Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[UPDATE] Getting higher refresh rates using vesafb driver
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12, 13, 14  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Angrybob
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 575

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just compiled the gentoo-sources-r6 kernel with both patches but still only get 60Hz !! maybe the geforceFX 5900 doesnt support VBE 3 ?! please say it aint so!!!! :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LinuxDolt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 May 2003
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have no clue... i myself run the gss sources for my kernel...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neenee
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 1786

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i just wanted to add my short story of success with this
patch to this thread.

though it took me a while to find out what to include in
the kernel, i now have my 2.6.0test3-mm3 kernel with a
nice high-resolution console.

now i can think about adding a bootplash and some
other eyecandy.

*update* kernel 2.6.0test4-mm1 works fine too w/ this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrisyu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 206
Location: China

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2003 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any one make it work on an ATI card?
I have a 8500LE card, and also follow this document.

Kernel is 2.4.20-gentoo-r6 with bootsplash.
I set vga=0x51A (1280x1024) in grub.conf, bootsplash still works but stays at 60Hz.

vesafb_modes.h
Code:

# 1280x1024 @ 75.18Hz
        .word   1736, 1344, 1624
        .word   1064, 1038, 1038
        .byte   0
        .long   138880000
        .word   7518
        .space  40
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.barbeau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2003 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't make it work either with my GeForce4 MX440.

I wonder if this has to do with gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r6.
Anybody successful with that kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vidar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 239
Location: Washington, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2003 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some positive feedback. I applied it without a hitch. Works perfectly. My info:

2.6.0-test4-mm1
Geforce FX 5200
Nvidia Kernel 4496-r1
CTL 910TF Monitor (basically relabeled Samsung 955DF, iirc)
Running at 1024x768 @ 96Hz (it's probably 100Hz. my monitor is probably screwy at reporting it)


edit: Aparently I put the bandwidth in wrong. Now it really is 100Hz. Only thing is everything is shifted up just about one line so the top line is not visable. I suppose I can live with it, but is there anything I can do? My xvidtune output:
Code:
"1280x1024"   157.50   1280 1344 1504 1728   1024 1025 1028 1072 +hsync +vsync


and here's the relavent portion of the vesa_modes.h file
Code:
# 1024x768 @ 100Hz
        .word   1416, 1080, 1320
        .word   808, 782, 782
        .byte   0
        .long   114412800
        .word   10000
        .space  40

# 1280x1024 @ 89.28Hz
        .word   1736, 1344, 1624
        .word   1064, 1038, 1038
        .byte   0
        .long   164920000
        .word   8928
        .space  40


I'm trying to go 1024x768@100Hz, btw.
_________________
"Vidar, Odin's mighty son, he will come to slay the wolf
The sword runs into the heart of Hverdrungs son
So he avenges his father" -- Amon Amarth - Burning Creation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.barbeau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2003 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

edit: Aparently I put the bandwidth in wrong. Now it really is 100Hz. Only thing is everything is shifted up just about one line so the top line is not visable. I suppose I can live with it, but is there anything I can do? My xvidtune output:
Code:

"1280x1024"   157.50   1280 1344 1504 1728   1024 1025 1028 1072 +hsync +vsync


and here's the relavent portion of the vesa_modes.h file
Code:

# 1024x768 @ 100Hz
        .word   1416, 1080, 1320
        .word   808, 782, 782
        .byte   0
        .long   114412800
        .word   10000
        .space  40

# 1280x1024 @ 89.28Hz
        .word   1736, 1344, 1624
        .word   1064, 1038, 1038
        .byte   0
        .long   164920000
        .word   8928
        .space  40



I don't have the readme file with me, but i thought the format of vesa_modes.h was:

Code:

        .word   max, start, end
         ...
        .long   clock * 1000000
        .word   vert sync * 100
         ...


which would give you for 1280x1024:

Code:

# 1280x1024 @ 89.28Hz
        .word   1728, 1344, 1504
        .word   1072, 1025, 1028
        .byte   0
        .long   157500000
        .word   8928
        .space  40


or am I mistaken?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spock_
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Poland, Earth

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm.. I was away for a while and it seems we have quite a few problem to solve here. Let's deal with them in the chronological order :)

aLEczapKA: you could try doing it the xvidtune way, as explained in the README and earlier in this thread.

FileZilla: there probably will not be VBE 2.0 support. The thing is - only in VBE 3.0 there is a function that allows one to change the refresh rate. VBE 2.0 doesn't support this. It is of course possible to write some kind of extension (which would work like old DOS UNIVBE worked for VBE 1.2 cards). However, it would be necessary to write a special extension for all VBE 2.0 we would like to support. It seems to me that a more efficient solution would be writing special framebuffer drivers for all these cards (this way we could use some adapter-specific features that aren't accessible via the VESA interface).

tom.barberau: does 0x317 work for you? have you tried applying the second patch (the one that shows you VBE version)

AngryBob: the second patch shows VBE version only if it's lower than 3.0 (it will stop the bootup and you to press a key). No info is recorded in dmesg as all these refresh rate and video mode change operations in vesafb are performed before the kernel is actually loaded. If you tried the second patch, what was the result?

Ulukay: did you mean that you can't get higher than 60Hz when you said it didn't work? Have you tried the second patch?

chrisyu: most likely your ATI card is not VBE3.0 compliant. Check the second patch to be sure.

Vidar: you could use this:
Code:

# 1280x1024 @ 89.28Hz
        .word   1728, 1344, 1504
        .word   1072, 1025, 1028
        .byte   0
        .long   157500000
        .word   8502
        .space  40

_________________
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.barbeau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spock_,

I tried the second patch and it seems my card is VBE3.0 compatible (I have a GeForce4 Mx440). Included is the relevant dmesg section:

Code:

vesafb: framebuffer at 0xd0000000, mapped to 0xe080d000, size 937k
vesafb: mode is 800x600x16, linelength=1600, pages=2
vesafb: protected mode interface info at c000:f880
vesafb: pmi: set display start = c00cf8c5, set palette = c00cf94a
vesafb: pmi: ports = b4c3 b503 ba03 c003 c103 c403 c503 c603 c703 c803 c903 cc03 ce03 cf03 d003 d103 d203 d303 d403 d503 da03 ff03
vesafb: scrolling: redraw
vesafb: directcolor: size=0:5:6:5, shift=0:11:5:0
Looking for splash picture.... silenjpeg size 10586 bytes, found (800x600, 17995 bytes, v3).
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 93x31
fb0: VESA VGA frame buffer device


Currently, I have set it up at 800x600 16 bits, that's the best I can get, but still at 60Hz. Somehow, 1024x768 won't work, and it's the same when I used the Gentoo Live-CD, so it's not a new issue. I don't know why though. Maybe a video card bios or mobo bios setting or problem?

So I can boot at 800x600 no problem, get the splash screen, nice console, but at 60Hz :?

What do you think? My hardware is A7N8X athlon XP 1800Mhz, GeForce4 MX440, DELL 1025TM, and I use gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r6.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minimizebeefgoo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 24 Jul 2003
Posts: 149
Location: MI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It worked for me with 2.6.0-test4-mm1, but I had to manually put the results of xvidtune into the header file. My monitor didn't seem to like a weird refresh rate like 80.6 Hz (85 was fine).

The weird thing about this is that the specs I got off the web indicate that my monitor can't do 1280x1024 at 85 Hz. I don't know where my manual went :), but I do know that 1280x1024 at 85 Hz is one of the pre-programmed settings. Does anyone with a Viewsonic A90 know more about this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.barbeau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

spock_,

As for the question - which I didn't answer :oops:, I can't get 0x317, which is 1024x768. The best I can get is 0x314. But whether 0x314 or 0x514, I don't get more than 60Hz. My monitor can handle 1024x768 at 100MHz on windows, I can set at at that rate and it works, as displayed on the OSD of the monitor. On Linux, I can't get X to set that refresh rate, though. It seems that it's not a progammed setting of the monitor, or something like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angrybob
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 575

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

AngryBob: the second patch shows VBE version only if it's lower than 3.0 (it will stop the bootup and you to press a key). No info is recorded in dmesg as all these refresh rate and video mode change operations in vesafb are performed before the kernel is actually loaded. If you tried the second patch, what was the result?


well i've applied both patches and it doesnt stop during bootup, so i guess that means my card (GeforceFX5900 not ultra) does support VBE 3.0.


xvidtune -show gives this

Code:

"1280x1024"   157.50   1280 1344 1504 1728   1024 1025 1028 1072 +hsync +vsync


and I've edited the last one in my vesafb_modes.h file to be this (tried it with your script and that didnt work either)

Code:

# my mode
        .word   1736, 1344, 1624
        .word   1064, 1038, 1038
        .byte   0
        .long   157500000
        .word   8526
        .space  40


but i'm stuck in 60hz :(

another thing to note, in my lil.conf I'm using 0x51A, but if I try 0x519 lilo guves me a "that isnt a valid mode" prompt... same if i convert the numbers to decimal.

<rant>
I cant try grub since the grub-install script stopped working with sed version 4 and higher and the sed v3 ebuilds have disappeard. this has been b0rked for months! the bug is in the bug database but no one seems to want to fix it! ARGHRHRHR
</rant>

i've just tried tha latest cvs of grub which fixes the above issue, but still no luck :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spock_
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jun 2003
Posts: 84
Location: Poland, Earth

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tom.barbeau: most monitors should support any mode that is within their display capabilities (and 1024x768 certainly is if it works with Windows). I'm temporarily out of ideas here - your card seems to be VBE 3.0 compliant yet it looks like as if the function for changing refresh rate simply didn't exist. I guess you'll have to wait until the next version of the patch (a few weeks at most) which should bring a few more ways to test things in this case.

Angrybob: your situation seems to be the same as tom.barbeau's. So I'm sorry - but I can't help (yet). As for the grub-install, perhaps you should some info about it to gentoo-dev / try to talk with someone on IRC / use another way of attracting people's attention. The bug was fixed by grub devs some 6 months ago. It's high time someone fix it in Portage :)
_________________
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.barbeau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to make things clear - not sure my post was,

X works at 1024x768 with 16M colors at 85MHz but no more, although I can get 100MHz under Windows. But the framebuffer doesn't like more than 800x600 with 65K colors and only at 60Hz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rtwick
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2002
Posts: 138
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to say another happy user :)

2.4.22 ac-sources

DELL P991 monitor
PIII 600MHz
NVidia RIVA TNT2 32Mb

No problem installing the patch ... now running at 1280x1024@85Hz
_________________
-This Is A Signature
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angrybob
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 575

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rtwick wrote:
Just to say another happy user :)

2.4.22 ac-sources

DELL P991 monitor
PIII 600MHz
NVidia RIVA TNT2 32Mb

No problem installing the patch ... now running at 1280x1024@85Hz


You've got the same monitor as me, can you post the contents of your vesafb_modes.h file so i can check it against what I'm using
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rtwick
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Aug 2002
Posts: 138
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2003 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here's a link to the dell documentation on this monitor http://docs.us.dell.com/docs/monitors/p991/en/spec.htm
and here's my vesafb_modes.h file

Quote:

gentoo linux # cat ./arch/i386/boot/vesafb_modes.h
# The contents of this file were generated automatically.
# Please do not modify them, unless you are sure what you're doing.

# Format: HorizontalSyncTotal, HorizontalSyncStart, HorizontalSyncEnd
# VerticalSyncTotal, VerticalSyncStart, VerticalSyndEnd
# Flags (0 = hsync+, vsync+; 12 = hsync-, vsync-; 8 = hsync-, vsync+, 4 = hsync+, vsync-)
# Pixel Clock Rate (Hz)
# Vertical Refresh Rate (in units of 0.01 Hz)

#define VIDEO_VESAFB_CRTC_DATA

# 320x200 @ 85Hz
.word 456, 344, 424
.word 240, 214, 214
.byte 0
.long 9302400
.word 8500
.space 40

# 640x400 @ 85Hz
.word 904, 680, 840
.word 440, 414, 414
.byte 4
.long 33809600
.word 8500
.space 40

# 640x480 @ 85Hz
.word 904, 680, 840
.word 520, 494, 494
.byte 12
.long 39956800
.word 8500
.space 40

# 800x600 @ 85Hz
.word 1128, 848, 1048
.word 640, 614, 614
.byte 0
.long 61363200
.word 8500
.space 40

# 1024x768 @ 85Hz
.word 1416, 1080, 1320
.word 808, 782, 782
.byte 0
.long 97250880
.word 8500
.space 40

# 1280x1024 @ 85Hz
.word 1736, 1344, 1624
.word 1064, 1038, 1038
.byte 0
.long 157003840
.word 8500
.space 40
[url][/url]
_________________
-This Is A Signature
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kriz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jan 2003
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow! really nice! great work!
1024x768@119Hz 8)
wft is xfree ;)

mfg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phlashback
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Jul 2002
Posts: 142
Location: Normal

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All I can say is.... VVoVV

just took the plunge and am happy to report that under 2.6.0-test5 I have
a revived console running at 1280x1024@80. Ahh two happy penguins 8) at boot, and mplayer never looked so good :twisted:

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.barbeau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some people are still unable to run the fb at more than 60Hz. I wonder if this is related to the kernel version. I want to do a quick poll to see what is the best kernel version to use for that.

We have some guys that have been successful with the 2.6 kernel series. I personally was *not* successful with gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r6.

Any other examples of successful as well as unsuccessful kernels?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tom.barbeau
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Montreal, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some people are still unable to run the fb at more than 60Hz. I wonder if this is related to the kernel version. I want to do a quick poll to see what is the best kernel version to use for that.

We have some guys that have been successful with the 2.6 kernel series. I personally was *not* successful with gentoo-sources-2.4.20-r6.

Any other examples of successful as well as unsuccessful kernels?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Angrybob
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Apr 2003
Posts: 575

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried unsuccessfully with

2.4.22_pre2-gss
2.4.20-gentoo-r6
2.6.0-test4-mm

I think its more likely a motherboard / gfx card problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lurid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Mar 2003
Posts: 595
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2003 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had this working since 2.6.0-test2-mm1. I'm currently on 2.6.0-test5-love1. Thats been at least 3 kernels (probably more since the -mm series is updated quickly. i can't keep track of them all). What problems exactly are you having? All I do is:

Code:
cd /usr/src/some_kernel
bzcat /path/to/patch | patch -p1
cp /path/to/old/vesafb_modes.h /usr/src/some_kernel/arch/i386/boot/


I've edited my vesafb_modes.h file and saved it on my backup drive, so I mearly copy it to the right place with each new kernel. Then compile. If the problem is not the patch process, but with having the right modelines in vesafb_modes.h then take a look at the README included with the patch. Its very well documented.

Good luck.
_________________
Go find a cheerleader and saw her legs off. - Nny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrisyu
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Apr 2003
Posts: 206
Location: China

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Applied the second patch and it told me ATI8500 was a VBE2.0 card... :cry:

Anyone make this work on an ATI card??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cicero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 220

PostPosted: Thu Sep 11, 2003 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to use the vesa framebuffer driver for ATI cards. Use radeonfb instead. It takes an argument for the refresh rate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 4 of 14

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum