memory leak also, you think its in the ati driver, or something else?
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fat_chris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's definitely the ati driver as I no longer get the memory leak with the fedora version.

Do you get the random lockups too?

Edit: It's in the changelog http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/buildinfo?buildID=68224 there.
Quote:
* Thu Oct 30 2008 Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com> 6.9.0-37
- fix memory leak in -ati driver (#469024)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fat_chris wrote:
It's definitely the ati driver as I no longer get the memory leak with the fedora version.

Do you get the random lockups too?

Edit: It's in the changelog http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/buildinfo?buildID=68224 there.
Quote:
* Thu Oct 30 2008 Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com> 6.9.0-37
- fix memory leak in -ati driver (#469024)


what repo do you pull from for that version?
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just talked to airlied, the fixes were just pushed to the git repo
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fat_chris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
i just talked to airlied, the fixes were just pushed to the git repo

Excellent!

Unfortunately I still get the annoying problem that it doesn't work every boot. Also, sometimes I get KMS at boot but then start X and it displays at the wrong resolution then hardlocks my computer. These problems don't exist in fedora rawhide which I'm testing on the same computer, so I wonder what the problem could be, any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fat_chris wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
i just talked to airlied, the fixes were just pushed to the git repo

Excellent!

Unfortunately I still get the annoying problem that it doesn't work every boot. Also, sometimes I get KMS at boot but then start X and it displays at the wrong resolution then hardlocks my computer. These problems don't exist in fedora rawhide which I'm testing on the same computer, so I wonder what the problem could be, any ideas?


I get perfect 1680x1050 every boot, the only issue I had was the mem leak which seems fixed.

i suggest coming into #radeon and explain this to airlied, idk what hemisphere you live i but my timezone is -5 and Airlied usually isnt on till late at night for me, but he should help out
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3789
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going to try this now with my x1950 agp card, I pulled the ebuilds for mesa, libdrm and the x11 ati drivers, but I'm a little bit confused as too what kernel to get.

Latest zen-sources seems to be 2.6.27-r31, is that the right one?

Would vanilla 2.6.28 rc's have what's needed?
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopeless wrote:
I'm going to try this now with my x1950 agp card, I pulled the ebuilds for mesa, libdrm and the x11 ati drivers, but I'm a little bit confused as too what kernel to get.

Latest zen-sources seems to be 2.6.27-r31, is that the right one?

Would vanilla 2.6.28 rc's have what's needed?


latest kernel in the git repo is .28-rc3-zen1, i dont think anyone has made an ebuild in a while
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3789
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
Hopeless wrote:
I'm going to try this now with my x1950 agp card, I pulled the ebuilds for mesa, libdrm and the x11 ati drivers, but I'm a little bit confused as too what kernel to get.

Latest zen-sources seems to be 2.6.27-r31, is that the right one?

Would vanilla 2.6.28 rc's have what's needed?


latest kernel in the git repo is .28-rc3-zen1, i dont think anyone has made an ebuild in a while
Ah, you mean just pull git://zen-sources.org/zen/kernel.git directly?

k, thx.
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopeless wrote:
rmh3093 wrote:
Hopeless wrote:
I'm going to try this now with my x1950 agp card, I pulled the ebuilds for mesa, libdrm and the x11 ati drivers, but I'm a little bit confused as too what kernel to get.

Latest zen-sources seems to be 2.6.27-r31, is that the right one?

Would vanilla 2.6.28 rc's have what's needed?


latest kernel in the git repo is .28-rc3-zen1, i dont think anyone has made an ebuild in a while
Ah, you mean just pull git://zen-sources.org/zen/kernel.git directly?

k, thx.


no git://zen-sources.org/zen/kernel/zen.git
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sadako
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 3789
Location: sleeping in the bathtub

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having trouble installing mesa, at first it failed during configure about dri2proto not being present, so I emerge it and it complains about the installed version being less than 1.99.1, so I grab the git ebuild from the overlay, install that, and mesa passes the configure stage.

Then it fails on this;
Code:
dri2.c: In function 'DRI2Connect':
dri2.c:117: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReq' has no member named 'screen'
dri2.c:124: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:134: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:142: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:145: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:150: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:151: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c: In function 'DRI2AuthConnection':
dri2.c:162: error: 'xDRI2AuthConnectionReq' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:162: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
dri2.c:162: error: for each function it appears in.)
dri2.c:162: error: 'req' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:163: error: 'xDRI2AuthConnectionReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:163: error: expected ';' before 'rep'
dri2.c:168: error: 'sz_xDRI2AuthConnectionReq' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:168: error: expected expression before ')' token
dri2.c:168: error: 'X_DRI2AuthConnection' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:173: error: 'rep' undeclared (first use in this function)

<snip>
Any ideas?

Am I the only one to encounter this?
_________________
"You have to invite me in"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hopeless wrote:
I'm having trouble installing mesa, at first it failed during configure about dri2proto not being present, so I emerge it and it complains about the installed version being less than 1.99.1, so I grab the git ebuild from the overlay, install that, and mesa passes the configure stage.

Then it fails on this;
Code:
dri2.c: In function 'DRI2Connect':
dri2.c:117: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReq' has no member named 'screen'
dri2.c:124: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:134: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:142: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:145: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:150: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c:151: error: 'xDRI2ConnectReply' has no member named 'busIdLength'
dri2.c: In function 'DRI2AuthConnection':
dri2.c:162: error: 'xDRI2AuthConnectionReq' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:162: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
dri2.c:162: error: for each function it appears in.)
dri2.c:162: error: 'req' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:163: error: 'xDRI2AuthConnectionReply' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:163: error: expected ';' before 'rep'
dri2.c:168: error: 'sz_xDRI2AuthConnectionReq' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:168: error: expected expression before ')' token
dri2.c:168: error: 'X_DRI2AuthConnection' undeclared (first use in this function)
dri2.c:173: error: 'rep' undeclared (first use in this function)

<snip>
Any ideas?

Am I the only one to encounter this?


sorry, I made a mistake with the mesa ebuild, it should depend on dri2proto-1.99.1, edit the dri2proto ebuild and uncomment EGIT_BRANCH="dri2proto-1.99.1" the fix the digest and ebuild it
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum