Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] misc yaboot problems on IBM hw
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:29 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] misc yaboot problems on IBM hw Reply with quote

Hello,
i'm trying to install Gentoo 2008.0 (snapshot 21 Nov 2008) on an IBM RS/6000 44P Model 170.
The workstation in equipped with a power3 cpu and 3 scsi hard disk.
I've successfully completed all steps from chapter 1 to chapter 9 in the installation guide, but when it's time to install the boot loader, here comes the pain :(
The command emerge --update yaboot-static (the guide states that on 64 bit/IBM hw only yaboot-static must be used) is unfortunately unsuccessful due to "missing keyword". I was not able to find any reference to yaboot-static masking in my profile (kernel64bit-userland32bit).

Can you help me please? I cannot start Gentoo without any bootloader :cry:
Thank you :)


If useful, I post here CFLAGS and USE flags values:
CFLAGS="-mcpu=power3 -O3 -pipe"
USE="acl acpi alsa avahi bash-completion branding cairo cracklib crypt cxx dga directfb dri emacs esd fbcon firefox fltk ftp gdbm gpm gif
gnome gnutls gtkhtml hal hddtemp ibm idn imlib ipv6 jpeg lame lash libgda libnotify lm_sensors matrox mmap mp3 mplayer networkmanager
nptl opengl pdf png readline samba sasl sdl ssl startup-notification threads unicode vnc xemacs xml zlib"


Last edited by Alessandro on Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AllenJB
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Sep 2005
Posts: 1285
Location: Ashford, Kent

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the output of "emerge --info" (from within the chroot)
_________________
http://gentoo-wiki.com :: http://lug.org.uk :: http://www.linux.org/groups/ :: User Blogs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AllenJB wrote:
Please post the output of "emerge --info" (from within the chroot)


Er... the output of emerge --info is quite long and i cannot connect to this forum using the IBM workstation because it only boots from live cd and i can't start the browser. If possible, i'd like to avoid manual copy of emerge --info output :oops:

Can you tell me a way to do send a file obtained with "emerge --info >> emergeoutput.txt" to another PC please? The IBM workstation is in a LAN where there's a PC with Ubuntu up and running.

Or do you need some specific informations of the emerge --info output? I'm a total newbie, but i've noticed some strange (to me) infos:
- USE do not includes "ibm" keyword (though it's in my make.conf)
- ACCEPT_KEYWORDS is set to "ppc" and not to "ppc64" (maybe ppc also includes ppc64?)
- there are some unset variables, like EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS and INSTALL_MASK.

As last resort, i will manually copy the output if necessary.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
szczerb
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1701
Location: Poland => Lodz

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you download a ppc or ppc64 stage file?

You can use system rescue cd instead of the minimal (if it has a 64bit kernel - try booting it and check what boot options you have - I don't have a ppc64 or time to set up qemu or whatever other emulator right now). You'll have X with gparted and firefox then.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

szczerb wrote:
Did you download a ppc or ppc64 stage file?

You can use system rescue cd instead of the minimal (if it has a 64bit kernel - try booting it and check what boot options you have - I don't have a ppc64 or time to set up qemu or whatever other emulator right now). You'll have X with gparted and firefox then.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download


I've downloaded a ppc64-32ul stage3 file (2008.0).
Thank you for the info about rescue CD: hope it can read a jfs partition (my root partition).

Edit: the home page states that rescuecd can read jfs :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the output of emerge --info 8)

Portage 2.1.4.4 (default/linux/powerpc/ppc64/2008.0/32bit-userland, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.6.1-r0, 2.6.24-gentoo-r3-ibm ppc64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.24-gentoo-r3-ibm ppc64 POWER3 (630+)
Timestamp of tree: Fri, 21 Nov 2008 01:45:01 +0000
app-shells/bash: 3.2_p17-r1
dev-lang/python: 2.4.4-r13
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r6
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.11.1
sys-apps/sandbox: 1.2.18.1-r2
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.61-r1
sys-devel/automake: 1.6.3, 1.10.1
sys-devel/binutils: 2.18-r1
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.0-r4
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.24
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.23-r3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="ppc"
CBUILD="powerpc-unknown-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-mcpu=power3 -O3 -pipe"
CHOST="powerpc-unknown-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-mcpu=power3 -O3 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="distlocks metadata-transfer sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/gentoo"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.europe.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="acl alsa avahi bash-completion berkdb branding bzip2 cairo cli cracklib crypt cups cxx dga directfb dri emacs esd fbcon firefox fltk fortran ftp gcc64 gdbm gif gnome gnutls gpm gtkhtml hal hddtemp iconv idn imlib ipv6 isdnlog jpeg lame lash libgda libnotify matrox midi mmap mp3 mplayer mudflap ncurses networkmanager nls nptl nptlonly opengl openmp pam pcre pdf perl png ppc pppd python readline reflection samba sasl sdl session spl ssl startup-notification sysfs tcpd threads unicode vnc xemacs xml xorg zlib" ALSA_CARDS="aoa aoa-fabric-layout aoa-onyx aoa-soundbus aoa-soundbus-i2s aoa-tas aoa-toonie powermac usb-audio via82xx" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="fbdev glint mach64 mga nv r128 radeon savage tdfx trident voodoo"
Unset: CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS, PORTDIR_OVERLAY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
i've tried the command echo "sys-boot/yaboot-static **" >> /etc/portage/packages.keywords but the problem remains: i cannot emerge --update yaboot-static :cry:

Code:

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "sys-boot/yaboot-static" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-boot/yaboot-static-1.3.14 (masked by: missing keyword)


Can you help me please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shouldn't it be
Code:
echo "sys-boot/yaboot-static ~ppc" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

notHerbert wrote:
Shouldn't it be
Code:
echo "sys-boot/yaboot-static ~ppc" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords


Thank you, I've tried the command echo "sys-boot/yaboot-static ~ppc" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords but the problem remains.
I think it's also strange that the subfolder "portage" doesn't exist (i have to create it before issuing the command).
Peraphs i've done something wrong during installation process, though i've done full installation for 2 times (the first with hardened-kernel, the second with gentoo-sources) and i've followed the guide step by step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's normal that the /etc/portage directory needs to be manually created.

What I'm wondering is why the moderator has not moved your thread to the Gentoo on PPC forum where you will certainly get much better assistance. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on PPC.

I think you will get more help here.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are doing a 32 bit install on 64 bit hardware. You should be able to simply emerge yaboot, there's no need for yaboot-static. Yaboot must be built as a 32 bit binary. On a 64 bit machine, that requires a 32 bit cross compiler, so to save users the trouble, we provide "yaboot-static".

This is described in the PPC64 handbook:
Quote:

Important: If you are using a 64-bit userland, you must use the yaboot-static package because yaboot cannot be compiled as a 64-bit application. The 32-bit userlands should use the regular yaboot package.

_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj wrote:

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Gentoo on PPC.
I think you will get more help here.


Thank you :)

JoseJX wrote:
You are doing a 32 bit install on 64 bit hardware. You should be able to simply emerge yaboot, there's no need for yaboot-static. Yaboot must be built as a 32 bit binary. On a 64 bit machine, that requires a 32 bit cross compiler, so to save users the trouble, we provide "yaboot-static".

This is described in the PPC64 handbook:
Quote:

Important: If you are using a 64-bit userland, you must use the yaboot-static package because yaboot cannot be compiled as a 64-bit application. The 32-bit userlands should use the regular yaboot package.


Maybe i've misunderstood the PPC64 Handbook, but in the same chapter the handbook says that on IBM hardware i have to use yaboot-static :?:
So, can you tell me please which step I have to follow? Do I have to install yaboot and then configure it in the way described in "IBM hardware" section (except for the installation of yaboot-static)?
And, by the way, how should i configure yaboot.conf? My boot partition (PReP partition) is in /dev/sdb1 with ext3 filesystem.
Thank you! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can see how that's not 100% clear, the guide assumes that you're using a 64-bit user land on IBM hardware. You should indeed use the regular yaboot package on a 32 bit userland. The configuration listed in the handbook should work for your configuration.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
I can see how that's not 100% clear, the guide assumes that you're using a 64-bit user land on IBM hardware. You should indeed use the regular yaboot package on a 32 bit userland. The configuration listed in the handbook should work for your configuration.


Thank you.
I've installed regular yaboot package: yabootconfig cannot complete configuration, so i've manually executed mkofboot and then i've manually edited yaboot.conf. The output of dd if=/dev/sda1 count=10 | grep ELF is identical to the one in chapter 10 of the ppc64 handbook.

The problem is that when i reboot the machine, i receive the following error:
OF CSP0:-1,/vmlinux invalid device
I've checked boot devices configuration in "bios setup" :roll: of IBM RS6000 and everything seems ok.

Unfortunately, web-searching of that error hasn't pulled out any help :(
Here are my fstab and my yaboot.conf.

fstab
Code:

/dev/sdb1      /boot         ext3      noauto         0 2
/dev/sdb3      /            jfs      defaults,noatime      0 1
/dev/sdb2      none         swap      sw            0 0
/dev/sda1      /mnt/hdisk1   xfs      defaults,noatime      0 2
/dev/sdc1      /mnt/hdisk3   xfs      defaults,noatime      0 2
/dev/cdrom     /mnt/cdrom   auto      noauto,ro         0 0
#/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy   auto      noauto         0 0
shm            /dev/shm      tmpfs   nodev,nosuid,noexec   0 0


yaboot.conf
Code:

boot=/dev/sdb1
device=/pci@fef00000/scsi@c,1/@5: <- this is the output of ofpath /dev/sdb
partition=3
delay=10
default=linux
timeout=10
install=/usr/lib/yaboot/yaboot
image=/boot/gentoo-sources-2.6.26-r2
   label=linux
   root=/dev/sdb3
   read-only


Can you help me please? Thanks! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you've got two problems here:

1. Partition is set to 3. This is your root partition, but yaboot cannot read from JFS partitions. The partition # given here is used as the default partition when one isn't written explicitly, like in the filename for the kernel. As such, you probably want this to be 1, to match your boot partition.

2. You've given the path to your kernel as /boot/..., unless you have a symlink in your boot partition that links boot to itself, this won't work. Get rid of the /boot/ in the front, this path is relative to the filesystem, not where it's mounted when everything is running.

Give that a try and see if that helps.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I've made the changes on my yaboot.conf (partition=1 and image=gentoo-sources-2.6.26-r2) but i've still the same problem.
Yaboot starts, but it seems it can't found any valid image. In fact, the screen shows the "boot:" prompt but when i press "tab" button no images are listed and the boot: prompt appears again. And if i type "linux" or "gentoo-sources-2.6.26-r2" i receive the same error:
<typed-string>:-1,/vmlinux:Unable to open files, Invalid device :cry:

By the way, here are some more informations, if useful:
- the execution of "ybin -v" or mkofboot (i've executed them after making changes to yaboot.conf) shows the following message:
ioctl32(ntsetenv:7658): Unknown cmd fd(3) cmd(20007043){t :'p';sz:0} arg (00000009) on /dev/nvram
However, in both cases the exection seems to go ahead (for example, ybin states that the operation on /dev/sdb1 is successful)
- i think there's a kernel image in my /boot/ directory: i've put it there with the command cp vmlinux /boot/gentoo-sources-2.6.26-r2 that
is listed in the handbook chapter 7. Do I need to remove /boot/ from "image=" line in yaboot.conf?
- my PReP partion in 7M: should it be less than 3M as stated in some forums? It uses ext3 fs.

Thanks for your time and patience...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ato
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2007
Posts: 66
Location: Duisburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not know if I missed something here. But I am under the impression that one needs for yaboot to work a bootstrap partition, or am I wrong?

Cheers,
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First, to answer your questions:
1. The nvsetenv error should not be a problem. It could not write to the boot prom, the nvram area. This is probably not an issue for your setup.
2. Yes, you should remove /boot/ if the kernel image is on the root of the partition it resides in.
3. I do not know about the partition size, but I'd say that making it ext3fs is the wrong filesystem. Most likely, it needs to be FAT in order for the OF to read it.

Can you try with a FAT filesystem and use the ls keyword in OF to see if you can list the files on that partition? It seems as if OF can't find the partition to work from, so that's why you're getting that error.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alessandro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Nov 2008
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for your help!!
I finally solved it!! 8)

After trying OF commands, ibm-powerpc-utils and a Debian install :?, i found that the root partition must have ext3 filesystem (or at least not JFS).
After FS change, yaboot correctly lists my kernel image, and the system boots! :D
As you've said to me, the problem was that yaboot didn't find the kernel image.

The bad news is that i now have a "circular dependecies" when trying to emerge gnome, but i think i'll eventually open a new thread :wink:
Thank you again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum