Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Ebuild] 64-bit Flash Plugin from Adobe.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stable.entropy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:02 pm    Post subject: [Ebuild] 64-bit Flash Plugin from Adobe. Reply with quote

Adobe Flash 10

Edit: Already in portage, I just didn't sync at the right time.
_________________
The Prophecies of Entropy


Last edited by stable.entropy on Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:21 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2528
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is already in portage (hard masked, though)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdw_hu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 200
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:
It is already in portage (hard masked, though)


Works finely, though ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2528
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pdw_hu wrote:
dmpogo wrote:
It is already in portage (hard masked, though)


Works finely, though ;)


Yee, I am in a process of finally getting rid of mozilla-firefox-bin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pdw_hu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 200
Location: Budapest, Hungary

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:

Yee, I am in a process of finally getting rid of mozilla-firefox-bin


nspluginwrapper worked perfectly for me also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 2528
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pdw_hu wrote:
dmpogo wrote:

Yee, I am in a process of finally getting rid of mozilla-firefox-bin


nspluginwrapper worked perfectly for me also.


I somehow never went nspluginwrapper route, had 32 bit firefox and flash.
Now they are gone !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1701
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL this works so much better then with nspluginwrapper :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epsilon72
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YESS! It's about damn time, adobe!!

So I guess we'll have to get rid of 32-bit flash and our firefox-bin's then? :P

Now one thing left....I'm looking at you, Sun....

edit: wait...one of the slashdotters was saying that 64-bit java is already possible? As in, not with blackdown, but with sun java?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
albright
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Nov 2003
Posts: 2542
Location: Near Toronto

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does not play well with konqueror, or is there
some trick to get it to work right?
_________________
.... there is nothing - absolutely nothing - half so much worth
doing as simply messing about with Linux ...
(apologies to Kenneth Graeme)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epsilon72
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

albright wrote:
does not play well with konqueror, or is there
some trick to get it to work right?

Doesn't play very well with konqueror here either (version 4.1.3, only works about 20% of the time)

It works pretty well with firefox, except that fullscreen videos don't work so well again...but they hadn't for so long a time that I'm used to it now...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5674
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

epsilon72 wrote:
YESS! It's about damn time, adobe!!

So I guess we'll have to get rid of 32-bit flash and our firefox-bin's then? :P

Now one thing left....I'm looking at you, Sun....

edit: wait...one of the slashdotters was saying that 64-bit java is already possible? As in, not with blackdown, but with sun java?


yes it is called icedtea6 its been opensource for months!!!
I have been running it on my system from teh moment it could compile with minimal hackage

add the java overlay and enjoy 64bit java :D
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epsilon72
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
epsilon72 wrote:
YESS! It's about damn time, adobe!!

So I guess we'll have to get rid of 32-bit flash and our firefox-bin's then? :P

Now one thing left....I'm looking at you, Sun....

edit: wait...one of the slashdotters was saying that 64-bit java is already possible? As in, not with blackdown, but with sun java?


yes it is called icedtea6 its been opensource for months!!!
I have been running it on my system from teh moment it could compile with minimal hackage

add the java overlay and enjoy 64bit java :D

Can you point me to a man page or webpage where one can learn how to add non-layman overlays? Thanks :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5674
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

epsilon72 wrote:
Naib wrote:
epsilon72 wrote:
YESS! It's about damn time, adobe!!

So I guess we'll have to get rid of 32-bit flash and our firefox-bin's then? :P

Now one thing left....I'm looking at you, Sun....

edit: wait...one of the slashdotters was saying that 64-bit java is already possible? As in, not with blackdown, but with sun java?


yes it is called icedtea6 its been opensource for months!!!
I have been running it on my system from teh moment it could compile with minimal hackage

add the java overlay and enjoy 64bit java :D

Can you point me to a man page or webpage where one can learn how to add non-layman overlays? Thanks :D


its in layman just type:

Code:

layman -a java-overlay

(you may need: java-gcj-overlay)

Then emerge icedtea6
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epsilon72
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naib wrote:
epsilon72 wrote:
Naib wrote:
epsilon72 wrote:
YESS! It's about damn time, adobe!!

So I guess we'll have to get rid of 32-bit flash and our firefox-bin's then? :P

Now one thing left....I'm looking at you, Sun....

edit: wait...one of the slashdotters was saying that 64-bit java is already possible? As in, not with blackdown, but with sun java?


yes it is called icedtea6 its been opensource for months!!!
I have been running it on my system from teh moment it could compile with minimal hackage

add the java overlay and enjoy 64bit java :D

Can you point me to a man page or webpage where one can learn how to add non-layman overlays? Thanks :D


its in layman just type:

Code:

layman -a java-overlay

(you may need: java-gcj-overlay)

Then emerge icedtea6

Wow, you're quick. :D I did manage to find it myself in the past few minutes, but thanks anyways ;)

edit: awww, gcc rebuild needed n_n;;
Looks like I've found something to do when I get home from work, heheh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loftwyr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 970
Location: 43°38'23.62"N 79°27'8.60"W

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can somebody call skype? They're the only 32bit program I have left.
_________________
My emerge --info
Have you run revdep-rebuild lately? It's in gentoolkit and it's worth a shot if things don't work well.
Celebrating 5 years of Gentoo-ing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

loftwyr wrote:
Can somebody call skype? They're the only 32bit program I have left.


O RLY?

acrobat reader 9 64bit NOW :!: ( :lol: )

I WANT Digital Editions for Linux NOW :!: (ok, ok enough shouting :P )

I'm very grateful they finally managed to create flash in 64bit

kudos to Adobe :)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 203
Location: /proc

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fullscreen`ed videos and controls lag... never had this with 32bit + nspluginwrapper
if this keeps up im going back to nspluginwrapper
_________________
i7 3930K @ 4GHz
MSI X79A-GD45 (8D)
32GB 1600 MHz DDR3 Samsung
Samsung 840 PRO, 2xSamsung HD502HJ in RAID 1
MSI GTX 980Ti
latest gentoo-sources on x86_64 Fluxbox (amd64)

best render farm: www.GarageFarm.NET
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5674
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cst wrote:
Fullscreen`ed videos and controls lag... never had this with 32bit + nspluginwrapper
if this keeps up im going back to nspluginwrapper


I already have, nice 1st stab (remember it is alpha) but DAMB"!!!!! it is buggy/laggy and has crashed/locked up FF EVERY time any vid/game flash content is visited. Only thing that works fine is bbc.co.uk flash clock
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
epsilon72
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 568

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^Works great for me so far, except that full screen video is still broken (but I'm used to it by now), in Firefox 3 and Opera. Konqueror is a different story though...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elgrande71
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Oct 2004
Posts: 131
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works flawlessly for me with Firefox 3 and icedtea6 nsplugin. :wink:
_________________
Asustek P5Q-PRO Core2Quad Q9550 - 4Gb DDRII1066
Gentoo Linux 10.0 amd64 - fs ext3 - 2.6.39-gentoo-r3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum