Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Official thread: "zen-sources" - Part 6
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gringo wrote:
any chance to pick up the staging tree ? There are lots of fixes / new drivers in there, maybe sth. interesting for zen ?
Maybe even the new kms-radeon patches ( http://people.freedesktop.org/~glisse/kms/ ) are interesting too but these are slowly flooding to mainline already.

thanks !


you should check git.zen-sources.org and see what we have merged before making requests :wink: radeon-kms is in and working already
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gringo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 3793

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
radeon-kms is in and working already


oops, i did, but not well enough apparently ... :P

cheers
_________________
Error: Failing not supported by current locale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shaumux
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 996
Location: Bangalore, India

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aahh theres .30-zen1.
Can we get zen patchset for this?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shaumux wrote:
Aahh theres .30-zen1.
Can we get zen patchset for this?
Thanks


calm down, please !

it's not even finished yet and rmh3093 is fixing some issues :roll:
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DigitalCorpus
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 30 Jul 2007
Posts: 245

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With the data I'm moving regularly I've been anxiously awaiting 2.6.30 and zen-sources are my easiest access point for them. Kernel is compiled, hopefully I will have better luck this time around with 2.6.30 than I did with 2.6.29 :)

Edit:
I'm up and running in 2.6.30. I did notice that the phpsysinfo page loads in .75 seconds compared to 1 second on average on first load. XFS latency might be reduced :) I need to do some bonnie++ testing to see first. I'm crossing my fingers hoping that I don't have spontaneous crashes like I did last time on using zen.

My only problem is that iftop is using 100% of one of my CPUs now. Not sure why. I'm recompiling all dependancies to see what happened. It was fine under 2.6.28. Okay, that didn't fix it... just for the fun of it I'm emerge -e @system @world. It should take less than an hour and a half.
_________________
Atlas (HDTV PVR, HTTP & Media server)
http://atlas.selfip.net/Info/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 946
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone here knows if a Q6600 has NUMA support?
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holysword wrote:
Does anyone here knows if a Q6600 has NUMA support?


nope:
Quote:
ntel announced NUMA introduction to its x86 and Itanium servers in late 2007 with Nehalem and Tukwila CPUs. Both CPU families will share a common socket; the interconnection is called Intel Quick Path Interconnect (QPI).


starting with i7 and i5 (?) intel introduced that on-cpu memory-controller stuff

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/Intel-i7-nehalem-cpu,2041.html
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d.bahrt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I'm trying to get ecryptfs with filename encryption working. But then I encountered a kernel bug and was stopped again :(

Kernel-Version: Linux 2.6.30-zen2 #1 ZEN SMP PREEMPT Mon Jun 22 18:13:24 CEST 2009 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

------------[ cut here ]------------
kernel BUG at fs/ecryptfs/keystore.c:615!
invalid opcode: 0000 [#1] PREEMPT SMP
last sysfs file: /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp3_input
CPU 0
Modules linked in: ecb snd_seq_midi snd_ca0106 snd_rawmidi nvidia(P)
Pid: 15135, comm: touch Tainted: P 2.6.30-zen2 #1
RIP: 0010:[<ffffffff8036f0b8>] [<ffffffff8036f0b8>] ecryptfs_write_tag_70_packe
t+0x29c/0x620
RSP: 0018:ffff880056329c78 EFLAGS: 00010202
RAX: ffff880074e4bc12 RBX: 0000000000000000 RCX: ffff88004b514c5a
RDX: 0000000000000000 RSI: ffff88004b514c5a RDI: ffff88004b514be0
RBP: ffff880056329ce8 R08: ffff880075c89000 R09: ffff88004b4a84c0
R10: ffff88005615c840 R11: ffff880001020380 R12: ffff880075c89000
R13: ffff88004b514c5a R14: ffff88004b514c39 R15: ffff880056329d70
FS: 00007ff21d9fe6f0(0000) GS:ffff880001010000(0000) knlGS:00000000f4affb90
CS: 0010 DS: 0000 ES: 0000 CR0: 000000008005003b
CR2: 0000000000c194b8 CR3: 0000000056323000 CR4: 00000000000006e0
DR0: 0000000000000000 DR1: 0000000000000000 DR2: 0000000000000000
DR3: 0000000000000000 DR6: 00000000ffff0ff0 DR7: 0000000000000400
Process touch (pid: 15135, threadinfo ffff880056328000, task ffff880076a312f0)
Stack:
ffff880050e10e00 fffffffffffffff4 0000000000000005 ffff880050e0c2e0
ffff88004b514bc8 ffff880056329d20 ffff880056329d18 ffff88002dfbaac0
0000000000000000 ffff880076fd2240 0000000000000000 ffff88004b514bc8
Call Trace:
[<ffffffff8036aa33>] ecryptfs_encrypt_and_encode_filename+0x15b/0x342
[<ffffffff803689a7>] ecryptfs_lookup+0x115/0x226
[<ffffffff80292107>] __lookup_hash+0x101/0x126
[<ffffffff80292161>] lookup_hash+0x35/0x40
[<ffffffff80294fb1>] do_filp_open+0x208/0x8cf
[<ffffffff80277541>] ? handle_mm_fault+0x338/0x659
[<ffffffff8029d7cd>] ? alloc_fd+0x11d/0x12e
[<ffffffff80288a06>] do_sys_open+0x56/0xdd
[<ffffffff80288ab6>] sys_open+0x1b/0x1d
[<ffffffff8020af6b>] system_call_fastpath+0x16/0x1b
Code: 89 c1 4c 89 ea 48 c7 c6 c0 fa 6e 80 48 c7 c7 8a 7a 7c 80 31 c0 e8 f9 d7 35
00 e9 62 03 00 00 49 8b 44 24 50 66 83 78 02 00 74 04 <0f> 0b eb fe 49 8d bc 24
f0 00 00 00 48 8d b0 88 02 00 00 48 89
RIP [<ffffffff8036f0b8>] ecryptfs_write_tag_70_packet+0x29c/0x620
RSP <ffff880056329c78>
---[ end trace 2c349a535734b31e ]---

I'll try a vanilla kernel tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d.bahrt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also found this bug in the vanilla kernel:
Linux 2.6.30 #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Jun 24 19:22:04 CEST 2009 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

------------[ cut here ]------------
kernel BUG at fs/ecryptfs/keystore.c:615!
invalid opcode: 0000 [#1] PREEMPT SMP
last sysfs file: /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp3_input
CPU 1
Modules linked in: ecb snd_seq_midi snd_ca0106 snd_rawmidi nvidia(P)
Pid: 5938, comm: touch Tainted: P 2.6.30 #1
RIP: 0010:[<ffffffff80333564>] [<ffffffff80333564>] ecryptfs_write_tag_70_packe
t+0x29c/0x620
RSP: 0018:ffff880074df9c78 EFLAGS: 00010202
RAX: ffff880074a21812 RBX: 0000000000000000 RCX: ffff8800760b7c5a
RDX: 0000000000000000 RSI: ffff8800760b7c5a RDI: ffff8800760b7be0
RBP: ffff880074df9ce8 R08: ffff88007425ae00 R09: ffff8800761b84c0
R10: ffff880076154840 R11: ffff880001038380 R12: ffff88007425ae00
R13: ffff8800760b7c5a R14: ffff8800760b7c39 R15: ffff880074df9d70
FS: 00007f29453a26f0(0000) GS:ffff880001028000(0000) knlGS:0000000000000000
CS: 0010 DS: 0000 ES: 0000 CR0: 000000008005003b
CR2: 0000000001ccb1cc CR3: 00000000762e9000 CR4: 00000000000006e0
DR0: 0000000000000000 DR1: 0000000000000000 DR2: 0000000000000000
DR3: 0000000000000000 DR6: 00000000ffff0ff0 DR7: 0000000000000400
Process touch (pid: 5938, threadinfo ffff880074df8000, task ffff8800742f8150)
Stack:
ffff8800754aac00 fffffffffffffff4 0000000000000005 ffff8800754aad60
ffff8800760b7bc8 ffff880074df9d20 ffff880074df9d18 ffff880074391400
0000000000000000 ffff880076311bc0 0000000000000000 ffff8800760b7bc8
Call Trace:
[<ffffffff8032eedf>] ecryptfs_encrypt_and_encode_filename+0x15b/0x342
[<ffffffff8032ce53>] ecryptfs_lookup+0x115/0x226
[<ffffffff8029187d>] __lookup_hash+0x101/0x126
[<ffffffff802918d7>] lookup_hash+0x35/0x40
[<ffffffff80294775>] do_filp_open+0x208/0x8cf
[<ffffffff80276d05>] ? handle_mm_fault+0x338/0x659
[<ffffffff8029cf91>] ? alloc_fd+0x11d/0x12e
[<ffffffff802881ca>] do_sys_open+0x56/0xdd
[<ffffffff8028827a>] sys_open+0x1b/0x1d
[<ffffffff8020af6b>] system_call_fastpath+0x16/0x1b
Code: 89 c1 4c 89 ea 48 c7 c6 30 27 69 80 48 c7 c7 60 bd 75 80 31 c0 e8 f0 db 33
00 e9 62 03 00 00 49 8b 44 24 50 66 83 78 02 00 74 04 <0f> 0b eb fe 49 8d bc 24
f0 00 00 00 48 8d b0 88 02 00 00 48 89
RIP [<ffffffff80333564>] ecryptfs_write_tag_70_packet+0x29c/0x620
RSP <ffff880074df9c78>
---[ end trace ec90b6f64aa6fe75 ]---

Do you think I should try it without the nvidia module? What could have caused the problem (partition is ext3, 1TB)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d.bahrt wrote:
I also found this bug in the vanilla kernel:
Linux 2.6.30 #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Jun 24 19:22:04 CEST 2009 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

------------[ cut here ]------------
kernel BUG at fs/ecryptfs/keystore.c:615!
invalid opcode: 0000 [#1] PREEMPT SMP
last sysfs file: /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp3_input
CPU 1
Modules linked in: ecb snd_seq_midi snd_ca0106 snd_rawmidi nvidia(P)
Pid: 5938, comm: touch Tainted: P 2.6.30 #1
RIP: 0010:[<ffffffff80333564>] [<ffffffff80333564>] ecryptfs_write_tag_70_packe
t+0x29c/0x620
RSP: 0018:ffff880074df9c78 EFLAGS: 00010202
RAX: ffff880074a21812 RBX: 0000000000000000 RCX: ffff8800760b7c5a
RDX: 0000000000000000 RSI: ffff8800760b7c5a RDI: ffff8800760b7be0
RBP: ffff880074df9ce8 R08: ffff88007425ae00 R09: ffff8800761b84c0
R10: ffff880076154840 R11: ffff880001038380 R12: ffff88007425ae00
R13: ffff8800760b7c5a R14: ffff8800760b7c39 R15: ffff880074df9d70
FS: 00007f29453a26f0(0000) GS:ffff880001028000(0000) knlGS:0000000000000000
CS: 0010 DS: 0000 ES: 0000 CR0: 000000008005003b
CR2: 0000000001ccb1cc CR3: 00000000762e9000 CR4: 00000000000006e0
DR0: 0000000000000000 DR1: 0000000000000000 DR2: 0000000000000000
DR3: 0000000000000000 DR6: 00000000ffff0ff0 DR7: 0000000000000400
Process touch (pid: 5938, threadinfo ffff880074df8000, task ffff8800742f8150)
Stack:
ffff8800754aac00 fffffffffffffff4 0000000000000005 ffff8800754aad60
ffff8800760b7bc8 ffff880074df9d20 ffff880074df9d18 ffff880074391400
0000000000000000 ffff880076311bc0 0000000000000000 ffff8800760b7bc8
Call Trace:
[<ffffffff8032eedf>] ecryptfs_encrypt_and_encode_filename+0x15b/0x342
[<ffffffff8032ce53>] ecryptfs_lookup+0x115/0x226
[<ffffffff8029187d>] __lookup_hash+0x101/0x126
[<ffffffff802918d7>] lookup_hash+0x35/0x40
[<ffffffff80294775>] do_filp_open+0x208/0x8cf
[<ffffffff80276d05>] ? handle_mm_fault+0x338/0x659
[<ffffffff8029cf91>] ? alloc_fd+0x11d/0x12e
[<ffffffff802881ca>] do_sys_open+0x56/0xdd
[<ffffffff8028827a>] sys_open+0x1b/0x1d
[<ffffffff8020af6b>] system_call_fastpath+0x16/0x1b
Code: 89 c1 4c 89 ea 48 c7 c6 30 27 69 80 48 c7 c7 60 bd 75 80 31 c0 e8 f0 db 33
00 e9 62 03 00 00 49 8b 44 24 50 66 83 78 02 00 74 04 <0f> 0b eb fe 49 8d bc 24
f0 00 00 00 48 8d b0 88 02 00 00 48 89
RIP [<ffffffff80333564>] ecryptfs_write_tag_70_packet+0x29c/0x620
RSP <ffff880074df9c78>
---[ end trace ec90b6f64aa6fe75 ]---

Do you think I should try it without the nvidia module? What could have caused the problem (partition is ext3, 1TB)?


i think you should try without ecrapfs (i mean ecryptfs)
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does anyone actually use the VR or FIFO IO scheds? i really feel like dropping them
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d.bahrt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:

i think you should try without ecrapfs (i mean ecryptfs)


I found the problem. I was using an openssl key - as supported by ecryptfs-manager - as my filename encryption key. But htey don't supprt that:

Code:

        /* TODO: Support other key modules than passphrase for
         * filename encryption */
        BUG_ON(s->auth_tok->token_type != ECRYPTFS_PASSWORD);

Fantastic. That's how you tell people that something is not supported. Guess printing something to dmesg is totally useless as absolutley noone takes a look there first. :evil:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6108
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rmh3093 wrote:
does anyone actually use the VR or FIFO IO scheds? i really feel like dropping them


haven't used them for some time now

so from my pov - feel free to drop them (there were some max throughput problems in the past with them and my seagate hdds -> hdparm -tT /dev/foo)

dunno how many of zen's users have them enabled
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ebrsc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Jun 2008
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just FTR, with current master, if you're using kms on intel hardware you may not be able to boot your machine. You can just pull 'drm-fixes' (already in Linus' tree) from git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/airlied/drm-2.6.git , it works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ebrsc wrote:
Just FTR, with current master, if you're using kms on intel hardware you may not be able to boot your machine. You can just pull 'drm-fixes' (already in Linus' tree) from git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/airlied/drm-2.6.git , it works fine.


thanks, I new that branch existed before .31-rc1 was out but I had not gone back to check if they got pulled into or not.... they are in now, thanks for the reminder
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

virtualbox-modules-2.24 fails to compile with the latest zen release (2.6.31-rc1 - or is the merge not fully complete?)

Here is the error:
Code:

/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c: In function 'vboxNetAdpNetDevInit':                                                                                             
/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c:225: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'open'                                                                       
/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c:226: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'stop'                                                                       
/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c:227: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'hard_start_xmit'                                                           
/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c:228: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'get_stats'                                                                 
make[3]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.o] Error 1                                                                                                           


According to bug 273817 the workaround is to set COMPAT_NET_DEV_OPS=y. However, I cannot find this option in the config file.
What am I doing wrong?
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall wrote:
virtualbox-modules-2.24 fails to compile with the latest zen release (2.6.31-rc1 - or is the merge not fully complete?)

Here is the error:
Code:

/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c: In function 'vboxNetAdpNetDevInit':                                                                                             
/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c:225: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'open'                                                                       
/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c:226: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'stop'                                                                       
/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c:227: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'hard_start_xmit'                                                           
/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.c:228: error: 'struct net_device' has no member named 'get_stats'                                                                 
make[3]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-2.2.4/work/vboxnetflt/linux/VBoxNetFlt-linux.o] Error 1                                                                                                           


According to bug 273817 the workaround is to set COMPAT_NET_DEV_OPS=y. However, I cannot find this option in the config file.
What am I doing wrong?


Solved by updating to virtualbox-3-beta2.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall wrote:
With 2.6.30-zen0 my frame buffer resolution seems to have gone for a toss. Before, it utilized the native 1400 X 1050 resolution properly, however after switching to 2.6.30-zen0 while it reports that it uses 1400 X 1050 it utilizes only a part of the screen.

Code:
rahul@googly ~ $ dmesg | grep fb
 BIOS-e820: 00000000ffb00000 - 0000000100000000 (reserved)
system 00:00: iomem range 0x0-0x9fbff could not be reserved
system 00:00: iomem range 0xffb00000-0xffffffff has been reserved
allocated 1400x1050 fb: 0x007df000, bo f6a4fe40
fb0: inteldrmfb frame buffer device


Solved with the latest git release. Thanks again for the wonderful work. :)
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest git updates seem to have completely killed my machine - the screen is flickering, jumping around and doing really weird things. It seems as if some one pulls the display off the screen and then suddenly releases it. Really weird....

EDIT: Please tell me a way of rolling back these updates - my machine is completely unusable right now.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rmh3093
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 2138
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall wrote:
The latest git updates seem to have completely killed my machine - the screen is flickering, jumping around and doing really weird things. It seems as if some one pulls the display off the screen and then suddenly releases it. Really weird....

EDIT: Please tell me a way of rolling back these updates - my machine is completely unusable right now.


well I would have to know what u were using before u pulled
_________________
Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does this help?

Code:
2.6.31-rc1-zen1-28338-g8de9e61

_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, that flickering screen problem remains. I am not that familiar with git so I do not know how to look for what got updated. I was also careless enough to pull again - which, I think, resulted in the logs in .git being updated to the recent updates (zen-logo and so on) which are not related to my problem.
For now, I am downgrading to the 2.6.30-r1 from the overlay. I hope that solves my problems.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

  LOGO    drivers/video/logo/logo_thenilspecial_clut224.c                                                   
Image has more than 224 colors                                                                             
Use ppmquant(1) to reduce the number of colors                                                             
make[3]: *** [drivers/video/logo/logo_thenilspecial_clut224.c] Error 1                                     
make[2]: *** [drivers/video/logo] Error 2                                                                   
make[1]: *** [drivers/video] Error 2                                                                       
make: *** [drivers] Error 2                                                                                 

_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1159

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall wrote:
Code:

  LOGO    drivers/video/logo/logo_thenilspecial_clut224.c                                                   
Image has more than 224 colors                                                                             
Use ppmquant(1) to reduce the number of colors                                                             
make[3]: *** [drivers/video/logo/logo_thenilspecial_clut224.c] Error 1                                     
make[2]: *** [drivers/video/logo] Error 2                                                                   
make[1]: *** [drivers/video] Error 2                                                                       
make: *** [drivers] Error 2                                                                                 


i rmoved the logo_thenilspecial pnm(drivers/video/logo/logo_thinspecial....pnm) and it compiled.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ponciarello
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 22 Jul 2008
Posts: 223
Location: beach of slack

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnx for adding tag -rc2 and syncing for rc2-zen1 :)
_________________
look for monty python channel on youtube :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next
Page 14 of 18

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum