Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eee-control (EeePC management tool)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sparkplug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Having some trouble with eee-control 0.9.4.

It shows up in my rc-status as crashed, but I can run it as a daemon in verbose mode just fine.
Also, when running my new kernel, some of the hot key mapping it normally handled (ie IT JUST WORKED) doesn't work anymore. Specifically the Fn+F1 Sleep key works (I think something else may be mapping it, in which case good for it), but the volume controls on Fn+(F10,F11,F12) don't.

I had to make some tweaks already. Apparently this newer version launched the tray on its own, which caused headaches with it already being in my .config/autostart.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcasillo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I too have eee-control showing up twice in my KDE4 system tray. I also have a desktop file at "~/.config/autostart/Eee Control.desktop". Where else is it being started from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sparkplug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gcasillo wrote:
I too have eee-control showing up twice in my KDE4 system tray. I also have a desktop file at "~/.config/autostart/Eee Control.desktop". Where else is it being started from?


The init.d script. Remove the autostart entry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcasillo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Makes sense. Fixed it for me. Thanks. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miriya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just installed Gentoo on my 1005HA. I'm very interested in getting eee-control to work, if possible. I haven't found a full listing of the supported models, though, so I'm not sure if the 1005HA is on the "approved" list.

Running eee-control-daemon -V gives me this output:

Code:
# eee-control-daemon -V
rfkill: testing /sys/class/rfkill/rfkill0
rfkill: found wifi
rfkill: testing /sys/class/rfkill/rfkill1
rfkill: found bluetooth
rfkill: testing /sys/class/rfkill/rfkill2
rfkill: found wifi
FSB control method not found or invalid, using dummy fallback
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/eee-control-daemon", line 124, in <module>
    eee_model = EeeControl.actions.EeeActions(bus, manu, model, acpi_base, brn_path, bt_path, wlan_path, hwkey_control)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/EeeControl/actions.py", line 170, in __init__
    self.brn_state = self.get_brightness() + 0x20
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/EeeControl/actions.py", line 326, in get_brightness
    brn = int(l.strip()) + 0x20
ValueError: invalid literal for int() with base 10: ''


Is there something I've failed to install?

Code:
# uname -a
Linux rydia 2.6.31-gentoo-r6 #6 SMP Fri Jan 22 23:39:46 EST 2010 i686 Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N280 @ 1.66GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux


Please let me know if there's anything I can do.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
himpierre
l33t
l33t


Joined: 31 Aug 2002
Posts: 863
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Take a look at /etc/eee-control.conf. There has to be something like "fsb-method". Try to set it to "direct-io" or so. Not at my eee right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miriya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Jan 26, 2010 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip. It looks like I had two problems. Most of those error messages were from eee-control looking in the wrong place for the brightness. This post fixed that part:
http://forum.eeeuser.com/viewtopic.php?pid=658731#p658731

The other problem is with the fsb. Setting fsb-method: direct-io fixed the error about not finding the FSB control method, but now I'm getting a new error message:

ERROR:dbus.service:Unable to guess signature for arguments ([],): <type 'exceptions.ValueError'>: Unable to guess signature from an empty list

I don't have anything 1005HA related under FSB presets in my eee-control.conf. Do I need to make an entry?

Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sparkplug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The entry in the arcon overlay is broken.
It's missing the contents of files/

Annoying since that means I'm unable to build 0.9.4

I wish I had known that BEFORE I cleaned my local overlay out to rebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miriya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had trouble with the ebuild, too. I downloaded these files:

http://www.zirona.com/misc/code/eee-control/eee-control-0.9.0-gentooinit
http://www.zirona.com/misc/code/eee-control/eee-control-0.9.0-dbus-plugdev.patch
http://www.zirona.com/misc/code/eee-control/eee-control1.9.0-actions.py.patch

I don't think I needed anything else, but I don't remember.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sparkplug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last link's broke.

Till then, let's deal with this problem:
rc-status reports the daemon always as having crashed. The FSB stepping works, and so do the device toggles except for the wifi. Running the daemon in verbose while trying the wifi toggle yields:
Code:
yggdrasil mute # eee-control-daemon -V
brightness state is 2d
starting automatic fan control
setting fan to 25
auto fan speed 26
connected to acpid
WARNING: Deprecated config file /etc/modprobe.conf, all config files belong into /etc/modprobe.d/.
WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/eee-control, it will be ignored in a future release.
FATAL: Module rt2860sta not found.


That module call is a little annoying, because I don't have an Ralink. My device is Atheros, and runs just fine using the ath5k driver.

Oh, I'm using baselayout 2 if that matters.

Edit:
Fixed the module line by tweaking the models.py ...which is annoying because I'll have to retweak after future builds. Rest of the problem still applies: Wifi doesn't toggle. Still get
Code:
WARNING: Deprecated config file /etc/modprobe.conf, all config files belong into /etc/modprobe.d/.
WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/eee-control, it will be ignored in a future release.

...when I try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miriya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about that last link. It should be:

http://www.zirona.com/misc/code/eee-control/eee-control-0.9.0-actions.py.patch

I'm not sure how I got it messed up.

As far as the /etc/modprobe.conf goes, I don't think I have one. I'm not using baselayout-2, but I thought all module related configurations when into specific conf files in /etc/modprobe.d/ anyway. I'm certainly not an expert, though. I can double-check what I have on my system when I go home and have access to the comp again. What does your modprobe.conf contain?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sparkplug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
### This file is automatically generated by update-modules
#
# Please do not edit this file directly. If you want to change or add
# anything please take a look at the files in /etc/modprobe.d and read
# the manpage for update-modules(8).
#
alias char-major-10-175 agpgart
alias char-major-10-200 tun
alias char-major-81-* bttv
alias char-major-108-* ppp_generic
alias /dev/ppp ppp_generic
alias tty-ldisc-3 ppp_async
alias tty-ldisc-14 ppp_synctty
alias ppp-compress-21 bsd_comp
alias ppp-compress-24 ppp_deflate
alias ppp-compress-26 ppp_deflate
alias loop-xfer-gen-0 loop_gen
alias loop-xfer-3 loop_fish2
alias loop-xfer-gen-10 loop_gen
alias cipher-2 des
alias cipher-3 fish2
alias cipher-4 blowfish
alias cipher-6 idea
alias cipher-7 serp6f
alias cipher-8 mars6
alias cipher-11 rc62
alias cipher-15 dfc2
alias cipher-16 rijndael
alias cipher-17 rc5
alias char-major-89-* i2c-dev
alias parport_lowlevel parport_pc
alias char-major-10-144 nvram
alias binfmt-0064 binfmt_aout
alias char-major-10-135 rtc

### update-modules: start processing /etc/modprobe.d/alsa
# Alsa kernel modules' configuration file.

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore

##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
## ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
## OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##

# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
## OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss

alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss

# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=1
### update-modules: end processing /etc/modprobe.d/alsa

### update-modules: start processing /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
# This file lists modules which will not be loaded by udev,
# not at coldplugging and not on hotplug events.

# Add your own entries to this file
# in the format "blacklist <name of module>"

# Some examples:
# evbug is a debug tool and should be loaded explicitly
blacklist evbug

# Autoloading eth1394 most of the time re-orders your network
# interfaces, and with buggy kernel 2.6.21, udev persistent-net
# is not able to rename these devices, so you get eth?_rename devices
# plus an exceeded 30sec boot timeout
blacklist eth1394

# You probably want this to not get the console beep loud on every tab :)
#blacklist pcspkr

# these drivers are very simple, the HID drivers are usually preferred
#blacklist usbmouse
#blacklist usbkbd

# Sometimes loading a framebuffer driver at boot gets the console black
#install pci:v*d*sv*sd*bc03sc*i* /bin/true

### update-modules: end processing /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

### update-modules: start processing /etc/modprobe.d/pnp-aliases
# /etc/modprobe.d/pnp-aliases
#
# These aliases are used by this udev-rule:
# SUBSYSTEM=="pnp", ENV{MODALIAS}!="?*", RUN+="/bin/sh -c '/sbin/modprobe -a $$(while read id; do echo pnp:d$$id; done < /sys$devpath/id)'"
#
# They should help to autoload drivers used by various pnp-devices
# (if not blacklisted somewhere else)
#
alias pnp:dPNP0510 irtty-sir
alias pnp:dPNP0511 irtty-sir
alias pnp:dPNP0700 floppy
alias pnp:dPNP0800 pcspkr
alias pnp:dPNP0b00 rtc
alias pnp:dPNP0303 atkbd
alias pnp:dPNP0f13 psmouse
alias pnp:dPNPb02f analog

### update-modules: end processing /etc/modprobe.d/pnp-aliases
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miriya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I definitely don't have an /etc/modprobe.conf. I have similar alias lines in a number of different files in /etc/modprobe.d instead. The files I've got are aliases.conf, alsa.conf, blacklist.conf, i386.conf, pnp-aliases.conf, and ppp.conf. I'm guessing that eee-config expects to see various .conf files in /etc/modprobe.d/. Perhaps you can convert over to that setup? I wouldn't expect baselayout-2 to require the /etc/modprobe.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arhenius
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 12:06 pm    Post subject: invalid atom: '>=i2c-tools-3.0.2[python]' Reply with quote

When I try to install it, it comes:

Code:
 
# ebuild /usr/local/portage/sys-apps/eee-control/$EBUILD manifest
Error(s) in metadata for 'sys-apps/eee-control-0.9.0':
  RDEPEND: gtk? ( dev-python/pygtk dev-python/gconf-python ) gnome? ( gnome-extra/gnome-power-manager ) xosd? ( x11-libs/xosd ) dev-python/pyalsaaudio dev-python/notify-python dev-python/dbus-python >=i2c-tools-3.0.2[python] kde? ( x11-themes/gtk-engines-qt ) >=app-admin/eselect-python-20091230 dev-lang/python
    invalid atom: '>=i2c-tools-3.0.2[python]'


And then, if I try to install it it comes:

Code:

# emerge -pv eee-control

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies |

!!! Invalid or corrupt dependency specification:

invalid atom: '>=i2c-tools-3.0.2[python]'

('ebuild', '/', 'sys-apps/eee-control-0.9.0', 'merge')

[u'dev-python/pygtk', u'dev-python/gconf-python', u'x11-libs/xosd', u'dev-python/pyalsaaudio', u'dev-python/notify-python', u'dev-python/dbus-python', u'>=i2c-tools-3.0.2[python]', u'>=app-admin/eselect-python-20091230', u'dev-lang/python']

This package can not be installed. Please notify the 'sys-apps/eee-
control-0.9.0' package maintainer about this problem.                         ... done!


Any hints?
_________________
Filipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miriya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where are you installing eee-control from? The version in the arcon layman overlay is up to version 0.9.4 which has the dependency for i2c-tools listed correctly. If for some reason you have to use version 0.9.0, check the ebuild file for the RDEPEND section and change the line from this:

>=i2c-tools-3.0.2[python]

to read this instead:

>=sys-apps/i2c-tools-3.0.2[python]

You may lose that change the next time you rsync, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arhenius
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was using the instructions on the eee-control website.

Today I tried the arcon overlay... But I think I'm not doing something... Here's what I've done after emerging layman and mercurial

Code:

# layman -a arcon
(everything went ok here..)

# layman -l
* arcon                     [Mercurial ] (https://arcon.googlecode.com/hg/     )

# emerge -pv eee-control

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!

emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "eee-control".


I think I should have written something in /etc/make.conf, but this is the first time I'm working with overlays, so I'm still learning my way around this subject. (I'm also having trouble getting udev and the webcam to work properly, but that will be dealt in another tropic...)

Thank you for your help.
_________________
Filipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miriya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do need a line in make.conf. This webpage http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/overlays/userguide.xml
tells you to do
Code:

echo "source /usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf" >> /etc/make.conf

however there was a note recently about how they've changed the location of the layman overlays for version 1.3.0 onward. My /etc/make.conf has this as its last line:
Code:

source /var/lib/layman/make.conf


I'd use
Code:
layman -d ALL

to remove the installed overlays, then make the corresponding change to your make.conf file with
Code:

echo "source /var/lib/layman/make.conf" >> /etc/make.conf

before reinstalling the overlays with
Code:
layman -a arcon

If you do it in that order, I'd expect portage to find eee-control in the extended tree.

Check to see which version of layman you're using. If it's >=1.3.0 make sure to use the "/var/lib" version in your make.conf.

I don't yet have eee-control working fully on my computer yet. I haven't had the time to check to see if it's been a udev issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rtomek
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 210
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does arcon not exist anymore? I can't sync up with it.

Code:
arcon # /usr/bin/hg pull -u "https://arcon.googlecode.com/hg/"
abort: There is no Mercurial repository here (.hg not found)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
miriya
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was just able to sync with it. I'm not sure why it isn't working for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arhenius
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to sync with acron and install eee-control, but I need to recompile de kernel:

Code:

darwin filipe # /etc/init.d/eee-control start
acpid
 * ERROR:  Some services needed are missing.  Run
 *         './eee-control broken' for a list of those
 *         services.  eee-control was not started.
darwin filipe # /etc/init.d/eee-control broken
acpid


I'll do that in the weekend and come back with results.

Anyway, thanks for the guidance into layman.
_________________
Filipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Posts: 543
Location: Cracow, Poland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
- What model of an EeePC are you running?
- What's your desktop environment?
- Did the ebuild install cleanly? Are there dependencies missing?
- Does eee-control work perfectly for you? If not, what problems did you encounter?

    - 1000H
    - Xfce-4.6.1 with Compiz-0.8.4
    - clean
    - problems:
    * FSB control: she and i2c-dev don't work (i thing I have correct .config setup) I use direct-io
    * I have problem with correct .config for kernel
    * some minor issue with xfce (double xfce-panel cause disappearing of notification area and eee-control as well)


BTW: anybody successfully use 'she' for 1000H

EDIT*
kernel 2.6.32-r7
eee-control-0.9.4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
npc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:54 am    Post subject: 0.9.6 is out! Reply with quote

Hey guys, it seems greg has finally released some new code!

Quote:
010-05-23 Version 0.9.6
Hi, I'm still alive!
Version 0.9.6 contains various bugfixes plus support for newer DBus APIs and Linux kernels. The deb package is designed for Ubuntu Lucid. A few rough edges remain, but everything works fine for me.
What's new:
* Disabled hotkey-setup/hotkey handling - now handled correctly out of the box
* Use upstart instead of sysv init
* Switched to UDisks and UPower DBus APIs
* Cleaned up eee-control-setup
* Misc fixes
Ubuntu package: Lucid (10.04)
Get the source code from Git: git clone git://greg.geekmind.org/eee-control.git && cd eee-control && git checkout 0.9.6

PS: Version 0.9.5 was supposed to introduce compatibility for Ubuntu Karmic, but was never released.


There is no ebuild yet and no tarball at the regular address, so cloning the last ebuild won't help. the 9999 ebuild is also broken, some syntax flaw. Lately, after i've updated the kernel to 2.6.33 and some system stuff udev related, eee-control keeps crashing hard and taking my eeepc down a bit to often, it's really tough when i try to switch wifi on and off with fn+f2. I believe that new version of eee-control is exactly what is needed to avoid such crashes.

Also, would somebody point me out an "ebuild for dummies" kind of book/article/howto/wiki/doc/anything?

Bubye!
_________________
Tiburcio da Silva
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gcasillo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 739
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apologies if this has been answered here or elsewhere, but I can't seem to figure it out. By default, when my netbook powers up, eee-control starts (in KDE4) and both wifi and camera are enabled by default. Is there a setting somewhere that I can tweak to prevent the camera from starting? A config file perhaps?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xytovl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Mar 2009
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2010 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gcasillo wrote:
Apologies if this has been answered here or elsewhere, but I can't seem to figure it out. By default, when my netbook powers up, eee-control starts (in KDE4) and both wifi and camera are enabled by default. Is there a setting somewhere that I can tweak to prevent the camera from starting? A config file perhaps?


It is hardcoded in the eeepc-laptop kernel module, you can still comment the line where the webcam is started (something like eeepc_enable_camera) and recompile it. This is the way I do it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
npc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a 0.9.6 ebuild anywhere?
_________________
Tiburcio da Silva
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 5 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum