Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VMWare Workstation 6.5.0 - vmware-config.pl missing?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
the_enigma
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 210
Location: Brisbane, Aus

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:10 am    Post subject: VMWare Workstation 6.5.0 - vmware-config.pl missing? Reply with quote

I'm trying to get vmware working on one of my desktops, and I'm trying to use the evaluation version of vmware.
Once it's emerged, I run'emerge --config vmware-workstation'
Code:
enigmas enigma # emerge --config vmware-workstation


Configuring pkg...

Network settings database seems to be invalid,configuring default settings
Configuring Bridged network vmnet0
Configuring hostonly network vmnet1, probing for unused subnet ...
Configuring NAT network vmnet8, probing for unused subnet ...
Configured default networks - Bridged, Hostonly, NAT


So, that looks fine. I start vmware workstation, and I get the following displayed in the console when trying to start a virtual machine:
Code:
VMware Workstation Error:
VMware Workstation is installed, but it has not been (correctly) configured for your running kernel. To (re-)configure it, your system administrator must find and run "vmware-config.pl". For more information, please see the VMware Workstation documentation.

And then the following pops up in a dialog box
Code:
Unable to change virtual machine power state: VMware Workstation cannot connect to the virtual machine. Make sure you have rights to run the program and to access all directories it uses and rights to access all directories for temporary files..


I remember vmware-config.pl from previous versions. So I go into /opt/vmware/workstation/bin/ but
Code:
enigmas bin # pwd
/opt/vmware/workstation/bin
enigmas bin # ls vmware-config.pl
ls: cannot access vmware-config.pl: No such file or directory

What more,
Code:
enigmas vmware # pwd
/opt/vmware
enigmas vmware # find . -name vmware-config.pl
enigmas vmware #


Is vmware-config.pl meant to be there, but somehow missing? Or have I missed something else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SHINODATT
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has been removed.


That being said, I'm having the exact same problem as you and have, thus far, not been able to rectify it.
_________________
Board: Maximus Formula, Rampage conversion, BIOS 308
CPU: Q6600 G0 @ 3.47Ghz (385x9), CM Hyper 212 Cooler
RAM: 4x 2GB Kingston 667 @ 771Mhz, 2V
Video: ASUS GeForce 8800GTS 512MB
OS: Gentoo 2.6.29 x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
radio_flyer
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Nov 2004
Posts: 260
Location: Northern California

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

<rant>
I paid $300 some-odd dollars for VMWare Workstation Express 2.0 years ago, and have been spending $99 ever since to keep upgrading. Installing Express was a breeze, but I swear, every upgrade to VMWare since has been just an ever-increasing hassle. I wrote and complained about it to VMWare, but I doubt they care about my measly upgrade dollars. I pay the bucks for VariCAD and Eagle licenses too, and they're not officially 'supported' on Gentoo, but work fine with few issues. Why must VMWare be such a PITA?
</rant>

Anyway, once 6.5 hit the portage tree this is what I also had to do to get it to run on my x86 system:
(incredible effort on the part of the ebuild maintainer to get that pig of a bundle working BTW. Congrats, and thanks!)


  • Enable User-Mode FS in the kernel (File Systems --> <M> Filesystem in Userspace support) (yeah I'm running vanilla kernel...)
  • Add 'fuse' to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
  • 'emerge -uDv sys-fs/fuse' to get libfuse
  • Add the following lines to /etc/portage/package.use:
    # Needed for VMWare
    dev-cpp/gtkmm accessibility
    dev-lang/python sqlite
  • Add the following lines to /etc/portage/package.keywords (until 6.5 becomes stable):
    # VMWare 6.5
    app-emulation/vmware-workstation
    app-emulation/vmware-modules
    dev-cpp/libsexymm
    x11-libs/libview
  • 'emerge -uDpv --newuse world'
  • 'emerge -1v libview' again because of a dependency issue with the gtkmm
    accessibility flag (do this if you get a 'symbol not found' error)
  • 'emerge --config vmware-workstation' to set up networking
  • 'emerge -uDv gksu' to allow Virtual Network Editor to run
  • remove the file '/etc/vmware/not_configured'


That last step was needed to get past the "can't change power state: not properly configured" error mentioned in the earlier posts.

You may need more, or fewer, of these steps depending on arch, config, use flags settings, etc. etc. At least I hope you might find a few pointers in the list above. Good luck!

Addendum: there's also still an outstanding bug (in 6.5-118166 at least). File->New->Virtual Machine crashes every time. To fix this, vmware must be run from the command line using it's own copy of the GTK library:
'VMWARE_USE_SHIPPED_GTK=yes vmware'

So far I've only needed to do this for those few times when I'm creating a new virtual machine. I haven't experienced this crash on any other menus (yet).


Last edited by radio_flyer on Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SHINODATT
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, should have posted back that I got it figured out, posted about it in another thread.

-Chris
_________________
Board: Maximus Formula, Rampage conversion, BIOS 308
CPU: Q6600 G0 @ 3.47Ghz (385x9), CM Hyper 212 Cooler
RAM: 4x 2GB Kingston 667 @ 771Mhz, 2V
Video: ASUS GeForce 8800GTS 512MB
OS: Gentoo 2.6.29 x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SHINODATT
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What worked for me:

1. emerge --unmerge vmware-modules vmware-workstation
2. cd /etc
3. rm -r vmware
4. cd /var/run
5. rm -r vmware
6. emerge sys-fs/fuse
7. emerge -uvaD vmware-workstation
8. emerge --config vmware-workstation


Running revdep-rebuild showed me that VMware wanted fuse, but it wasn't pulled in..... Odd.
_________________
Board: Maximus Formula, Rampage conversion, BIOS 308
CPU: Q6600 G0 @ 3.47Ghz (385x9), CM Hyper 212 Cooler
RAM: 4x 2GB Kingston 667 @ 771Mhz, 2V
Video: ASUS GeForce 8800GTS 512MB
OS: Gentoo 2.6.29 x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hamletmun
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 111
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 12:23 pm    Post subject: "Step by Step" AND "Every Step"!!! Reply with quote

Thank you very much, radio_flyer
I was fighting with VMware for two days.

Everything worked except that I couldn't power on the virtual machine
After hours of works, I realize that I missed one step!!!

remove the file '/etc/vmware/not_configured'

"Step by Step" AND "Every Step"!!!

Thank you again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum