Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
funtoo stages - which to use?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:34 pm    Post subject: funtoo stages - which to use? Reply with quote

i am building a 32bit box and after doing some reading it says that athlon-xp is for xp/64 based systems, is anyone here using an athlon-xp funtoo stage3 build or should i just stick with i686? cpu i have is amd 64x2 - cant use it as 64bit, well i could but dont want to for compatibility reasons better support for codecs and such on 32bit and seeing as this is a htpc and only 3 gb of ram 64bit is overkill
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Unsupported Software.
unsupported stuff, so moved here.

if there's an athlon-xp stage it should work on your amd64 system
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonnevers
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 1594
Location: Gentoo64 land

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:58 pm    Post subject: Re: funtoo stages - which to use? Reply with quote

Carps wrote:
cant use it as 64bit, well i could but dont want to for compatibility reasons better support for codecs and such on 32bit

example?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

windows media audio 3 - is one such example, even with patched ffmpeg from svn it still wouldn't play the audio, and every other thing i tried didn't work, yet this same file did on friends 32bit linux gentoo box, so im just going to install 32bit and hope for the best
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonnevers
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 1594
Location: Gentoo64 land

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Carps wrote:
windows media audio 3 - is one such example, even with patched ffmpeg from svn it still wouldn't play the audio, and every other thing i tried didn't work, yet this same file did on friends 32bit linux gentoo box, so im just going to install 32bit and hope for the best

then like nixnut said, use the athlon-xp, ARCH or ~ARCH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i am now - rebuilding as we speak :)
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonnevers
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 1594
Location: Gentoo64 land

PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2009 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Carps wrote:
i am now - rebuilding as we speak :)

funtoo's portage variant too or just the funtoo base stage tarball w/ official portage?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

funtoo stage3 with official portage
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minor_prophets
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2007
Posts: 281

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Would you mind doing a cat /proc/cpuinfo for me? I'd like to compare it against an athlon-xp I have.

Thanks, Carps

edit---notice from another thread you posted that I responded to rather late. Did you ever choose a mame front end to your satisfaction?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i will do that once i have finished a compile, think i used that one you sent me too, think it was you

bare in mind my cpu is an 64 x2

edit: here you go

cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 75
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 2210.152
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy
bogomips : 4420.30
clflush size : 64
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc

processor : 1
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 75
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 2210.152
cache size : 512 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy
bogomips : 4420.16
clflush size : 64
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
minor_prophets
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2007
Posts: 281

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent, Carps. That's what I wanted to see.

Regards,

MP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

also mplayer xine (and of course smplayer) all play the sound in the wmv's now :D
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jupiter1TX
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Posts: 546
Location: 3rd Rock

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Carps wrote:
also mplayer xine (and of course smplayer) all play the sound in the wmv's now :D

This thread got my attention because i too use the funtoo repo for both my amd and intel 64bit.
Not that it makes a diff but i use funtoo metro to cook my own stage3's. I have not seen this
problem you describe. I have not had any issues with any media file. I use onboard intel-hda
and currently ffmpeg from berkano overlay. I just wanted to post so that you know that it does
work.
_________________
Core i7 920 D0 | Asus P6T DLX | Patriot Viper 1600 6GB | Antec Quattro 850W
Geforce 8800GTX OC2 768MB | Dell 22" LCD | Koolance Exos2/Swiftech GTZ
GCC 4.6.1 | 3.7.x-geek | Xorg-7.4-x | KDE-4.7.x | Compiz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

64bit mplayer and such dont have the codecs to handle the files i had here, mplayer on 32bit system with win32codecs all works fine
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlashBeast
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2843

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

64bit mplayer can play wmv out of box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FizzyWidget
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 1133
Location: 127.0.0.1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but not the audio - 32bit works fine for video and audio
_________________
I know 43 ways to kill with a SKITTLE, so taste my rainbow bitch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum