Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[UPDATE] Getting higher refresh rates using vesafb driver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 12, 13, 14  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lucida
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 20 Feb 2003
Posts: 191

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For radeon users:
Use radedit to modify the bios, set default refresh rate of corresponding resolution directly, flash it back to your video card. Boot with standard vesafb parameters(mine: vga=0x318 video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr).

No patch necessary at all, you might need MS-Windoz/Dos to do this though.


Last edited by lucida on Fri Sep 12, 2003 10:06 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lovechild
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 2858
Location: Århus, Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2003 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I threw this patch in my love-sources for those interested - who do I credit for it in the changelog btw?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.barbeau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

For radeon users:
Use radedit to modify the bios, set default refresh rate of corresponding resolution directly, flash it back to your video card. Boot with standard vesafb parameters(mine: vga=0x318 video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr).

No patch necessary at all, you might need MS-Windoz/Dos to do this though.


Is there such a way for Nvidia cards (GeForce4 Mx440)? I still cannot get more than 800x600 in the console, and at 60Hz. :evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hakan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 252
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works for me in 1024x768 with 111Hz, but I want to run 1280x1042@85. But when I do that (with 0x051B in my grub.conf) then I get the error message that this mode doesn't exist when I reboot.
_________________
-der kleine eine-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minimizebeefgoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 149
Location: MI, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

0x51B didn't work for me, either. 0x51A did, though. I had a similar issue with the normal 0x3** framebuffers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hakan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 252
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, tried 0x51A, my screen is black then but it is booting! With 0x31A (normal vesa fb) it works fine. 8O

I have a nVidia GeForce4 ti.
_________________
-der kleine eine-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krunk
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 316

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After two days of trying to get the patch to work with no luck. (and, yes, I used the script and used the settings from X as well as following all the useful advice in this thread) Without out a doubt the route of radedit is the least trouble of all if you have an ati card. I'm sure something similar exists for other cards as well. Took me only 5 minutes to dump my vid bios set 1280x1024 to 85Hz default and reboot.........wooot!

*edit* oh, if you want any specific info on my setup, etc. let me know. I'd be glad to send it to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joffer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Sep 2002
Posts: 585
Location: Arendal, Norway

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is my max bandwith? I got a Samtron 19" 96P. Specs: http://www.samtron.com/product/96p_spec.html

Is this correct?
Code:
Horizontal = 30-96KHz
Vertical = 50-160Hz
Max bandwith = 205MHz   (Pixel Frequency)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morsafr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 74
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ hakan

I have exactly the same problem :
-> works nicely in 1024x768 (119 Hz)
-> boot with a black screen in 1280x1024

I follow the guide with the xvidtune method (X running 1280x1024@85) but no go. By the way, I also have a GeForce4 Ti 4200.

Maybe it is hardware related ?

Any successful experience with this card ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morsafr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 74
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surprisingly, it is working now ! 8O

I recompiled my kernel to disable ACPI and enable APM instead. After reboot I chose my high-res line in grub just in case it would work... And behold ! It is working : 1280x1024@85Hz with a nice bootsplash and progress bar :D

I DO suggest to disable ACPI for people having troubles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hakan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 252
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2003 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm, ok, i am going to disable acpi and try again.
_________________
-der kleine eine-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hakan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 252
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@morsafr

I rebuild my kernel without acpi and still have a black screen when booting with the 0x51A option.

Do you changed anything elese in your kernel config?
_________________
-der kleine eine-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morsafr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 74
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ hakan

I changed few things according to my new system :

-> disable ACPI
-> enable APM as a module
-> enable APIC for single processor (not in the BIOS)
-> disable I2C
-> disable Video4Linux and sound module for TV
-> disable SCSI emulation and other SCSI stuff
-> disable ACM Modem

and remove my module folder just before compiling my new kernel and modules by typing :

Code:
make dep && make clean bzImage modules modules_install install


in grub I have the following options passed to the kernel :

Code:
video=ywrap,mtrr,vesa=1280x1024 vga=0x51A splash=silent


Give it a new try and let me know about the result :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hakan
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 252
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@morsafr

Ok, I need SCSI emulation because I want to burn some CD's ;-). So I will not change this (I build all scsi stuff as modules). I will try to build APM as module.

I have exactly the same grubs options.
_________________
-der kleine eine-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morsafr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 74
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ hakan

You've got a point I tried ATAPI burning but it gave me little success. :?
So I turned back to the good old SCSI IDE emulation... :)

I hope it will work for you this time ! :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2003 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
I think i need some help with this one.
I cant get over 60hz.

Bottsplash and framebuffer works allright. the only annoying thing is the 60hz.
Sources:

Code:

2.4.22-ck2


My hardware:

GFX:
Code:

CLABS Gforce 2GTS 32DDR



Monitor:
Code:

Sony MultiScan G420 19" - Trinitron


Specs:


Code:

Max resolution: 1920x1440@60hz
Recomended: 1280x1024@100hz
'the one i use' 1600x1200@85hz


Frequency:
Code:

Horizontal: 30 - 110 kHz
Vertical: 48 - 170 Hz


Output from xvidTune on 1280x1024@85hz:
dono how to get it to run over 85hz :( it supports up to 100hz on that freq
Code:

Num hsync: 1, Num vsync: 1
hsync range 0:  40.00 - 110.00
vsync range 0:  58.00 - 170.00

"1280x1024"   157.50   1280 1344 1504 1728   1024 1025 1028 1072 +hsync +vsync


vesafb_modes.h

Code:

# 1280x1024 @ 103.38Hz
        .word   1728, 1344, 1504
        .word   1072, 1025, 1028
        .byte   0
        .long   157500000
        .word   8662
        .space  40




Grub.conf

Code:

splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=Gentoo GNU/Linux 1.4
root=(hd0,0)
kernel /Gentoo-GNU1 root=/dev/hda3 video=ywrap,mtrr,vesa:1280x1024@100 vga=0x31A
initrd=/boot/initrd-1280x1024


Anyone can help me ?

Thx .
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
morsafr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jan 2003
Posts: 74
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ ikaro

Instead of your parameters :

Code:
video=ywrap,mtrr,vesa:1280x1024@100 vga=0x31A


Try to pass the following parameters to your kernel :

Code:
video=ywrap,mtrr,vesa=1280x1024 vga=0x51A


-> You don't need @100 as it is for radeonfb
-> Most important you must tell your kernel to you use high refresh rate vesafb with vga=0x51A instead of normal refresh rate with vga=0x31A

Tell me if it works ! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2003 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
Thank you. it works 1280x1024 @85 hz :)
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2003 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone running 1600x1200@(85hz) ?
how is with the vesa patch ? i only see up to 1280x1024 ..
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

/usr/src/linux/scripts/vesa_modeline_gen.pl

1) Maximal vertical refresh rate [Hz]
   [100]: 170
2) Maximal horizontal refresh rate [kHz]
   [70]: 110
3) Monitor's maximal bandwidth (aka pixel clock) [MHz]
   [100]: 350

Invalid bandwidth. Please enter a number from range 30 - 300.
New value: 300



my monitor can use 350MHz at 16bits, why does it say its invalid ?
then i could, prolly, use 1280x1024 @ 100Hz
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Neelix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2003 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm here to report I'm one happy camper as well with this new vesafb driver!

However, I used the xvidtune method to create a vesafb "modeline" and I think that they can't be matched one on one.

For one thing, the top line of my screen is a bit scrambled (like it's folded in on itself), which is not the case with my X configuration. And besides that, there's also the fact that the refresh rate is somehow different.

I'll try to look into this as wel when I have some time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cuchulainn
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2003 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flashing the video bios using radedit worked like a charm! Thanks for the tip!

Cheers, Cuchu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sburnett
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 79
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2003 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anybody have a copy of the patch? The site appears to be down and I am very eager to try this patch. If someone can either post it or email it, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 12:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.
There ya go:
http://ikaro.homepage.dk/vesa-patch/patch-2.4.x-vesafb-rrc.tar.gz

:P
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sburnett
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 79
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2003 2:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 5 of 14

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum