Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eee-control (EeePC management tool)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 12:29 pm    Post subject: eee-control (EeePC management tool) Reply with quote

Eee-control is a daemon and systray tool to manage certain functions of an EeePC.

I have created an ebuild for this software, and I'm trying to keep up with the rapid development by trying new versions and creating up-to-date ebuilds.

Here's the ebuild along with some documentation to get everything running smoothly:
http://www.zirona.com/misc/code/eee-control/


And please share your experience with us! Please answer the following questions:
- What model of an EeePC are you running?
- What's your desktop environment?
- Did the ebuild install cleanly? Are there dependencies missing?
- Does eee-control work perfectly for you? If not, what problems did you encounter?

If we gather enough feedback and get it running cleanly on Gentoo, we might propose this ebuild to be included in Portage.
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk


Last edited by lxg on Wed Nov 19, 2008 9:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try out your kernel config and ebuild and report back. Thanks!
_________________
AMD 1090T | 2 GB | AMD 890GX | Gentoo x86_64
Core i7-920 | 6 GB | AMD 5850 | Windows 7 Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
greg_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Nov 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just released a new version with improved support for the Celeron-based models (701/900).
http://greg.geekmind.org/eee-control/#news

FYI, I linked to your ebuild's site, I hope that is okay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The kernel config seems to work okay. I had to add some things specific to my install (LVM, ext4dev). I haven't tested the camera yet. I can't seem to get acpid to start, so I can't test eee-control yet:

Code:
invidia linux # /etc/init.d/acpid start
acpid                   | * Starting acpid ...
acpid                   |acpid: can't open /proc/acpi/event: Device or resource busy
acpid                   | * start-stop-daemon: failed to start `/usr/sbin [ !! ]
acpid                   | * ERROR: acpid failed to start


I don't know if this is related to the kernel config or something else.
_________________
AMD 1090T | 2 GB | AMD 890GX | Gentoo x86_64
Core i7-920 | 6 GB | AMD 5850 | Windows 7 Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlashBeast
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2843

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ericxx2005 wrote:
The kernel config seems to work okay. I had to add some things specific to my install (LVM, ext4dev). I haven't tested the camera yet. I can't seem to get acpid to start, so I can't test eee-control yet:

Code:
invidia linux # /etc/init.d/acpid start
acpid                   | * Starting acpid ...
acpid                   |acpid: can't open /proc/acpi/event: Device or resource busy
acpid                   | * start-stop-daemon: failed to start `/usr/sbin [ !! ]
acpid                   | * ERROR: acpid failed to start


I don't know if this is related to the kernel config or something else.


Start hal deamon AFTER acpid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greg, thanks for the info. I'll install and test it later today, then update the ebuild. (edit: done, we're now on version 0.8.2)

Thank you for linking to my little "eee-control on Gentoo" page.
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SlashBeast wrote:
ericxx2005 wrote:
The kernel config seems to work okay. I had to add some things specific to my install (LVM, ext4dev). I haven't tested the camera yet. I can't seem to get acpid to start, so I can't test eee-control yet:

Code:
invidia linux # /etc/init.d/acpid start
acpid                   | * Starting acpid ...
acpid                   |acpid: can't open /proc/acpi/event: Device or resource busy
acpid                   | * start-stop-daemon: failed to start `/usr/sbin [ !! ]
acpid                   | * ERROR: acpid failed to start


I don't know if this is related to the kernel config or something else.


Start hal deamon AFTER acpid.


Thanks, that did the trick. I have created a script (probably looks awful to progammers, but I'm not very good at this) that will switch displays using the fn+f7 keys under eee-control:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

if xrandr -q | grep "VGA connected 1"; then
   `xrandr --output LVDS --auto`
   `xrandr --output VGA --off`
else
   `xrandr --output VGA --auto`
   `xrandr --output LVDS --off`
fi



This script assumes your displays are called "VGA" and "LVDS" (check xrandr -q to see what they are called), and also assumes you external display has a resolution that starts with '1', for instance, my external resolution is 1680x1050
_________________
AMD 1090T | 2 GB | AMD 890GX | Gentoo x86_64
Core i7-920 | 6 GB | AMD 5850 | Windows 7 Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlashBeast
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2843

PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont get it, If VGA is connected you switching off the VGA and use LVDS? Else when VGA is not connected you traying to turn on VGA and switching off LVDS?

It should be something like that
Code:
#!/bin/bash

if xrandr -q | grep "VGA connected"; then
   `xrandr --output LVDS --off`
   `xrandr --output VGA --auto`
else
   `xrandr --output VGA --off`
   `xrandr --output LVDS --auto`
fi


Sorry about my english.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gentfan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2008 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Asus EEE PC 900 (only one 16 GB SSD)
Tested with kernel gentoo-sources-2.6.27-r1 and 2.6.27-r4 with developer config

AsusEEE900 linux # /etc/init.d/eee-control start
* Starting eee-control daemon ...
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/eee-control-daemon", line 23, in <module>
import dbus
File "//usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/dbus/__init__.py", line 79, in <module>
import dbus.types as types
File "//usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/dbus/types.py", line 6, in <module>
from _dbus_bindings import ObjectPath, ByteArray, Signature, Byte,\
ImportError: /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/_dbus_bindings.so: undefined symbol: PyGILState_Release

Please, help...


/var/log/dmesg:
.............
i2c /dev entries driver
i801_smbus 0000:00:1f.3: PCI INT B -> Link[LNKD] -> GSI 7 (level, low) -> IRQ 7
ACPI: I/O resource 0000:00:1f.3 [0x400-0x41f] conflicts with ACPI region SMRG [0x400-0x40f]
ACPI: Device needs an ACPI driver
...........................
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SlashBeast wrote:
I dont get it, If VGA is connected you switching off the VGA and use LVDS? Else when VGA is not connected you traying to turn on VGA and switching off LVDS?

It should be something like that
Code:
#!/bin/bash

if xrandr -q | grep "VGA connected"; then
   `xrandr --output LVDS --off`
   `xrandr --output VGA --auto`
else
   `xrandr --output VGA --off`
   `xrandr --output LVDS --auto`
fi


Sorry about my english.



The idea is if the VGA is connected AND enabled, there would be no reason for me to press fn+f7 UNLESS I want to turn the external monitor off. If the VGA is off, there would be no reason for me to press the fn+f7 unless I want to turn the external monitor on. Does that make sense?
_________________
AMD 1090T | 2 GB | AMD 890GX | Gentoo x86_64
Core i7-920 | 6 GB | AMD 5850 | Windows 7 Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XrateR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This looks very interesting but I have one litle question
that may be stupid. But can you do like your "guide" say
lxg, with the overlay then you also have layman? Can you
have both side by side?

\\ xrater
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(Sorry for the late reply; the auto-notification feature somehow didn't work.)

As far as I know, and as is set up on my machine, you can use layman at the same time as your manually maintained repo. I don't know if it is supported or endorsed by Gentoo, but it works. On my main machine, I have /usr/local/portage as my manually maintained repo, and layman resides in /usr/local/portage/layman. I must however admit that I didn't install any packages via layman for some time, simply because I don't really need it (just played around with it when all the Compiz stuff came up.)

I would say, unless you encounter errors or a Gentoo dev says it's bad, you can safely set it up the way I described it.
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mbar
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Jan 2005
Posts: 1979
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the ebuild, I'm going to get eee 901 this week :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ericxx2005
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Apr 2005
Posts: 231
Location: 10 square miles surrounded by reality

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lxg wrote:
(Sorry for the late reply; the auto-notification feature somehow didn't work.)

As far as I know, and as is set up on my machine, you can use layman at the same time as your manually maintained repo. I don't know if it is supported or endorsed by Gentoo, but it works. On my main machine, I have /usr/local/portage as my manually maintained repo, and layman resides in /usr/local/portage/layman. I must however admit that I didn't install any packages via layman for some time, simply because I don't really need it (just played around with it when all the Compiz stuff came up.)

I would say, unless you encounter errors or a Gentoo dev says it's bad, you can safely set it up the way I described it.


I believe this is fine. I've been doing it for a couple of years without problems anyways. Also, layman creates it's own make.conf which can contain several different overlays in itself.
_________________
AMD 1090T | 2 GB | AMD 890GX | Gentoo x86_64
Core i7-920 | 6 GB | AMD 5850 | Windows 7 Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
massimo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 1226

PostPosted: Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installed on my 701 4G and it's working without any problems (ethernet, wlan, camera, F-keys except for volume). Kernel: 2.6.28-rc7 + patches from zen-sources, XFCE4. Next I will try to get sleeping/hibernating/resuming working too.
_________________
Hello 911? How are you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
himpierre
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 863
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 12:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the ebuild and the scripts. On my eee 1000h the Performance Settings doesn't work. The rest seem to work although the cpu fan never shuts down completely. Had installed Ubuntu first and with that installation the fan shuts down if i remember correct.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XrateR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

himpierre wrote:
Thanks for the ebuild and the scripts. On my eee 1000h the Performance Settings doesn't work. The rest seem to work although the cpu fan never shuts down completely. Had installed Ubuntu first and with that installation the fan shuts down if i remember correct.

IT's the same for me, all works besides the Performance Settings.
I have not tested the bluetooth yet, but I can activate it.
(oh, and I also have a 1000H)

\\ xrater
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmiphay
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Dublin, Ireland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 12:25 pm    Post subject: Re: eee-control (EeePC management tool) Reply with quote

Many thanks for the ebuild - it would be great to see this in portage.
lxg wrote:
- What model of an EeePC are you running?
- What's your desktop environment?
901 and KDE
lxg wrote:
- Did the ebuild install cleanly? Are there dependencies missing?
- Does eee-control work perfectly for you? If not, what problems did you encounter?
Saw this old problem:
Code:
$ eee-control-tray
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/eee-control-tray", line 21, in <module>
    EeeControl.tray.EeeControlTray()
  File "usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/EeeControl/tray.py", line 60, in __init__
  File "usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/EeeControl/tray.py", line 281, in register_notifications
AttributeError: 'pynotify.Notification' object has no attribute 'attach_to_status_icon'
Which unmasking the r1 of notify-python avoided:
Code:
# eee-control
=dev-python/notify-python-0.1.1-r1 ~x86
sys-apps/eee-control ~x86
Currently fiddling with bluetooth (2.6.28-gentoo and a bluetooth mouse) which used to cause hangs on suspend, and would be curious to hear from anyone who has had success in that area.

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigmauler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 177
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what are the specifics of the kernel config?
Like if I started the config for 2.6.28 with all defaults.


How do you get the eee_pc options to show up in the misc devices menu?
I have a Eee 1000
_________________
Never take raisins from a rabbit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XrateR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigmauler wrote:
what are the specifics of the kernel config?
Like if I started the config for 2.6.28 with all defaults.


How do you get the eee_pc options to show up in the misc devices menu?
I have a Eee 1000

Hello bigmauler,
I have also ask about this and if you start the menu config hand hit the " / " button
and search for eeepc. You will get which dependencies eeepc-control has.
After that you just enable the dependencies and the eeepc-control will appear.
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flyrok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Dec 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the ebuild. It installed without problems.

Here's my setup:
EEE 1000 with gentoo-sources-2.6.28. The main desktop environment is Xfce4, and I include gnome-power-manager, networkmanager (nm-applet), and gnome-bluez (bluetooth-applet). I occasionally switch on compiz-fusion with the emerald desktop, although I have problems resuming from a suspend with compiz running.

Here's some notes:
All functions keys work except for volume (Fn-F10:F12).
The smart fan control works great. Makes the fan real quiet.
The Performance setting also works, but I get occasional kernel clock tic errors if I set to 'high' or 'super'.
All the eee-control-tray toggles work, BUT ...
1) The bluetooth on/off doesn't seem to do anything. l2ping can always ping my phone no matter the toggle setting.
2) Switching the WiFi off kills the card until a reboot. If I try to toggle back on the kernel can't seem to re-initialize the card correctly. I get errors like:
. . .
Dec 30 01:50:47 myeee kernel: ERROR!!! BBP read R0=0xffffffff fail
Dec 30 01:50:47 myeee kernel: ERROR!!! NICInitializeAdapter failed, Status[=0x00000001]
Dec 30 01:50:47 myeee kernel: ERROR!!! H2M_MAILBOX still hold by MCU. command fail
Dec 30 01:50:47 myeee kernel: !!! RT2860 Initialized fail !!!

I've seen comments elsewhere that suggest pciehp might be the culprit--but what do i know. I tried setting kernel parms pciehp_force=1 and pciehp_poll_time=1, which didn't help.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi everybody,

sorry for the late reply... but either the auto-notify feature of this forum doesn't work, or the notifications where caught by my spam filter!

I'll update the ebuild to eee-control 0.8.3 later today and then have a look at your specific problems.

edit: Sorry, the new version will take some more time. Currently I'm fighting with an update that borked my X.
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7550
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rt2860 driver is not yet in the kernel.
putting it in rt2x00 seems to be hung up
there is driver source code at the ralink site
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lxg
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 1019
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news, the ebuild has been updated to eee-control 0.8.3 which has a couple of bug fixes and improvements.

Now for the comments ...

Gentfan wrote:
ImportError: /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages/_dbus_bindings.so: undefined symbol: PyGILState_Release


Hm, could it be that there is something out of date, e.g. dev-python/dbus-python? Please try updating all related packages (python, dbus, dbus-python). Or maybe you should set the ~x86 keyword for these packages (see below).

himpierre wrote:
Thanks for the ebuild and the scripts. On my eee 1000h the Performance Settings doesn't work. The rest seem to work although the cpu fan never shuts down completely. Had installed Ubuntu first and with that installation the fan shuts down if i remember correct.


Do you try with KDE or with Gnome? Do you have gnome-power-manager installed?

lmiphay wrote:
Code:
AttributeError: 'pynotify.Notification' object has no attribute 'attach_to_status_icon'
Which unmasking the r1 of notify-python avoided


Oh, I should have mentioned that I'm running on ~x86. Thanks for the hint on unmasking.

bigmauler wrote:
what are the specifics of the kernel config?
Like if I started the config for 2.6.28 with all defaults.


My kernel config is optimized for the 901, but should also largely be fine for the 1000H. There are only a few differences, e.g. I think that the 1000H is the model with a non-SSD harddisk, so you should select a different I/O scheduler than NOOP. If you have a newer kernel than my config, you can save it as .config and run make oldconfig to be queried only on the added/changed settings. I'll post my .config for 2.6.28-gentoo in a couple of days, when I've done some more testing myself.[/i]

flyrok wrote:
All functions keys work except for volume (Fn-F10:F12).

All the eee-control-tray toggles work, BUT ...
1) The bluetooth on/off doesn't seem to do anything. l2ping can always ping my phone no matter the toggle setting.
2) Switching the WiFi off kills the card until a reboot. If I try to toggle back on the kernel can't seem to re-initialize the card correctly.


The volume doesn't work here either. But it's only about finding an application that is able to increase/decrease the volume on the comment line. So if anybody has an idea...

As for bluetooth, eee-control apparently uses a file in the /sys/ filesystem that is specific to a certain Ubuntu kernel (cf. https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=246401). Hence it doesn't work in Gentoo. I'm still looking for an equivalent which the right interface in /sys/ and which is forward compatible. I'm not too familiar with the /sys/ and kernel stuff, so I'm looking for ideas here, too.

DONAHUE wrote:
rt2860 driver is not yet in the kernel.
putting it in rt2x00 seems to be hung up
there is driver source code at the ralink site


Yes, it's a bit unfortunate, but it's not too hard to compile the driver, following the instructions in that package.

The good news is that the driver for rt2860 is in the git kernel which is also delivered by Gentoo. (It's currently in the new "Staging" tree, but I've read at another place that it mostly works.)
_________________
lxg.de – codebits and tech talk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The volume doesn't work here either. But it's only about finding an application that is able to increase/decrease the volume on the comment line. So if anybody has an idea...


i guess you are talking about the "command line" here. If that´s the case have you looked to amixer ?

Quote:
The good news is that the driver for rt2860 is in the git kernel which is also delivered by Gentoo. (It's currently in the new "Staging" tree, but I've read at another place that it mostly works.)


cool, thanks, didn´t know that.

Will have a 901 in short and will let you know my findings :-)

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 1 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum