Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[UPDATE] Getting higher refresh rates using vesafb driver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 12, 13, 14  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hardcampa
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Oct 2002
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about making this patch compatible with the latest stable kernel 2.6.3 as of this writing (especially since the bootsplash patch now is out).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spock_
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Poland, Earth

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hardcampa wrote:
How about making this patch compatible with the latest stable kernel 2.6.3 as of this writing (especially since the bootsplash patch now is out).

The patch is as compatible with 2.6 kernels as it was with 2.4 :) Just download it and have your 2.6 sources patched. I had no problems with getting it to work with any of 2.6.{0,1,2,3}.
_________________
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ikaro
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Jul 2003
Posts: 2526
Location: Denmark

PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

indeed i had no problem with this patch but the bootsplash doesnt apply anymore.

I think the authors of the pathces should _REally_ send them upstream to include in the ****** kernels.

This happens too often that now it works, now it doesnt ...
the code they have in the kernel doesnt "work" anyways ...
who cares about a fat ugly pingvin in a 60hz console .?
we want 85hz and over and the screen looking nice.

:evil:
_________________
linux: #232767
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spock_
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Poland, Earth

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ikaro wrote:
indeed i had no problem with this patch but the bootsplash doesnt apply anymore.

I think the authors of the pathces should _REally_ send them upstream to include in the ****** kernels.

Well, not everything can be included in the main kernel tree. As for Bootsplash, what kernel version are we talking about? There should be no problems with any 2.6 kernel (development-sources or gentoo-dev-sources) with media-gfx/bootsplash-0.6-r8. If there are any issues, please file a bug a bugs.gentoo.org :)
_________________
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eGore911
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Mar 2003
Posts: 290

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right, Spock. Not everything should get into kernel. But this patch definitly should. But its not for me to decide. Just submit it to their list and see if it gets in. It's worth a try :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monolin
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2004 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

spock I visited your site recently and the patch name still has 2.4 in it. Why not change it into 2.4/2.6 as you did in your gentoo about me page?

Also, the modeline layout is different from that of vesa patch, I believe it is a good idea to make it compitable with XFree86Config-4 modeline so that people can just copy it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RealGeizt
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2003
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Thu Mar 04, 2004 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello there!

can somebody please set up my vesafb_modes.h?!

Code:
chris@cKy : 7 files 2.4Mb $ gtf 1400 1050 85

  # 1400x1050 @ 85.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 93.76 kHz; pclk: 179.26 MHz
  Modeline "1400x1050_85.00"  179.26  1400 1504 1656 1912  1050 1051 1054 1103 -HSync +Vsync


what vga=? should i use for this resolution whit 64k colors?!

is there anybody whit a bootsplash config for this resolution?!

thank you, christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
riis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you have this patch working and still have your bootsplash? My new bzImage contains no bootsplash. (and only works with 1024x768 and not in 1280x1024)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malketh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Apr 2003
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well to answer your question riis: Yes. I have it working on three machines right now with 2.6.1, 2.6.2, 2.6.3-rc2 kernels, and I'm right now compiling with 2.6.3-r1, but I expect it should work out fine. I haven't had any problems with bootsplash and higher than default refresh rates since the 2.4.20 days. :)

Also for the record, the machines in question contain a GF2 GTS, V3 3500, and a V3 3000. The GF2 is running at 1280x1024@85hz (if I remember right), and the V3s are running at 1024x768@105hz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am still unable to get anything higher than 60Hz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
riis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Aug 2003
Posts: 63
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

PostPosted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Malketh wrote:
Well to answer your question riis: Yes.....


In what order do you apply the patches then? I applied the bootsplash first and then then the vesafb patch. And the new bzImage doesn't seem to work with the bootsplash. At least it doesn't display any. What order did you do it in? And what are your grub-conf settings?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Icer
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2003
Posts: 395
Location: @home

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 10:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Affirmative Sir! It works! 1280x1024@85Hz

Here's my hw specs and what I did:
Graphics board: Leadtek Winfast Titanium 200 i.e Nvidia Geforce3Ti200
Monitor: Nokia 446Xpro
The monitor specs are: 30-107kHz vertical freq. 50-150Hz horiz. freq and <230MHz

I configured the vesafb_modes.h like this:

# 1280x1024 @ 85.00Hz
.word 1736, 1344, 1624
.word 1064, 1038, 1038
.byte 0
.long 157003840
.word 8500
.space 40

But I think that the critical change was in grub.conf:

kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/md/0 video=ywrap,mtrr,vesa=1280x1024 vga=0x51A splash=verbose

I changed vesafb to vesa and it seemed to do the trick.

ps. Anyone know why xvidtune wont work? It just says; Error: Can't open display:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sibov
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Feb 2004
Posts: 147
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:lol: :lol:

Nice Patch !!!!

My CRT Data:

H: 30-95
V: 50-160
P: 210

My Inputs:
H: 81
V: 130
P: 160

My Result: 1024x768 at 101Hz

THX for the great patch
:wink: :wink: :wink: :lol:
_________________
Gentoo 2.6.17-gentoo-r5 with dmraid Raid0 Dualboot
AMD64 X2 3800+, 4x512MB DDR PC3200Pro Corsair Geforce EN6600GT silencer @ 256MB
4x250GB SATAII Samsung SP120, Asus A8N Premium, Plextor PX712SA DVDRW
Logitech Dinovo, SB Audigy4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hazel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That truly is great job! Followed the README info to convert X Modelines to vesafb_modes.h and now I got a beautiful 1024x768 @ 89.04 console. Everything went without a glitch :)

However, in X I use 1152x864 and wanted to get the exact same configuration for the console (so I could switch X<->console without mode switching). I replaced the 1024x768 mode definition in vesafb_modes.h with this 1152x864 mode data, and after the reboot the console uses only a part of the screen (probably 1024x768 pixels of the 1152x864 screen). 0x517 and 0x518 give the same result.
From the previous posts, I understand someone managed to get a 1600x1200 console by replacing the 1280x1024 mode. Is that correct?
So what can I do to have my non-vesa-standard mode running? I'd be grateful for suggestions

I'll probably try replacing the 1280x1024 mode now, I wonder what I'll get? A console bigger than the screen size? Cool ;)

I'm using gentoo 2004.0 with gentoo-dev-sources (that's 2.6.3-gentoo-r1), GF4 Ti4200 and a Sony CPD-G200.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hazel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Bydgoszcz, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay so I tried replacing the 1280x1024 mode with my 1152x768 definition but no luck.
with vga=0x51b, it said I provided a wrong mode number,
with vga=0x51a the screen went all black with some tiny little white dots running on the left side of the screen :)

Anyway, I'm more than happy with the 1024x768 console.
But is there a sligthest chance to get these non-standard modes working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spock_
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Poland, Earth

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hazel wrote:
Anyway, I'm more than happy with the 1024x768 console.
But is there a sligthest chance to get these non-standard modes working?

There is - when the new version of the patch (which I'm currently working on) is released. I know I've been talking about it for quite a while, but it's finally reaching completion, so stay tuned ;)
_________________
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TecHunter
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Feb 2003
Posts: 124

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

how to check out which refresh rate i am using?
i type fbset, the output is
Code:
mode "1024x768-76"
    # D: 78.653 MHz, H: 59.949 kHz, V: 75.694 Hz
    geometry 1024 768 1024 768 32
    timings 12714 128 32 16 4 128 4
    rgba 8/16,8/8,8/0,8/24
endmode

the refresh rate in the output is the real one i am using?
_________________
Gentoo is GREAT!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Proton
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Mar 2003
Posts: 195
Location: Estoril, Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2004 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still can't get past 60Hz... -sigh-

My vesafb_modes.h:
Code:
# 1024x768 @ 85.00Hz
       .word   1376, 1072, 1168
       .word   808, 769, 772
       .byte   0
       .long   94500000
       .word   8500
       .space  40


My modeline in X:
Code:
"1024x768"     94.50   1024 1072 1168 1376    768  769  772  808


My kernel version: Love-sources 2.6.5-r3

My grub boot line:
Code:
kernel (hd0,0)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda3 vga=0x517 splash=silent

(I've tried some others as well, especially with video=vesa and such)

Can anyone help?
_________________
Sérgio @ Portugal
IST - LEIC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
akiral
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Mar 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Terrific ~! :lol:
My monitor is MAG 796FDII, and the CRT data :

V : 50.0 - 160.0
H : 30.0 - 96.0
W: 203

Now , I input

V : 150
H : 90
W: 185

at the last , the resolution 1280x1024--84.5Hz work very well~!

I use kernel-2.6.5 ~! :D Thanks anyway ~!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2004 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a problem with this patch, and I need some help.

First, I got an "execution error" due to a typo in the patch I downloaded today. The 2nd to last line where is has
Code:
`ln -s $path/arch/i386/boot/vesafb_modes.h $path/arch/x86_64/boot/vesagb_modes.h`

Needs a semi-colon at the end of it :)

Now, can someone help me with the editing of my vesafb_modes.h please ?

When in Gnome, I ran xvidtune, and got the following settings
HDisplay 1280
HSyncStart 1344
HSyncEnd 1504
HTotal 1728

VDisplay 1024
VSyncStart 1025
VSyncEnd 1028
VTotal 1072
Pixel Clock 157.50
Horiz Sync 91.14kHz
Vert Sync 85.02kHz
Flags (hex): 005

I didn't see any display for a +/- of either vsync or hsync ?

I want to keep my vesafb the same as Gnome, as I have the position just perfect :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yeoman
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 109
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The 2nd to last line where is has
Code:
`ln -s $path/arch/i386/boot/vesafb_modes.h $path/arch/x86_64/boot/vesagb_modes.h`

Needs a semi-colon at the end of it


same problem here, luckily easy to fix ....

Quote:
I want to keep my vesafb the same as Gnome, as I have the position just perfect


i also didn't manage to get the same settings for the framebuffer as in gnome. as a workaround, i choosed another resolution for the framebuffer so it won't touch my monitors settings with the resolution i use in gnome.

otherwise, if it's only the "+/- issue", why don't you just convert your xvidtune output as described in the patches readme. afaik there are only four possible settings for hsync/vsnc/+/-, so trial and error would lead to a quick solution ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ard Righ
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 337
Location: Wellington, NZ

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually have it working now. I wasn't sure why it didn't work the first time, but I regenerated the vesafb_modes.h, recompiled the kernel with the generated list, rebooted to the out-of-place vesafb to make sure the higher refresh rate worked, then went back to edit in my xvidtune settings, and voila it decided to work.

I think I may have edited too much the first time I tried it :oops:

In regards to the +/- sync modes, I just left the flags at "0" which according to the docs means vsync and hsync both on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skibbi
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Apr 2004
Posts: 202
Location: Rostock - Germany

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2004 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dosn't work with my Radeon 9800 Pro. Still 60Hz.
I think the Radeons are only VBE 2.0 like the 8000 series.

I'll try the video BIOS hack next. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Regor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Aug 2002
Posts: 545
Location: 39° 2' 48" N, 120° 59' 2" W

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been having fits with the 0x5 modes and the nvidia kernel drivers.

Normally I use 0x51A and get 86Hz out of my monitor, but if I use nvidia drivers >4496 the console is unusable. The monitor displays nothing and goes into power-save mode.

I'm currently using nvidia 5336 because the newer versions fix another problem I was having. But that means I have to back down to mode 0x31A and 60Hz refresh. :cry:

I figure it's really a fault with nvidia's driver and nothing anyone here can do, but I needed to vent my frustration.

EDIT:
Wouldn't you know that as soon as I started whining, I'd be proven a liar. It's all working fine now. I think it was because I was missing an option to my "video=" kernel parameter. :oops:
_________________
Sometimes the appropriate response to reality is to go insane.
-Philip K. Dick, Valis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EMac
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2004 12:35 pm    Post subject: error for gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.5-r1 Reply with quote

When I run

Code:
scripts/vesa_modeline_gen.pl


I got following messages:

Code:
syntax error at scripts/vesa_modeline_gen.pl line 152, near "print"
Execution of scripts/vesa_modeline_gen.pl aborted due to compilation errors.


Did anyone met it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 7, 8, 9 ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 8 of 14

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum