Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] cairo-dock
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:16 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] cairo-dock Reply with quote

I have been using xfce for a while now but just installed gnome to try and replicate this theme http://scnd101.deviantart.com/art/iod-Suite-1-0-BETA-104263022
Can anyone help me installing cairo-dock as I have no idea

THanks,


Last edited by DOLLAR on Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cairo-dock is not "supported software", but I think it's in one or more overlays (try the "desktop-effects" overlay).

If you don't know how to use overlays, start here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the pointer...
I have now installed layman and got the desktop-effects overlay added but still don't know how to install cairo-dock.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DOLLAR wrote:
Thanks for the pointer...
I have now installed layman and got the desktop-effects overlay added but still don't know how to install cairo-dock.

Did you emerge it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried
Code:
emerge -av cairo-dock
and
Code:
emerge -av desktop-effects/cairo-dock
but nothing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go back and read the documentation on using overlays again.
Maybe you need to sync first or something. I haven't used overlays in a while. [Somebody else jump in here and help.]

Here's another tip. In Gnome, the panel is one of the things started by Gnome-session, which you can manage by way of the menu system (System -> Preferences -> Sessions). You'll need to do something like stop and remove gnome-panel, then start cairo-dock, and save your current session. That's off the top of my head.

Other than that, you're on your own.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bunder
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 5866

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Off the Wall to Unsupported Software.
_________________
Neddyseagoon wrote:
The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence.

banned from #gentoo since sept 2017
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keet
Guru
Guru


Joined: 09 Sep 2008
Posts: 531

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In order to install the most recent version of cairo-dock, you need to portage 2.2, as well as the desktop-effects GIT overlay. Did you update your /etc/make.conf file to accommodate the overlay?

This isn't really a gentoo-type solution, but another thing you could try is downloading the source code, decompressing it, and entering the source directory. Then just run

#make && make install

If you ever want to uninstall it, type:

#make uninstall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckx3009
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 362
Location: Milano, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it is *very* easily installable using layman (read documentation).
then, when you got the overlay:
Code:
emerge cairo-dock


obviously you need to add the package to you package.conf.

you should not use aggressive FLAGS or it won't compile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ckx3009 wrote:
obviously you need to add the package to you package.conf.


Can you tell me where package.conf is and what I need to add to it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ckx3009
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 362
Location: Milano, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, i had a moment of madness... :P
i wanted to say you should add it to you package.keywords
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1609
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 01, 2008 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ckx3009 wrote:
sorry, i had a moment of madness... :P
i wanted to say you should add it to you package.keywords

Unless you already have
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~<your_arch>"

for example
Code:
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86>"

in /etc/make.conf, then you need tell portage to accept the testing version of the package by listing the package in /etc/portage/package.keywords. All packages from overlays are tagged as testing versions. To list the package in package.keywords, you add a line for it like:
Code:
desktop-effects/cairo-dock ~<your_arch>

for example
Code:
desktop-effects/cairo-dock ~x86


Thoroughly read the overlays documentation, and thoroughly read the portage documentation, if you haven't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I will try this tonight and let you know...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

desktop-effecs only provides live SVN ebuilds for cairo-dock. Those are unkeyworded, means you have to unmask them using **
Code:
gnome-extra/cairo-dock **
gnome-extra/cairo-dock-themes **
gnome-extra/cairo-dock-plugins **


Unfortunately their SVN repo is quite messy, and differs from their releases. E.g. last time I checked, the release tarball already contained the GMenu plugin, while building from SVN didn't give that (even after the release).
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help but I have no idea what you mean. I have read the overlay and portage documentation but it does not help on this package.

If anyone can point me in the direction of a guide as I have looked everywhere. I would like to understand all this overlay talk but feel without a decent guide I will end up messing my system up...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DOLLAR wrote:
Thanks for your help but I have no idea what you mean. I have read the overlay and portage documentation but it does not help on this package.

If anyone can point me in the direction of a guide as I have looked everywhere. I would like to understand all this overlay talk but feel without a decent guide I will end up messing my system up...

Just put the list I posted above in your /etc/portage/package.keywords, and emerge cairo-dock.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 7:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gimpel wrote:
Just put the list I posted above in your /etc/portage/package.keywords, and emerge cairo-dock.

Just tried this but no good, said there are no ebuilds to satisfy cairo-dock.

Do I need to add something to /usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf
as the overlay documentation said I needed to create this file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to source the layman make.conf in /etc/make.conf
Code:
source /usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf


And you need latest portage 2.1.6_rc or 2.2, as the cairo-dock ebuild is EAPI2
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay


Last edited by gimpel on Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have done that. What should I put in the source /usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DOLLAR wrote:
I have done that. What should I put in the source /usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf

Nothing, layman does that for you.

Yust make sure you put that "source .." AFTER your own PORTDIR_OVERLAY in /etc/make.conf
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I must have missed something.
/etc/make.conf
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage/layman/"
source /usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"


/usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf is blank.

layman -L
Code:
* desktop-effects           [Git       ] (source: git://git.overlays.gentoo....)


Sorry to be a pain but are any of these settings wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
/usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf is blank.

Looks like you forgot to actually add the overlay
Code:
layman -a desktop-effects

_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
layman -a desktop-effects
* Failed to add overlay "desktop-effects".
* Error was: Overlay "desktop-effects" already in the local list!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gimpel
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 2720
Location: Munich, Bavaria

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DOLLAR wrote:
Code:
layman -a desktop-effects
* Failed to add overlay "desktop-effects".
* Error was: Overlay "desktop-effects" already in the local list!

That's weird.

Well, try deleting it and add it again. Because layman's make.conf should be populated with something like
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="
/usr/portage/local/layman/desktop-effects
$PORTDIR_OVERLAY
"


But as said, layman should do that itself.
_________________
http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki - pro-audio software overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DOLLAR
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 15 Sep 2008
Posts: 76
Location: Newcastle

PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will try that tonight.
It could be because I didn't have the following in my /etc/make.conf before adding desktop-effects.
Code:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage/layman/"
source /usr/local/portage/layman/make.conf
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86"

I will let you know, thanks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum