Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How to turn your box into a Xvnc Terminal Server
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 15, 16, 17  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rrrkkkttt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2004 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i'm using gdm... I enabled xdmcp in gdmconfig... here's the listing of netstat -anpA inet:
Quote:

netstat -anpA inet
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5984 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5952 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5953 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5954 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5960 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5961 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5962 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:3306 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 4858/mysqld
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5963 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:139 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 4944/smbd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5964 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:6543 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 4862/mythbackend
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:6544 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 4862/mythbackend
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5970 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5971 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5972 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5973 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5974 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:22 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 4990/sshd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:631 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 4506/cupsd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5980 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5981 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5982 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5950 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5983 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5951 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 5259/xinetd
tcp 0 0 192.168.1.101:32782 205.188.179.74:5190 ESTABLISHED 5587/gaim
tcp 1 0 192.168.1.101:32789 63.211.153.70:80 CLOSE_WAIT 5639/esd
tcp 1 0 192.168.1.101:32792 65.200.192.7:80 CLOSE_WAIT 5639/esd
tcp 0 0 192.168.1.101:32781 205.188.7.187:5190 ESTABLISHED 5587/gaim
tcp 1 0 192.168.1.101:32790 166.90.133.231:80 CLOSE_WAIT 5639/esd
tcp 1 0 192.168.1.101:32803 128.193.0.38:80 CLOSE_WAIT 5639/esd
tcp 1 0 192.168.1.101:32804 128.193.0.38:80 CLOSE_WAIT 5639/esd
tcp 0 0 192.168.1.101:32780 207.46.106.114:1863 ESTABLISHED 5587/gaim
udp 0 0 172.16.38.1:137 0.0.0.0:* 4946/nmbd
udp 0 0 172.16.233.1:137 0.0.0.0:* 4946/nmbd
udp 0 0 172.16.233.1:137 0.0.0.0:* 5358/vmware-nmbd
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:137 0.0.0.0:* 5358/vmware-nmbd
udp 0 0 192.168.1.101:137 0.0.0.0:* 4946/nmbd
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:137 0.0.0.0:* 4946/nmbd
udp 0 0 172.16.38.1:138 0.0.0.0:* 4946/nmbd
udp 0 0 172.16.233.1:138 0.0.0.0:* 4946/nmbd
udp 0 0 172.16.233.1:138 0.0.0.0:* 5358/vmware-nmbd
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:138 0.0.0.0:* 5358/vmware-nmbd
udp 0 0 192.168.1.101:138 0.0.0.0:* 4946/nmbd
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:138 0.0.0.0:* 4946/nmbd
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:177 0.0.0.0:* 5364/gdm
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:631 0.0.0.0:* 4506/cupsd
raw 0 0 0.0.0.0:1 0.0.0.0:* 7 4242/vmnet-natd


gdm is listening on port 177... thats supposed to be the xdmcp port... since there is no separate xdmcp program name... i guess maybe it isn't running for some reason?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rrrkkkttt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so how do I start the xdmcp server?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vdboor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 592
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rrrkkkttt wrote:
so how do I start the xdmcp server?


It is running:
Code:
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:177 0.0.0.0:* 5364/gdm

_________________
The best way to accelerate a windows server is by 9.81M/S²
Linux user #311670 and Yet Another Perl Programmer

[ screenies | Coding on KMess ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WhimpyPeon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2003
Posts: 158
Location: Columbus, Nebraska

PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 6:46 pm    Post subject: Great Instructions Reply with quote

The instructions for this were great! The only problem I had was that the kdmrc file was located at /usr/kde/3.2/share/config/kdm/kdmrc instead of the location listed. However locate still works on my box and this was no big issue. :wink:

I already use kdm as my default so that made things easy. Works on the local network, just have to go to work and make sure I can ssh through my firewall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rrrkkkttt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 4:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ppl who're using gdm... how did you make it work? no matter what I do i still get the grey screen....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jUmB0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Location: (Currently back in Iraqistan)

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 9:58 pm    Post subject: hrrrmmmmm Reply with quote

I am getting the most bizarro error

vnc works when I start a vncserver at :1 or :2 to a degree (more on this later) but a connection to displays other than the one specified by the server (ie: 72) hits a brick wall at a grey screen, as far as I can tell this is because the desktop is for the user nobody who has no .vnc dir or xstartup file because the user doesn't exist.

I can start a vnc server as a user and by replacing the twm & line with /etc/X11/gdm/Sessions/Gnome & I can see my desktop.

So far this is pretty normal, The crazy part starts when I replace "/etc/X11/gdm/Sessions/Gnome &" with "gdm &" or "xdm &"

I don't just end up with a grey screen, I get the grey twm background with a very ugly colored terminal in the upper left corner and thats it, I can logout from the terminal and im stuck at the twm desktop

This is NOT a good situation, I need to be able to see a login manager so users on the network can access their desktop, not mine. also I can't expect my users to ssh into the box, start a vncserver on their own and connect a vncviewer to it, these are dreadcore windows users with no hope.

if anyone knows a way to resolve any or all of my issues please respond


for the sake of completeness here is the vnc server log

13/02/04 04:19:55 Xvnc version 3.3.tight1.2.8
13/02/04 04:19:55 Copyright (C) 1999 AT&T Laboratories Cambridge.
13/02/04 04:19:55 Copyright (C) 2000-2002 Constantin Kaplinsky.
13/02/04 04:19:55 All Rights Reserved.
13/02/04 04:19:55 See http://www.uk.research.att.com/vnc for information on VNC
13/02/04 04:19:55 See http://www.tightvnc.com for TightVNC-specific information
13/02/04 04:19:55 Desktop name 'X' (sloppy-seconds:2)
13/02/04 04:19:55 Protocol version supported 3.3
13/02/04 04:19:55 Listening for VNC connections on TCP port 5902
13/02/04 04:19:55 Listening for HTTP connections on TCP port 5802
13/02/04 04:19:55 URL http://sloppy-seconds:5802
xrdb: No such file or directory
xrdb: can't open file '/home/jumb0/.Xresources'
Only root wants to run gdm

a vncserver from root does the exact same thing except it tells me gdm is already running

btw before I resolved https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=136081&highlight= gdm was working beautifully but only when logging in root, now its totally borked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Donovan
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Feb 2003
Posts: 97
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just set this up yesterday, this is the coolest thing!! :D
Thanks!
_________________
Gentoo Linux * DirecTivo * Who needs heaven?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rrrkkkttt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm also having similar problems as jUmB0.... if someone would please show us how they got gdm up and running i'd really appreciate it... thx.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jamiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Treviso (IT)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@rrrkkkttt: you should be okay. try to connect using " vncviewer localhost::5962". Let me know if it works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jamiro
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jan 2004
Posts: 47
Location: Treviso (IT)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now I've the grey screen problem :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rrrkkkttt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 6:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get a grey screen...

here's the output:
Code:

vncviewer localhost::5962
VNC server supports protocol version 3.3 (viewer 3.3)
No authentication needed
Desktop name "nobody's x11 desktop (gentoobox:1)"
Connected to VNC server, using protocol version 3.3
VNC server default format:
  16 bits per pixel.
  Least significant byte first in each pixel.
  True colour: max red 31 green 63 blue 31, shift red 11 green 5 blue 0
Using default colormap which is TrueColor.  Pixel format:
  32 bits per pixel.
  Least significant byte first in each pixel.
  True colour: max red 255 green 255 blue 255, shift red 16 green 8 blue 0
Using shared memory PutImage
Same machine: preferring raw encoding
CleanupXIOErrorHandler called
ShmCleanup called
X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or server shutdown).


here's my xstartup:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
 
xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
fluxbox &


here's the log:
Code:

13/02/04 23:47:44 Xvnc version 3.3.tight1.2.8
13/02/04 23:47:44 Copyright (C) 1999 AT&T Laboratories Cambridge.
13/02/04 23:47:44 Copyright (C) 2000-2002 Constantin Kaplinsky.
13/02/04 23:47:44 All Rights Reserved.
13/02/04 23:47:44 See http://www.uk.research.att.com/vnc for information on VNC
13/02/04 23:47:44 See http://www.tightvnc.com for TightVNC-specific information
13/02/04 23:47:44 Desktop name 'X' (gentoobox:1)
13/02/04 23:47:44 Protocol version supported 3.3
13/02/04 23:47:44 Listening for VNC connections on TCP port 5901
13/02/04 23:47:44 Listening for HTTP connections on TCP port 5801
13/02/04 23:47:44   URL http://gentoobox:5801
xrdb: No such file or directory
xrdb: can't open file '/home/rakesh/.Xresources'
Failed to load groupfile:
apps file failure
BScreen::BScreen: managing screen 0 using visual 0x22, depth 24
Xlib:  extension "RENDER" missing on display ":1.0".
Xlib:  extension "RANDR" missing on display ":1.0".
xterm:  fatal IO error 32 (Broken pipe) or KillClient on X server ":1.0"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jUmB0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Location: (Currently back in Iraqistan)

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 2:34 pm    Post subject: soloution - sorta Reply with quote

after trolling thru my logs for the culprit i noticed some version mismatch messages in gdm's log
I emergered gdm and an emerge -u world
after compiling xfree I vncviewer'ed :70 and lo and behold gdm was greeting me

im not sure if this will help anyone, but it might
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asilva
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Dec 2003
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lines,

can you please just post the contents of your /etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0 file.

here is mine:
Code:

#!/bin/sh
# $Xorg: Xsetup_0,v 1.3 2000/08/17 19:54:17 cpqbld Exp $
#xconsole -geometry 480x130-0-0 -daemon -notify -verbose -fn fixed -exitOnFail

# get KDEDIR value (only) and run kdmdesktop from there
eval "`grep KDEDIR /etc/profile.env`"
[ -x $KDEDIR/bin/kdmdesktop  ]  && ${KDEDIR}/bin/kdmdesktop

# --- Gentoo ---
# create list of sessions for kdm
sessions="SessionTypes="
for x in `ls /etc/X11/Sessions`
do
    sessions="${sessions}${x},"
done
echo sessions: $sessions

# update all kdmrcs located; tries some pretty much impossible locations
# to make sure we get 'em all
source /etc/make.conf
for dir in /usr/kde/* /usr $KDEDIR $KDE2DIR $KDE3DIR $KDE2LIBSDIR $KDE3LIBSDIR
do

    echo "Changing kdmrc in $dir"
    cd ${dir}/share/config/kdm || continue

    cp kdmrc kdmrc.orig
    sed -e "/SessionTypes=/c\
${sessions}" kdmrc.orig > kdmrc
    rm kdmrc.orig

done


it's just because my /var/log/xdm.log throws up with this:

Code:


XFree86 Version 4.3.0.1
Release Date: 15 August 2003
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
Build Operating System: Linux 2.4.22-gentoo-r4 i686 [ELF]
Build Date: 11 February 2004
        Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
         (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
         (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Tue Feb 17 17:34:53 2004
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
Using vt 7
sessions: SessionTypes=Xsession,afterstep,enlightenment,wmaker,
Changing kdmrc in /usr/kde/*
/etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0: line 25: cd: /usr/kde/*/share/config/kdm: No such file or directory
Changing kdmrc in /usr
/etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0: line 25: cd: /usr/share/config/kdm: No such file or directory



thanks man! great tutorial. :D
_________________
never stop searching...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bigcat99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 45
Location: Boston

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 6:46 pm    Post subject: root login in kdm Reply with quote

Where and which config file do i change to allow remote root login? i know someone did it, but did'nt say how.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rrrkkkttt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Oct 2003
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think i kinda figured out why im still getting the grey screen...
/var/log/xdm.log shows that:
Code:

xdm error (pid 5375): Trouble getting network interface configurationxdm error (pid 5375): Trouble getting network interface configurationxdm info (pid 5356): Rereading access file /etc/X11/xdm/Xaccess
xdm error (pid 5356): XDMCP socket creation failed, errno 97
sessions: SessionTypes=Gnome,Xsession,fluxbox,
Changing kdmrc in /usr/kde/*
/etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0: line 25: cd: /usr/kde/*/share/config/kdm: No such file or directory
Changing kdmrc in /usr
/etc/X11/xdm/Xsetup_0: line 25: cd: /usr/share/config/kdm: No such file or directory


why can't xdm access my network?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jUmB0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Location: (Currently back in Iraqistan)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 10:44 pm    Post subject: for rrrkkkttt Reply with quote

do you have ipv6 in your use variables ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jUmB0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2004
Posts: 29
Location: (Currently back in Iraqistan)

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2004 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bigcat99 if you follow the tutorial and enable xdm gdm or kdm you just login as root, no files need to be changed.

it might be wiser to ssh into the box for root tasks tho

not to take away anyones thunder but how does one change the gdm theme for the nobody user ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rebelscum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 3
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2004 3:22 am    Post subject: Lovely stuff Reply with quote

Once I'd realised tightvnc didn't emerge properly its all fine and i see my kde desktop as clear as a bell from my w2k lappy. The clue was that I couldn't find Xvnc :P
_________________
I hate my signature ~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tecknojunky
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 1937
Location: Montréal

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tecknojunky wrote:
Any hints on enabling the java viewer in this fashion?

So far, I've added "vnc-http 5800/tcp" in /etc/services and ...
Quote:

service vnc-http
{
protocol = tcp
socket_type = stream
wait = no
user = nobody
server = /usr/bin/Xvnc
server_args = -inetd -query localhost -once -geometry 1024x768 -depth 16
-httpd /usr/share/tightvnc/classes
}

... in /etc/xinetd.d/vncserver

When I connect with Moz, all I get is "RFB 003.003" in the page and nothing else happens.

I don't know if it's a vnc issue or a Moz issue.
Bump! :(
_________________
(7 of 9) Installing star-trek/species-8.4.7.2::talax.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quietus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:05 am    Post subject: Grey screen troubles Reply with quote

I was getting the grey screen problem and I eventually cracked mine - it was a problem in
Code:
/etc/xinetd.d/xvncserver
I had copied & pasted it from this forum, and reading through it, it hadn't pasted correctly. I urge anyone experiencing the grey screen problem to try removing
Code:
/etc/xinetd.d/xvncserver
and rewriting it manually (just write out one to test) also check your
Code:
/etc/services
to make sure that is correct (if you copied and pasted that too)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marqs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 1:14 pm    Post subject: Got rid of the greyscreen Reply with quote

In the file /usr/kde/3.2/share/config/kdm/kdmrc where you where suposed to enable port 177 I fond out that the line above it

# Whether KDM should listen to XDMCP requests. Default is true.
Enable=false

shoud be set to "true"...this is what mine loocked like no matter what the text say about true as default.

after that change and a reboot it works for me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
marqs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Feb 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 2:09 pm    Post subject: But now I got another problem Reply with quote

I can start all X-aplication on KDE:s menu but if I try to start any x-apps from xterm i get:
Code:

bash-2.05b# opera &
[1] 1833
bash-2.05b# Xlib: connection to "hd5e25269.gavlegardarna.gavle.to:2.0" refused by server
Xlib: Client is not authorized to connect to Server
opera: cannot connect to X server hd5e25269.gavlegardarna.gavle.to:2.0

[1]+  Exit 1                  opera
bash-2.05b#


any one got any tips...not much use if you can't run anything
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Mar 08, 2004 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have made progress after fixing the problem where xdm had errors stopping (ran /etc/init.d/xdm zap | /etc/init.d/xdm start and it worked ok)

Now I get these messages in /var/log/xdm.log

xdm error (pid 2360): server unexpectedly died
xdm error (pid 2360): Server for display :0 can't be started, session disabled
xdm info (pid 2360): Couldn't connect to PRNGD socket "/tmp/entropy": No such file or directory
xdm info (pid 2360): Couldn't connect to PRNGD socket "/tmp/entropy": No such file or directory
xdm info (pid 2360): Couldn't connect to PRNGD socket "/tmp/entropy": No such file or directory

I remember seeing something about this somewhere else, a search on these forums only reveals 1 thread about PRNGD.

I did not have the above file or directory, tried touching it but that didn't help.

Does anyone have any ideas please? :) Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentbob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 159
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:43 pm    Post subject: ...connecting to an existing session? Reply with quote

I followed this excellent guide step by step and it all worked perfectly... I can now ssh to my home pc from the local LAN and at work (even across a 56k modem connection it is almost usable!) using putty and tunnel X through it to run vncviewer on a Windows machine and connect. Fantastic!

I found the following guide for putty ssh / vnc on the 'net for connecting on the windows machine... HOW-TO: VNC secure tunneling using Windows PuttY ssh client - http://freesco.no-ip.org/VNC/

I would like to know whether it is possible to connect to an existing X session (is that the right term?), for example I am logged in at home and then go off to work, I would like to connect from work as the same user and connect to the already running session (and leave this running when I terminate the remote connection). But, if I wanted to log on as another user, if they didn't already have an X session running it would create a new one following the existing functionality. Is this at all possible, and how...?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grudge
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Oct 2002
Posts: 77
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 1:03 pm    Post subject: My Grey Screen Solved Reply with quote

I solved my own grey screen by doing the following. I two files in my
Code:
/etc/X11/Sessions/
They were
Code:
Xsession
and
Code:
fluxbox
I removed the Xsession one (after backing it up first), and now it works perfectly. I get a login screen and when I logged in, it has started fluxbox. Hope this helps someone else !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 15, 16, 17  Next
Page 7 of 17

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum