Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Compiz not in full resolution on screen1 after recent update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dave ner0tic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:28 pm    Post subject: Compiz not in full resolution on screen1 after recent update Reply with quote

Im running dual monitors and screen0 is perfectly fine, but screen1 remains at the same resolution as screen0 when compiz is running, but full screen when its not.

The odd part about it is that the mouse can travel beyond the "screen edge" but i can't drag windows into the black. The rest of the desktop is there hence the mouse travel, but compiz limits my windows.


xorg.conf
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"

# The Identifier line must be present
# Each Screen line specifies a Screen section name, and optionally
# the relative position of other screens.  The four names after
# primary screen name are the screens to the top, bottom, left and right
# of the primary screen.  In this example, screen 2 is located to the
# right of screen 1.
# Each InputDevice line specifies an InputDevice section name and
# optionally some options to specify the way the device is to be
# used.  Those options include "CorePointer", "CoreKeyboard" and
# "SendCoreEvents".
    Identifier     "Simple Layout"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Configured Mouse" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)
#
#
#    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
#    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/TrueType/"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/freefont/"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
#    FontPath   "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
# The module search path.  The default path is shown here.
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.
# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
# This loads the font modules
#    Load        "type1"
# This loads the GLX module
#    Load       "glx"
# This loads the DRI module
#    Load       "dri"
    Load           "dbe"     # Double buffer extension
    SubSection     "extmod"
        Option         "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection
    Load           "freetype"
#    Load        "xtt"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# For most OSs the protocol can be omitted (it defaults to "Standard").
# When using XQUEUE (only for SVR3 and SVR4, but not Solaris),
# uncomment the following line.
#    Option     "Protocol"      "Xqueue"
#    Option   "Xleds"      "1 2 3"
#    Option "LeftAlt"     "Meta"
#    Option "RightAlt"    "ModeShift"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
#    Option "XkbModel"    "pc105"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
#    Option "XkbModel"    "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
#    Option "XkbLayout"   "de"
# or:
#    Option "XkbLayout"   "de"
#    Option "XkbVariant"  "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
#    Option "XkbOptions"  "ctrl:swapcaps"
# These are the default XKB settings for Xorg
#    Option "XkbRules"    "xorg"
#    Option "XkbModel"    "pc105"
#    Option "XkbLayout"   "us"
#    Option "XkbVariant"  ""
#    Option "XkbOptions"  ""
#    Option "XkbDisable"
    Identifier     "Keyboard1"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
    Option         "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc101"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Configured Mouse"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "CorePointer"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option         "Buttons" "8"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

   #DisplaySize     320   240   # mm
 ### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL E773c"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 160.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL M990"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 96.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 160.0
EndSection

Section "Device"

# The chipset line is optional in most cases.  It can be used to override
# the driver's chipset detection, and should not normally be specified.
#    Chipset   "generic"
# The Driver line must be present.  When using run-time loadable driver
# modules, this line instructs the server to load the specified driver
# module.  Even when not using loadable driver modules, this line
# indicates which driver should interpret the information in this section.
# The BusID line is used to specify which of possibly multiple devices
# this section is intended for.  When this line isn't present, a device
# section can only match up with the primary video device.  For PCI
# devices a line like the following could be used.  This line should not
# normally be included unless there is more than one video device
# intalled.
#    BusID      "PCI:0:10:0"
#    VideoRam   256
#    Clocks   25.2 28.3
    Identifier     "Standard VGA"
    Driver         "vga"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    BoardName      "Unknown"
EndSection

Section "Device"

   # unsupported card
    #VideoRam    262144
    # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    Identifier     "My Video Card"
    Driver         "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 7800 GS"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 7800 GS"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen 1"
    Device         "Videocard1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-1: 1600x1200 +0+0"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
   Modes      "nvidia-auto-select"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-0: 1280x1024 +0+0; CRT-0: 1024x768 +0+0; CRT-0: 800x600 +0+0; CRT-0: 640x480 +0+0"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes      "nvidia-auto-select"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection


[Screenshot]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Plumbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That was a bit strange. What settings do you use in CCSM? Is each display configured correctly there as well?
Try unchecking the "Detect outputs" and configure it manually instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave ner0tic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plumbo wrote:
That was a bit strange. What settings do you use in CCSM? Is each display configured correctly there as well?
Try unchecking the "Detect outputs" and configure it manually instead.

the only thing i really use is the cube which is on.

the odd part about it is that it was all fine until i upgraded compiz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Plumbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you check specificly under "General options" and the tab "Display settings" and let me know what it says under "Output"? See also if the checkbox "Detect outputs" is checked or not.
It might be a mismatch between the resolutions in CCSM and Xorg. Otherwise I'm out of ideas without more info...
_________________
/Plumbo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave ner0tic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plumbo wrote:
Could you check specificly under "General options" and the tab "Display settings" and let me know what it says under "Output"? See also if the checkbox "Detect outputs" is checked or not.
It might be a mismatch between the resolutions in CCSM and Xorg. Otherwise I'm out of ideas without more info...

under general options all that is checked is:
hide skip taskbar windows,texture compression and ignore hints
output is 1600x1200+0+0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Plumbo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try changing the output manually to 1280x1024+0+0,1600X1200+0+1, and make sure "Detect outputs" is disabled.

I don't know if it will work, but it's worth a try. I also know that there has been some issues with two outputs and compiz, and some of them is because the screens can get larger than the max texturesize supported in your graphicscard. It seems like you have a 7600GS supporting 4096x4096, so that shouldn't be the case though.

If this doesn't help, I'm out of ideas.
_________________
/Plumbo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dave ner0tic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jul 2004
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plumbo wrote:
You could try changing the output manually to 1280x1024+0+0,1600X1200+0+1, and make sure "Detect outputs" is disabled.

I don't know if it will work, but it's worth a try. I also know that there has been some issues with two outputs and compiz, and some of them is because the screens can get larger than the max texturesize supported in your graphicscard. It seems like you have a 7600GS supporting 4096x4096, so that shouldn't be the case though.

If this doesn't help, I'm out of ideas.

This solved my issue!

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum