Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[kde-testing] and [kde-crazy] KDE4 overlays thread (part 3)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19 ... 38, 39, 40  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@krog
I have the same problems. What helps is to search the file kde4-base.eclass and comment out the line mentioning xorg there when compiling portage tree stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tampakrap
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 71
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have set xorg-1.5.2 as minimum requirements because of many problems reported with the previous ones.
And as for the snapshots, we have removed them because of the rename of the tarballs by the upstream. We are now waiting for an answer from upstream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 6948
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Everyone using KDE-4.2 should upgrade to xorg-x11-7.4 anyway.
_________________
backend.cpp:92:2: warning: #warning TODO - this error message is about as useful as a cooling unit in the arctic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 330
Location: Roma, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so now I must upgrade xorg... ok...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mziab
l33t
l33t


Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 644

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tampakrap wrote:
We have set xorg-1.5.2 as minimum requirements because of many problems reported with the previous ones.


Could you elaborate? What issues were fixed in xorg-server 1.5.2? I'm using the KDE 4.2, xorg-server 1.3, nvidia-drivers 180.29 combo and everything seems to be working flawlessly.
_________________
Gentoo Linux 13.0 | 3.19 | glibc 2.19 | gcc 4.9.2

mteam | mziab's blog | roslin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 330
Location: Roma, Italy

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so for me...
i tryed xorg 1.5.2 but didn't find an easy guide to configure mouse, keyboard andsynaptic touchpad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the old xorg.conf not work with the new xserver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you shouldn't need to configure any input device, they are handled by hal.

And make sure you recompile your xorg drivers after xorg updates (as noted in most guides, and as an update message when updating xorg).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just switched to qt-4.5.0-rc1 as well as to xorg-7.4 and the newest xorg-server in the tree. Now I have several issues:
1.) In kdm I get an English keyboard layout while normally (under kde itself) I have a German one.
2.) The akregator part in kontact does not remember which columns I want to have shown (Title, Author, Date, Source etc.) and which width I'd like them to have. Before the update, I in principal had the same issue, however I only had to tell akregator at the beginning of each session what to show. Now I can configure one feed, go to the next and all settings are gone again :-(
3.) My synaptics touchpad does not support tapping anymore (the least concern, since I hardly ever use it).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boccaccio wrote:

3.) My synaptics touchpad does not support tapping anymore (the least concern, since I hardly ever use it).


API changes in the recent synaptics driver. Here is my configuration. Tapping, scrolling and all work nicely.

Code:

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier      "Touchpad"
        Driver          "synaptics"
        Option          "Device"                "/dev/input/mouse1"
        Option          "SendCoreEvents"                           
        Option          "Protocol"              "auto-dev"         
        Option          "SHMConfig"             "on"               
        Option          "Emulate3Buttons"       "on"               
        Option          "LeftEdge"              "130"             
        Option          "RightEdge"             "900"             
        Option          "TopEdge"               "130"             
        Option          "BottomEdge"            "640"             
        Option          "FingerLow"             "7"               
        Option          "FingerHigh"            "8"               
        Option          "AccelFactor"           "0.05"             
        Option          "LockedDrags"           "0"               
        Option          "MaxTapTime"            "180"             
        Option          "MinTapTime"            "110"             
        Option          "ClickTime"             "0"               
        Option          "EmulateMidButtonTime"  "75"               
        Option          "VertScrollDelta"       "20"               
        Option          "HorizScrollDelta"      "20"               
        Option          "MinSpeed"              "0.70"             
        Option          "MaxSpeed"              "0.60"             
        Option          "AccelFactor"           "0.030"           
        Option          "EdgeMotionMinSpeed"    "200"             
        Option          "EdgeMotionMaxSpeed"    "200"             
        Option          "CircularScrolling"     "1"               
        Option          "CircScrollDelta"       "0.1"             
        Option          "CircScrollTrigger"     "1"               
        Option          "VertTwoFingerScroll"   "on"               
        Option          "TapButton1"            "1"               
EndSection 

_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have to add another, very serious problem:

All the popup information, e.g. when a new message in kopete arrives, are not shown anymore. And an instant messenger which does not tell me, when I am getting a new message is quite senseless...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neuron
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 28 May 2002
Posts: 2371

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boccaccio wrote:
I have to add another, very serious problem:

All the popup information, e.g. when a new message in kopete arrives, are not shown anymore. And an instant messenger which does not tell me, when I am getting a new message is quite senseless...


check .xsession-error when you get a msg, got a theory about knotify being broken on this one..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is all kopete related stuff from a fresh .xsession-error:

Quote:

kbuildsycoca: WARNING: '/usr/kde/4.2/share/applications/kde4/kopete.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'application/x-kopete-emoticons'
kbuildsycoca: WARNING: '/usr/kde/4.2/share/applications/kde4/kopete.desktop' specifies undefined mimetype/servicetype 'application/x-icq'
kopete(13519)/libkopete Kopete::PluginManager::loadPluginInternal: Unable to find a plugin named ' "" '!
kopete(13519)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::slotReceivedIdError: Error while contacting notify daemon "No such method 'event' in interface 'org.kde.KNotify' at object path '/Notify' (signature 'sssayasx')"
kopete(13519): Attempt to use QAction "show_participants_widget" with KXMLGUIFactory!
kopete(13519)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::slotReceivedIdError: Error while contacting notify daemon "No such method 'event' in interface 'org.kde.KNotify' at object path '/Notify' (signature 'sssayasx')"
kopete(13519)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::slotReceivedIdError: Error while contacting notify daemon "No such method 'event' in interface 'org.kde.KNotify' at object path '/Notify' (signature 'sssssssayasx')"
kopete(13519): Attempt to use QAction "show_participants_widget" with KXMLGUIFactory!
Cannot register object at /kopete/MainWindow_2/actions because actions exports its own child objects
kopete(13519)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::slotReceivedIdError: Error while contacting notify daemon "No such method 'event' in interface 'org.kde.KNotify' at object path '/Notify' (signature 'sssayasx')"
kopete(13519)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::slotReceivedIdError: Error while contacting notify daemon "No such method 'event' in interface 'org.kde.KNotify' at object path '/Notify' (signature 'sssssssayasx')"
kopete(13519)/kdeui (KNotification) KNotification::slotReceivedIdError: Error while contacting notify daemon "No such method 'event' in interface 'org.kde.KNotify' at object path '/Notify' (signature 'sssayasx')"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Concerning the xorg-update problems (which don't really belong in here, probably), I managed to get the keyboard stuff solved by copying /usr/share/hal/fdi/policy/10osvendor/10-keymap.fdi to /etc/hal/fdi/policy/10-keymap.fdi and changing the keyboard layout given there from us to de.
The touchpad still does not work as I want, though I searched the web and copied over the corresponding fdi file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HELPcho
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Location: Plovdiv

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 10:38 am    Post subject: kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999 broken compile! Reply with quote

Hello guys,
could anyone help me with this:
[ 36%] Building CXX object plasma/dataengines/calendar/CMakeFiles/plasma_engine_calendar.dir/calendarengine.o
/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999/work/plasma-workspace-9999/plasma/dataengines/calendar/calendarengine.cpp:25:30: error: KHolidays/Holidays: No such file or directory
[ 36%] Building CXX object plasma/dataengines/applicationjobs/CMakeFiles/plasma_engine_applicationjobs.dir/jobviewadaptor.o
/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999/work/plasma-workspace-9999/plasma/dataengines/calendar/calendarengine.cpp: In member function 'virtual bool CalendarEngine::sourceRequestEvent(const QString&)':
/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999/work/plasma-workspace-9999/plasma/dataengines/calendar/calendarengine.cpp:48: error: 'KHolidays' has not been declared
/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999/work/plasma-workspace-9999/plasma/dataengines/calendar/calendarengine.cpp:48: error: expected `;' before 'region'
/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999/work/plasma-workspace-9999/plasma/dataengines/calendar/calendarengine.cpp:52: error: 'region' was not declared in this scope
/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999/work/plasma-workspace-9999/plasma/dataengines/calendar/calendarengine.cpp:54: error: 'KHolidays' has not been declared
/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999/work/plasma-workspace-9999/plasma/dataengines/calendar/calendarengine.cpp:54: error: expected `;' before 'holidays'
/var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-9999/work/plasma-workspace-9999/plasma/dataengines/calendar/calendarengine.cpp:55: error: 'holidays' was not declared in this scope
make[2]: *** [plasma/dataengines/calendar/CMakeFiles/plasma_engine_calendar.dir/calendarengine.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [plasma/dataengines/calendar/CMakeFiles/plasma_engine_calendar.dir/all] Error 2
[ 36%] make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
Building CXX object plasma/dataengines/applicationjobs/CMakeFiles/plasma_engine_applicationjobs.dir/jobviewserveradaptor.o
Linking CXX shared module ../../../lib/plasma_engine_applicationjobs.so
[ 36%] Built target plasma_engine_applicationjobs
make: *** [all] Error 2

It is really strage to miss a file?!? and to boke an important part beacuse of missing file (If it is the problem)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tampakrap
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Nov 2007
Posts: 71
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

we got too many bug reports about composite problems that's why we decided to put xorg server 1.5.2 as dep.
I added the following line
Code:
Option         "AllowEmptyInput" "false"

to the ServerLayout section of xorg.conf, and had to recompile xf86-input-{mouse,synaptics} because they weren't loaded (Xorg.0.log errors)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaiL
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Spain/BCN

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boccaccio wrote:
1.) In kdm I get an English keyboard layout while normally (under kde itself) I have a German one.


About this, I just changed the keyboard layout using the KDE GUI-based configuration tools.

K -> System -> System settings -> Regional & Language -> Keyboard Layout -> Layout -> "Choose your flag"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NaiL wrote:
Boccaccio wrote:
1.) In kdm I get an English keyboard layout while normally (under kde itself) I have a German one.


About this, I just changed the keyboard layout using the KDE GUI-based configuration tools.

K -> System -> System settings -> Regional & Language -> Keyboard Layout -> Layout -> "Choose your flag"


Well my problem was nit really kde related but due to the switching to the new Xorg which recognizes all devices automatically using hal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaiL
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Spain/BCN

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the same happened to me, and that is how I solved it :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, then there are two solutions to our problem...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Boccaccio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 276

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found an additional problem after the update: I cannot switch between the different activities by using Ctrl+Shift+N :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spongo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jan 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you don't like what hal is doing after upgrading to xorg-server-1.5:

you can still use xorg.conf the old way and play configuring your touchpad/keyboardlayout in hal another day, just add into xorg.conf at Section "ServerFlags"

Quote:
Option "AutoAddDevices" "false"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Krog
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Jun 2007
Posts: 330
Location: Roma, Italy

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spongo wrote:
if you don't like what hal is doing after upgrading to xorg-server-1.5:

you can still use xorg.conf the old way and play configuring your touchpad/keyboardlayout in hal another day, just add into xorg.conf at Section "ServerFlags"

Quote:
Option "AutoAddDevices" "false"


THANKS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 3234
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody see this one? (I'm on amd64, kde-live, qt-4.5.0-rc1):
Code:
 [ 83%] Building CXX object kmail/CMakeFiles/kmailprivate.dir/customtemplates_kfg.o
Linking CXX shared library ../lib/libkmailprivate.so
CMakeFiles/kmailprivate.dir/subscriptiondialog.o: In function `KMail::SubscriptionDialogBase::createListViewItem(int)':
subscriptiondialog.cpp:(.text+0x33c8): undefined reference to `KPIM::GroupItem::GroupItem(QTreeWidgetItem*, KPIM::KGroupInfo const&, KPIM::KSubscription*, bool)'
subscriptiondialog.cpp:(.text+0x36b7): undefined reference to `KPIM::GroupItem::GroupItem(QTreeWidget*, KPIM::KGroupInfo const&, KPIM::KSubscription*, bool)'
subscriptiondialog.cpp:(.text+0x3c24): undefined reference to `KPIM::GroupItem::GroupItem(QTreeWidgetItem*, KPIM::KGroupInfo const&, KPIM::KSubscription*, bool)'
subscriptiondialog.cpp:(.text+0x3ec2): undefined reference to `KPIM::GroupItem::GroupItem(QTreeWidget*, KPIM::KGroupInfo const&, KPIM::KSubscription*, bool)'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [lib/libkmailprivate.so.4.2.0] Error 1
make[1]: *** [kmail/CMakeFiles/kmailprivate.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
 *
 * ERROR: kde-base/kmail-9999 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line 3735:  Called kde4-meta_src_compile
 *             environment, line 2891:  Called kde4-base_src_make
 *             environment, line 2672:  Called cmake-utils_src_make
 *             environment, line 1028:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *           emake "$@" || die "Make failed!";

This is the only failure I had today.
_________________
Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 1700, 3.0GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.29-r2, gcc-9.1.0 kernel-5.1.12-gentoo USE=experimental
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpectreDragon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Aug 2008
Posts: 92
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Boccaccio wrote:
I have to add another, very serious problem:

All the popup information, e.g. when a new message in kopete arrives, are not shown anymore. And an instant messenger which does not tell me, when I am getting a new message is quite senseless...

I had the same problem some time ago. Started with a complete clean .kdelive dir and it worked again (no clue why). It's worth a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 17, 18, 19 ... 38, 39, 40  Next
Page 18 of 40

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum