Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
GCC 4.4.0 testing
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 14, 15, 16  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Genewb wrote:
justinkb wrote:
those don't build it with graphite support do they?

Quite easy to enable though, just add:

Code:
EXTRA_ECONF="${EXTRA_ECONF} --with-ppl --with-cloog"


...to src_unpack.


not quite

RDEPEND also needs:

Code:
graphite? ( >=dev-libs/ppl-0.10 >=dev-libs/cloog-ppl-0.15 )


:P
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justinkb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

still wrong, if you use Genewb's addition, the RDEPEND should be unconditional of any use flag :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1319
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ssmaxss wrote:
Will graphite give noticeable improvements in speed in normal apps?


And is graphite still only for suicidal people? ^^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justinkb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

works fine for me enabled on all packages...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone got up to date performance tests of graphite? I recon there should be atleast some regressions/problems with it, but I'd love to toy with it atleast for specific packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1319
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neuron wrote:
Anyone got up to date performance tests of graphite? I recon there should be atleast some regressions/problems with it, but I'd love to toy with it atleast for specific packages.


We could try making some numbers.
The question is, what package is suitable to give some hard numbers?
"Firefox feels snappy" isn't exactly proof that graphite is good stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well running through all the tests with phoronix's test suite might be a good start.

//Would be a lot of work, but seing gcc 4.3/gcc4.4/gcc4.4+graphite would be really cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What CFLAGS and CXXFLAGS are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1319
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neuron wrote:
Well running through all the tests with phoronix's test suite might be a good start.

//Would be a lot of work, but seing gcc 4.3/gcc4.4/gcc4.4+graphite would be really cool.


Great idea. Test suite downloading.
I'm willing to do the testing, but I need some help.

What do I need to know to install 4.4?
Where/how do I apply the EXTRA_ECONF/RDEPEND stuff to get graphite?

How much do I need to recompile to get the differences in the test suite, the test suite alone? The toolchain? System? World?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justinkb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

previous page has my 4.4.0 ebuild with graphite use flag in code tags.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1319
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

justinkb wrote:
previous page has my 4.4.0 ebuild with graphite use flag in code tags.


Nice. So the use flag controls how gcc is built (with/out graphite), and that in turn will control how other programs are built, correct?
Then, does anyone know how the phoronix test suite works. If I compile it with with gcc with graphite, will that make "the difference"?
Or does the suite use a lot of my libs so that they also need to be recompiled first? (I'm guessing now based on "The only required dependencies for the Phoronix Test Suite on Linux systems is PHP 5.x CLI"), but on the otherhand, the source is very small....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it'll use your systems installed files, so you'd need to recompile the programs + libs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justinkb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need to add some flags to your CFLAGS to enable graphite optimizations, specifically -floop-interchange, -floop-strip-mine and -floop-block.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Letharion
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 1319
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neuron wrote:
it'll use your systems installed files, so you'd need to recompile the programs + libs.


Is there an automated way to list the used packages? To save myself the time for a emerge -e world.

One possibility might be to set up a barebones VM, and see what the test-suite wants to install. How about that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have problems with graphite:

If I tryed to compile a program "at hand" I have this error:

/bin/sh -ec 'g++ -MM -MT "main.o main.d" -O2 -Wextra -march=core2 -pipe -pedantic -floop-interchange -floop-strip-mine -floop-block main.cc > main.d; \
[ -s main.d ] || rm -f main.d'
cc1plus: error: unrecognized command line option "-floop-interchange"
cc1plus: error: unrecognized command line option "-floop-strip-mine"
cc1plus: error: unrecognized command line option "-floop-block"
cc1plus: error: unrecognized command line option "-floop-interchange"
cc1plus: error: unrecognized command line option "-floop-strip-mine"
cc1plus: error: unrecognized command line option "-floop-block"

On the other hand, using this as CFLAGS in /etc/make.conf

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=core2 -pipe"
CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -floop-interchange -floop-strip-mine -floop-block -Wextra -pedantic"

seems that progrmas compile fine... any idea?

PS: I'm using the ebuild that someone put in the previous page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justinkb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

clearly, you need to do gcc-config to select the 4.4.0 compiler as your default... then env-update && source /etc/profile.

it's using your old (still installed) gcc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did... gcc-config but not sure about the rest :oops:

now, seems to work

thanks!!!!

EDIT: Wel, I have a a benchmark resulto on a hpc program I develop.

Using gcc-4.3.3 I have a mean (over 100 runs) of 2.15 seconds
Using gcc-4.4.0 (grafite enable) I have a mean (over 100 runs) of 1.4655 seconds

It's a 47% faster O_O !!!!!!!!!

Note that this program is highly parelizable, so the impact of graphite in a stander system should be less impresive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's still an extreme improvement... I'm surprised it performs that well even under good conditions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justinkb
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2008
Posts: 160

PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should compile with 4.4.0 without the graphite flags, maybe the speedup is because of the IRA (another improvement in the 4.4 branch).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ComaWhite
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2008
Posts: 125

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

where is the non-svn and non-snapshot ebuild at :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3250
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just saw that gcc-4.4.0 is Officially released! :D http://gcc.gnu.org/ml/gcc/2009-04/msg00590.html

If anyone here is trying it out, please post experiences, or maybe start a new thread for the Official 4.4.0?

Is this overlay going to continue as before?
Is there an ETA for 4.4.0 in portage?

I'm thinking of trying it on a fresh install partition, after hearing a little feedback perhaps from those who have been running this overlay and have moved to the new release (or are contemplating doing so). I'm currently running several ~x86 and ~amd64 Gentoo kde-svn installs, with gcc-4.3.3, so I wouldn't mind giving 4.4.0 a try on amd64.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r5, gcc-9.2.0 kernel-5.2.10-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki123
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 249

PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well not all good news.

qmpdclient has problems with the tree view, I cannot use konqueror because it crashed when display any single webpage.

EDIT:

The problem with konqueror is caused by the java-script plugin or whatever be. If I disable it works, actualy.

EDIT2:

More benchmark results with the same program:

gcc-4.4 With graphite: 1.4804 (1.7% improvement over 4.3)
gcc-4.4 Without graphite: 1.4538 (1.8% improvement over 4.3)
gcc-4.3: 1.4804

Suppose that this is the normal behaviour (my program is higgly parallelizable but don't have lots of nested loops)

The previous results was due to I used a debug version compiled for profiling :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cruzki123 wrote:
The problem with konqueror is caused by the java-script plugin or whatever be. If I disable it works, actualy.


Compiling kdelibs with -fno-strict-aliasing should be a good workaround to that java-script issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

charlie wrote:
cruzki123 wrote:
The problem with konqueror is caused by the java-script plugin or whatever be. If I disable it works, actualy.


Compiling kdelibs with -fno-strict-aliasing should be a good workaround to that java-script issue.


++

keep in mind that several apps are still pretty fragile and crash regularly (it got better with every release 4.0 > 4.1 > 4.2 > ...)

hopefully 4.3 stabalized most or all apps that they will crash only on rate occasions
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ultimA
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haven't been using gcc 4.4.0 since long, but my system seems stable for now. qt 4.4.2 didn't compile, but qt 4.5.0 worked fine. x11-drm-20090320 is instable with the -floop* flags enabled and causes a kernel panic when starting xserver. Without the -floop* flags, it's ok. (boy it took some time to figure that out, originally i assumed it was a problem with the mach64 driver).

all in all, the transition from 4.3.x to 4.4.x seems to be much smoother than it was to 4.3.x.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 8 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum